Sid Meier's Railroads! PC

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 116
  2. Negative: 48 out of 116
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeVincent
    Apr 6, 2008
    2
    I've bee a huge fan of Mr. Meier's work for years - this product is disappointing and frustrating. Disappointing in there is no real logic control - or challenge and the scale is just - wrong. Disappointing in the frequency of crashes. And yes, I've downloaded the patch and even purchased a new graphics card thinking it had to be my system. Sorry Mr. Meier, you reallyI've bee a huge fan of Mr. Meier's work for years - this product is disappointing and frustrating. Disappointing in there is no real logic control - or challenge and the scale is just - wrong. Disappointing in the frequency of crashes. And yes, I've downloaded the patch and even purchased a new graphics card thinking it had to be my system. Sorry Mr. Meier, you really botched this one! Expand
  2. ChrisvanG
    Aug 27, 2008
    3
    Seems to be a great game till you start playing it. The crashes take all the fun out of it. I can live with things like the engines have no tender and the occasional graphics failures but the continious crashes (OS Vista Ultimate) completely takes the fun out of this game. Waste of 10 Euro's.
  3. MikeM.
    Nov 30, 2007
    1
    I LOVE Railroad Tycoon 1 - 3! I started to love this one too, but then I noticed after I was doing well and had a lot of track on the map, bugs would start emerging: Track would disappear; Water would suddenly be in the middle of the map where land was before...then...crash! After it crashed, Windows would do some really funny stuff too until I rebooted. What a huge pain the butt to have I LOVE Railroad Tycoon 1 - 3! I started to love this one too, but then I noticed after I was doing well and had a lot of track on the map, bugs would start emerging: Track would disappear; Water would suddenly be in the middle of the map where land was before...then...crash! After it crashed, Windows would do some really funny stuff too until I rebooted. What a huge pain the butt to have to reboot everytime I felt like playing Railroads...and most of the time I could not even make it through a game without it crashing.It really sucked when I played multiplayer becuase rarely did any of us make it through a game without someone crashing. On the other hand, my brother's copy runs just great. I am guessing that they only tested this game on a very small set of hardware and decided that everyone who doesn't use that set of hardware is just SOL. From what I see here, that means more people than not get the shaft. So here's a big thumbs down to the development team and most of all the management team that proably pushed the developers in directions they did not want to go, all in the name of maximizing profit. Gotta keep those shareholders happy you know. Morons. I guess told them that game sales will start declining when people get fed up with their substandard software. Expand
  4. CarlosR.
    Oct 24, 2006
    3
    A very simple game more fit for my 5 yo daughter than myself. It is too easy. The epic feeling was completely taken out as the maps are very small. Also only 8 maps in the game. Addressing some generous comments posted before, this game IS NOT for "someone who never played a tycoon game". It is too simple and easy. No, you don't need to like FS10 or IL2 to see this game as the real A very simple game more fit for my 5 yo daughter than myself. It is too easy. The epic feeling was completely taken out as the maps are very small. Also only 8 maps in the game. Addressing some generous comments posted before, this game IS NOT for "someone who never played a tycoon game". It is too simple and easy. No, you don't need to like FS10 or IL2 to see this game as the real turkey it is. Another interesting argument of the few people who liked it is about the great multiplayer capabilities: FORGET IT. I played with my wife. It crashed 4 times in an hour. It's boring, becaue you have not many things to do besides looking for the trains to go around collecting huge piles of cash! This is a turkey! Expand
  5. JohnB.
    Oct 26, 2006
    4
    What a huge disappointment. The track-laying is just a mess. This game is so dumbed down that the fun is gone. I really was hoping for something close to the gameplay of the original Railroad Tycoon with updated graphics. Why can't the developers understand that accurately and precisely laying track and placing signals is immensely satisfying in a railroad game? And why are there no What a huge disappointment. The track-laying is just a mess. This game is so dumbed down that the fun is gone. I really was hoping for something close to the gameplay of the original Railroad Tycoon with updated graphics. Why can't the developers understand that accurately and precisely laying track and placing signals is immensely satisfying in a railroad game? And why are there no top-down overview 2D maps of your railroad empire? Or at least a few more levels of zooming out. The game is so claustrophobic and crowded. The maps are just so small- your trains never seem like they are going cross-country. Overall it feels like a "kiddie" game. I could go on here... Firaxis owes us a refund. Expand
  6. MacS.
    Oct 31, 2006
    2
    What a deception, this game is a PC toy for Kids ! definitively to easy. Maps are really small, you track few meters only one city to the other. No deep at all, a lot of bugs, no fun, I'm very dissapointed, I expected something closer to RT3 which was very good, save your money buy something else!
  7. AlexJ.
    Nov 2, 2006
    3
    Rather disappointing. Railroad Tycoon 3 is better. The maps feel so small, and the fun of laying track is just not there... Camera control is awkward compared to RRT3, and you can't zoom in to your trains and follow them around a huge landscape. It's like a little toy.
  8. DeanT
    Nov 9, 2006
    4
    I agree with others who give this a low score. Crashes to desktop are frequent, there's a lot of graphic flickering, maps are too small, the trains don't always obey signals and end up in stalemate situations a lot. There is no way to back a train out of these stalemates and putting in a new piece of track to solve a stalemate is just plain stupid. The steam locos have no coal I agree with others who give this a low score. Crashes to desktop are frequent, there's a lot of graphic flickering, maps are too small, the trains don't always obey signals and end up in stalemate situations a lot. There is no way to back a train out of these stalemates and putting in a new piece of track to solve a stalemate is just plain stupid. The steam locos have no coal tenders. And yes it is very toy-like. I could live with most of these deficiencies but the crashes and graphic mis-behaviour really kill it for me. Expand
  9. AAAA
    Nov 18, 2006
    0
    I was a huge fan of RRT 3 who had solid "true 3D" graphics, good sound and the best economy/RR sim model ever made to day. You still find me under "Champion_Tycoon" in the multiplayer once in a while (I have not lost a multiplayer game in more than a year so strong players are highly welcome). I am also a long time fan of Sid Meier's games, some of which brought me many hours of I was a huge fan of RRT 3 who had solid "true 3D" graphics, good sound and the best economy/RR sim model ever made to day. You still find me under "Champion_Tycoon" in the multiplayer once in a while (I have not lost a multiplayer game in more than a year so strong players are highly welcome). I am also a long time fan of Sid Meier's games, some of which brought me many hours of relaxation over the past 15 years. That being said I expected 'Railroads' to come at least close to what RT3 was: a budget game. Oh boy was I wrong... Sid Meier's game is pure crap; I spent about 6 days playing the single and multiplayer maps and I was disappointed with every aspect of the game: graphics, sound, controls, design, game logic, economic model, RR model, historic accuracy, replayabilty and last, but not least, overall entertainment value. It is one of the worst games I have ever played... and I have played more of them than I should have. This game is an absolute ***ZERO*** Like some1 said b4: "Shame on you Sid." Expand
  10. AAAA
    Nov 18, 2006
    0
    I was a huge fan of RRT 3 who had solid "true 3D" graphics, good sound and the best economy/RR sim model ever made to day. You still find me under "Champion_Tycoon" in the multiplayer once in a while (I have not lost a multiplayer game in more than a year so strong players are highly welcome). I am also a long time fan of Sid Meier's games, some of which brought me many hours of I was a huge fan of RRT 3 who had solid "true 3D" graphics, good sound and the best economy/RR sim model ever made to day. You still find me under "Champion_Tycoon" in the multiplayer once in a while (I have not lost a multiplayer game in more than a year so strong players are highly welcome). I am also a long time fan of Sid Meier's games, some of which brought me many hours of relaxation over the past 15 years. That being said I expected 'Railroads' to come at least close to what RT3 was: a budget game. Oh boy was I wrong... Sid Meier's game is pure crap; I spent about 6 days playing the single and multiplayer maps and I was disappointed with every aspect of the game: graphics, sound, controls, design, game logic, economic model, RR model, historic accuracy, replayabilty and last, but not least, overall entertainment value. It is one of the worst games I have ever played... and I have played more of them than I should have. This game is an absolute ***ZERO*** Like some1 said b4: "Shame on you Sid." Expand
  11. DanielC.
    Nov 18, 2006
    1
    This game is terrible, and full of bugs! Railroad Tycoon 3 is a MUCH MUCH better game!
  12. PaulE.
    Dec 22, 2006
    1
    This game is unplayable due to crashing every 10 minutes or so. Even with the latest 1.10 patch I cannot even begin to get into a game. I feel like my money was stolen.
  13. RobS.
    Dec 31, 2006
    2
    The game is full of bugs, the game tends to lock up and likes to crash to windows. It's disappointing to see Sid Meier putting his name on an unfinished product like this. The game has potential but for now it's just throwing money away.
  14. DanP.
    Jan 6, 2007
    4
    It looks like it could be a good game to come home ticked off and just want to conquer, without too much resistance. I would like the game easily 3 times as much though if it didn't throw me on the desktop every 15 minutes!
  15. ChrisC.
    Feb 24, 2007
    1
    Very, very disappointing. I've loved other Sid Meier titles and was a fan of Railroad Tycoon and the sequel. This, however, is absolute rubbish, riddled with bugs. Trains just get stuck (this even happened to me the first time I ran the tutorial) or end up going round in loops never reaching their destination due to terrible routing algorithms. Avoid this game like the plague - Very, very disappointing. I've loved other Sid Meier titles and was a fan of Railroad Tycoon and the sequel. This, however, is absolute rubbish, riddled with bugs. Trains just get stuck (this even happened to me the first time I ran the tutorial) or end up going round in loops never reaching their destination due to terrible routing algorithms. Avoid this game like the plague - it's not the quality product we've come to expect under the Sid Meier label. Expand
  16. CConrnish
    Feb 26, 2007
    3
    Could have been a fun basic strategy game but the bugs make it unplayable. Even with the patch, it crashes consistently after about 20 minutes play time. Running on a pretty solid system with 3GB memory so the problems are with the program. Was never able to begin playing with even one computer opponent due to the instability. There may be a good game there if it can get properly patched. Could have been a fun basic strategy game but the bugs make it unplayable. Even with the patch, it crashes consistently after about 20 minutes play time. Running on a pretty solid system with 3GB memory so the problems are with the program. Was never able to begin playing with even one computer opponent due to the instability. There may be a good game there if it can get properly patched. For now, save your money. Expand
  17. IanT.
    May 23, 2007
    1
    It gets a one, because at least it makes it onto the monitor - sometimes! Purchased thru Steam (who don't appear to want to help) I have not enjoyed the experience at all. Game keeps crashing without warning and for no apparent reason. Running Win Vista Ultimate; 2Gb DDR2 800 RAM, 256Mb Video; Intel E6400 Duo Core2; so it has enough power......What a load of crap.......
  18. AdamB.
    Aug 13, 2007
    1
    Pretty and a really good idea but even the demo goes wrong, what on Earth are they playing at?
  19. PeterD.
    Sep 5, 2007
    1
    This game ran great on Windows XP Professional. Got a new PC with Duo Core, 2 gigs, 256 mb video, etc.... and it crashes within 10 - 15 minutes. No help from Steam, who I purchased from, they said try Fireaxis. Tried Fireaxis and they said it was the distributors issue, yeah right, the people that distributed can't figure out how to fix it, isn't that the developers job? Anyhow, This game ran great on Windows XP Professional. Got a new PC with Duo Core, 2 gigs, 256 mb video, etc.... and it crashes within 10 - 15 minutes. No help from Steam, who I purchased from, they said try Fireaxis. Tried Fireaxis and they said it was the distributors issue, yeah right, the people that distributed can't figure out how to fix it, isn't that the developers job? Anyhow, very dissapointed, my 7 yr old really liked the game. The patch didn't fix anything that I could tell, same problems still exist. Oh well, no more Steam purhases or Fireaxis for me until they resolve the issue. Expand
  20. GregorS.
    Nov 28, 2007
    1
    It has unfortunately become a good business model to release software full of bugs, and then run away from the responsibility when the complaints start flowing in. Well, Firaxis is now on my blacklist; no more from that direction. I can only warn against this product: It's so full of bugs that it's essentially unplayable. Also embarrassing to watch the official reviews that look It has unfortunately become a good business model to release software full of bugs, and then run away from the responsibility when the complaints start flowing in. Well, Firaxis is now on my blacklist; no more from that direction. I can only warn against this product: It's so full of bugs that it's essentially unplayable. Also embarrassing to watch the official reviews that look like the reviewers must have been on drugs. Expand
  21. DanielS.
    Dec 29, 2007
    3
    I can only assume Sid Meier's and his marketing partners were aiming for the WalMart crowd with this dumb-downed, comic book iteration of the RRT franchise. This game is a disappointment on a par with Master of Orion 3.
  22. BethR
    Feb 24, 2008
    1
    This game would be a lot of fun... if it worked! I purchased this for my 8 yo son. He loved it until the bugs started happening. Now this game is nothing short of a frustration for him. He has left the game crying before due to the game crashing after he's put in a lot of hard work. Now the tracks are starting to disappear. The water is where land used to be, not to mention allThis game would be a lot of fun... if it worked! I purchased this for my 8 yo son. He loved it until the bugs started happening. Now this game is nothing short of a frustration for him. He has left the game crying before due to the game crashing after he's put in a lot of hard work. Now the tracks are starting to disappear. The water is where land used to be, not to mention all the crashes.

    I am so disappointed in this game. I don't understand why they release it when its clearly not ready. Oh well. This will be the last Sid Meier game that I purchase for my son. Not worth it at all.
    Expand
  23. StephenErmann
    Apr 5, 2008
    4
    Beautiful game, starts nice and easy then becomes more complex. Nice, except that it crashes randomly under Vista. I was never able to finish a game. Issue is known since early 2007, and discussed on many web sites, publisher has not acknolwedged the issue, no patch has been issued since December 2006. Product seems abandonned by the editor and the distributors. Will try to get my moneyBeautiful game, starts nice and easy then becomes more complex. Nice, except that it crashes randomly under Vista. I was never able to finish a game. Issue is known since early 2007, and discussed on many web sites, publisher has not acknolwedged the issue, no patch has been issued since December 2006. Product seems abandonned by the editor and the distributors. Will try to get my money back, with regrets... Expand
  24. UbirajaraB.
    Oct 20, 2006
    4
    Fireaxis continues to produce substandard material out from a golden brand (Sid Meier) and from classical franchises (Civ, Pirates, Railroad Tycoon). They are watering the beer expecting trying to catter for today's kids while dumping the yesterday's ones. I think both today's as well as yesterdays' kids will not like it for different reasons. The first ones because Fireaxis continues to produce substandard material out from a golden brand (Sid Meier) and from classical franchises (Civ, Pirates, Railroad Tycoon). They are watering the beer expecting trying to catter for today's kids while dumping the yesterday's ones. I think both today's as well as yesterdays' kids will not like it for different reasons. The first ones because there are no "Kool x-plosions", the last ones because the game is so simple and unambitious it leads to despair. Expand
  25. EricP.
    Oct 22, 2006
    4
    A very pretty toy train game with little content or control for the Sim enthusiast. Highly suitable for ages 5 > 12, but not much over. You simply click in the required place, the bits appear, the time races by, you finish in a few hours. (If the bugs in it let you)
  26. RyanH.
    Oct 17, 2006
    2
    I was really excited about Sid Meier
  27. Feb 15, 2014
    0
    I was really enjoying the game, but it crashes me back to the desktop, so there's no way for me to keep playing it. .
  28. Mar 25, 2014
    1
    I think It's really hard to make money, and you are constantly losing it. It's litterly impossible to make money.
    I am soon hoping to get ace patrol, and I like most of sid miers games.
  29. JeffP.
    Feb 11, 2007
    3
    Huge disappointment, It seems this game is geared mostly for multiplayer play. I found it difficult to keep up with the goals on the single player mode having to read down a long list and try to remember everything. I have been a big Sid Meyers fan but the last 3 or 4 titles that he has put out all seemed shallow, rushed, and short of expectation. Maybe Sid should keep with the Civ Huge disappointment, It seems this game is geared mostly for multiplayer play. I found it difficult to keep up with the goals on the single player mode having to read down a long list and try to remember everything. I have been a big Sid Meyers fan but the last 3 or 4 titles that he has put out all seemed shallow, rushed, and short of expectation. Maybe Sid should keep with the Civ series. In my opinion, the only games that are any good, that has had his name on it in the last 4 years Expand
  30. Jun 10, 2014
    3
    Mal ajustado y poco desarrollo, además es a veces un poco incomprensible para gestionar todas las variables y las estructuras de desarrollo de los trenes. No vale la pena.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. The only real problem with the game is that it sticks pretty close to its prescribed formula. You build trains, make money, and drive competitors out of business. You won’t uncover layer upon layer of depth, you’ll just get more efficient.
  2. But as complex and rewarding as building a railroad empire can be, it rarely feels daunting or tedious, which is perhaps the best thing that can be said for a game of this type.
  3. 70
    In the end, it's hard not to fall a little bit in love with Railroads!, because it's just a lovable kind of game. Now if only they'd release some scaled-up maps to match the game's ambitions.