Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 239 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The time of Diplomacy is now over. The length of the war and differing opinions on what should be done to bring the war to an end has led to a splintering of the groups involved. The controlling powers-that-be have exhausted arsenals and seem to have spent all efforts of diplomacy. TrappedThe time of Diplomacy is now over. The length of the war and differing opinions on what should be done to bring the war to an end has led to a splintering of the groups involved. The controlling powers-that-be have exhausted arsenals and seem to have spent all efforts of diplomacy. Trapped in a stalemate, sub-factions have rebelled and split off from the main alignments. Rebellion is upon us. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    100
    Rebellion is nearly as revolutionary with its new subfactions, and it's easily as revolutionary with its new victory conditions.
  2. Jul 3, 2012
    90
    This is a decent expansion to the best 4X-RTS-in-space out there. A real treat for newcomers to the game, veterans might find the $40 price tag a little steep for an expansion that is more evolutionary than revolutionary.
  3. Jul 9, 2012
    89
    The best part of Rebellion or any RT4X title is the replay value. This title can be played again and again as all your decisions ultimately effect the long-term gameplay.
  4. Jun 12, 2012
    85
    A wonderful last hurrah though, as expansions go. With the new ships and tech, the internal divisions along with everything else, there's hundreds more hours of fun to eek out of this game.
  5. Jul 9, 2012
    80
    Sins of a Solar Empire may be showing signs of age, but it continues to stand out as one of the best tactical space combat sims around. While it doesn't shake up the status quo much, Rebellion isn't lacking in polish or extra content.
  6. Aug 6, 2012
    75
    Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion is a game I really wish I was more skilled at. I appreciate all the various aspects of gameplay and the depth that the combination of those aspects provides. Still, as my fellow critic Kristin Taylor might say, I was far too enamored with the construction of my newfangled Titan to react quickly enough to the raiders destroying my infrastructure. While it's a long, long way from being up my alley, it at least makes for a good spectator sport.
  7. Jul 21, 2012
    60
    But don't let all this talk of management fool you, there's a real thrill to Rebellions real time battles, especially when you zoom in to watch the often impressive visual cacophony of lasers as droves of spaceships broad side each other or master the intricacies of its RTS rock, paper, scissors mechanics – and can use them to whip other players right back to their home worlds and bombard them.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 74
  2. Negative: 15 out of 74
  1. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    This game offers a lot more tactical depth then what you'd expect from from a real-time version of popular turn-based 4X games. With anThis game offers a lot more tactical depth then what you'd expect from from a real-time version of popular turn-based 4X games. With an enormous tech tree, a flexible - well designed diplomatic system and 6 factions (3x2) that play very differently this game offers more than enough content to keep you occupied for months (given the sky-high replay value and dozen hour-long matches)
    While reading the negative reviews i came to realize that they mostly cover the following:
    -the "expansion" hasn't got enough new content (with which I highly disagree, besides, it's a standalone title)
    -Master of orion and Gal Civ are better (to people who say this: real-time strategies are obviously not your thing, no matter how much content they pack)

    The game is as good as flawless when you look at it at a standalone viewpoint.
    Expand
  2. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    and 1 more thing to say is that u could but it with the price 13.59$ (-66% account)

    those players keep talking about too expensive is
    and 1 more thing to say is that u could but it with the price 13.59$ (-66% account)

    those players keep talking about too expensive is ridiculous. Hope them will buy games wiser next time
    Expand
  3. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    Probably the best space strategy beside the nostalgic first part of homeworld.The only thing that i'm missing at this game is the storyProbably the best space strategy beside the nostalgic first part of homeworld.The only thing that i'm missing at this game is the story mode.Everything else is great Expand
  4. Sep 6, 2013
    8
    All in all, a very nice expansion to the original Sins. I would have liked to have seen some 3D graphic and GUI enhancements, but hey, theAll in all, a very nice expansion to the original Sins. I would have liked to have seen some 3D graphic and GUI enhancements, but hey, the extra content is enough to make this game well worth it, and I've already spent hours engrossed in the new features, especially when you get the new Forbidden Worlds DLC. Recommending this to anyone looking for an upgrade to the original Sins. Expand
  5. Jun 13, 2012
    8
    Rebellion takes the Sins series several steps further by adding new ships, techs and factions, and an improved diplomacy function. The AI hasRebellion takes the Sins series several steps further by adding new ships, techs and factions, and an improved diplomacy function. The AI has been beefed up as well, and is generally competent at even the lowest difficulty levels (hey, don't judge!). That being said, the $40 price tag is a bit hefty if you already have the other games in the series. Collapse
  6. Dec 28, 2012
    7
    While Rebellion adds great new features to a solid game, you can't help but wonder why these features weren't included from vanilla release.While Rebellion adds great new features to a solid game, you can't help but wonder why these features weren't included from vanilla release. The expansion is overpriced if you already own the original game, there is alot of missed potential here: where are the new factions? new planet types? only 3 new ships per faction? The game is an addictive, fun, and challenging RTS, it does however still suffer from balancing issues. Expand
  7. Jun 21, 2014
    0
    Money-grabbing, untruthful tactic made to take your money for a few extra goodies pasted into an old game and selling as new, In my opinion,Money-grabbing, untruthful tactic made to take your money for a few extra goodies pasted into an old game and selling as new, In my opinion, Stardock is a disreputable company whose main form of income comes from trickery and deceit, do not buy! Expand

See all 74 User Reviews