User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 210 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 210

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 13, 2012
    8
    Real-time 4X strategy with equally deep choices for warfare, diplomacy, and colonization. I haven't played since vanilla but the expansions have added tons onto the base game including: starbases (death stars that can effectively control uncolonizable sectors), "Titan" class ships, new research trees, restructured diplomacy, improved victory conditions, deeper piracy options, more difficulty settings, tons of new maps and map sizes, and who knows what else I haven't discovered yet. Rebellion contains all the previous expansions and new content. I played vanilla Sins for hundreds of hours before it came out on Steam and probably will sink many more into this. I mean, it's basically Civ in space, you should really go play it. Expand
  2. Jun 13, 2012
    8
    Rebellion takes the Sins series several steps further by adding new ships, techs and factions, and an improved diplomacy function. The AI has been beefed up as well, and is generally competent at even the lowest difficulty levels (hey, don't judge!). That being said, the $40 price tag is a bit hefty if you already have the other games in the series.
  3. Aug 24, 2013
    9
    As a Strategy Game this one has it all: Pacing, depth, faction variations. There are trade-offs between military and civilian techs. Decent tutorials. Good graphics. Interesting combat. Complaints about the price of the game are now dated as this IS the game in its complete or fully-updated form. My only personal qualm is that the gameplay tends towards RTS, and is designed for multiplayer play, which can be anxiety-inducing. I prefer the pause-and play format that gives one ample time to think, or even sleep on a move rather than forever force attention and decision making. Strategy games shouldn't be rushed. Rome was NOT built in a day.

    THE GROT REVIEW CRITERIA: After a long time writing reviews like an anus, think its time to set a few bad habits straight: Stop insulting designers. Show some respect for the design process and getting games in circulation. Hence (1) No Red scores. (2) Game scores as follows: Bad Game 5/10. Poor Game 6/10. Mediocre Game: 7/10. Good Game 8/10. Great game 9/10. Stella Game 10/10. To get 10/10 it must be a game that can be (theoretically) play-able for 1000+ hours. Not only great but near endless fun. Games may be bad or poor but making them should earn respect. Thus even the worst POS will still be a 5/10. 0/10 no longer exists in my vocabulary. Yellow is the new red. For the sake of accountability: you can reply if needed: Orctowngrot: Tim Rawlins: timtimjp@yahoo.com
    Expand
  4. Jun 13, 2012
    7
    There was two things that Sins needed most: multicore support and a 64 bit version. Rebellion adds neither. So if you like huge maps and mods, you'll still encounter slowdowns at some point. Getting that out of the way, what they did add is new toys that are pretty fun to play with. Doing things like eating planets for resources, building a ship that's just a giant gun, and attacking people by flying Starbases at them are pretty awesome. They're also pretty imbalanced. So all in all this is kind of a mixed bag. If you liked Sins before and you're okay with balance issues being present in this version (hopefully to be patched later), then you'll enjoy Rebellion. Expand
  5. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    A solid rts, good AI accessible gameplay coupled with strong graphics and sound make this one of the rare good 4X games not bogged down with a terrible launch or followup support.
  6. Jun 15, 2012
    8
    Thankfully this is not like the buggy and disappointing "Sword of the Stars 2"....SoaSe Rebellion is by far the most polished and best Space combat RTS in the market for the time being. It may feel a bit dated since this is a standalone expansion of a 2008 game but still is by far one of the best of the genre for today standarts. The only thing that bothers me is that there is no Campaign i would expected something more from just repetitive skirmishes.... Expand
  7. gas
    Aug 6, 2012
    5
    Tbh i dont understand much why those many good reviews and scores, the game is a tactical space rts, most of the old turn based tactical space games ive played are still much better, Space Empires IV , Masters of Orion II, Galactic Civ II, are by far superior then this one.
    Honestly i think that there is a misunderstanding, they wanna serve us real time as something modern and better then
    before, but sadly it means that the game must be very streamlined and limited to allow the player to manage all in real time.
    Also i have to tell that those 3D maps zoom in / zoom out /rotate all the time are nearly useless, 3 levels with a fixed air view were more then needed to play this game perfectly.
    I give a 5 cause the game overall isnt bad, just im a bit sad to see this game seems the "Cod generation" version of good tactical space games.
    Expand
  8. Sep 18, 2013
    8
    I never played the original game and have only played this version so for me it's good. Games take a long time to set up and execute which means it's kind of limited in how often it can be played. A decent 4x RTS game but not turn based. Best on sale. I wouldn't pay $40 for this like people did. My biggest complaint would be it's pretty much just blob up your forces in to one big fleet and sweep the map but then I'm a newbie and have only played on lower difficulty settings with few opponents. Expand
  9. Mar 9, 2013
    8
    Decent Master of Orion and StarCraft successor. Master of Orion part (strategy of handling the multi-star galactic empire) is great. StarCraft part (tactics of spaceship battles) not so much. There's too much going on in the empire to command the ships manually, and I usually just leave it to AI (which does it well). Also, in StarCraft, you have hard rock-paper-scissors like stealth and ground/air units, so you have to provide counters or lose regardless of amount of units. In this game everything can be soft-countered by everything, so you just need a huge fleet and you'll steamroll anything. You need, however, to create a successful economy to build that fleet. Overall, there's a decent depth to the game, and I suppose it's fun in multiplayer (if you are prepared to play for 5-6 hours). I definitely recommend to try it if you like Master of Orion. Collapse
  10. Dec 28, 2012
    7
    While Rebellion adds great new features to a solid game, you can't help but wonder why these features weren't included from vanilla release. The expansion is overpriced if you already own the original game, there is alot of missed potential here: where are the new factions? new planet types? only 3 new ships per faction? The game is an addictive, fun, and challenging RTS, it does however still suffer from balancing issues. Expand
  11. Sep 22, 2012
    9
    The game is absolutely gorgeus, and is the best space RTS ever. Seriously, I haven't played one that better emulates a 4X experience. It's surprisingly addictive, very well done and gone are the flaws that marred its beauty in previous installments (see pirates). I am a very big fan of the series. The only issue I have with it is the fact it is a bit overpriced for someone who already has Trinity. But if you never played Sins before, it is the best experience. Expand
  12. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    Fantastic game, cannot recommending it enough. Perfect for what a stand-alone expansion should be. Great price, great multiplayer. Could not be recommended enough. The only 'negative' I can think of is that games can take upwards of 6 hours. But I quite enjoy that.
  13. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    The pinnacle of hybrid RTS-TBS space games, the joy in figuring out good strategies will keep you coming back for more (so glad they patched that Vasari Titan). Pro-tip: this is not your typical 4x game, this game will reward players who have a plan and who execute it quickly! Spend, spend, spend unless you are saving for that titan! RTS players will feel right at home.
  14. NLS
    Jan 21, 2014
    8
    Yes more of the same indeed. So?
    You have a working recipe and you add a few more carefully balanced ingredients. Fine by me.
    Much better than forgetting your success story and trying to feed your fan base with cr*p (X3 vs X:R comes to mind).
    SoaSE:R is one of the best games of its genre. You should own it.
  15. Aug 19, 2012
    8
    The new features definitely add more depth to the game and create distinctive play styles for most of the factions rather than having everyone be dependent on the same tactics and strategies, but there are definitely a lot of bugs and stability issues. The Vasari Loyalists for instance can blow up planets for resources leaving very little behind to be captured meaning you can just steamroll across the galaxy tearing up planets as you go rather than trying to hold vast territories. Loyalist Advent have culture so powerful it can literally exterminate an enemy empire if used early on in the game. However, all of my saves on huge maps so far have ended up corrupted and the game still lacks multi-core support, so big space battles slow down the game.Overall, I really like where they're taking the direction of the additions, but I kinda feel like I got a half-finished game. Expand
  16. May 30, 2013
    6
    I love sins, they are all very good games. I'm giving this a 6 because it just did not feel like enough was added to justify releasing a new game. Stardock likes to do that with their games tho. Most recently with fallen enchantress and then fallen enchantress: legendary heroes. Although there is no doubt that they are making the games better with each release, it always seems to me like whenever stardock releases a game I should just wait a year and buy the REAL version of the game. Expand
  17. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    As a stand-alone expansion, i expected more. As a huge fan of the original Sins, I was expecting this game to leave it in its tracks. Especially when I saw the price tag. For the amount of money they're asking, I was hoping there would be a bit more content. The new UI is very nice and additional ships add a nice new layer of depth. However, it felt like that was it. Sure the graphics were polished a bit and a couple other changes were made but the expansion felt like it was a bit shallow. You won't tell much of a difference between Trinity and Rebellion until a few hours into the game. But at that point, the gloves are off and Rebellion shows what its got. The division of each of the 3 factions works nicely and adds more variety to the games. The titans are real game-changers and so much fun. If you were a fan of Trinity and have the money to fork out for the expansion, do it. Expand
  18. Aug 15, 2013
    8
    As a newcomer to Stardock games I came with no real preconception of this game, apart from that on the surface it bore a vague resemblance to Eve online.

    At first I thought, this is like Eve, only feels emptier, less visually striking. I struck up a game, after searching for the 'campaign' button from which to launch the story that would carry me through events leading... well,
    wherever. But there is no campaign. This is not a problem. You see, what 'Sins' does is strip away all the surplus and really get to grips with what makes a fantastic strategy game.

    It was during my second playing of the game that something happened: I couldn't stop playing. It's like peeling an onion, only to cry a little more as another layer appears. It supplies something sadly lacking in many of the games I've played recently, depth. The controls/menus/UI are all deceptively simple, this just makes the game easy to play. Complexity comes from the myriad strategies possible from the many different options and tactics that can be employed as the game develops. Each game, I might add, feels unique. With a huge list of maps, options that can be tweaked on and off, and the ability to produce your own maps.

    I'm only on my fifth game, yet each time I've started up a new game I've become even deeper immersed. It's great because you can save whenever you like, so you can play little by little or a lot at a time, it's up to you. And when you feel confident (I'm not there yet) it can be played with a live opponent/s! Huge potential for employing the diplomatic elements of the game.

    I bought it for under £10 on steam, well worth the money. I expect it will go on to provide me a huge amount of satisfaction way beyond when other, more visual games have long fallen by the wayside. It probably won't be for those who prefer fast games which give you a rush, games with graphics that demand only the best, most beefy computer or who enjoy a more story based experience. If you have patience, like quiet, unassuming complexity, enjoy working out how best to manage the long term development of an expanding intergalactic empire, then you'll most likely love it!
    Expand
  19. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    This game offers a lot more tactical depth then what you'd expect from from a real-time version of popular turn-based 4X games. With an enormous tech tree, a flexible - well designed diplomatic system and 6 factions (3x2) that play very differently this game offers more than enough content to keep you occupied for months (given the sky-high replay value and dozen hour-long matches)
    While
    reading the negative reviews i came to realize that they mostly cover the following:
    -the "expansion" hasn't got enough new content (with which I highly disagree, besides, it's a standalone title)
    -Master of orion and Gal Civ are better (to people who say this: real-time strategies are obviously not your thing, no matter how much content they pack)

    The game is as good as flawless when you look at it at a standalone viewpoint.
    Expand
  20. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    Having never played the original, this gets a 10 from. Probably my favorite strategy game to date. Epic battles, tons of strategy, unique faction/race variations -- without being so different that each has its own learning curve.

    I've been playing Homeworld 2 (Complex) for a couple years and this is what Homeworld was meant to be -- as much as I love the Homeworld games, they cannot
    come close to SoaSE! Expand
  21. Jul 6, 2012
    5
    I'm a fan of the game, this is my first sins game and I love it. However, the problems with the game are so prolific that after a couple of play-throughs it really does become unplayable. The engine is from "yesterday" - no multicore support. Heaps of gameplay bugs - as a for instance, one ship has an ability called "Armistice" which stops all fighting for 1 minute.. unfortunately the AI can get stuck with multiple akkan's constantly "casting" this ability over and over so that you cannot ever fight that fleet, thereby never winning the game.

    The AI is kind of underfed in terms of ability to play and overfed in "cheat" modes.

    The interface doesn't easily allow you to select units like fighters (they can move awfully fast and selecting all fighters and all bombers is a nightmare).

    The game eventually on larger maps - as you will want to play after a few goes at the game, crashes - a lot.

    A half finished product on an old engine - its' only saving grace being an awesome game and concept.

    Seems a lot like a typical "moneygrab" from a gaming company, where they release a small product almost the same as the original for a quick grab at players money for little new content (certainly no new engine) and in this case have released it far too early with heaps of bugs and gameplay issues.

    It gets a 5 from me..
    Expand
  22. Jul 31, 2012
    4
    Being Sins of a Solar Empire, it's a great game, but it's overpriced for what it does.
    Just adding a couple of ships, won't make this a different game, feels more like a mod than an expansion for the main game.
  23. Jun 18, 2012
    5
    Rebellion offers only a small amount of new content versus the original game. The Core game is still the same, and while the few enhancements that have been added are nice, they are far from worth the HUGE price tag of $40 for a so called Stand Alone Expansion. If you never bought the original game and its expansions, then Rebellion is probably the best way to go. For the rest of us however I cannot see the value here. This is one of those games that you will probably reconsider when Steam has it on sale for $20 bux. Until then, unless you are really jonesing for a fix, avoid this game. Expand
  24. Jun 21, 2012
    8
    Yeah good game. I was a big fan of the original and played it for 60+ hours Single Player. I bought this to jump into the multiplayer action. The critics all said that it has enough new content to justify the REbellion Sins 2 version.

    It is a lot like the other game in looks and style, but as a space sim RTS 4x, SoaSE sets the bar. Id give it a 9 or 10 if it was a lot different from the
    original. It is a good multiplayer game. The games dont last as long as I had thought. You can play a solid game on fast settings in 2 hours and not give up any of the SP feel. Expand
  25. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    Probably the best space strategy beside the nostalgic first part of homeworld.The only thing that i'm missing at this game is the story mode.Everything else is great
  26. Jun 16, 2012
    7
    As people have said, Sins Rebellion is a perfect entry point for newcomers into an amazing series. This is my first Sins game and I absolutely love it. The grand scale of combat is pretty epic to behold and take part in.

    Apparently this standalone expansion doesn't actually offer too much new content, it just refines the older games. However, if you look at the game by itself, there is
    nothing quite like it. Expand
  27. Oct 31, 2012
    4
    I enjoyed sins, it wasn't very innovative but it was fun. But paying full price for essentially the same thing is not fun at all. This game is really just another expansion a la diplomacy.
  28. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    Sins of a Solar Empire is a great game for those who enjoy RTS or 4X style of games. Rebellion when found at a good price is an excellent expansion stand alone. The addition of Fractions change how enemies and players develop. The only drawbacks are the length of games and sever issues. Highly recommended anyone who plays RTS games give this a try.
  29. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    Some of you giving this game a low score for the price should be ashamed of yourselves. 39.99 is expensive, since when ??? I understand that it's just an expansion. These games hardly get any coverage or love these days so I will gladly spend 39.99 on it. I have wasted plenty of money on crap games and this is not one of them. Also this is for reviewing the game. If your unhappy about the price go to their forums and let them know. It will probably have a reduced price very soon anyways. Expand
  30. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    If you buy this game, also buy a new, more comfortable chair, because you will be spending a lot of time on it as this game gets you hooked. I love playing strategy games, but I only like a certain few. This is one of them. I don't know of any other space strategy game that is even close to as good as this game. The graphics are good, but it's the scale that is amazing. Imagine C&C (the good ones), Total War, and Wargame: European Escalation all mixed into a space strategy game. In other words, pure awesomeness. By the way, the above mentioned games are cool, too. Expand
  31. Sep 4, 2012
    8
    More an expansion pack than a new game. The original was good, but years of polish and three expansion packs have made it much better. I wish I had not played the "beta" releases and only played the finished one.
  32. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    Having garnered experience from the making of original Sins and its two minor expansions, Ironclad doesn't disappoint with this stand-alone expansion. And on that note, a word of warning: don't be fooled by the "expansion" label, for Rebellion is a bigger and better game than the three previous games in the series combined. With each of the original three unique civilizations (Vasari, Advent, TEC) divided into two rebelling factions, Rebellion provides more opportunities to hone and practice your tactical genius by using over a dozen different approaches and strategies with any of the six factions. Whether you want to become the greatest civilization through trade and diplomacy, cultural expansion, utter annihilation, mass colonization, concrete fortification or any other variety of tactics, this game promises you replay value by providing a degree of action, strategy and customization no other game offers. Days of playing time will accumulate as you choose a faction, earn resources, construct buildings, upgrade planets, research technology, build ships, colonize planets, forge alliances, conquer enemies and do whatever else it takes to dominate the star(s). Even those not privy to the RTS genre will find something to enjoy in this sci-fi deluxe--such as leveling up capital ships and the newly-added mighty titan, micromanaging a galactic economy or controlling dozens of ships in real-time combat. Expand
  33. Jul 7, 2012
    5
    While I have loved Sins for a long time, I find myself disappointed with this "Stand Alone Expansion". For the price and hype, very little is actually added to this game and it still suffers from the same performance issues with large games that previous versions have. I honestly believe Ironclad should have held off on making this game and rebuilt their game engine instead.
  34. Sep 6, 2013
    8
    All in all, a very nice expansion to the original Sins. I would have liked to have seen some 3D graphic and GUI enhancements, but hey, the extra content is enough to make this game well worth it, and I've already spent hours engrossed in the new features, especially when you get the new Forbidden Worlds DLC. Recommending this to anyone looking for an upgrade to the original Sins.
  35. Jun 30, 2012
    9
    This expansion brought some much needed love to the SoaSE series, with some extra graphical filters/smoothers, new ships, new victory conditions, and a snazzy cgi trailer to boot. Still regrettable that the engine limitations are still present though.
  36. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    If you like strategy games, this is one of the best of all time, the combination of a real time gameplay and suberb graphic, make this title worth the investment.
  37. Jun 17, 2012
    9
    While it is certain that owners of the original game may felt ripped off as they are required to buy what they already own for 40 dollar.
    It is a wonderful entry point for new players.In fact i felt there is a sufficient amout of new contents but They are spread evenly throighout many aspect so it kinda makes it feels thin.
  38. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    Excellent game in virtually all respects. Vast amounts of replay ability, no two games are ever the same. Graphics are excellent and an improvement on the original. Numerous additions such as Titans and the splitting of each race into 2 factions that have different styles of play adds depth. My only real complaint is that there are crash bugs that still need to be worked out, or I'd give it a 10. All in all, I highly recommend this game. Expand
  39. Jun 15, 2012
    4
    This overpriced and rushed expansion adds a very small number of updates to a good game. a couple new ships per race and a small number of tech upgrades. The only other addition is some new victory conditions which do add some desperately needed depth to the game but overall a very limited update that is FAR less significant than the Entrenchment expansion. This is Stardock attempting to make some money after the Elemental War of Magic disaster. Only buy if you see it on sale. Expand
  40. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    I'm an old school gamer. I started with an Atari 2600 for Christmas in 1977 and I've been hooked ever sense. I fell in love with video games so much I make games for a living.

    With that said, I am very critical of new games and I love this one. I am a big fan of the Home World series and have been looking for something like it for years. I have never played any of the previous releases
    so I can't make any comment on whats different with Rebellion. The artwork is very good and the game-play is excellent. I love the old-time slow paced RTS feel. My first round in single player lasted until daylight (I lost). As soon as Friday night gets here, I'll wait for the wife and kids to go to bed and I;lll sneak back down stairs for another all-nighter. (I'm going win this time dang-it) Expand
  41. Oct 24, 2012
    2
    Stand-alone expansion that doesn't add anything a mod to the original could. No engine updates for multi-cores and still won't use more then 2 gigs of ram on a 64-bit cpu. There is no single player campaign.

    Only get this if you do not own the Trinity version. I wish this series would pull through on their "epic galaxy battles", however, they do not exist in any version in the series
    thus far. Large and huge maps experience performance decay over time as the AI expands and the last few hours of a game turn into a slide show. You could search support for dev talk relating to the end game lag. Those threads tend to fall off the first page and go into the archive.

    Random counters:
    Limiting the number of AI players only reduces end game lag in the sense that 1 AI player is unable to capture territory as fast as 1 good player. What you end up is a set games where the AI and player are equal in skill, but unplayable and another set where the player rolls the AI.
    Expand
  42. Aug 19, 2012
    1
    I was expecting a new game and was completely deceived. Same menu, same ships, same music, same artwork, same voice acting, same races, same planets, same resource system.... ladies and gentlemen, this is the same game. Yes, there are some additions, but they are merely a handful of additions to the same old game. Do not buy this game, especially if you already have the original SOASE. The differences are so minimal that you won't be able to tell the two apart when you boot them up.

    Stardock is intentionally not showing any gameplay trailers. They have these new rendered trailers which are obviously not from this game, I think maybe they had to buy the technology to make those videos since their game engine is incapable. Don't think you'll be seeing anything like what's in the trailers. In order to justify a $40 price tag, a studio would have to create new content, update their game engine, improve their audio, etc. etc. etc, none of which was done.

    This is SOASE with expansions, like a GOTY edition, except that it's been several years since this game was originally released. Several. Years. Same game. Same old game. A couple new units, a couple new tech, but most of the units (90%) are copied and pasted from SOASE.

    So I'm really curious as to why people like this game. I played the original flavor, and maybe thought it wasn't a waste of $30, but I didn't play it much since it was very rough around the edges, and I was more accustomed to games like Company of Heroes and Civilization which were polished, fun, and well produced. But this SOASE expansion for $40 is like paying for shoes that don't fit and cannot be returned. 'Rebellion' is a waste of money, a useless game, a joke, a trick to steal your hard earned money in exchange for an old game with a new name which was mediocre to begin with.

    What I'm trying to say is: DO NOT buy this $10 expansion for $40. This is an expansion to an existing game being sold as a stand-alone game. There is no option to buy it as an expansion, even though 90% of the game is from the original SOASE. If you like being ropped off, then go for it. I haven't had buyer's remorse this badly in a long time. Total ripoff. He who has ears, let him hear.....
    Expand
  43. Aug 29, 2012
    6
    i like the game but i deeply miss the story mode the trailers for both the original and rebellion sets the stage for, i believe that this game could win so much if there was a goal to play for rather than just doing the countless skirmishes the game offers. a simple question to the final statement in the trailer explains a lot...
    -What warning???

    when that is said i like a good long
    lasting game and rebellion simply nailed it, there are so many ways of playing this game with several different factions.
    i'll not say that they have added tonnes of material but there's plenty toys to play with.


    the core have not been enhanced for what i'd call up to date and the price for at game without any development in storyline or game engine is somewhat hefty
    Expand
  44. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    This is the single most fantastic 4X RTS I have played. The maps, ships, technologies, and AI are incredibly detailed, and the graphics are beautiful. A definite recommendation if you enjoy the space RTS genre.
  45. Jun 5, 2013
    8
    Since I bought this game on Steam at a discounted price of USD 13+/-, I cannot discuss this matter based on money matters. Aside from that, the game is generally fun to play. Once I bought it, I was completely bemused towards how to play it, making the game slightly dull and depressing at first. However, after gaining experience and understanding how the game works, it was fantastic. Ships of great variety and the picturesque background makes the game consistently attractive in graphics and design. The combat fighting may be slightly dull at times, but with massive battalions of larger ships and things, it will be fun to play.

    The only downside I have, would be the duration to complete the game. It would literally take me a few days just to complete a match with 13 or more planets. It may be my inexperience, but I believe many people would feel the same way sometimes. But I really can't complain about duration if the fun is consistently being kept at a high level.

    It would be hard for me to sit down patiently and play a game that could last more than 8 hours, but that's just me. Hence the game deserves my 8. I was also amazed at the community mods, making the game far more interesting as well.
    Expand
  46. Oct 28, 2013
    9
    This game is pretty epic. Never played Sins before, but I'm really having fun with it. Graphics are pretty sweet, but when you zoom in textures get a wee blurry. But that's alright given the massive scale of the game. You can dominate a map with ten planets or a hundred.

    Only gripe I have is that normal difficulty is a joke, and when you bump it up to hard, the AI is good enough to
    dominate a new player. You will probably lose a few games before you can hold your own.

    Once you get past that, it's pure space-fleet glory.
    Expand
  47. Jun 15, 2012
    9
    This game is awesome. I bought Trinity when it came out (not on steam but impulse) and loved it. the only thing that sucks is that they didn't release it as DLC but standalone, thats just confusing and forces compatibility problems. in my opinion its just a way of moneymaking and the price of $40 ($30 when you already own a sins game and buy through stardock website) is way to much for someone who ownes trinity already. for players who never played or owned sins before its just perfect and the price is even cheap. nevertheless the game is just great and i hope that it will attract a bigger fanbase since it was released through steam as well. whoever complains about feeling ripped off because they thought its a complete new game should learn to read before spending money. i mean you really have to have the money sitting to lose when you buy something without even getting some informations about it beforehand. and who buys it knowing what he gets and still is not happy because it is 'just' an expansion should be angry about him/herself... and even then it should be possible to get a refund. at least it was never a problem for me. Expand
  48. Jun 13, 2012
    9
    Its Sins with more. What's not to like? Victory conditions bring goals (other than galactic domination) to the game. New factions changes up the feel to each race, while their varying techs make them even more diverse. The titans can turn a long game into a true marathon.
  49. Jun 24, 2012
    9
    Rebellion is a nice upgrade from the Trinity package. There are a few new ships and upgrades, which extend the gameplay; however, there are currently some balancing issues, which the devs are currently working on. Overall, the game is still awesome, and well worth picking up if you've never played SoaSE. For those previous owners complaining about the $40: Stardock offers a $10 discount to anyone who already bought SoaSE. Rebellion is actually an acceptable upgrade for $30, and I wholeheartedly recommend it. Expand
  50. Aug 24, 2013
    3
    SoSaE is a Sci-fi 4x game that looks and can be very overwhelming, while this game does show potential you'll be having a hard time finding it with no Single player campaign and a dead online community and learning curve which is impossible to learn without opposing players. Another thing would be to note this is a game that isn't about micro and situational strategy but more about macro and resource income pretty much like starcraft with all that much more macro and research. Which makes the game incredibly frustrating when you get absurdly large amount of planets each with its own base building area and limited amount of slots. When it comes down to it this game is really only good for LAN parties that or very long and boring skirmish matches against a one trick pony Ai. Expand
  51. Dec 29, 2012
    8
    if you own trinity dont buy this unless its in a steam sale as the content it adds is too small to warrenty the price tag.

    however if you are looking for a space rts and havent played sins before or didnt play the expansions then get this game.
  52. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    Finally another RTS to spend hours building an empire. There are so many races, techs, structures and ships that your average beginner might not know where to start, but given lots of patience and practice it can provide endless hours of enjoyment.

    Most other developers have lost touch with what an RTS is and as a result there are very few RTS about these days, but this one stands out.
    We need more real-time strategy games! What happened to the early days of C&C Red Alert and Rise of Nations?! Expand
  53. Dec 12, 2013
    0
    The release of Rebellion was a giant middle finger to all existing fans of the original game, like myself. Rebellion essentially adds a few new ships to the game and a couple of minor tweaks. It would be a GREAT $10 expansion. The problem is, Stardock released Rebellion as a PURELY stand-alone game for $40 that is 90%+ the same as the original SOASE and it's expansions. They could have easily made this another expansion like the others but they made it a $40 stand-alone as a PURE CASH GRAB. They should have at least allowed existing SOASE owners to tack it on as a normal expansion for half the price instead of paying a full $40 for a game that is more than 90% the same as what I have. Expand
  54. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    I like the game, except the LAG in the middle of the game
    I don't think its a bug of the code, it uses only one core of the processor. I hope they fix this lag though
  55. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    I've been with this game since alpha testing and it's improved into the great dynamic game that it is right now. the graphics are improved and the new ship class of titan's make this more of a strategy game then ever before because of new tactics
  56. Jun 15, 2012
    10
    There are numerous small, but well appreciated improvements. I wish that they would have given me a bit more command over how my ships form up and move, but so it goes. After pirating the first game in the series (sorry) I'm not particularly miffed by the $40 price tag.
  57. Jun 15, 2012
    9
    I personally love this game, I think it is a bit pricy at $40, but still, it is more stable, It adds plenty of new stuff to keep me interested, the titans are not all powerful, which is a good thing, and I love the new music.
  58. Jun 16, 2012
    9
    Rebellion takes a step further into making an already great game into an even greater experience. The splintering of each race add additional technologies and the Titans bring a whole new level of power as well.
    The AI has also improved and is much more lively.
    If you haven`t been able to try out Sins of a Solar Empire yet, this is the perfect entry point, although the price may be
    saulty for a standalone expansion... Expand
  59. Jun 19, 2012
    1
    I have no idea why the reviews for this game are so high. The game plays like it was supposed to be a turn based strategy game, and that has already been done so much better in an older game, Space Empires. The trailers led me to believe there was some in depth storyline, but it's just a series of boring skirmishes that last too long. It looks nice visually (not up to todays standards) but you will spend 98% of the time zoomed so far out that you never see any ships or fighting, just tiny icons. A waste of money (thanks for the no refund policy Steam). I advise you not to waste your money. Go play Space Empires, a shareware game from Windows 95/98, while not impressive visually, it is actually enjoyable to play. Expand
  60. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    and 1 more thing to say is that u could but it with the price 13.59$ (-66% account)

    those players keep talking about too expensive is ridiculous. Hope them will buy games wiser next time
  61. Sep 8, 2013
    0
    I notice most of the good reviews are from returning players. There is a very steep learning curve. I played 5 games and lost each one soundly. I'm sure there's a correct formula I ignored diplomacy, for instance, but I don't want a formulaic game. I felt no freedom to explore or enjoy various options. Enemy factions attack incessantly and present no time to enjoy any other aspect of the game. There's no real connect between the storyline and the game play. Expand
  62. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    It is a nice game, and I got it from steam during promotion, consider worth it since I only paid 34% of the original price i know not the best deal)

    very nice and epic battle and can company the player for whole day

    only bad point is game tend to last very long so it is not multiplayer friendly
  63. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Sins of a Solar Empire Rebellion is one of the best RTS games I have ever played. Epic battles, tones of strategy, and distinct faction variations allow for a unique play experience. Even though I have had no experience with the Sins series before this game, I have found the game interface easy to learn and use, despite it's surprising complexity. This game offers many hours of playtime, and will keep you glued to the screen. I got this game on Steam over the summer sale, so it was only ten bucks. So in conclusion, Sins of a Solar Empire is a great game for those looking for a space based RTS theme. Expand
  64. Mar 9, 2013
    0
    Decent Master of Orion and StarCraft successor. Master of Orion part (strategy of handling the multi-star galactic empire) is great. StarCraft part (tactics of spaceship battles) not so much. There's too much going on in the empire to command the ships manually, and I usually just leave it to AI (which does it well). Also, in StarCraft, you have hard rock-paper-scissors like stealth and ground/air units, so you have to provide counters or lose regardless of amount of units. In this game everything can be soft-countered by everything, so you just need a huge fleet and you'll steamroll anything. You need, however, to create a successful economy to build that fleet. Overall, there's a decent depth to the game, and I suppose it's fun in multiplayer (if you are prepared to play for 5-6 hours). I definitely recommend to try it if you like Master of Orion. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Aug 30, 2012
    62
    Rebellion is clearly an improvement over the original Sins of a Solar Empire, but it's still a not very successful attempt to cross an RTS with a 4X strategy game.
  2. Aug 6, 2012
    75
    Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion is a game I really wish I was more skilled at. I appreciate all the various aspects of gameplay and the depth that the combination of those aspects provides. Still, as my fellow critic Kristin Taylor might say, I was far too enamored with the construction of my newfangled Titan to react quickly enough to the raiders destroying my infrastructure. While it's a long, long way from being up my alley, it at least makes for a good spectator sport.
  3. Jul 31, 2012
    90
    Miles deep, loaded with options and gorgeous art, Sins: Rebellion is a great, genre-transcending strategy game. [Aug 2012, p.60]