Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As the mother of a litter of cubs you are forced out from familiar and safe surroundings to find new shelter in a beautiful, but dangerous world. The harsh reality of nature plays a pivotal role in the game whilst at the same time Shelter aims to pay a homage to the great outdoors and all its imposing beauty. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Sep 1, 2013
    100
    Go pick it up and give it a try, you’re bound to find something unique.
  2. Sep 2, 2013
    90
    Shelter is the nature version of Journey, with as a major difference that you have something to lose. The game is serene and tense, linear in a way that it feels natural, beautiful and simply special in every way.
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    80
    By successfully tapping into parental instincts rarely solicited by video games, and offering a parable about nurture and sacrifice, it's a beautiful game within, too.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    70
    Try and play Shelter as a perfectionist and you’ll fail, the victim of a cruel world and occasionally clunky, unclear rules. Better to simply do your best, allow Might and Delight’s fantastical art to enthrall, and let nature take its course.
  5. Sep 4, 2013
    70
    An original and experimental game, that delivers a truly emotional experience. On the other hand, it suffers from a repetitive gameplay and a of general lack of indications, which can be frustrating.
  6. Aug 30, 2013
    60
    The base idea has plenty of potential, although for some reason the developer built only the bare minimum around it. At least the game is cheap. If you're looking for something unusual, and temporarily weird but in semi-satisfying way, I recommend giving it a chance.
  7. Aug 28, 2013
    40
    It sets out to explore a very compelling set of themes, parenthood, responsibility and the casual cruelty of nature, but it ends up doing so in the most straightforward and predictable way possible. It's almost ironic how a game so adamantly about nature manages to feel so unnatural.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    If you haven't PS3 for playing Journey, Flow, Flower but love games like these buy it. 1-2 hours of freestyle gameplay awaits you! Also, if you like design in games, you should see it. Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    I want more games like this! Maybe with a family of city rats this time? And based on CryEngine or Frostbite 3?

    The gameplay was quite
    intuitive, although sometimes I had to learn on my mistakes just like I would if I was a real badger!

    I think the game wasn't too long or too short.
    Expand
  3. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    I cried at the ending.
    I think this sentence and the score I gave is enough, but there is a minimum of 150 characters, so the game is an
    emotional adventure, which makes you almost cry if you loose a badger, and will definitely make you cry at the end, if you care about animals Expand
  4. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    It started to me like: "What the hell is this game?!"
    I found it boring, meaningless, lacking so many things...

    But then, firstly the
    awesome soundtrack - kind of a sad and beautiful blues - started to put me on a certain mood. After that, the graphic art seems to found out his place, in addition to a growing concern about the "children" and some cruel things you must to do in order to keep them fed. And that's it... i can't say anymore without spoil.

    Shelter is a beautiful ode to nature and motherhood.
    You can give it to your own children if you have some, and show them some simple and important lessons about nature. It's a short (like 2 hours), different game, which will certainly add one more experience for those who are seeking for new things.
    Expand
  5. Oct 9, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Shelter is a fresh concept, one worth exploring, that offers the idea of trying to keep an animal family alive in a world that really does seem to want to kill them. Nature is a harsh thing and Shelter does have moments where it feels like a triumph of skill and audacity to simply keep your pups alive when it they seem predestined to die. The art style is beautiful, but that's a given if you've seen even a screenshot of this game and the atmosphere can be intense when it calls for it.

    That being said, this game does a lot in a short time only to then stops abruptly; I can understand the artistic reasoning for it, it just seems like the game never came to some kind of conclusion. There was surviving through one bad situation after another only to get unlucky; nature is harsh and it does seem appropriate that something out of nowhere proves to be your doom but the fact it is unavoidable takes control out of your hands to simply end the game.

    The linear nature does detract somewhat from the tension as everything is scripted to happen and can be exploited in future play-throughs (until the unavoidable death); a more open-ended game might have done wonders for making the game a battle for the family's survival for as long as possible only for the player to finally be caught off guard or overwhelmed. Shelter is not a bad game, by any stretch, its just one that was so good it was a shame they didn't go further. Here's hoping they continue to innovate and can make a good game even better.
    Expand
  6. Nov 16, 2013
    7
    Shelter is a unique game, sadly is too short to completely satisfy. I give it a "7", but here in Metacritic the real rating should be 6.7 out of 10. VIRTUALINN.IT Collapse
  7. Aug 28, 2013
    1
    This game is Sooooo short its awful, $10 for a game that is 50 minutes to 2 hours long? and it's only 2 hours if you go really really slow, and i mean really slow...
    It is NOT and open world game like alot of us were led on to believe and it is a very linear game that will have you screaming for something more about 30 minutes in. I had great expectations for this game because it looked amazing and people on green light were raving about it. But i was left with a very sad and dull experience. If developers all stark taking a page out of Shelters book then the video game industry would be in for a world of hurt.
    IMHO this game is in NO WAY worth $10, maybe 4.99 mmmmmaybe!!!! but 10?? ohhhh nonono
    Expand

See all 19 User Reviews