Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion PC

Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 249 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The time of Diplomacy is now over. The length of the war and differing opinions on what should be done to bring the war to an end has led to a splintering of the groups involved. The controlling powers-that-be have exhausted arsenals and seem to have spent all efforts of diplomacy. TrappedThe time of Diplomacy is now over. The length of the war and differing opinions on what should be done to bring the war to an end has led to a splintering of the groups involved. The controlling powers-that-be have exhausted arsenals and seem to have spent all efforts of diplomacy. Trapped in a stalemate, sub-factions have rebelled and split off from the main alignments. Rebellion is upon us. Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    100
    Rebellion is nearly as revolutionary with its new subfactions, and it's easily as revolutionary with its new victory conditions.
  2. Jul 3, 2012
    90
    This is a decent expansion to the best 4X-RTS-in-space out there. A real treat for newcomers to the game, veterans might find the $40 price tag a little steep for an expansion that is more evolutionary than revolutionary.
  3. Jul 9, 2012
    89
    The best part of Rebellion or any RT4X title is the replay value. This title can be played again and again as all your decisions ultimately effect the long-term gameplay.
  4. Jun 12, 2012
    85
    A wonderful last hurrah though, as expansions go. With the new ships and tech, the internal divisions along with everything else, there's hundreds more hours of fun to eek out of this game.
  5. Jul 9, 2012
    80
    Sins of a Solar Empire may be showing signs of age, but it continues to stand out as one of the best tactical space combat sims around. While it doesn't shake up the status quo much, Rebellion isn't lacking in polish or extra content.
  6. Aug 6, 2012
    75
    Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion is a game I really wish I was more skilled at. I appreciate all the various aspects of gameplay and the depth that the combination of those aspects provides. Still, as my fellow critic Kristin Taylor might say, I was far too enamored with the construction of my newfangled Titan to react quickly enough to the raiders destroying my infrastructure. While it's a long, long way from being up my alley, it at least makes for a good spectator sport.
  7. Jul 21, 2012
    60
    But don't let all this talk of management fool you, there's a real thrill to Rebellions real time battles, especially when you zoom in to watch the often impressive visual cacophony of lasers as droves of spaceships broad side each other or master the intricacies of its RTS rock, paper, scissors mechanics – and can use them to whip other players right back to their home worlds and bombard them.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 77
  2. Negative: 15 out of 77
  1. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    and 1 more thing to say is that u could but it with the price 13.59$ (-66% account)

    those players keep talking about too expensive is
    and 1 more thing to say is that u could but it with the price 13.59$ (-66% account)

    those players keep talking about too expensive is ridiculous. Hope them will buy games wiser next time
    Expand
  2. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    This game offers a lot more tactical depth then what you'd expect from from a real-time version of popular turn-based 4X games. With anThis game offers a lot more tactical depth then what you'd expect from from a real-time version of popular turn-based 4X games. With an enormous tech tree, a flexible - well designed diplomatic system and 6 factions (3x2) that play very differently this game offers more than enough content to keep you occupied for months (given the sky-high replay value and dozen hour-long matches)
    While reading the negative reviews i came to realize that they mostly cover the following:
    -the "expansion" hasn't got enough new content (with which I highly disagree, besides, it's a standalone title)
    -Master of orion and Gal Civ are better (to people who say this: real-time strategies are obviously not your thing, no matter how much content they pack)

    The game is as good as flawless when you look at it at a standalone viewpoint.
    Expand
  3. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    I'm an old school gamer. I started with an Atari 2600 for Christmas in 1977 and I've been hooked ever sense. I fell in love with video gamesI'm an old school gamer. I started with an Atari 2600 for Christmas in 1977 and I've been hooked ever sense. I fell in love with video games so much I make games for a living.

    With that said, I am very critical of new games and I love this one. I am a big fan of the Home World series and have been looking for something like it for years. I have never played any of the previous releases so I can't make any comment on whats different with Rebellion. The artwork is very good and the game-play is excellent. I love the old-time slow paced RTS feel. My first round in single player lasted until daylight (I lost). As soon as Friday night gets here, I'll wait for the wife and kids to go to bed and I;lll sneak back down stairs for another all-nighter. (I'm going win this time dang-it)
    Expand
  4. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    Excellent game in virtually all respects. Vast amounts of replay ability, no two games are ever the same. Graphics are excellent and anExcellent game in virtually all respects. Vast amounts of replay ability, no two games are ever the same. Graphics are excellent and an improvement on the original. Numerous additions such as Titans and the splitting of each race into 2 factions that have different styles of play adds depth. My only real complaint is that there are crash bugs that still need to be worked out, or I'd give it a 10. All in all, I highly recommend this game. Expand
  5. NLS
    Jan 21, 2014
    8
    Yes more of the same indeed. So?
    You have a working recipe and you add a few more carefully balanced ingredients. Fine by me.
    Much better
    Yes more of the same indeed. So?
    You have a working recipe and you add a few more carefully balanced ingredients. Fine by me.
    Much better than forgetting your success story and trying to feed your fan base with cr*p (X3 vs X:R comes to mind).
    SoaSE:R is one of the best games of its genre. You should own it.
    Expand
  6. Jun 13, 2012
    7
    There was two things that Sins needed most: multicore support and a 64 bit version. Rebellion adds neither. So if you like huge maps and mods,There was two things that Sins needed most: multicore support and a 64 bit version. Rebellion adds neither. So if you like huge maps and mods, you'll still encounter slowdowns at some point. Getting that out of the way, what they did add is new toys that are pretty fun to play with. Doing things like eating planets for resources, building a ship that's just a giant gun, and attacking people by flying Starbases at them are pretty awesome. They're also pretty imbalanced. So all in all this is kind of a mixed bag. If you liked Sins before and you're okay with balance issues being present in this version (hopefully to be patched later), then you'll enjoy Rebellion. Expand
  7. Jun 21, 2014
    0
    Money-grabbing, untruthful tactic made to take your money for a few extra goodies pasted into an old game and selling as new, In my opinion,Money-grabbing, untruthful tactic made to take your money for a few extra goodies pasted into an old game and selling as new, In my opinion, Stardock is a disreputable company whose main form of income comes from trickery and deceit, do not buy! Expand

See all 77 User Reviews