Shelter PC

Shelter Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As the mother of a litter of cubs you are forced out from familiar and safe surroundings to find new shelter in a beautiful, but dangerous world. The harsh reality of nature plays a pivotal role in the game whilst at the same time Shelter aims to pay a homage to the great outdoors and allAs the mother of a litter of cubs you are forced out from familiar and safe surroundings to find new shelter in a beautiful, but dangerous world. The harsh reality of nature plays a pivotal role in the game whilst at the same time Shelter aims to pay a homage to the great outdoors and all its imposing beauty. Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Sep 1, 2013
    100
    Go pick it up and give it a try, you’re bound to find something unique.
  2. Sep 2, 2013
    90
    Shelter is the nature version of Journey, with as a major difference that you have something to lose. The game is serene and tense, linear in a way that it feels natural, beautiful and simply special in every way.
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    80
    By successfully tapping into parental instincts rarely solicited by video games, and offering a parable about nurture and sacrifice, it's a beautiful game within, too.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    70
    Try and play Shelter as a perfectionist and you’ll fail, the victim of a cruel world and occasionally clunky, unclear rules. Better to simply do your best, allow Might and Delight’s fantastical art to enthrall, and let nature take its course.
  5. Sep 4, 2013
    70
    An original and experimental game, that delivers a truly emotional experience. On the other hand, it suffers from a repetitive gameplay and a of general lack of indications, which can be frustrating.
  6. Aug 30, 2013
    60
    The base idea has plenty of potential, although for some reason the developer built only the bare minimum around it. At least the game is cheap. If you're looking for something unusual, and temporarily weird but in semi-satisfying way, I recommend giving it a chance.
  7. Aug 28, 2013
    40
    It sets out to explore a very compelling set of themes, parenthood, responsibility and the casual cruelty of nature, but it ends up doing so in the most straightforward and predictable way possible. It's almost ironic how a game so adamantly about nature manages to feel so unnatural.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    If you haven't PS3 for playing Journey, Flow, Flower but love games like these buy it. 1-2 hours of freestyle gameplay awaits you! Also, ifIf you haven't PS3 for playing Journey, Flow, Flower but love games like these buy it. 1-2 hours of freestyle gameplay awaits you! Also, if you like design in games, you should see it. Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    I want more games like this! Maybe with a family of city rats this time? And based on CryEngine or Frostbite 3?

    The gameplay was quite
    I want more games like this! Maybe with a family of city rats this time? And based on CryEngine or Frostbite 3?

    The gameplay was quite intuitive, although sometimes I had to learn on my mistakes just like I would if I was a real badger!

    I think the game wasn't too long or too short.
    Expand
  3. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    I cried at the ending.
    I think this sentence and the score I gave is enough, but there is a minimum of 150 characters, so the game is an
    I cried at the ending.
    I think this sentence and the score I gave is enough, but there is a minimum of 150 characters, so the game is an emotional adventure, which makes you almost cry if you loose a badger, and will definitely make you cry at the end, if you care about animals
    Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2013
    8
    A really cool game, whoever says it's bad because it's short has no perception of what makes a game good. The game is the CORRECT length, ifA really cool game, whoever says it's bad because it's short has no perception of what makes a game good. The game is the CORRECT length, if it were longer it would be dragging out, if it were shorter it wouldn't feel like a journey. The graphics are interesting and I must say very well done, as well as pleasing to look at. The gameplay basically consists of you leading your babies to safety, overcoming obstacles and catching/gathering food for them. The hunting mechanics could've been better, I could never catch a fox (I'm lead to believe the game's not even meant for you to be able to catch one). Despite the game being pretty short, I got on odd attachment to my kids, and felt pretty bad if I happened to loose one. It's a cool concept but could've been executed a tad better, but nonetheless this game stands pretty solid. I'm not convinced it's worth $9.99 simply because of the play time you get out of it, since it's short and you can't really play through it again because it'd be the same thing (very linear). If it's on sale, I recommend it, I got it for like $2.49 so I definitely got a good deal! Collapse
  5. Nov 13, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was certainly a very unique experience. It was a harrowing tale about the reality of life and nature; it can be sudden and unforgiving. In this instance you are a momma badger. You need to look after your cubs and keep them safe from all the dangers of nature. You need to hunt and collect food for them, and keep them safe from predators. Gameplay wise, it was actually pretty fun and entertaining (especially when you name all of your cubs XD) I really enjoyed hunting the foxes and it was very amusing and satisfying when you would catch one. It really required you to pay attention to your surroundings and always be on the lookout. You could look away for one second and then just like that you hear a noise and a cub is missing. It had a very unique art style and the music was good too. It did have its problems though, in that there was little to do at times and some of the actions were just repetition after a while. Also some of the times when you couldn't sprint seemed painfully slow. It also seemed a little short. However I really liked that it showed you the harsh reality of what life is and for that, it gets a 7.5/10 Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    Shelter has everything you could want from a simple atmospheric indie game. It’s the perfect length and it’s got the right cast of charactersShelter has everything you could want from a simple atmospheric indie game. It’s the perfect length and it’s got the right cast of characters in a momma badger and her 5 badger pups in need of -you guessed it- shelter. But the bad camera, the odd physics, the simple, repetitive, and slightly broken design and the confusing map breaks the immersion and detracts from the overall experience.

    There's something to be said for games that stretch the definition of what a game is and can be. There's something to be said for games that take a risk of providing the player with a simple atmospheric interactive experience that’s only about as long as the average movie.

    Shelter is one of those art-house games that takes a risk and almost but not quite delivers on it.

    The premise behind Shelter is simple: You are a badger. You have 5 badger babies (cubs? pups?) and your job is to move them from the safety of the den you’re in and then safely get them somewhere else that’s safe.

    The key word there of course is “safe”. And the world you are in is anything but. The little badgers need food regularly and while there’s plenty of apple trees, root vegetables and little huntable critters along the way, it’s not always clear which little badger has a full tummy and which one going to turn gray and die of starvation. And should you figure out a system where everyone gets their fair share of meat and vegetables, the other thing on the menu of course is badger pup and there plenty of hungry hawks and foxes who would love a few baby badger hors d’oeuvres on the hoof.

    But the problem with Shelter is that isn’t very well made. The movement and controls are all quite rough. The path you’re supposed to take is anything but clear and it’s quite easy to get lost and turned around which I guess is sort of the point. It still doesn’t make for a very rewarding experience when you’ve got 5 badger brats whining to be fed, a hawk circling overhead and you’re not even sure they’re all even following you. Again, might be the point, still not rewarding.

    And then the interactive experience breaks immersion when you get reminded that you not, in fact, a safety conscious momma badger by the overused simplistic textures and the polygonal flora you keep seeing the wrong side of.

    Had Shelter been tightened up, even a little, it could have been a solid 8.5. But the slightly broken nature of the game detracts too much from the experience, making it a 7 at best. Worth buying and playing at the right price, but be prepared to be slightly frustrated at the clunky design.
    Expand
  7. Aug 28, 2013
    1
    This game is Sooooo short its awful, $10 for a game that is 50 minutes to 2 hours long? and it's only 2 hours if you go really really slow,This game is Sooooo short its awful, $10 for a game that is 50 minutes to 2 hours long? and it's only 2 hours if you go really really slow, and i mean really slow...
    It is NOT and open world game like alot of us were led on to believe and it is a very linear game that will have you screaming for something more about 30 minutes in. I had great expectations for this game because it looked amazing and people on green light were raving about it. But i was left with a very sad and dull experience. If developers all stark taking a page out of Shelters book then the video game industry would be in for a world of hurt.
    IMHO this game is in NO WAY worth $10, maybe 4.99 mmmmmaybe!!!! but 10?? ohhhh nonono
    Expand

See all 22 User Reviews

Trailers