Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 606 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second expansion for Sid Meier's Civilization V, Brave New World, introduces nine new civilizations, international trade, and victory through cultural dominance.
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 55
  2. Negative: 1 out of 55
  1. Jul 25, 2013
    100
    Really, the best part about Brave New World is that it’s finally addressed every victory condition in the game and made each one not only more equally viable, but also just as busy. Weaponizing culture works to bring it more in line with the other conditions–it’s something you have to work towards and not something you just happen to achieve. On top of that, the diplomacy changes make this system more interesting as well, and it all comes down to one thing: if you have Civilization V and want to play more, you owe it to yourself to get this expansion.
  2. Jul 22, 2013
    90
    If you love strategy, Brave New World must not be missed. This is pure Civilization gold and truly shows why this franchise always remains relevant.
  3. Sep 10, 2013
    90
    Brave New World is without a doubt the best expansion to Civilization V. The core gameplay modes and win states has received great and well needed updates which gives a more varied and balanced experience. Of course there is still some dead air during the game sessions but the new content will disappoint no one. Even if it is three years old Civilization V is with this expansion still one of the best ways to combine entertainment with education.
  4. Jul 15, 2013
    88
    Essentially, if you love Civilization V, Brave New World will open up a world of possibilities. And if you haven't yet picked up Civilization V, Brave New World is the best way to play.
  5. Of course, there’s more to Brave New World than Culture Victories, and more than I could hope to absorb in a single 20-hour game. Firaxis has added new world wonders, abilities specific to each of nine new civilizations, a couple of period-specific scenarios, and even some fresh military units, like the late-game XCOM: Enemy Unknown-inspired XCOM squad, which I built but, sadly, didn’t have occasion to use.
  6. Jul 8, 2013
    84
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Jul 11, 2013
    40
    It peppers the game with busywork where you’d normally be hitting “next turn” over and over, waiting to administer a beating to the game’s brain dead military. Now you’re playing on turf where the AI is stronger, managing the strategy level of the game, finessing the economy, wrangling trade routes, expanding out into the map. It helps the pacing in a not very good game where pacing was one of the significant problems. So if I’m going to play Civilization V, the best thing I can say about Brave New World is that this is the preferred way to do it.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 98
  2. Negative: 12 out of 98
  1. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    An excellent completion of the series. Civ V is a very enjoyable game that is accessible to both light and hard core strategists. TheAn excellent completion of the series. Civ V is a very enjoyable game that is accessible to both light and hard core strategists. The inclusion of this expansion and the Gods and Kings expansion make the game thoroughly enjoyable. Expand
  2. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Absolutely fantastic expansion. Pretty much every complaint from Civilization is addressed. Boring late game? Gone. Invisible trade? Gone.Absolutely fantastic expansion. Pretty much every complaint from Civilization is addressed. Boring late game? Gone. Invisible trade? Gone. Basically mandatory for anyone playing Civilization. Try Zulu with mass Impi rush. You'll thank me later. Expand
  3. Sep 2, 2013
    9
    I fell in love with this game. Civilization V and it's other expansion packs are an experience that nobody needs to miss!
    Despite the fact
    I fell in love with this game. Civilization V and it's other expansion packs are an experience that nobody needs to miss!
    Despite the fact that the world editor cannot be in-game, which is sort of disappointing, but it's the only down-side I like to mention.
    Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    BNW is probably the best expansion to Civilization, if not to any game ever.

    It adds trade and world congress diplomacy mechanics that are
    BNW is probably the best expansion to Civilization, if not to any game ever.

    It adds trade and world congress diplomacy mechanics that are both great fun and offer tons of different options on how to play the game. Also culture mechanics is adjusted in a really great way. In short all the changes made to the game brought much more fun and variability.

    The only downsides are dumped AI (as stupid as in previous game releases) and for me quite stupid time speed when later on you don't even have enough time to use new units, because before you ever use them you're ready to upgrade them again (but this again is not really fault of the expansion, but rather strange concept of original game).

    There are other things that were added (civs, wonders, techs...).

    Overall great expansion that almost makes CIV V new and without a doubt much better game.
    Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    8
    Finally! AIRPORTS! Tourism is interesting and the revamped cultures brings new life to Civ 5. Still sucks you cannot stack units or have moreFinally! AIRPORTS! Tourism is interesting and the revamped cultures brings new life to Civ 5. Still sucks you cannot stack units or have more then 1 unit in a city. Expand
  6. Jul 9, 2013
    7
    Everything in this patch is good. As was the case with Gods and Kings, we can applaud that the game is finally developing into something worthEverything in this patch is good. As was the case with Gods and Kings, we can applaud that the game is finally developing into something worth playing. Which just kind of goes to show what a few of us noted when Civ 5 came out at first. This was a DREADFUL game at launch. This is a very good expansion and fans of the game should run forth to buy it to support their beloved developer. However I find $26 pretty rich in the ongoing saga of repairing a severely deficient experience. As another reviewer said: it's quite sad that Fireaxis and 2K made us go through two main DLC before we can have the feeling of what should have been Civilization V at start. I recommend holding off on playing the game till they finish it and bundle the whole thing as a single price title. Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2014
    0
    It was my favorite game ,until the patch was issued on 27.10.2014 and multiplayer was broken.There was no any apologize from Firaxis and 2KIt was my favorite game ,until the patch was issued on 27.10.2014 and multiplayer was broken.There was no any apologize from Firaxis and 2K and no even published approximate date of recovery.So my score is the worst possible!!! Expand

See all 98 User Reviews