Silent Hunter: Wolves of the Pacific Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific takes players to the depths of the Pacific Ocean as the skipper of an American submarine. Immersed in this intense environment with the help of amazing graphics and sound, players will engage in massive battles with enemy units, manage and evolve anSilent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific takes players to the depths of the Pacific Ocean as the skipper of an American submarine. Immersed in this intense environment with the help of amazing graphics and sound, players will engage in massive battles with enemy units, manage and evolve an entire submarine crew, and earn promotions and commendations to ensure victory in the Pacific. Hollywood Blockbuster Experience: Lifelike graphics and spectacular audio/visual effects offer an incredibly immersive gaming experience. Innovative Crew Evolution: Earn upgrades and experience to help create the most effective naval force in the Pacific Theater. Immersive Single-Player Gameplay: Diverse mission objectives and events on more than 15 maps combined with unique rewards make each campaign a unique experience. Addictive New Online Adversarial Mode: Join forces with up to eight friends via LAN or four via Internet in either cooperative or adversarial gameplay modes. Scripted and generated mission types allow for epic online battles and unlimited replayability. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. The change of scenery to the Pacific is refreshing, but unfortunately it is pretty much the only thing that has changed since the last version. The new graphics are nice, but what is really needed is a better damage model and other gameplay improvements. [June 2007]
  2. 87
    This is very much a game where stealth and planning wins out over gung-ho heroism. The more successful kills you rack up the more popular you'll become with the Navy top brass, this'll lead to you being able to improve the quality of your crew and even fit your sub out with some important upgrades if you're lucky.
  3. This is one of the slowest games I've ever played...Rash or even casual actions will be your undoing in Silent Hunter. Every move requires careful planning. [May 2007, p.58]
  4. Although describing it as the best submarine sim available could quite easily be a backhanded complement considering the genreā€™s paucity, SH4 is a genuinely absorbing and fun game that manages, largely successfully, to straddle the never-land between hardcore and arcade gaming.
  5. While there are a few stability issues, it's nothing that can't be fixed, and the gorgeous effects of the game outweigh the small bugs.
  6. In the weeks ahead--maybe even by the time you read this--Silent Hunter 4 will likely grow into the sub-sim classic its ambitious designers intended. It's just too bad that the out-of-the-box version narrowly missed the boat. [June 2007, p.64]
  7. The shipped version of Silent Hunter IV feels like little more than a half-working teaser of things to come.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 5 out of 11
  1. MikeW.
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    I delibrately didn't play this game or comment until very recently and after the 3rd patch was released thanks to advice from other I delibrately didn't play this game or comment until very recently and after the 3rd patch was released thanks to advice from other players who told me it wasn't ready. I have been a big fan of WW2 sub sims since my first Silent Service on the Amega many years ago and was blown away by Silent Hunter 2 & 3! SH4 WOTP is a masterpiece my only gripe being that it would be nice to be able to walk around the sub and talk to members of the crew (affecting morale/experience) & i would like to see wildlife such as dolphins, sharks, whales & fish. Expand
  2. MichaelR.
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    I was massive fan of Silent Hunter 3, and so was unsure about Silent Hunter 4, given my interest in the Battle of the Atlantic (and U-Boats). I was massive fan of Silent Hunter 3, and so was unsure about Silent Hunter 4, given my interest in the Battle of the Atlantic (and U-Boats). Well, I have to say that this game is so much better than the third incarnation - both graphically and gameplay-wise. Collapse
  3. Nov 16, 2012
    8
    Would score it at 9.5 once modded but only rates 5 out of the box. Enjoyable but realistic end of the sim market, an understanding ofWould score it at 9.5 once modded but only rates 5 out of the box. Enjoyable but realistic end of the sim market, an understanding of submarine warfare in the second world war highly recommended. Bit like marmite you love it or hate it. Expand
  4. May 15, 2012
    7
    Being my first submarine sim (and my entry to the silent hunter series) I don't have much to compare this game to. However from my time withBeing my first submarine sim (and my entry to the silent hunter series) I don't have much to compare this game to. However from my time with it I think it is a solid game. Whilst there are things that should be there (like proper tutorials and explanations on the differences between the different submarines) this game has been fun to play. Obviously this game is not for everyone, the game play is extremely slow, so slow that even on 8000+ time compression I still do spend a lot of time waiting for something to happen. However when something does happen, that is where the game is most fun. The combat isn't the best but it is extremely satisfying when you land you first manually aimed torpedo hit (even more satisfying given that there is no tutorial on how to do it). Overall this game is obviously for a niche audience and could be better. But it isn't a bad game (and is also relatively cheep). Expand
  5. jwiles
    Jul 25, 2009
    2
    I've played and enjoyed Silent Hunter 3 for some time now and was really looking forward to SH4. But, it's fundamentally broken. I've played and enjoyed Silent Hunter 3 for some time now and was really looking forward to SH4. But, it's fundamentally broken. The list of bugs and glitches could fill several telephone books. Massive load times and graphics which aren't that much better that SH3 all add up to make this a very poor game. Avoid at all costs! Expand
  6. Steve
    Apr 28, 2007
    2
    Game is filled with bugs. Two patches have been released and there are still serious issues. It was released unfinished and untested. for Game is filled with bugs. Two patches have been released and there are still serious issues. It was released unfinished and untested. for example, in career mode, there is a bug that will not let you end your patrol in Brisbane, thus forcibly ending your career/game in 1943. I want my money back. Expand
  7. Matt
    May 21, 2007
    0
    I'm a big fan of the previous Silent Hunter titles, and was positivly drooling when i got this thro the post. However, upon playing the I'm a big fan of the previous Silent Hunter titles, and was positivly drooling when i got this thro the post. However, upon playing the game for the first time, found it to be so buggy that it proved to be unplayable. Ok, I thought, they'll release some patches that'ff fix it up in no time! However, after the release of the second patch, news has hit hhe SSIV forums that , Despite the latest patch still leaving a host of bugs, UBI are debating whether or not to bother with a 1.3 patch!! So my advice, although the game has great potential, until UBI face facts and provide some support to its community, then u should never EVER buy this product. (or indeed maybe any other UBI product?) In short. Great potential, but made unplayable due to bugs that seem to never be fixed. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews