Singularity PC

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 344 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 344
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 17, 2016
    6
    I remember I enjoyed this game on Xbox360, so I bought it for 4.99 euro on steam sale. As usual the master race version is the worst, I have to turn on v-snyc each time I start the game, for some reason it turns off when the game is closed. The controller support is not so good either, instead of saying press "A" or "B" it says press pad 11, so I only can guess which one is it on the 360I remember I enjoyed this game on Xbox360, so I bought it for 4.99 euro on steam sale. As usual the master race version is the worst, I have to turn on v-snyc each time I start the game, for some reason it turns off when the game is closed. The controller support is not so good either, instead of saying press "A" or "B" it says press pad 11, so I only can guess which one is it on the 360 controller... It would be a hell of a job for the developer to make this right... 8/10 on XBOX, 6/10 on the PC... 5 Euro for this game is just right for the PC version. Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2016
    7
    I have to say that while I'm not a huge fan of Raven Software or at least not a huge fan of their latest work, I really was hyped for this particular game ever since it was announced. The reason is that Raven Software finally decided to create something more original and not just a follow-up title like for example Quake 4 and Wolfenstein 2009 were. And when the game was released last yearI have to say that while I'm not a huge fan of Raven Software or at least not a huge fan of their latest work, I really was hyped for this particular game ever since it was announced. The reason is that Raven Software finally decided to create something more original and not just a follow-up title like for example Quake 4 and Wolfenstein 2009 were. And when the game was released last year it received relatively positive reviews with scores ranging from 75 upwards. Those are the reasons I was excited about Singularity.

    The game takes place on an island of Katorga-12 where Soviets found huge amounts of Element 99. Element 99 is a radioactive chemical element that has some special characteristics never seen before. It can be for example used in a nuclear bomb or in a time manipulating device. The story actually isn't that bad but it's quite cliché. It's certainly better than the one in Wolfenstein 2009 which was overcomplicated, stupid and even more cliché. Singularity is a modern first person shooter that features some old-school elements for example there is no health regeneration and you have to use med packs, there is no universal ammo and there is no cover system. As strange as it may seem after all the Call of Duties those elements feel kind of refreshing. There's a lot of action in Singularity which consists mostly of shooting and using special time manipulating abilities. For the shooting part you can use a number of more or less interesting weapons like a shotgun, a sniper rifle etc. nothing we haven't seen before. More interesting are the time manipulating abilities that give you the power to age objects, age your enemies, turn enemy soldiers into monsters, stop time and power punch. The problem here is that you can only age a small amount of objects that are carefully placed exactly where you need them. You can't for example change time between 1950 and 2010 as you please which would be cool. Sorry, ain't there. Combat and action pacing are very well done in Singularity. It seems Raven Software learned something from their previous games after all.

    One of the problems Singularity has is that it's extremely linear. Wolfenstein 2009 introduced a non-linear mission progress which was actually pretty good and made things more interesting. Unfortunately, Raven decided to go back to Quake 4 kind of linearity so in Singularity you basically go from A to B to C to D, end of level. As if the linearity wouldn't be enough there are those invisible walls everywhere that make it impossible to jump over a super small wall. Singularity also looks very ugly for a 2010 game. It's probably one of the worst looking games ever made with Unreal Engine 3. Wolfentein 2009 which used the id Tech 4 engine looked a lot better. Enemies are a little uninspired since there are only around five different monsters (which are suspiciously similar to those in F.E.A.R. 2), two or three bosses and black ops soldiers (F.E.A.R. 2?) in the game. Mouse lag doesn't help the game towards the better score either. I also don't really like the way weapons are modeled. It's kind of too futuristic and not quite realistic. My last complaint is that the four characters you counteract through the game could have been more memorable. Like for example in Half Life 2.

    I have to admit that Singularity is not far from what I was hoping for or expecting. In terms of gameplay it's a step up from Wolfenstein 2009. Too bad the game is so extremely linear and looks so bad. If played on the hardest difficulty it is a fun experience, even though it's actually nothing we haven't seen before. Raven is on a right track, they're just gonna have to aim even higher next time.
    Expand
  3. May 19, 2011
    7
    I picked this game up for $10 and knew I was getting a 7.0 experience so I couldn't be happier with this title. The game mixes old school and new school. Health pickups with stat/weapon upgrades. Many weapons are redundant and simply exist because of the cool factor. On Normal difficulty you're way over powered. Ammo and health packs are plentiful. There really are very few hardcoreI picked this game up for $10 and knew I was getting a 7.0 experience so I couldn't be happier with this title. The game mixes old school and new school. Health pickups with stat/weapon upgrades. Many weapons are redundant and simply exist because of the cool factor. On Normal difficulty you're way over powered. Ammo and health packs are plentiful. There really are very few hardcore combat scenarios. You mostly fight a couple creatures or soldiers and then continue exploring on the linear path. For people who like secrets and picking up money (E99 and weapon upgrades) you will be somewhat satisfied. Overall they try to cram so many combat items and abilities into this game you never really get to master everything. I found myself just running around with the mini gun and accuracy tech upgrade for 70% of the game. The game is much more new school than old school so if you are looking for classic FPS action then you might be better of passing on this. The story is generic but not terrible and the characters are not horribly annoying. Overall its just a decent way to waste time but I would recommend you pick it up at whatever discount you can find because it had little replay value. (I didn't play the mulitplayer) Expand
  4. May 22, 2011
    7
    Overall an enjoyable game. Not great by any stretch, but worth around $10-15. The positive aspects are that the time-manipulation is fun and is decently implemented, the graphics and animations are good, and the story is serviceable. The negative aspects are that it is extraordinarily linear (as you progress, every section literally closes behind you, making backtracking to searchOverall an enjoyable game. Not great by any stretch, but worth around $10-15. The positive aspects are that the time-manipulation is fun and is decently implemented, the graphics and animations are good, and the story is serviceable. The negative aspects are that it is extraordinarily linear (as you progress, every section literally closes behind you, making backtracking to search unexplored areas impossible), and the difficulty level is very low. I recommend picking it up when it's on sale. It won't blow you away, but it has some fun concepts. Expand
  5. Apr 13, 2011
    6
    Was not challenging enough, nor long enough, beat it in 6 hours... Either way, game had great shooter qualities, and was pretty fun, story was a bit confusing, as was 1 of the 3 endings, but it was decent, and i Don't hold it against the game. However, there was a distinct lack of enemy variety, not enough mutants, and the AI was nothing special. Weapon upgrades are generic, don't addWas not challenging enough, nor long enough, beat it in 6 hours... Either way, game had great shooter qualities, and was pretty fun, story was a bit confusing, as was 1 of the 3 endings, but it was decent, and i Don't hold it against the game. However, there was a distinct lack of enemy variety, not enough mutants, and the AI was nothing special. Weapon upgrades are generic, don't add anything interesting to the game, as well as the TMD perks and other upgrades, again, just make the game even easier, and really doesn't add a twist or anything special to the game. its okay, maybe worth 20 bucks IMO. Expand
  6. Aug 4, 2011
    7
    Amazing graphics, awesome atmosphere - makes you explore the world and marvel at details. However, the level design was done a little heavy-handed and sloppy - you cannot go in certain directions with no obvious reason, yet you can go in others.
    Also, be prepared - no Wide Screen support and terrible Field Of View (which you can google and change, thankfully).
    Perhaps, a little short -
    Amazing graphics, awesome atmosphere - makes you explore the world and marvel at details. However, the level design was done a little heavy-handed and sloppy - you cannot go in certain directions with no obvious reason, yet you can go in others.
    Also, be prepared - no Wide Screen support and terrible Field Of View (which you can google and change, thankfully).
    Perhaps, a little short - Singularity still leaves a very nice taste in your mouth! :)
    Expand
  7. Mar 28, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Underestimated. Singularity is not an "amazing" game but has a lot of potential that wasn't used properly, and thus, we got a game with very interesting story and a pretty nice gameplay. Graphics are definitely not a strong factor in this game, Unreal Engine 3 is a limited, tired engine that his glory days already behind him. The story, though, is very interesting and was one of the factors that made me buy this game. You are an american army officer of some black-ops unit that infiltrates an base to take an old mysterious tech that can roll things back and forth in time (you will like this)., and as you progress in the game you see ghosts and "people" that were effected by the radiation that occurred during that experiments in this facility. Your weapon arsenal game be upgraded with "weapon upgrade units" that you find as you play and so as your "TMD Tool" that allows you to "age" materials and renew them - you can upgrade the tool as well. As for the gameplay itself, it sometimes gets really "old", you can't shoot monsters unless they on the ground as you ( if they climbing the fence for example). Enemy attack trigger works only if you really close to them, or if you aim at the with sights. All an all, this game deserves more Exposure them he got. Go get it, you will not regret it. Expand
  8. Jul 21, 2012
    5
    I got Singularity because I greatly enjoyed Wolfenstein (the 2009 game), made by the same developer. However, the much lower rated Wolfenstein is a much, much better game, in my opinion. Singularity is a mediocre FPS at best. Not worth my time, I uninstalled before I finished it. While the ingredients are similar to Wolfenstein (the magic time/power crystal from Wolfenstein is replaced byI got Singularity because I greatly enjoyed Wolfenstein (the 2009 game), made by the same developer. However, the much lower rated Wolfenstein is a much, much better game, in my opinion. Singularity is a mediocre FPS at best. Not worth my time, I uninstalled before I finished it. While the ingredients are similar to Wolfenstein (the magic time/power crystal from Wolfenstein is replaced by a time manipulation glove here), the biggest problem is that Singularity feels like a rail shooter most of the time. Almost everything is heavily scripted, nothing feels spontaneous. Game play is 100% linear, nothing feels like it can be explored, the environment (and the enemies) feel like they're puppets, and their design is bland. Story is not very good either, and the design, obviously inspired by Bioshock (audio logs tell the story), is much worse than the latter. In summary, the biggest problem is that the game feels too linear, because it guides you through everything "on rails", which occasionally makes for a nice shocking moment, but gets stale very soon. Expand
  9. Sep 29, 2013
    7
    Fun storyline, and interesting new abilites etc. Like changing time on your surroundings. Flipping a crate from present to 1950's or vice versa. Making old goodie crates reappear with loot inside. Old worn out writings on teh wall, become crisp and new for you to read. The story isn't epic, but it's an enteraining one. i liked this game, and it was worth the few bucks i spent on sale.
  10. ave
    Sep 2, 2016
    7
    Even if Singularity is not very long (8h) and the storyline is linear, it's a very pleasant shooter.
    It is obvious that the title borrows many ideas from predecessors, both in mechanics (Half Life), player progression (Dead Space) and setting (Bioshock, Metro 2033), the game manages to have its own identity and is very satisfying to play : once you got the Time Manipulator, it is possible
    Even if Singularity is not very long (8h) and the storyline is linear, it's a very pleasant shooter.
    It is obvious that the title borrows many ideas from predecessors, both in mechanics (Half Life), player progression (Dead Space) and setting (Bioshock, Metro 2033), the game manages to have its own identity and is very satisfying to play : once you got the Time Manipulator, it is possible for you to approach each encounter with a very distinct style, ranging from classical shooter up to combos like : deactivate barrel, carry barrel, lock enemies in time, reactivate barrel, throw barrel, shoot barrel - and wait until every single enemy is blasted off.
    The game features three endings, that you could just explore by reloading the last scene. Replaying the game is still interesting since the progression system allows you to use knowledge of Time Manipulator augments to adapt to your playstyle.
    So even if Singularity is not a "great" FPS, it is a decent one with a very good execution. Raven still got it !
    Expand
  11. Jan 29, 2011
    7
    I've loved that weapons in this games have a nice feel about them. Even thou I'm not a fan of FPS games, this one catched my attention with it's nice setting.
    It is a good quality FPS, but nothing more in fact. Lovely weapons, nice setting, sadly - no original ideas.
  12. Apr 22, 2011
    7
    This game has some really nice concepts(Time Manipulation Device), nice weapons, very badly made, but still interesting setting and passable (though confusing and not terribly original) storyline. It's also fun to play and gets boring only near the end. But also Singularity has some really ugly graphics: five-year old textures, lighting is nonexistent. Only models and animation are moreThis game has some really nice concepts(Time Manipulation Device), nice weapons, very badly made, but still interesting setting and passable (though confusing and not terribly original) storyline. It's also fun to play and gets boring only near the end. But also Singularity has some really ugly graphics: five-year old textures, lighting is nonexistent. Only models and animation are more or less acceptable. Furthermore, TMD only interacts with very limited amount of unscripted objects and therefore it's true potential is never used. Physics are also terrible and sometimes the fact, that you shoot a bottle and nothing happens, is very annoying and makes you wonder, what developers where thinking. The story also has many plot holes and sometimes it's just plain stupid. Still it's fun to play, if you lower your expectations and accept it, as a cheaply made blockbuster about saving the world from evil Russians. What's more important , it ,at least, tries to bring something original in video game industry, unlike Call of Duty franchise, which is still stuck in 2003. My score is 6.7, but 7.0 by rounding it up. Expand
  13. Jul 7, 2011
    7
    An exceptional first person shooter. What is so exceptional about it you ask? Well, first off strangely enough the plotline is original. I don`t mean only traveling in time. It`s the way it has been executed. Not only you find yourself on a spooky, destroyed island, you also keep encountering those strange "explosions" which send you 50 years back. Lifeless, orange heaps of metal turn intoAn exceptional first person shooter. What is so exceptional about it you ask? Well, first off strangely enough the plotline is original. I don`t mean only traveling in time. It`s the way it has been executed. Not only you find yourself on a spooky, destroyed island, you also keep encountering those strange "explosions" which send you 50 years back. Lifeless, orange heaps of metal turn into living, good as new merchandise and facilities, with people doing exactly what they were doing before the catastrophy. There`s a scene where an entire ship is revived by time - it`s breathtaking. You also travel through portals. The very same idea makes you experience fighting humans AND alien abominations in the same game which negates any trace of boredom. The levels and enemies are nicely varied. Sure, it`s the same linear thing you get in 99% todays fps games, but this particular game has this classic old school feeling to it (you get medi packs for example). The weapons are also very nicely made with cool animations and fire types AND they`re upgradeable. In the same way you can change your running speed, shield, health and the Time Manipulation Device which is the single best thing in a fps game I`ve seen in years. This all achieves a very important point - you can dispatch enemies in multiple ways, anytime you want and at the same type you are the inhuman type with special powers, making a simple soviet soldier suffer in agony if you decide that he deserves to get 200 years older in one second. An addicting game. Too bad it`s quite short and falls in 2007 in terms of graphics quality. Expand
  14. Oct 30, 2013
    7
    Short and mediocre. This game is full of dull stuff: nonsense prototype weapons and collectable E99 "money", slow-motion flying bullets, time-shifting, ugly russian accent (for reason, but still, meh), bland graphic style. There is also this one "funny" part in cutscene, where texts in newspaper are something like "ashjd lklk kjjkj lljk ff ff f ff". Laziness in designing game at it's best.Short and mediocre. This game is full of dull stuff: nonsense prototype weapons and collectable E99 "money", slow-motion flying bullets, time-shifting, ugly russian accent (for reason, but still, meh), bland graphic style. There is also this one "funny" part in cutscene, where texts in newspaper are something like "ashjd lklk kjjkj lljk ff ff f ff". Laziness in designing game at it's best. Game itself is playable, but it is just so empty, that there is really not much to say. No epic boss battles, memorable characters or anything. Just modern fps with different layout, and very lame. Expand
  15. Aug 21, 2015
    7
    this game is common fps shooter. but it has original TMD system that can switch time. it's cool. but this game is ported poor. it has no substitute, and anti-alising option.
  16. Oct 30, 2016
    6
    Average shooter that possesses exceptional atmosphere, detailed backdrops and a decent story. Worth a purchase at $5 or less, but it’s shortness (6 to 10 hours) creates value issues at higher prices (the multiplayer is dead).
    Total size on my hard drive: 7.7 GB.
    A large EMP pulse from an island blinds a United States satellite, so the US sends a team to investigate. The pulse
    Average shooter that possesses exceptional atmosphere, detailed backdrops and a decent story. Worth a purchase at $5 or less, but it’s shortness (6 to 10 hours) creates value issues at higher prices (the multiplayer is dead).
    Total size on my hard drive: 7.7 GB.

    A large EMP pulse from an island blinds a United States satellite, so the US sends a team to investigate. The pulse originated from Katorga-12 – an old Soviet research settlement founded around the mines of a mysterious mineral, E-99. Even traversing the initial level, pulses occasionally appear, creating “time spikes” that suddenly take your character to a different time; then another “spike” sends you back to the present. The truth becomes clear: the Soviets were able to utilize E-99 to create a time-travel device (among other uses). The device and the two scientists who would control it become the centerpiece of a journey through multiple time-lines to prevent the alteration of history. Like in any good time-travel story, preventing one disaster makes other disasters possible. While the story is linear, there are multiple endings; none of them are specifically “good,” each requiring an element of sacrifice. A decent sense of closure, but it’s bitter-sweet because there was clearly the possibility for a sequel (which has never materialized). Decent voice-acting character models only add to the experience. The soundtrack is serviceable, but not exceptional.

    If time-travel isn’t something you care about, and you just want a cool first-person shooter, well, you’ll get it. The fps part, anyway. The coolness isn’t really there. The gameplay is linear.The combat mechanics work, there is a decent variety of weapons, and there are some upgrade choices to be made, too (remember to equip a perk, not just purchase it). The enemies comprise Soviet soldiers and strange creatures that mutated from all the E-99 radiation (contemporary timeline) – some of which are truly gigantic beasts. But the character movement feels heavy and slow, there is no cover mechanic, and chaingun + sniper rifle means you can handle all situations with little need to bother with other weapons. Some of the other weapons are really good – the grenade launcher which can launch a grenade that you then guide forward to the target was my other favorite – and the E99 weapons (where available) are over-powered as hell, but except for specific situations, there is little call to use them. And these “specific situations” usually have a weapon locker nearby, so it’s easy to switch to what is needed, then switch back when done. If you find yourself overwhelmed, pulse the wrist-mounted TMD (Time Manipulation Device). It’s got decent knock-back that can give you a breather when you need it. Multiplayer is dead.

    But the primary attraction of Singularity is the atmosphere. It reeks with it. Every area is incredibly detailed, whether exploring an old Soviet barracks in the current timeline (rust, dirt, cracked glass, smoke) or traversing a laboratory in 1955 (bright, clean, apparatus everywhere). The graphics help in this department: though occasionally low-res, Singularity is one of the best uses of the Unreal 3 engine I have seen. And because it is Unreal 3 (and highly optimized), it runs great at maximum settings on moderate equipment (I easily hit 120fps @1080p on an R7 260X).

    Singularity is a fun ride, no question, but you’ll have to really love the atmosphere and story to play it more than once, which hurts its overall value. Singularity rarely drops below $7.50 when on sale, but if it does, go ahead and get it.

    Notes:
    - A 3-button mouse is REQUIRED. Without the game-play mechanic tied to Mouse Button 3, some sections will be nearly (if not entirely) impossible to complete.
    - Frame-rate is capped at 120fps.
    - There are no subtitles for any language.
    Expand
  17. Oct 30, 2016
    6
    As standard as FPS games go. I wish gunplay was better, guns felt very light and had no weight behind them. Graphics for a 2010 game look very dated, tho the atmosphere still is done pretty well and at times can be spooky. Story explores some interesting time travel and manipulation ideas that you also get to use in the game, but overall it its pretty bland. Gore is fairly good in thisAs standard as FPS games go. I wish gunplay was better, guns felt very light and had no weight behind them. Graphics for a 2010 game look very dated, tho the atmosphere still is done pretty well and at times can be spooky. Story explores some interesting time travel and manipulation ideas that you also get to use in the game, but overall it its pretty bland. Gore is fairly good in this game. You get to fire a gun that has homing bullets and its decent fun to use. No matter how you play the game, in the finale youre presented with 3 choices which is bit of a bummer. They coulda made the game where your actions affect it adding more replay value.

    A solid FPS when it comes to campaign and it plays nearly identicly as CoD's from that era with same control scheme. If thats your thang then go ahead and try it, but dont excpect Bioshock qualities to which many people compare it.
    Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. PC PowerPlay
    60
    Borrows so much but pays back so little. Seems to learn nothing from games half a decade old. Fun for a weekend. [Sept 2010, p.54]
  2. PC Gamer UK
    68
    A confused mess of promising but inconsistent mechanics. Hilarious, maddening, stupid and occasionally fun. [Sept 2010, p.79]
  3. A nice working mix of puzzles and action, with great rhythm and a varied formula. By focusing on the core themes of the first person shooter experience, Singularity is an excellent a quite surprising game.