Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 651 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second expansion for Sid Meier's Civilization V, Brave New World, introduces nine new civilizations, international trade, and victory through cultural dominance.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Sid Meier's Civilization V: Gods & Kings - Launch Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 55
  2. Negative: 1 out of 55
  1. Jul 25, 2013
    100
    Really, the best part about Brave New World is that it’s finally addressed every victory condition in the game and made each one not only more equally viable, but also just as busy. Weaponizing culture works to bring it more in line with the other conditions–it’s something you have to work towards and not something you just happen to achieve. On top of that, the diplomacy changes make this system more interesting as well, and it all comes down to one thing: if you have Civilization V and want to play more, you owe it to yourself to get this expansion.
  2. Jul 22, 2013
    90
    If you love strategy, Brave New World must not be missed. This is pure Civilization gold and truly shows why this franchise always remains relevant.
  3. Sep 10, 2013
    90
    Brave New World is without a doubt the best expansion to Civilization V. The core gameplay modes and win states has received great and well needed updates which gives a more varied and balanced experience. Of course there is still some dead air during the game sessions but the new content will disappoint no one. Even if it is three years old Civilization V is with this expansion still one of the best ways to combine entertainment with education.
  4. Jul 15, 2013
    88
    Essentially, if you love Civilization V, Brave New World will open up a world of possibilities. And if you haven't yet picked up Civilization V, Brave New World is the best way to play.
  5. Of course, there’s more to Brave New World than Culture Victories, and more than I could hope to absorb in a single 20-hour game. Firaxis has added new world wonders, abilities specific to each of nine new civilizations, a couple of period-specific scenarios, and even some fresh military units, like the late-game XCOM: Enemy Unknown-inspired XCOM squad, which I built but, sadly, didn’t have occasion to use.
  6. Jul 8, 2013
    84
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Jul 11, 2013
    40
    It peppers the game with busywork where you’d normally be hitting “next turn” over and over, waiting to administer a beating to the game’s brain dead military. Now you’re playing on turf where the AI is stronger, managing the strategy level of the game, finessing the economy, wrangling trade routes, expanding out into the map. It helps the pacing in a not very good game where pacing was one of the significant problems. So if I’m going to play Civilization V, the best thing I can say about Brave New World is that this is the preferred way to do it.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 99
  2. Negative: 11 out of 99
  1. Sep 4, 2014
    10
    My experiences with the Civilization series begin in my childhood. For Christmas one year I received Civilization: Revolution for the DS. AtMy experiences with the Civilization series begin in my childhood. For Christmas one year I received Civilization: Revolution for the DS. At this point in my life I was generally ignorant to the videogaming world so all of my decisions on games were based solely on what other kids in my school already had. I can attribute Civ: Rev to being the game that changed that forever.

    Civilization: Brave New World completes what is probably one of the most influential games I have ever played. Civilization V as a whole will always be what I consider my favorite strategy game and with Brave New World, I can happily say that every dollar of the $130 I spent on this game were very much worth it. From the new Ideologies to the expanded trade systems to the new Civs. This expansion really just made the game for me and for that, I will always hold the names Sid Meier and Firaxis to the highest reverence.
    Expand
  2. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Absolutely fantastic expansion. Pretty much every complaint from Civilization is addressed. Boring late game? Gone. Invisible trade? Gone.Absolutely fantastic expansion. Pretty much every complaint from Civilization is addressed. Boring late game? Gone. Invisible trade? Gone. Basically mandatory for anyone playing Civilization. Try Zulu with mass Impi rush. You'll thank me later. Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2013
    9
    WOW is this a much-needed boost for Civ 5 which was not terrible but also not very engaging either. Tourism, World Congress, new ways to useWOW is this a much-needed boost for Civ 5 which was not terrible but also not very engaging either. Tourism, World Congress, new ways to use spies, some use for city-states and archaeologists really transform a mediocre game into a fun one.

    If you gave up on Civ 5 then this will turn it around for you. If you have not bought Civ 5 then buy this with it or you will regret it later!
    Expand
  4. Jul 9, 2013
    9
    A great update to a game in need of an ending. The generalization that Gods & Kings addressed the first half the game while Brave New WorldA great update to a game in need of an ending. The generalization that Gods & Kings addressed the first half the game while Brave New World fixes the second half is somewhat true. The new civs also offer dramatically different play styles, which makes this expansion more than a mere evolution but less than a full sequel (say, Civ VI). Worth buying, 100%! Expand
  5. Jul 26, 2013
    8
    I have logged maaaany hours in Civ V and many, many more in other Civ games (thousands?) and this expansion finally makes V an interestingI have logged maaaany hours in Civ V and many, many more in other Civ games (thousands?) and this expansion finally makes V an interesting experience through the ages. Only problem is it does not address the biggest weakness of Civ V: The combat AI. On emperor difficulty I try to get a culture or science victory and just barely hang on the entire game, but if I get attacked it is soooo easy to take enemy cities even when they have major tech advantages only my own desire to not win by domination stops me from steamrolling the AI. The REALLY need to focus the next expansion on the very difficult problem of combat AI. Then V could be one of the best games ever. Expand
  6. Aug 3, 2013
    8
    Great Gameplay
    - Great Characters
    - Plenty of Options - Nice Cartoon Look - Plenty of Options to Win - Good AI - Stable Game - Teaches
    Great Gameplay
    - Great Characters
    - Plenty of Options
    - Nice Cartoon Look
    - Plenty of Options to Win
    - Good AI
    - Stable Game
    - Teaches Historical People, Places, Ideologies and Cultures
    - Good Voice acting
    Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2014
    0
    It was my favorite game ,until the patch was issued on 27.10.2014 and multiplayer was broken.There was no any apologize from Firaxis and 2KIt was my favorite game ,until the patch was issued on 27.10.2014 and multiplayer was broken.There was no any apologize from Firaxis and 2K and no even published approximate date of recovery.So my score is the worst possible!!! Expand

See all 99 User Reviews