Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Something new, something old, something borrowed and something rust-red. The Americans rebooted the old franchise and their mixture is strong. Numerous references to the roots of the genre and the previous parts don't get in the way of their efforts to rejuvenate the series. The game scares in a way that seems to tamper with what's in your head, a way that I consider superior. [Mar 2009]
  2. Homecoming isn’t bad per se, it’s just that it isn’t frightening enough to be worthy of the Silent Hill-name. It might be a mildly enjoyable Action-game, but not much beyond that. [Issue#17]
  3. If you like games of the Silent Hill series, you will enjoy this game. If you are looking for a high grade horror-game, you should pick another product situated in the genre.
  4. Despite its flaws, we have to say we have a more than decent title here, heir to a legacy of classic survival horror elements and an example of what Silent Hill should be in this generation. Although the final result is not so awesome, this is a good opportunity to return to that silent village.
  5. New installment to the popular horror series surprisingly discourages the gamers by an extremely slow opening. Those who get over the first few boring hours will be rewarded greatly — music, atmosphere, puzzles, boss fights are fantastic as usual. [Feb 2009]
  6. The fifth episode of the series is shocking PC gamers - with long distances to cover and stupid riddles to solve. It still has some well done horror moments to offer, but it's not as creepy as the earlier episodes. A lot of effects were just copied over, so instead of being scary they cause the feeling of "been there, done that".
  7. Homecoming adds a few small elements to the mix. [Jan 2009, p.100]
  8. Fans will probably dig the game’s cool set pieces and the story, but the save points are placed too far apart, many puzzles require too much random experimentation, and the dialogue system seems like an afterthought. [Nov 2008, p.118]
  9. This action game with horror influences made us scream at night. The music and spooky enemies has driven us to a point that we had to switch on all the lights. Once we weren’t scared anymore we saw some things that made are eyebrows go up. The protagonist, Alex, can fight and uses a gun. This takes away a lot of fun that we had during the last Silent Hill. So it is safe to say that it’s a good game, but doesn’t have the ‘wow’ factor.
  10. Homecoming is too old-fashioned and lacks the originality and tension that made the previous games so enjoyable. [Mar 2009, p.70]
  11. Right up to date - the date being 2002. [Jan 2009, p.77]
  12. 55
    The game feels like a bit of a letdown. The gameplay has been reduced from a tense psychological experience fraught with spine tingling jumps and scares to a generic, predictable action title set in the location with good graphics and a great soundtrack.
  13. Instead of breathing new life into the dying series, Double Helix created a piece of fan fiction. This Silent Hill is as authentic as chicory coffee or synthetic rubies.
  14. An under-egged effort even more compromised by a token PC port. [Issue#17, p.69]
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 133 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 29
  2. Negative: 11 out of 29
  1. Aji
    Jan 10, 2009
    7
    In Silent hill universe :
    1st: Silent Hill 1 (PS1) .... total cllasic.No silent hill game can be better
    2nd:Silent Hill 2
    3rd:Silent Hill
    Origins(short but not bad)
    then Silent Hill Room and Silent Hill 3
    ...and here Silent Hill Homecoming.PC version have many bugs but i still thing its a good game.Very good game but not good Silent Hill....and worst story in SH games ever.
    Full Review »
  2. RyanF
    Dec 31, 2009
    10
    It seems most of the people giving this game a low rating are looking for something else -- Silent Hill, you know, that game that came out on the Playstation years ago? Stop being nostalgic. Sure, this game isn't everything the older games were, but it's still damn good. Full Review »
  3. Borealis
    Jan 31, 2010
    9
    This is not bad game. Maybe, it's not THAt old Silent Hill, maybe bad porting on PC (But I haven't got problems with it at all), but its really good horror game with pretty graphics. Monsters are awesome. Full Review »