SiN Episodes: Emergence PC

SiN Episodes: Emergence Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 403 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: SiN Episodes features the highly anticipated return of Elexis Sinclaire, the world’s most dangerous and seductive biochemist, and the only man who stands in her way, John R. Blade. The sworn enemies face off in Freeport City, a near-future mixture of San Francisco, Tokyo and New York, allSiN Episodes features the highly anticipated return of Elexis Sinclaire, the world’s most dangerous and seductive biochemist, and the only man who stands in her way, John R. Blade. The sworn enemies face off in Freeport City, a near-future mixture of San Francisco, Tokyo and New York, all set inside the unrestricted SiN universe. SiN Episodes expands on the role of Colonel John R. Blade, a battle worn hero in charge of HardCorps, an elite strike force with a long history of conflict with SinTEK, a powerful multibillion dollar empire headed up by Elexis Sinclaire, a beautiful, brilliant, and ruthless scientist who is out to remake humanity according to her own twisted vision. Joining Blade on his mission are JC, a HardCorps hacker with a secret to keep, and Jessica Cannon, a fiery rookie who can find her way into any secure facility. SiN Episodes: Emergence features never before seen weapons, characters and environments along with a host of interactive options, paying homage to its predecessors, SiN and its expansion pack, Wages of SiN, which set a new bar for interactivity. [Ritual Entertainment] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Not many games in this genre are released with a $20 price tag, so some gamers out there might not really know how to deal with a game that is a little light on the content but much lighter on the price.
  2. Emergence should serve as a great launching point for Ritual’s experiment. It’s a solid game that knows its audience, and while it is pared down, that’s only as far as needed for a game half the length and cost of an average one.
  3. Our only real gripe is that the weapon selection is meager; a pistol, a shotgun and a submachine gun fill out your arsenal.
  4. Ticks all the boxes without ever once truly capturing the imagination. Cheap, though. [Aug 2006, p.78]
  5. SiN Episodes: Emergence starts out great, with intense action and awesome physics. Unfortunately, the game grows very repetitive before too long, and will leave many players bored and wanting more diversity.
  6. It's a bland taste to a cultured palette. But it's fun, too, and self-aware.
  7. Even with the negatives described here, SiN Episodes 1:Emergence is a hard game to critique because it isn't complete. [Sept. 2006, p.59]

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 184
  1. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    i NEED MORE BLADE, BLADE! ji NEED MORE BLADE, BLADE! j k Expand
  2. CarlB.
    Jun 27, 2006
    10
    The best game of the year. Fun from beginning to end with no levels that dragged on.
  3. JasonG.
    Jul 4, 2008
    9
    I just love this game! It might not be the greatest FPS for those entrenched in the genre but the story and game is allot of fun. High I just love this game! It might not be the greatest FPS for those entrenched in the genre but the story and game is allot of fun. High testosterone, high Intensity, pulpy fiction, sci-fi, are all words that can be used to describe what this game is about. If the idea of playing the role of "Blade" a hero tough guy super cop in a cyber punk setting while battling the corporate SinTEK minions of your Evil arch nemesis (who happens to be a voluptuous super sexy babe named "Elexis Sinclaire") sounds like a fun concept then Sin might be just what you need! There are only 4 weapons to collect in game. The good news is that each of the 4 is useful from start to finish. Each weapon is a different distinct tool. The 3 guns have alternate ammo fire and are unique from one another, even though there are only 3 gun ( +grenades) to pick from they do give you allot of possibilities. Even during final level I was still choosing the magnum at times for certain shots. Sin uses a modified "Source engine" and as a result feel allot like HL2. The games atmosphere and setting by contrast might remind you of Deus Ex (only it has much more crisper and intense action scenes but with less detective work and puzzles. I feel it's a shame Ritual was bought out and will not be making an episode 2 in the near future... I do hope however that the new company might pick it up again sometime before people forget the story or at least sell the rights to someone else who is interested in continuing the project because I really can't tell you how much fun I have had playing this short, immature, macho action hero, Sci-fi ,pulp fiction episode. Expand
  4. ChrisD.
    Aug 4, 2006
    8
    Nice to see SP development is still alive - great game, though could be longer or cheaper - not good value!
  5. AmiraliM
    Jan 26, 2009
    7
    While the first episode isn't that bad, it seems only to serve as a teaser for more to come from the boys at Ritual. Though, I've While the first episode isn't that bad, it seems only to serve as a teaser for more to come from the boys at Ritual. Though, I've recently heard that Ritual have sold themselves to mumbo-jumbo since they were probably financially crippled. this is quite a shame since they gave their best performance on this one. I have to admit, before buying this product, I attempted to do a reaserch of my own. I was very disapointed with the story and I still am, since Ritual cannot create a good plot and some acceptable dialogue. I can already predict exactly what would happen at the end, though I am still currrently waiting for Ritual to release their source codes or give permissions to Garry Newman so I can spawn the ragdolls and reinact the ending and voice them over in a humerous way. The art department certainly did a very well job on creating some interesting eye candy, but unfortunantly that is as far as the characters can go because of the flawed plot and bad script. While it is sadly true that this game has less guns that your average c-grade source mod, the lternative fire modes attempt to fill the empty seats. It depends what kind of a gamer you are, weather you would be satisfied by this arsenal or not. The game can be fun as a standalone product, but you may notice its shortcomings when you compare it with other games of the same genre or even the original Sin. The characters failed to impress me, though at least they were good looking and well designed. Though, Ritual took the story too seriously and changed the comic book like tone of the original sin into a more serious one. For example, John R. Blade (yeah, he sure doesn't sound like a porn star) has only three or four highly insignificant lines of dialogue and most of the time he is mute. HOW DO YOU EXPECT ME TO SYMPATHISE/EMPATHISE WITH THIS GUY? If his only reactions are from his co-workers, then how can I know what HE is thinkinng? Or lets look at Jessica Cannon (no, I'm serious. Stop laughing. These guys are seriously not porn stars). She seem to have no goal of her own and she is overly dedicated not to the corps, but to John. Why, is she not human? Heven't the guys at Ritual ever gotten laid?...Actually, the answer for that is obvious. The villians also quite unconvincing. They are more like middle aged fashion models. Sorry guys, you have failed to scare me. The future for these episodes are very bleak, but if a miracle does occur and if Ritual get suddenly rich from blowing their socks, I hope they improve on their concept and find a good writer. [To Ritual] As for the humor guys, please don't include those memes of the old. Lurk moar around the Internet or jus try Encyclopedia Dramatica. I'm sure you can gather more material for more jokes on future episodes. Collapse
  6. DerekV.
    Feb 16, 2007
    6
    I've just finished re-playing this game immediately after the whole Half-Life series, and the differences are stark. There's no I've just finished re-playing this game immediately after the whole Half-Life series, and the differences are stark. There's no sheen of a product that's been agonized over for years, no genuine "wow" moments. I mean, in a game that's a maximum of six hours long, don't you think they could have done something more spectacular with a ship that was BLOWING UP? But, aside from the mediocre visual qualities, my major problem was with the sheer number of details that made it impossible to suspend your disbelief, even in an action-movie type way. The clipping in the VERY FIRST cut scene, the way Blade could pull off head-shot after head-shot even after running around for several hours (necessary, but still...), the spawning of enemies in visible locations, the spawning of enemies in improbable places (Ok, a heavy gu*ard just stepped out from behind that pillar ON THE EDGE OF A BUILDING. I'll even toss a grenade in there just to be sure. Now, over I go, and... another heavy guard. remarkable.), and the overall iffy ai. Ritual warn you off the highest difficulty setting, but it's not because of the challenge you'll experience - it's certainly hard enough (hidden in a corner of the office complex with eight heavy guards coming towards you, more waiting to spawn, and having to use Jessica as an invincible bullet-sponge to survive, you'll wonder how you're ever going to get out alive), but the difficulty, again, just isn't credible. You're in an office complex, with numerous paper walls, and you're expected to survive wave after wave of minigun-wielding maniacs? Not even the most brainless action movie would be so bold. Difficulty based on number of enemies should have gone out with Space Invaders. Implementing more advanced AI may have taken more time, but boy would it have been worth it so that the "walk" button would have been more than just an inconvenience to those of use used to HL2's sprint. It might not be the Colonel J R Blade way, but until some rocket launchers are implemented, it never will be his way. All this being said, I felt the length was fine (though the development time to the second is not - if I hadn't got a new rig, I would have completely forgotten it existed), and the graphics, whilst basic for what the engine can do, did have a style that was certainly different from HL2's that I appreciated. Perhaps more variety and HDR next time, eh? Also, I really dug the game's sense of humour - shame it all had to come from the environment, not the characters. The story and pacing was adequate for such an actioner, but to be fair, the character development was such that I couldn't give a toss about what happens to Jessica in the sequel. Look at Alyx and Dog in the HL2s for a prime example of how to engender warm between characters - even if one of them is a big, mute robot, and the other one expresses concern by by putting her hands together, leaning forward slightly and putting on massive forehead wrinkles (I know you've got limited facial muscles, valve, but this is still "TV" - tone it down! - sorry, I've digressed.). A strong start, but a lot of mods carry more inventiveness than this. The next episode makes it or breaks it for me. Expand
  7. MattK.
    May 14, 2006
    0
    Okay, i know the zero is a _little_ bit harsh, but come on!!! I have played numerous games (litterally more than a hundred, alot more) and i Okay, i know the zero is a _little_ bit harsh, but come on!!! I have played numerous games (litterally more than a hundred, alot more) and i have GOT to say that this is the worst. That is why i gave this game a zero... It is literally the worst game i have EVER ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever played... Please don't buy it and encourage the people at Ritual Games [TM] ( but seriously Ritual Games.... ALL of your games suck.... i'm sorry, but they do. Your best game deserves maybe a four.... try making some quality games that people won't buy simply because they are on a sweet engine {congrats to valve for creating Source [TM]} Expand

See all 184 User Reviews