SimCity Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 4528 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Control a region that delivers true multi-city scale and play a single city or up to sixteen cities at once each with different specializations. Multiplayer adds a new facet to your game as your decisions will have an effect both your city and your region and creates new ways to play byControl a region that delivers true multi-city scale and play a single city or up to sixteen cities at once each with different specializations. Multiplayer adds a new facet to your game as your decisions will have an effect both your city and your region and creates new ways to play by collaborating or competing to earn achievements. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
SimCity (2013) Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 75
  2. Negative: 10 out of 75
  1. Mar 4, 2013
    100
    A fantastic city simulation that meets all expectations. So perfectly balanced it makes it easy to pick up and enjoy, but proves to be very difficult to master. Funny, addictive and with great options for both co-operative and competitive online play - Sim City is a clear candidate for Game of the Year.
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    86
    Controversy and technical issues aside, SimCity is deep, full of details and very accessible. No matter if you like this kind of game or not, we think it deserves a try.
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    If you have a good look at it, you can see as many reasons to like this new SimCity as to hate it. The required connection offers plenty of possibilities but it is a pain in the ass to lonely mayors. The HUD is elegant and subtle but hides some curious flaws. Finition seems perfect, but several bugs will come to spoil your gaming experience. Anyway, SimCity will make you play again and again, and that's quite a good point.
  4. Mar 17, 2013
    65
    There are some lovely aspects to the game, that have been developed from the earlier experiences that so many people knew and loved. There’s a great soundtrack, and the game has a polished look about it that makes you want to love it. But underneath, there is so much that’s broken, that I currently wouldn’t recommend the game - as I experienced it - to anyone not willing to go through the pain for a glimpse of the game they once loved.
  5. You soon realize that control, like your city, isn’t all its built up to be. So much has been smoothed out that it doesn’t always feel like you’re running the show.
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    55
    There's just something disturbing in seeing a game that is part of such a storied and influential franchise sacrifice so much to rush headlong into the social sphere. Perhaps the bugs and shortcomings will be resolved in a few weeks, but until then, SimCity's hidden requirement of additional patience still applies.
  7. Mar 8, 2013
    20
    If Electronic Arts is going to make a game with the basic premise being that no city is an island, if they're going to stress the interaction among cities, if they're going to make playing alongside other people a cornerstone of the design, if they're going to force my creations into tiny boxes that cannot exist past a certain point without the help of other tiny boxes, they're going to have to do the hard work of making it actually work. And ideally, that hard work should be done before they sell people the game, not after they've been caught flat-footed for botching it so completely.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    A good SimCity that is different than it's predecessors, but still captures that typical SimCity feeling. It takes some time to get used to aA good SimCity that is different than it's predecessors, but still captures that typical SimCity feeling. It takes some time to get used to a few new approaches like the city size and the connected cities, but can get you hooked up in no time, leaving lots of options to optimize in later gameplay stages.I'd buy it again, no server problems as welI.
    I honestly don't get however people try to give negative impressions without playing the game, or trying to manipulate the rating with multiple accounts that have copy&paste rants that repeat themselves.You don't have to buy, just let the people who enjoy it enjoy it.
    Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2013
    6
    Well despite the glaring server issues, bugs and inability to play offline. This game is actually a lot of fun. I was able to play forWell despite the glaring server issues, bugs and inability to play offline. This game is actually a lot of fun. I was able to play for several hours last night, however, on one of the European servers. There are some game crippling bugs I will admit. It's a shame that Maxis is under the thumb of EA I honestly believe that, if they were under the banner of any other producer they would have waited, ran proper beta testing and released the game when it was ready, instead I think big brother EA was pushing them to release a product to meet their budget. It's a shame really, because once your able to play the game it's really a lot of fun! Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    2
    I wish this game was released as a standalone game, I was looking forward to playing both Battlefield 3 and Sim City 5.

    The requirements
    I wish this game was released as a standalone game, I was looking forward to playing both Battlefield 3 and Sim City 5.

    The requirements are unreasonable for me, being always online, the servers having enough capacity for me to play when and where I want.

    What happens when there is lag?
    When the number of cities you can have gets limited artificially?
    When they shut down the servers?

    Maybe they should focus on making good games, instead of trying to figure out what is the best way to make money from day one with DLC.

    I'm never installing origin or a game that uses it.
    Expand
  4. May 20, 2015
    0
    EA destroys every good thing they get their greedy hands on: SimCity, the Sims, Battlefront. If you want a city building game go purchaseEA destroys every good thing they get their greedy hands on: SimCity, the Sims, Battlefront. If you want a city building game go purchase Cities: Skylines. SimCity is dead and Cities: Skylines has been built to replace it because face it, EA rapes whatever they can get their hands on. Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2013
    0
    Despite the client and the SimCity facebook page all claiming that the servers are online, whenever you load up the game (and get through theDespite the client and the SimCity facebook page all claiming that the servers are online, whenever you load up the game (and get through the 20 minute queue) it won't let you do anything because the servers are down. Somebody at EA decided that demanding online play had to be in the game, and thanks to them they have turned a fantastic looking game into a frustrating, unpleasant experience. I absolutely regret pre-ordering this game. Expand
  6. Mar 7, 2013
    0
    Do not buy this game, wait for the cracked, free, torrent with true offline single player to be available. The always on DRM in this gameDo not buy this game, wait for the cracked, free, torrent with true offline single player to be available. The always on DRM in this game completely devalues and worsens the experience. Im sure the game plays great... when it works. But so far I have yet to be able to access the servers and there is no sign of the problem getting better. Also no ability to transfer between servers and zero offline capability. That means if your internet goes out, or you want to play on the airplane, train, or car you're SOL. Not to mention when EA takes down the servers a year from now you won't be able to play the game any longer. Do not support this game or EA's bull Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2013
    0
    Always online DRM, smaller, non-connected cities due to engine limitations, DAY 0 DOWNLOADABLE CONTENT, poor customer service and delivery ofAlways online DRM, smaller, non-connected cities due to engine limitations, DAY 0 DOWNLOADABLE CONTENT, poor customer service and delivery of product (waited almost an hour to connect to my single player game), and a swath of simplifications in the gameplay that ruins it. Expand

See all 2053 User Reviews