SimCity: Cities of Tomorrow Expansion Pack Image
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Brace yourself for an all-new type of disaster only fitting a technologically-advanced economy: a giant robot attack on your city. Unlock two new city specializations that allow you to build a resource-hungry mega corporation powered by a low-wealth workforce, or an urban utopia that develops clean technology and is controlled by the rich. Watch your city transform as it adapts to the changing times, with new options based on real-world technology such as Mag Levs that rise above the city streets and small buildings, futurized vehicles, and service drones. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    76
    Cities of Tomorrow is both a good expansion to the core game and a perfect entry point for a newcomer.
  2. Nov 20, 2013
    75
    Some parts of the future are stuck in the past, but it’s strikingly well-balanced, providing solutions for existing problems and new toys to tinker with that counteract each other nicely.
  3. Nov 27, 2013
    75
    The Cities of the Future expansion doesn't solve all of the problems that plagues the original, but does make for a more challenging and playable experience.
  4. Nov 15, 2013
    60
    Cities of Tomorrow makes SimCity a better game but, unfortunately, it still doesn't make SimCity a particularly good game. While its presentation is excellent and the act of laying out a city is alarmingly addictive, nurturing and developing that city is less compelling.
  5. Nov 25, 2013
    60
    For all the ways in which aims to take SimCity into the future, it remains tethered firmly to its past. Due to the peculiarities of its simulation, Origin's temperamental connection, and ultimately its own mechanical shallowness, Cities of Tomorrow is unlikely to make converts of those already driven out of town.
  6. Nov 12, 2013
    59
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Nov 20, 2013
    50
    The gorgeous sci-fi burgs in Cities of Tomorrow prove that beauty only runs skin-deep. Once you get bored with the neon-clad gimmicks of the MegaTowers and OmegaCo, you're left with pretty much the same flawed game that annoyed the city-building community last spring.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 14 out of 24
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    I've played Simcity since release through the ups and downs. Simcity got better over time, is playable, and fun to play. The expansion; Cities of Tomorrow adds a lot fo the game. First off the mega towers are awesome. You can add residents, offices, malls, parks, a school, and other things. Commuters come and go from the tower which is fun to watch. There are some bugs or confusion on different aspects of the towers, but nothing game breaking. The graphics got a nice upgrade. You can even carry the new monorail looking thing (train tracks above the ground) to non COT cities if you own the expansion by buying control net from your COT cities. They really did a good job with this expansion. Collapse
  2. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    It may be overpriced, and while the advertising sucked, plus no one asked for a future expansion but it is totally worth it. While you may not be able to build out, you now build up with megatowers. There may be a few bugs such as money fluctuations (Go from -$9000 an hour to +9000 and hour) and there only being one type of car, its nothing that cant be patched. But if you choose to get it, be sure to have 100's of kgal of water excess because megatowers are quite needy. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    There is a ton of new content which is a blast to play. They have solved some of the issues like having police/fire drones which don't have to sit in traffic. Mega Towers create a much easier way to manage your population/jobs numbers. Overall it was definitely worth the price of the expansion. Now granted, I am one of those people that would love to see bigger cities but the lead developer did post and say that they had a team working on it and it wasn't feasible because the majority of peoples computers wouldn't be able to run it. I can understand that because there is a LOT of animation in the game for each building. So, I'm chalking the smaller city thing up to a design choice and deciding to accept it. Additionally, there are a few bugs that I've encountered. I'm not marking off for those bugs because the developers have been very responsive in resolving those issues since launch and like almost all video game content some bugs are expected. Hopefully they will be resolved very soon but even with the bugs they're not deal breakers. The game is still a lot of fun. Expand
  4. Dec 12, 2013
    3
    I am sorry but E.A. has ruined one of my FAVORITE games of all time. I cannot believe they continue to get away with the sheer disregard for producing quality games. PLEASE people do not support this game. If had the pleasure of playing SimCity when Maxis and Will were in charge you will feel the same way too. I love all the simcites prior to Socieities and Simicty 5. They ruined the Sims. To them its more about money than it is having people enjoy a good quality game. We love simcity for the sheer enjoyment of allowing our imaginations and design run wild. Well they nerfed that in this game. I would play Cities XL over this and Cities XL is riddled with bugs!! Expand
  5. Dec 2, 2013
    2
    This expansion is small DLC for full exp price, to already broken game. I think EA cannot be serious about this cash in released in beta state. Old Sim City was legendary game but this is out of control. Stop Raping Sim City franchise. Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2013
    1
    EA yet again continues with bad business practices by not listening to their fan base. No bigger maps, no realistic building, no subway, highways, etc. DO NOT SUPPORT THIS GAME!!! Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    Broken expansion for already broken game. It really feels like I have to start with same words for every expansion review. Nothing is fixed in this overpriced expansion. Just avoid and wait for better in future. The year 2013 was awful for PC gamer but lets hope the year 2014 brings the golden age. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews