Shift 2: Unleashed PC

Shift 2: Unleashed Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 241 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shift 2 Unleashed combines violence and excitement in this racing experience.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 22, 2011
    90
    NFS series is back where we want it to be. Perfect graphics, enhanced driving model and the view from the cockpit are the features you will Shift 2 piously worship. [Issue#203]
  2. Mar 29, 2011
    88
    Shift 2: Unleashed builds upon the firm base of the previous game and offers more features and better features. More tracks, vehicles and multiplayer options thanks to the inclusion of the social system Autolog, and also better physics and simulation, which have improved the right way. It is not a perfect simulation experience, but will please most gamers.
  3. Game Informer
    Apr 18, 2011
    85
    Shift 2 defines the franchise in a way that the first one didn't. Although the cars can feel like they swivel on a center axis, the racing is pretty good, and the overall experience gets a boost from the graphics and the erratic nature of the AI racers. It doesn't blow by the competition, but by improving its lap times, Shift 2 is on its way. [May 2011, p.85]
  4. Mar 29, 2011
    84
    Due to its awesome cars, nice graphics, realistic handling and amazing atmosphere (night racing + in-car-view rocks!), Shift2 is a perfect pick for every Gearhead and car enthusiast out there. If you consider yourself a mere "NFS-Fan" though, you're still better off with the "other" NFS: Hot Pursuit.
  5. Apr 20, 2011
    83
    Who knew that having the frame of my vehicle obscure my view of the racetrack in a corner or that trading the inside lane for the clarity of my headlights during a nighttime race would bring me an enjoyment I've never found in sim racing games before?
  6. Mar 29, 2011
    81
    Shift 2's sheer weight of stuff – from mud-ring circuits in a VW Golf to Bugatti duels at the Nurburgring – gives it a deep bag of appeal. There's an array of fiddly details for car geeks to poke at, and a range of control-difficulty settings that allow you to tailor races to your ability. The only downside to such a complete package is that it demands so many hours of acclimatisation before the cars start to make sense.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    Jun 9, 2011
    70
    As PC's only alternative to GT5, Shift 2 is satisfactory at best. But true racing enthusiasts will need to go elsewhere to really satisfy their...need for speed. [July 2011, p.74]

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 80
  2. Negative: 35 out of 80
  1. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. @Neons
    Dude youre seriously mistaken there.
    All the features or bad things you talking about are ADJUSTABLE.
    Lol
    Maybe read the manual for the game or maybe you should stop playing games the way they are :D

    To the game !
    SHIFT 2 is a masterpiece.
    Working physics (handling,RWD,FWD,AWD, working suspension, car reacts to every action you do, the new inside helmet view is awesome) , overall the game is a huge achievement!
    Well it has some flaws too , some cars missing the "arm wheel" movement sometimes, flickering textures,shadows...
    These are all just small bugs compared to an overall great game !
    Good job SlightlyMA :D
    Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2017
    10
    the best part is how who voted less than 9 points, really not know what they want, or what is doing here or what the game is, or how the lifethe best part is how who voted less than 9 points, really not know what they want, or what is doing here or what the game is, or how the life works.

    this game still rocks, people said that is not a sim, but is a sim for sure, if we config it, the physics are really identical to Assetto Corsa, i really don't know and not know how somebody think this game is not realistic, way more than gt series and forza.

    awesome soundtrack, awesome options, awesome visual, awesome optimization, is light and more beauty than major games, best game ever made sold by EA, 6 years already passed and this game still looks better than most modern games today, and ya... i'm a racer, and yes this game is realistic.

    well... some problems exist, not all cars was reviewed, but is more like a luxury had some weaker cars, when the focus in game is the sport cars and hypercars.

    who attacked this game, give strange reasons, and say things without connection, people need to stop hating titles and look with more realism
    Expand
  3. Jul 6, 2011
    9
    THE game that is mandatory for every single racing fan. The driving is very nice. The cars act pretty much like in real life, maybe a littleTHE game that is mandatory for every single racing fan. The driving is very nice. The cars act pretty much like in real life, maybe a little (but just a little) too forgiving. The graphics are up to date, very detailed and much better than in SHIFT. The driving helmet camera doesn`t exaclty catch my taste as it is completely useless, although the standard pit camera is also available. There is really lots and lots of content for a pc game - something like 30 tracks, almost 200 cars of which all are customizable. Career presents many different events, very varied with car type, difficulty, track types, time attack, invitational, old vs new, contructor races, american, japanese etc. In this respect nothing short of Gran Turismo. The interface is very well done, again much better than in SHIFT. Everything that is needed to be customizable has been made like that. The optical and mechanichal tuning of the cars is though tiny compared to FM or GT. Still, the racing never gets boring as the Autolog feature lets you make all sorts of racing against your friends - who`s the fastest, who has the most badges, who made the most points, who dominates online and so on. I`d say : until your buddies use this game, the replayability of it is unlimited. In my opinion it is the first NFS title that reaches to the same quality level as the Forza Motorsport and Gran Turismo. You just want to take those cars for a ride, even if you were the only guy on the track - because every car feels unique. What I`m saying is - you can take the Alfa Romeo Giulietta to the Nordschleife and race it for 10 minutes - you won`t get bored because what SHIFT series accomplished is the feeling of speed and inertia even at 140km/h. And if what I write isn`t enough go to youtube and see real folks say the same : that car in the game almost perfectly resembles mine.
    I won`t write on which features SHIFT 2 is better than SHIFT, but believer when I say it - there are lots of examples where it is visible that the devs took notes and changed the things that were bad in SHIFT (ok one example : the user garage can have infinite number of cars). In one sententce I`d say that SHIFT 2 is a well thought racing game that gives much satisfaction from driving and which progressed significanlty over its predecessor.
    Expand
  4. Apr 25, 2011
    5
    Pretty much what WillKIll said. Tried to sell itself as more sim than arcade but ends up being neither...good driving isn't rewarded butPretty much what WillKIll said. Tried to sell itself as more sim than arcade but ends up being neither...good driving isn't rewarded but neither is arcade style. Also some serious issues with stuttering on this system that weren't present in Shift 1. Expand
  5. May 9, 2011
    3
    I regret spending my money on this game. I play it with Logitech g27 and I can tell that this game doesn't stand near GT5 feeling of driving aI regret spending my money on this game. I play it with Logitech g27 and I can tell that this game doesn't stand near GT5 feeling of driving a car. Car handling feels very unrealistic, you have to learn to drive by the physics of the game and not of the real world. Also very disappointed with 3D VISION support as there is none. Only things that looks great is a headcam and maybe night raicing if you not playing it with 3d vision, but handling spoils it all Expand
  6. Jun 2, 2011
    2
    I noticed some reviews claiming that this was very similar to Shift 1. There is some truth to this as some of the basic bits such as the carI noticed some reviews claiming that this was very similar to Shift 1. There is some truth to this as some of the basic bits such as the car tuning and visual customizer for the cars is basically the same. Sadly, everything goes downhill from here. Let's start with the fact that this is atrocious console port. It has a calibration screen for TV's and when you click on "controls" you are greeted with a picture of a Xbox360 controller. The menus are very difficult to navigate due to the transfer from controller to keyboard and the mouse integration is pretty sad. The graphics also seem to have taken a hit by the port-hammer as they have actually manged to look worse than Shift 1. I set my settings to the highest they can go and headed for the car garage to look at the new vehicle additions. Upon seeing the cars, I immediately went back the graphics options to see if there was a mistake. Nope. It's just that ugly. I figured the cars would look better on the track like in Shift 1 but I had to change the game to windowed mode because Shift 1 and 2 do not have color/brightness/gamma control settings and this is the only way to fix it. Upon being told to restart the game, I came to the realization that the intro videos are NOT skippable. This became annoying extremely quickly. Anyway, enough of this, let's get on to the actual meat of the game. They have kept the zoom-around-the-car-thingy at the start of every race from Shift 1 but this time the female sign-holders are basically completely nude. You also have to view this everytime you restart the race, which you will do A LOT since the cars handle like elongated buses. Shift 1 was infamous for it's shoddy handling but this takes things in a completely new direction. The cars handle so bad that I could not complete any race without hitting the barrier when going around every single corner. (And for the record, I beat Shift 1's career mode using the same control setup). While acelerating the controls were very twitchy and when I got to a corner the wheels on the car turned but the car itself just kept going straight and into a wall. Is there some DLC I missed that includes steering? This is a pretty big problem considering the game is about racing and driving cars around corners. I have seen city buses take corners faster and more ferociously than a Lotus Elise can in this game. I'm basically repeating what has been said in the other reviews. The cars are essentially undrivable. In conclusion, you're better off saving your money for something else or just go play Shift 1 again because this is vastly inferior. Expand
  7. May 17, 2013
    0
    This game is unplayable. Not only does your mouse suddenly become as accurate as Michael J. Fox during a seizure and about as useless as a inThis game is unplayable. Not only does your mouse suddenly become as accurate as Michael J. Fox during a seizure and about as useless as a in a helicopter fight, but navigating the menus is like trying to wrestle a bear, and once you find out where you want to be you suddenly have to figure out the magical jig to be able to do what you want in the first place pressing 'F' to rebind a key, pressing the right shift to accept changes (the left one doesn't do anything), etc. the only way to use the menus comfortably is to reconfigure your hands.

    And that's not even the worst part. The first time you go to race you have to listen to some annoying dumbass talk for half an hour while watching some god-awful video (most of which is in bullet-time for some retarded reason) that makes you want to pick your eyes out with a fondu fork the only way I even got through it was to turn my speakers off and go make myself a bowl of icecream. And all this could have been forgiven if the racing was even good. The input lag is so terrible that I had grown a beard by the time the game figured out I wanted to turn around the first corner, and the car feels like I'm driving around a brick with a windshield.

    All in all, quite possibly the worst game I have ever had the misfortune to install on my computer.
    Expand

See all 80 User Reviews