Silverfall PC

Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
Buy On
  1. The game has a few problems but has a nice backdrop of multiplayer options, including mods, and has a nice look.
  2. PC Gamer
    72
    With a little more polish, Silverfall could have made a run at toppling the genre's heavyweights. [June 2007, p.68]
  3. Silverfall doesn't offer anything dynamically new, but it's a fun world full of things to whack with a satisfying storyline and well thought out characters and skill development.
  4. When I first started playing, I was impressed with the game, as it seemed the first real advancement since the "Diablo" genre was created years ago. After one play-through, though, I’m done with it.
  5. And I say in conclusion (with great sorrow and apologies to the late Lloyd Bentsen): "Silverfall, I played Diablo II. I knew Diablo II. Diablo II was a friend of mine. And Silverfall [sigh], you’re no Diablo II."
  6. AceGamez
    70
    If you're looking for an enjoyable hack-and-slash epic to relieve a little tension running quests for idle NPCs and nailing Zombie Trolls with a 90lb Mechanical Warhammer for an ultimately fairly hollow reward then this may just be the game you're looking for.
  7. PC Format
    68
    An unexpectedly charming diversion of a game, but one that ultimatey fails to deliver on its early promise. A shame, really. [Apr 2007, p.62]
  8. If you are a fan of action RPGs the by all means give Silverfall a look. It certainly isn’t a bad game, but games like these are an acquired taste and are very difficult to recommend without first referring people to similar and ultimately better alternatives.
  9. An action-RPG hack n’ slash that doesn’t live up to the promise of its setting. There is some fun to be had, but there are enough questionable moments to keep this from being a solid title.
  10. Frequent levelling and plentiful and varied loot give Silverfall a definite momentum; the blend of worlds and the inventiveness of some of the creatures give it a modicum of novelty. This is an easy game to get swept along by, but, largely because of those serried foes, it's also an easy game to walk away from. [Apr 2007, p.82]
  11. 65
    Silverfall is not particularly a bad game, it just is not a groundbreaking game in a genre that has had several heavyweights that still shine to this very day. The game has a handful of irritating bugs that you would typically never see in other games, and ultimately hurts the final product. There is still plenty of enjoyment to be found with Silverfall though.
  12. PC Zone UK
    65
    While Silverfall's artictic style and nature vs technology theme do set it aside from its rivals, the game still feels a bit rough around the edges. [May 2007, p.70]
  13. It's not a bad game, but Silverfall's enormous potential and pretty graphics are overshadowed by its weak story, poor interface, and frustrating design elements.
  14. Play Magazine
    60
    There are better titles on the shelf(and on this page)for fans of the form to be spending their money on. [Apr 2007, p.64]
  15. Action RPG veterans who are looking for a new challenge for their over-muscled index fingers could do a hell of a lot worse than investing a few hours (and indeed a few pounds) in Silverfall. It's no giant of the genre, but it's a pretty decent snack between meals.
  16. 60
    By making the start of the game so poorly balanced and infusing the whole experience with the control scheme from hell, Monte Cristo ensured that it took a certain amount of will power to play through far enough to get to the good bits which surely isn't good enough.
  17. The story is compelling enough to keep the interest of the story driven player, while adequately supplying the action enthusiast plenty to do.
  18. There are other interface issues and annoyances in Silverfall, but I’ll spare you from going into them in detail. Overall they all conspire to add too much frustration to Silverfall and the game’s interesting elements just can’t compete with this.
  19. Game Informer
    60
    It's sad when the best thing you can say for a game is that it's not broken, but that's about as positive as I can be about Silverfall. [May 2007, p.93]
  20. 60
    A game that tries exceedingly hard to avoid any attempt at innovation, or for that matter, any pretense of being fun.
  21. The skills and experience system may not be new but they don't get anything wrong either and if you make it to the end then you'll find that Silverfall is a satisfying nut to crack.
  22. Perhaps this genre has simply run its course, but Silverfall proves the old adage: no one out Diablos "Diablo."
  23. 55
    Considering it doesn't really do anything new for the action-RPG genre, and screws up aspects of the genre games released a decade ago were doing quite well, there's little reason to involve yourself.
  24. Silverfall is a title that had some potential, but suffers from a lack of quality control and an abundance of poor development decisions.
  25. 50
    Slogging through the beginning of the game -- before you can allocate points to the good skills or fulfill the quest requirements for companions -- can take its toll on you.
  26. The overall impression is of a game which was created in pieces like a puzzle, and then put together by someone who didn’t quite have the full picture on the front of the box.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 4 out of 20
  1. NickB.
    Jul 11, 2007
    7
    This is a game which does have some odd problems, but is actually surprisingly better than I have been led to believe by those who dislike This is a game which does have some odd problems, but is actually surprisingly better than I have been led to believe by those who dislike it. FOr the record, while I enjoy this game, my girlfriend absolutely was driven nuts by it and couldn't play anymore after a couple of hours, so be warned! For myself, I found the graphics (with the cell-shading, which can be turned off) very nice, I like the look. The storyline is fun, the exploration and Diablo-esque elements superior to Diablo (which I hated, by the way, I am not a Diablo fan, so take note there, too, maybe Silverfall is for people who disliked it's predecessor). The quest system is fun, the companions and other elements evoke qualities from MMOs which I like, and I learned how to deal with the wonky camera, which is unnecessarily difficult to manage, and should have just been a behind-the-shoulder follow-cam option like WoW, or maybe something like GW, but right now it's just a weird "control it as you need it," system which doesn't often behave the way you want it to....but I got used to it, while my girlfriend was ready to snap the disk in two, so there ya go. Full Review »
  2. Mar 5, 2012
    7
    Good sides: Basic gameplay mechanics like crafting/enchanting/skills are great, item stats vary and hunting better gear feels fun. If youGood sides: Basic gameplay mechanics like crafting/enchanting/skills are great, item stats vary and hunting better gear feels fun. If you liked Titan Quest, Diablo, Torchlight or other similiar RPGs you might also like this.

    Bad sides: Bad voice acting, mediocre dialogue, mediocre story, uninteresting world, multiplayer does not work over internet and lan is buggy, lots of invisible walls, level-scaling takes away the feeling of progress, enemies can only do basic attacks, dumb companion AI and no means to command them(especially annoying if you play ranged - they won't attack enemies that are not within ~3 meters), WAY too high potion drop rate, quest won't give much experience(just about as much as killing 1-2 enemies). world map doesn't show anything except quick travel points and there's no minimap.

    Don't worry it's not as bad as it sounds, I'm just better at complaining, lol.
    Full Review »
  3. JaredA.
    Mar 26, 2007
    9
    This game is did exactly what it was suppose to. Give u a ton of mobs to kill, and a ton of loot to get, all while you improve your This game is did exactly what it was suppose to. Give u a ton of mobs to kill, and a ton of loot to get, all while you improve your character. Nothing innovative about it really but it doesn't matter. There doesn't need to be. The formula the diablo used was good then, and is good now. This is basically a more open world version of diablo, very similar to sacred if you have played that. Great fun, I've been at it for 2 straight days without stopping. There are a few down points. No way to to remap controls makes it kinda hard to get used to, and the first few hours of the game have a steep learning curve. Really its just due to how weak your character is, then a learning curve. The game doesn't really scale back the size of the encounters, and until you have good crowd control or AOE abilities, its rough. But that changes come aroudn lvl 10 or so and it realy gets fun. If your liked diablo, sacred, titan quest, etc, you will LOVE silverfall. Its hack n slash RPG at its best. Full Review »