User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 895 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 895

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Having not run into any of the bugs or issues with controls that most users are citing, I'm giving Sleeping Dogs a 10 simply because it doesn't suffer from sequelitis. United Front Games did an amazing job of creating a true spiritual successor to the True Crime series that Luxoflux created so masterfully. For once, developers are not selling out to appeal to the Call of Duty audience. The on-rails drive by missions felt so familiar to their TC:NYC counterparts. While the police gameplay is noticeably different due to the nature of you being undercover, the gunplay feels incredibly similar with bullet time, dual wielding, and the purposeful lack of emphasis on shooting. You don't have some absurd amount of ammunition, and United Front did an excellent job of keeping True Crime true to its roots. The driving feels incredibly similar, especially with ramming replacing manual PIT maneuvers. The hand to hand combat feels just as in-depth as in previous games, with training locations and new moves to learn. I am just so amazed with how they kept all the things that made True Crime unique. You can still store weapons in car trunks, purchase and store vehicles in the garage, customize your player character, and so on. I am beyond ecstatic that United Front made sure Sleeping Dogs would always be remember as the third True Crime game. This consistency is a massive step forward for the industry: Call of Duty cannot ruin every game with a gun in it anymore. We can finally expect more unique, good games again. Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    This game blows GTA 4 out of water.A must have if you are a fan of open world games.Driving is not that good but worth getting for everything else.lol
  3. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    A beautiful living city, one of the best engines up-to-date with gorgeous graphics, tons of action like in movies and the best combat system in a sandbox. This is the best game I've played this year, it's simply beautiful with tons of fun.
  4. Aug 31, 2012
    10
    Wow. Wow. Wow. I just finished the game on PC only minutes ago. Gameplay is top notch, graphics are superb. Storyline had me on the edge of my seat all the way to the end of the 22 hrs to finish the thing with still a bunch of side missions to go that could easily add on another 5-10 hrs of content if I wanted to 100% the game. Soundtrack is AMAZING with the Hudson Mohawke song being absolutely perfect for the setting and gameplay. Just can't get it out of my head yet. Favourite game of 2012 so far! SO SOOOOO GOOOODDDDD!!! JUST PLAY IT NAOOW! Expand
  5. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    I cannot believe how well made this is for the PC. The Optimization is astounding compared to games like GTA 4 and Saints Row The Third on the PC, and best of all the graphics are incredible with the DX11 features and HQ Texture Pack. AMAZING
  6. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    A very suprising treat, one that may be a sleeper hit.. Played this game since midnight w/ high res pack and it looks pretty, combat so far is very responsive and the open world feels alive.

    Driving feels better than any "sandbox" to date.. Tight and physics feel "right".. Driving on the left side of the road did take a few to get used to but im usually driving like a madman anyways BUT
    during missions hitting / smashing etc will lower the "cop rating" and perfomance.. There is triad rating (bad) and cop (good) although in my personal beliefs its reversed,lol

    The voice acting is very good, story has been paced well and plenty of action sequences and varied combat w/o a hiccup in the "momentum" dept, it all feels right and driven.

    Upgrades avail and just like the gta's and saints rows there is shopping, cars to steal and own but the "face points" are of triad status meaning the more you obtain the beter gear one will unlock.

    I was seriously hoping square enix didnt have United Front slap some generic saints row re-hash w/ a different skin, So not the case.

    This game feels of its own, combat feels great and progression feels worth while and side missions i seek rather than bypass.

    I must be honest i am milking this one, finding every case and shrine (health and boost unlocks in the form of a prayer box), side mission etc. I fell in love w/ this one since start..

    I have to also submit that i am just 3 hours into this game but the more i put in, the more i am delighted.

    Please give this a shot, a must for sandbox fans.. truely an open world w/ tons of things to do but doing them in sleeping dogs style. May seem like another sandboxer on the outside but on the inside it truely is of its own and i have no complaints and usually this is rare for me.

    Rent it, borrow it, buy it.. its a game i higly reccomend you try at some point.

    Steam BosJ32/Hybrid 4.1 ( proof of ownership and playtime)
    Psn BOSTONJOHN32
    Live H4L0G0D
    Xfire Bostonjohn
    Expand
  7. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    This game is way superior to the GTA series. It takes the best aspects of the GTA series and then adds in an actual fighting system. Sure GTA was fun to load of some cheats and blast some people / cars away, but this game doesn't give you a gun until around 4 hours in, which is a good thing. The fighting system is awesome, which is why the previous statement holds true. Even after I had access to a handful of guns, I found myself avoiding the guns unless I had to use them and running up to fist fight.
    The only downfall to this game is that the story only runs about 20 hours, I wish it had more, but then again I'm sure there will be DLC for this title. At least I hope so.
    Expand
  8. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    The story is great, it makes you want to finish it.
    The combat is so much fun I actually want to get into combat (not like in many other games).
    If you die it sets you up properly so you don't miss any special weapon you needed and you don't get frustrated. In the same way, you can save anywhere (you don't have to go home to save).

    Apart from that, it's pretty much another GTA, but
    it's soooo good.

    I found a glitch, though, which made me drop down the resolution because my action were not getting recorded. I had to find it through the forums.

    This is one of the only games I have wanted to finish. In fact, i couldn't finish FFVII because of a glitch just before the last scene. But I had to finish this because I was so addicted.

    My recommendation is buy it, buy it, buy it!!!!!!
    Expand
  9. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    I was just about to give this game a 9 for a near perfect experience tarnished by a few (one bug that happened in a few places really) obnoxious bugs, but as I just closed the game down (for the first time in 3 days!) I saw there was already an update being downloaded! 2 days after release it's completely patched! Now to the actual game, It was amazing! I had played Mafia 2 before this, and thought it couldn't be beat, but this game matches the story and blows the gameplay out of the water! This is the most open game I have ever played! When I need to take out a bunch of thugs I can: Fight them all, shoot them all, stab them all, or just run them all down from the safety of my car, plus any combination of the three! The melee combat system is phenominal and original! I was just expecting some punch combos and roundhouse kicks, but as soon as my guy hit the ground he was breaking arms and legs, and using every imaginable everyday object to kill people! Whether it's phonebooths, air conditioners, or good old car doors, you can smash just about anyone into just about anything! Plus the driving is amazing, and the game encourages you to get good at it, it wouldn't be Asia without street racing after all. And the freerunning element of the game is also very well done. If it's not your thing, you won't have to do it to get around, and when it is in missions you'll have pretty obvious guides helping you through it. Plus you can USE TAXIS! Always bugged me in other games, especially when missions required you to drive across town and back. It's like a sort of fast travel without breaking immersion. Skill advancement is also very well done, as you can focus on or neglect areas of development in order to get what you want out of the multiple skill trees. Though you can still have everything in the end, if that's your thing, and you wanna work hard for it(I still haven't accomplished this :P). So all in all, enthralling story, original and awesome gameplay, beautiful graphics even on ~medium, and FUN! Plus you can try to beat your friends' scores with the ingame social hub feature, but that's not really my cup of tea. Also KARATE! Did I mention you can break arms and legs and throw dudes and stuff?!?!?! Also tackling, grappling, and lol why haven't you bought this yet? Expand
  10. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    For me, SD was a complete surprise. 9/10 Story, 10/10 AMAZING Graphics, 10/10 GamePlay, StreetFighter-like Combat, Overall 9.5/10.

    I personally loved the storyline; this can be viewed as an Asian version of GTA with much improvements. The city size is comparable to GTAIV, and is busily packed as expected in Hong Kong. More importantly, this game felt REAL. Although a variety of firearms
    can be had, the fighting is primarily combat based; Brawling. Although you ultimately unlock all character abilities for the 3 categories (police, triad, respect) by leveling up with experience gained from missions, special combat moves can only be unlocked by finding hidden statues delivered to this master guru. If you have ever played Batman Arkham (Asylum or City), this is a much more refined and developed fighting system. You must respond swiftly to counter attack, or utilize the environment for awesome finishing moves. (smash head repeated with car door or refridgerator, smash them into a dumpster, or telephone booth.. so many more!) You are also able to open trunks of cars to search for weapons like a tire iron, knife, or pistol. All of these aspects seem very fitting and realistic; No, you wont be able to cycle through all 8 weapons you are carrying, or customize your car beyond its paint job, but you can get some 'asian massages' which always help, heh heh. The story line is terrific, but then again, I'm asian. Nonetheless, I felt vested with Shen, which I think is cornerstone to a good gaming experience. As an undercover cop / asian triad gangster... my number one challenge was driving on the left side of the road. At high speeds it can get quite challenging to drive on the opposite isde of the road. Especially in police missions, you lose points for stealing cars, hurting civilians, or damaging public property. You can also lose points for being 'clumsy', such as running into a table or tripping when chasing an enemy. I thought that was quirky. Upon completing the main story, I had maxed out my Respect, Police, and Combat abilities. I was short on triad points; apparently I was not violent enough! I think this helps reinforce generating cool, unique combo attacks for more exp points than shooting with a gun (unless headshot, some bonus exp). During long fights, subsequent combos will charge and release your 'fear meter', when your enemies basically cower for several seconds at your awesomeness while you do some extra damage, ha! There are several in-game puzzles, like cracking a safe or 'grid', but they were all trivial at best, which I preferred. I dont like games that make you stop your intense action to play sudoku before unlocking your objective. Anyways, the graphics are AMAZING. And the atmosphere of the City makes you feel 'in the zone'. At 54hrs, I completed the main story line with >50% progress for most of the side stories, missions. Obviously you can finish the game much faster, but I really enjoyed the environment and took my time. Unlike GTA, and esp SR3, this is not a city-rampage style game (although you could do that, Tactical/SWAT DLC). It's harder to lose cops / stars when you are being chased, because its HongKong, and its crowded and you;re driving on the left side of the road. Ultimately, completing the main story was bitter-sweet. Thankfully, SteamSale for Shaolin, Nightmare, and SWAT DLCs, I can hopefully add on some more hours of play. Overall, Sleeping Dogs did an excellent job recreating HongKong, the bright vibrant atmosphere, and keeping me vested and engaged with the antagonist. The Graphics were Amazing (rainfall?! city night lights reflecting from my kick-ass car wax-job?!) Gameplay was very engaging and precise; it was like gangster Streetfighter, sorta. Don't Miss this Game! Expand
  11. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    This game was obviously made with a lot of love, and they managed to get a lot done before the budgets ran out. I wanst expecting it to be this good based on some reviews i had read, but i kind of understand them.

    Its a very strange game to score. The driving feels weaker, and the controls/camera can sometimes be a bit wanky, but I feel it deserves a 9 based on how much ive enjoyed
    playing it. Its definitely a game thats greater than the sum of its parts, and there are alot of parts. Driving, missions with lots of mini games for hacking, lock picking, bug calibration, cell phone triangulation. Foot and vehicle chases. Shoot-outs and lots of asskicking Kung-fu. Aswell as the great Hong Kong environments, the combat is very much its strong point and feels really satisfying. Im going to say it, the fighting is better than the GTA series by miles!

    If you get the chance to grab this in the sales, i would suggest you do. I've really enjoyed my fortnight in Hong Kong for the price of a few pints.

    Is it better than GTA IV.....Well maybe not. But GTA doesnt have bloody Kung-Fu and meat cleavers.
    Expand
  12. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    Upon first look, most people will see an Asian inspired GTA clone when they look at Sleeping Dogs. It's only when you look a bit deeper that you realize the full breadth of content available to the player and the engrossing Hollywood worthy story that wraps the entire game up in a neat package. It's not perfect, but what game is these days? You'll have some finicky controls here and there if you are using a mouse and keyboard but after the third hour of gameplay, you'll know all the ins and outs and be able to drive like a pro and strut your stuff all around Hong Kong like the best of them. I can't recommend this game highly enough. I'm pleasantly surprised by just how great this game is. I was not expecting much from it but I'm getting a whole bunch out of it. Expand
  13. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    I'm enjoying Sleeping dogs immensely. The story in most part stays on a high note and the gameplay feels solid.

    I haven't run into any issues with the controls, however on some occasions the camera wasn't following correctly.

    The engine is extremely well done on PC, this is where I stood surprised. They clearly had people on the dev team who were familiar with the PC plaform. After a
    few days of playing non stop I never ran into any bugs. Even with HD3D, the experience was seamless. ( although the newbs at gamespot seem to have experienced two crashes under 24hrs of play)

    Overall great times to be had in Sleeping Dogs and I would most definitely recommend it your feeling like some GTA/Kung-fu fighting.
    Expand
  14. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    aside from all the other good points (good pc optimizations, good melee, good driving, good acting, etc.), we finally get a game that isn't america centric. The main characters are asian, and it is set in Hong Kong. I'm so glad not to have to look at new york and not have a protaganist that looks like vin desel.
  15. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    Well, for a game that I hadn't even heard of until a few weeks ago, this is a very pleasant surprise. Where to even begin...I was impressed right from the start with the graphics quality (get the high res textures!) and fluidity of the controls. I am playing with my PS3 controller (thanks again, Motioninjoy!!!!) and loving every bone breaking minute. The voice acting is superb, with some very well known actors/actresses giving the characters gravitas and the mixture of English and Cantonese lends the dialogue an air of authenticity. The city of faux-Hong Kong feels alive; vibrantly beautiful yet brutally dangerous as are the classic depiction of dragons in Oriental culture. The first thought most will have is how much similarity Sleeping Dogs bears to GTAIV, but Rockstar is definitely outclassed by this Canadian studio's near masterpiece. The graphics, vehicle handling and generally tight controls are way over Rockstar's effort. This is a game optimized for the PC, such that even with my 4 year old system I am able to get a consistent 35-40 FPS with all settings near maxed as well as using the high res textures. The melee fighting (and there is a LOT) is very similar to the Batman series, with button combos and unlockable moves. The kung fu kicks and punches feel powerful and fluid, and every fight is dynamic and interesting using the very environment as your weapon. It isn't a cakewalk though, so be prepared to get your butt kicked in the beginning until you can gain some new moves. The camera is generally pretty decent, although I think it could use a bit more fine tuning in tight spaces but it's still fairly easy to keep track of all the action. I wish there was an option for changing the viewpoint in vehicles, but that is just a nit-pick. Maybe a patch or two could turn this from a near masterpiece to a bona fide classic. Otherwise, vehicles handle as well as any game of this genre, and they look spectacular. One of my big gripes with GTAIV was how the game engine didn't allow FSAA- now you got it, along with all the bells and whistles of DX11. Sleeping Dogs exudes AAA quality right from the opening credits, and draws you into its world surely and steadily as you navigate the streets of faux-Hong Kong as both an undercover cop and a rising Triad member. The mini games are generally interesting, and I was pleased to find some Steely Dan among the karaoke tunes you can sing. WIN WIN WIN! I absolutely LOVE this game. I hope it does exceptionally well for United Front Games, because we need more like this. You NEED this game. 'Nuff said. Go be the Dragon! Expand
  16. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    As a long-time GTA fan, I was naturally interested in Sleeping Dogs from the moment I saw gameplay footage prior to release. That said, I wasn't expecting a game that was as high quality as most of the GTA series, so I was pleasantly surprised when I was blown away by this fantastic game. The graphics on PC (if your system can handle it) are absolutely stunning. The gameplay, the combat, the story, all of it is top notch, and I seriously can not recommend this game enough, especially if you're interested in the open-world games. Expand
  17. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    Wow, what a game! If you love open world games with excellent storytelling, amazing melee combat, great gun-play, and white knuckled driving sequences...look no further. I was a fan of the True Crime series, but this is the evolution I wanted to see in these games. Taking the best parts of other similar games, United Front has really made it their own and an absolutely polished gem. The graphics (full out) on PC are breathtaking and the amount of detail in the world, and the speed at which this detail can go rushing by, is a sight to behold.

    I was addicted from the moment it started and spent every spare moment playing the game until the intense and satisfying conclusion. A graphical feast with truly lifelike audio, excellent acting, and a strong storyline made me care about the characters in the game like few others. United Front thought of everything to make the game a challenge yet never one moment of tedious gameplay like these style of games can fall into.

    Stupendous accomplishment. High praise to Square Enix for recognizing the amazing vision of United Front and I look forward to future offerings.
    Expand
  18. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    Bought the Steam copy and I can't imagine playing it on any other platform than the PC. I usually get concerned of multiplats being poorly optimized, but this is running great in Crossfire mode. I enjoyed the hell out of GTA4 and Saints Row 3, but feel that this is waaaaaaaaaayyyy more accessible (and mildly more entertaining). It did kinda remind me of Infernal Affairs, but not entirely. It still feels like a well-written video game all on it's own. This game also excited me because a good single-player experience with a decent script is very hard to come by, and it's why my must-play list isn't as long as other gamers (Bioshock Infinite and Dishonored are what I'm anticipating most). Expand
  19. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    I love the attention to detail. The audio and voice acting is stellar. The driving has easy handling that doesn't want to make me tear my hair out (GTA4... rofl) and a great arcade feel to it. The upgrade trees are pretty cool. The fighting is an awesome combination of Assassin's Creed, Batman: Arkham Asylum/City. Lots of customization all over the place. Tons of stuff to explore. The city as a whole looks great even if the game doesn't have the best graphics to date. I like the Morse code-style combos (short click is a quick hit, long click is a heavy attack). I really like that you have both cop and triad missions to do. It adds a ton of more variety. All the minigames are very cool and pretty innovative. To me, this is easily the game of the summer. Expand
  20. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    I enjoyed the game a lot. First off, I think the praise about how optimized Sleeping Dogs is for the PC is overstated: the menu system does not work with a mouse, the camera controls are unresponsive, and alt-tabbing forces the game to window mode.

    Despite the issues, I find the story to be the best I've ever seen in an open ended game. The same can be said with how much more I care
    about the characters. Because of how much I liked the protagonist and a few supporting characters, the story had a bigger impact on me than GTA IV, which never affected me on an emotional level.

    The real star of the game is the fighting system. I find myself using many of the unlockable techniques, and that's a testament to how well developed the system is. It's true that the game has many rough edges, and I cannot profess to see the charms of glaring errors such as running full speed into a wall on a motorcycle and somehow staying on the bike. However, the overall experience outweighs the significant negatives to the game. From the well-made (but not authentic) map of Hong Kong, superb voice acting, and the aforementioned story and melee combat, Sleeping Dogs is a game worth playing.
    Expand
  21. BMF
    Aug 26, 2012
    10
    Sleeping Dogs is a very good game, its like GTA raped Batman Arkham City and there basterd child ran to Hong Kong! The story is very good and all the missions you do feel meaningfull, even the open world small scale missions feel fleshed out. The graphics are great with the exception of some low poly counts and a bad camera.
  22. Aug 26, 2012
    9
    Well , who ever said that this is not a proper port must have played other game for Pc cause this one is definitely a game meant for PC.The Graphics is awesome ,Hongkong looks and feels more alive than ever ,the story is really really good and control is not that bad either.I have to thanks Square Enix for their fantastic effort.
  23. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    just beat it, and all i can say is AMAZING. much better than the story in gta 4, imo, albeit not as much replay-ability. still awesome open city fun though. overall, SE/UGF did very well.
  24. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    For me, one of the best Games of 2012. Its not perfect, it has some problems but its really fun if you like Open World Games. The Melee-Combat System is the best part of the game by far and you can unlock alot of new Moves, so thats really cool.
  25. Sep 6, 2012
    10
    So, here's the deal. This game is awesome. Story wise it's very solid, with a very interesting story that keeps you entertained a lot. The characters are somewhat memorable and some even remarkable, and most are very charismatic. Now, the gameplay; It feels very solid too, the fighting mechanics are amazing and clearly the best feature in this game, it's fun and brings up a thing few games do: instead of difficulty, they try to make you mix up combos and try different things. Much like in Devil May Cry where you have to mix things and taunt to level up your style ranking. The driving is arcady and in my opinion fits greatly to the game. The driving in GTA 4 was realistic and very annoying, if it's not realistic but fun I take it with joy. Gunplay is good and is on the right place, and the driving gunplay is awesome as well, with that epic cinematic feeling. The game's flow is incredibly good and the game feeling is distinct and quite immersive. Talkin' about graphics, I must say this game is a piece of work. Very good graphics, with a good artwork. This game feels alive, it's enjoyable to look at it. GTA IV was quite the contrary. Realistic, yes, but ugly. There was no appeal to the dark and blank cities. GTA IV proved to me that realism isn't always good. Now talking about 'fun factor', this game is one of the best open world mission-based games I've ever played. It is limited and smaller than GTA IV, may not be as realistic or detailed or whatever, but just tops it because of the incredible flow and fun the game provides. I'd say this game is better than all GTA's except san andreas; but to be honest I don't really think this game resembles GTA in any way, what the game proposes to deliver is just nothing like GTA, they're overall very distinct games. Last, but not least, the soundtrack of this game is also very good, not many known songs but the music selection is great and I doubt you'll finish the game and not want to look for at least a few songs that got stuck in your head. Now, talkin' about PC specifics, some people might not like the way it's ported, but update 1.5 fixed most problems with KB and Mouse. Haven't experienced any serious glitches and I played with a controller, I can't complain about a thing. This game is amazing and is absolutely a must buy. Expand
  26. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing game! First I must thank square enix, for resurrected this game, otherwise this amazing game would be dead. This game has lot to offer, great combat and shooting gameplay, beautiful yet detailed gameplay. The only thing I can complain is the game is too good to be only 12-14 hours long, I really hope I could do more in the city. Dating missions feel like it is only half-done. Nevertheless, this is one of those games you must play in your lifetime. You must play this game, you must! Now I am really hoping them to release Sleeping Dogs 2, and I am looking forward to see GTA 5 or any other sandbox games become better after they have seen Sleeping Dogs! Expand
  27. Aug 27, 2012
    9
    More than a surprise ! .... i know that Square and United's are good company but make games on an "Average" basis .... BUT THIS!! .. is as surprising like Saints Row of THQ .. well optimized , good visuals .. fine story .... nice core elemental gameplay ... in short .... it seems to be worked and polished a great way ..... There are some texture failures and hiccups.. but still worth Port for PC
  28. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    I'll give it a 10/10 game as an open world gamer fan. This game simply was a mind blasting game and a unforgettable experience. It's one of those games you play and don't want it to end.
  29. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    If you are into Martial Arts, Parkour, Gun fights and car racing, this game is for you! Sleeping Dogs doesn't fail to deliver, it has an amazing open world, terrific graphics and en engaging story. The soundtrack will keep you pumped up, and motivate you to pull crazy stunts in the game. Voice acting is done very professionally, making the game feel quite realistic. Lots of stuff to do, from side missions to gathering collectibles. There's karaoke bars, fight clubs, male chicken fights, much to do and see. Expand
  30. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    One word: AWESOME! I did not know much about the game or what to expect. I just installed it and let the game take me in - it sure did - gameplay mechanics are flawless and when you get to know your controls(that can easily be remapped as you prefer) - the joyride may begin. Story - as far as I got is great. Gameplay - very nice, a little repetitive at parts but still interesting to keep you doing it(aren't all games repetitive in a way?)

    Graphics - I was mostly blown away after running the benchmark, so many details and so many things happening and game still goes fluid and looking pretty as well.

    Sound - great voice acting, great FX, great sooundtrack.

    I could keep on, but then I lose time from my playtime so...I'll go and enjoy it and you are welcome too.

    Oh, and I must say that I did see pirated version first - and could easily stay at that - but when I saw the dedication of developers put in this title I immediately ordered it and recommended it to many friends.

    True gaming Gem.

    The way gaming industry should definitely go.
    Expand
  31. Aug 25, 2012
    10
    Brilliant, brillirant game!!! Having so much fun with it, from its crazy fight scenes to its quirky **** fighting, the game is a blast. But since we are here to critique, I must say that the controls are a bit clunky and while there is no problems with the key mappings (as some console ports have) the sensitivity with looking around is a bit off and hard to control. Also it seems to have a problem when the frame rates are too high and results in a slight juddering and lag, which is quite weird, but hopefully a patch will fix the issue! But i must say that it is an awesome game to play with a truly captivating storyline, awesome fights that make you feel like a master of kung fu and graphics that will blow you away :) Expand
  32. Aug 31, 2012
    10
    This Game is Amazing, Best game i ever seen.
    even better then GTA 4! i really like it, i hope there will be a new one coming soon!
    Also i really want this game, and really liked the demo.
    its a great game, but its better to play on PS3/XBOX360
  33. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    This game is awesome! Reminds me somehow game The Punisher by brutal fights. Loved the car handling in the game, it's so epic by pressing SPACE button and starting drifting everywhere. This game just so epic 10/10. Can't wait for more DLC's.
  34. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    If I'm honest here ; I did not expect much from this game. I took the plunge only after I began hearing positive things on forums. Let me start by saying that this game looks absolutely phenomenal on PC. I am running this at extreme settings, with AA to extreme as well;1920x1200, and once again, it looks phenomenal. The night time/rain cycles look especially nice. Game play is varied, fun, and highly addictive. Combat is just as fun the 100th time as it is the first time. The story is compelling and serious, which is something I wasn't expecting. Voice acting puts it over the top and is top-notch. All in all, this game is my personal GOTY. It came out of nowhere and pulled me in like no other. Expand
  35. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    I would just like to mention that i was totally devastated when the game had ended, as i was totally immersed in the story, and truly and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the game. I had pre-purchased the game the first day it was available on steam, *as it had caught my eye from day one* and it really struck home right off the bat. I did notice some glitches here and there, as in the first mission Naz would stop running, but the glitch worked its self out pretty quickly with no effort from me. Really, if i had to judge all mediums of entertainment, this game told me *personally* the most riveting and enjoyable story i have ever been privileged to experience.

    **IMPORTANT** all the problems people have been experienced like camera and UI was recently patched in the 1.5 update, so now there is no reason to dislike the game
    Expand
  36. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    As a 31 year old avid "gamer" I've become quite frugal on which games to buy as there is a lot of crappy games out there to simply blow money on. Sleeping Dogs so far has been a real treat and well worth the money I spent to download. (steam purchase for PC).

    The story is mature enough to keep my attention, the voice acting etc.. is top notch and believable and the "Hong Kong"
    atmosphere the game is able to portray is fantastic.

    Combat is fun and fluid and even after several hours of gameplay hasn't gotten stale yet... The combos are hard to remember (Am I just old?) but that doesn't detract from the combat, it's still fun. There is lots of potential for more content in form of DLC and even more games for the series and I would likely purchase again. If you like open world style games like GTA and Saints Row then you'd definitely be happy with this game.
    Expand
  37. Aug 18, 2012
    9
    A fantastic sandbox. Square Enix will win some money for this great game. The city is small but it's looks beautiful, with great details and a lot of things to do. The combat skills and the combat style are good, is you played any game of Batman, you will be in the paradise in this one. Maybe the history isn't the better but the gameplay rescue from a 7 to 9 in the score.
  38. Aug 31, 2012
    9
    A good game deserves a high score. Did not expect the game to be that good. This is a mixture of good open world games such as Shenmue, Yakuza, Grand Theft Auto and True Crime. The game does not introduce new ideas, but the developers borrowed only good things from other games and implemented them very well in their own fashion. Hong Kong is recreated in a believable way and provides great atmosphere. provides Visuals are fantastic, the story and characters are deep and entertaining, the missions are various and fun. From the technical point of view, the game is not perfect - there some control and UI issues, mostly due to the console nature of the design, but still - it does not ruin the PC experience and the performance is well optimized. Most issues have already been fixed in patches. If love open world games, try this one - you won't regret! Expand
  39. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    AWESOME! The only thing that lets me down is DRIVING. Physics is awful, but all the other things like FIGHTS, story, rainy Hong Kong, variety of missions, great design, where all skills ore useful and really make you walk through mission, and clothing not only looks good but raises your stats.. All those things are truly awesomely made! Great job guys!
  40. Aug 29, 2012
    9
    I don't know where to start but they made a fantastic job with this game.
    Starting with beautiful and colorful looking city of Hong Kong made on a fantastic graphic engine.
    The gameplay is tremendous, one of the strong points in this game is the fighting, they are so well made, its that never was accomplished that great in any open world game.
    The music in this game feature fantastic
    and very popular music from Queen, Duran Duran, Debussy, etc. I enjoyed every particular radio station, especially the the Asiatic radio station and the classical music radio.

    As for the storyline, i think its pretty neat and well explained. I really hope they continue the story with DLC or make a sequel.

    I enjoyed completing every mission, side quests, jobs, hacking and collecting in in this game, this almost feels like a spiritual successor of True Crime: New York City.
    You gotta congratulate these guys, the job making this game for PC was so perfect that its perfectly optimized and it comes with extra features that makes the PC version, the best looking version of this game.

    All in all this is a must have and its one of my candidates for GOTY 2012
    Expand
  41. Aug 24, 2012
    9
    Who knew that all it took for the True Crime series to become great is to get rid of Activision? I am still a little bitter that Activision completely destroyed the Diablo series. Sleeping dogs essentially takes a lot of fun games and mixes them up. The driving is very similar to Need For Speed where you drive around to a certain check point and accept challenges. If you ever played one of the most underrated brawler of all time "The Warriors", you'll get the experience it here. The shooting is similar to max payne where you take cover and have cool slow motion animations. The negative reviews here sounds like it's written by people who should go work for Activision because not one of them are able to come up with a solution that would make it more fun. Criticisms like it's lacking "wow factor" is a joke because nobody really knows that means. Rather than saying what would make the game fun, it simply needs this mysterious factor. The first time you wrap a rope around a thug's neck and hang him to death, you will be pleased. Right in the tutorial, you will smile as you slam a door down a guy's face. Another issue people wrote is that it's buggy, it's actually a lot less buggy than the older true crime series when they were released under Activision. Right now I am playing on patch 1.4 and I haven't notice any game breaking bugs. The hotkeys for the PC isn't that bad, there was one annoying button such as H for honking but I just remapped it to F. If you can't handle wasd and a mouse than maybe you shouldn't play PC games. Most of the controls were very similar to many popular games and you have to be able to do basic things like holding shift or hitting F. Worst case senario, buy a controller. The story is definitely intriguing, it's like the movie "The Departed" except you can only see from one point of view. Overall, a top quality game like this is dying out because companies like Activision are runned by people who only cares about money and don't even know what a fun game is(The current CEO described games as selling Tide laundry detergeant, just rebrand the exact same thing and call it call of duty 5). Expand
  42. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best game of the year so far, if you like GTA4, Shenmue, Just Cause 2 and Need for speed, this is your game, way better than expected and better than all these games. Expand
  43. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    The best comparison I can make for Sleeping Dogs is Grand Theft Auto with a good combat engine, more interesting characters, and a more colorful environment. Although very similar in many ways, Sleeping Dogs manages to improve on GTA in every way possible. From a well developed melee combat system to exciting gunfights, each feature in the game comes together to offer an amazing, almost cinematic experience - Except you are always in control. Sleeping Dogs does an excellent job of borrowing elements from many other action oriented games and bringing them together into what can only be described as a masterpiece. Honestly one of the best games I have ever played. Expand
  44. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    after a rocky launch squenix proved that they care about their customers and continue to patch the game (version 1.9 already!) its a great pc port with great performance, great voice acting, and good looking textures. and the melee fighting system is amazing.
  45. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    Sleeping Dogs has overtaken GTA as the pinnacle of its genre. A massively underrated game, and a must-buy for anyone with love for these types of games.
  46. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    Simply GOTY, lets face it, the year 2012 was not a good year for video games, and this game was the best game this year so I'l give it a 9, it's a console port, but a console port which runs flawlessly, even on old PC's the controls are pretty solid, the game itself is an arcade type GTA, the combat is really enjoyable, they story is interesting and keeps you going, side missions are fun, but the gunplay could use some improvement and the only reason I'm giving it a 9, other then that I definitively recommend purchasing this game. Expand
  47. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    I really thought that Sleeping Dogs would be just another open world game, But for me, it was way more than that, it has such a good story line, excellent voice acting and the PC Port is actually very good, i've heard alot of people complain about the camera issues, but honestly i didn't really have that much problems with it. I just wish this game was longer. Getting every achievement and 100% takes you around 40 hours, I don't think that is long enough, And the AI is pretty crappy sometimes. The main story is pretty linear and doesn't offer any branching paths, But i was okay with that because the story was so good. Expand
  48. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm actually really really surprised about this game. I was originally approaching it as just another GTA Clone but it's not just a straight clone it adds it's own things and is original in some areas. The game looks amazing on the PC if you have installed the High Resolution Textures DLC but be warned you will need a somewhat good gaming rig if you want it to be playable. The melee combat is freaking awesome. If you've played any of the Arkham Batman games you will feel right at home it's somewhat the same system with quick counters and the like. But with that being said the shooting portions of the game really let the combat down it's mediocre at best but luckily a huge portion of the combat is melee orientated. The driving is average. Nothing special to scream about cept the option to jump out your car action movie style onto another one and the physics defying sideways shunting you can do to take down pursuing vehicles. The story is enough at least for me to be entertained for a while. It's not overly action movie like but it is predictable in some spots. I really like the system of leveling up both your gang level and your cop level to really tailor the character to your liking. Even though from the sounds of it this game was in a development hell for a while I'm glad the developers stuck by until a publisher finally saw the great potential the game had and released it. This game wasn't even on my radar until I saw it for sale for 50% off and for 25$ I think it's a great game worth the pick up. Expand
  49. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    Very well implemented on the PC. Playing the game in 5760x1080 with the HD texture pack. Looks good (textures could do with being still a little higher resolution), widescreen support is fully implemented. SLI support is fully implemented. I'm delighted to see such a well delivered game for the PC. Really really happy to see developers are pushing out quality content for PC gaming. Today is another great day for the PC, thanks guys. Expand
  50. Sep 4, 2012
    9
    Must have game for all GTA/SR fans. Superb gameplay, graphics and works smoothly with almost any pc. The best looking action game up-to-date. Only thing that I did not like, was the lack of DLC.
  51. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    Hard to believe this almost never saw the light of day, I like others have not been plagued by any bugs or technical issues and wow what can I say about Sleeping Dogs that others who score it so highly have not already said. An absolute gem of a game blows GTA4 away, heck I even put it above my all time now number 2 Vice City such is how good this game is. So much to do and a great story line with memorable characters, Mrs Chu reminds me of the mother in law down to the meat cleaver always in hand :)

    A great game with great mechanics great story and great characters looking forward to the DLC announcement in October. Thank you Square Enix for reigniting this project if not for you we wouldn't have had this truly awesome game. If your a fan of sandbox games be it GTA's the original True Crime games or Just Cause then SD is a must own in your collection.
    Expand
  52. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    Once again another with control issues yet I like it. The story is simply amazing, a lot of mini-games gameplay are fun, especially the when you fight enemies hand to hand combat. In my experience the game is a mix of Max Payne, Batman Arkham City, Saints Row The Third, Gears of War.
  53. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing. It is open world like GTA, fighting like Arkham Asylum/City, free running like Assassins Creed (much more limited though), and a story like none ive seen before. The enviorments are by far the best ive seen in gaming. Hong Kong feels alive, it looks beautiful, and sounds beaaitful. This game is worth the $40 it costs at the time of writing for sure.

    By far the best
    thing about the game is the story. Few games have ever engrossed me into their story as much as this one. You really feel happy, and pissed off, when stuff in the story happens. I dont wanna spoil it for you guys, but the story is just... wow.

    If you like video games at all, get it. It is the very definition of a good game.
    Expand
  54. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    I started thisgame not having high hopes for it, as it seemed like more of a gta clone than an actual game with it's own identity. However, after the opening sequences, I find that this game is much more in-depth in terms of gameplay and storyline. The story is very immersive as it takes you through the life of an undercover cop which is an ideal character for this game. Visuals are pretty good as well especially the water effects which look astounding for me. Definitely recommended if you own a good pc. Expand
  55. Nov 10, 2012
    9
    There has not been a single bug yet. The game play was amazing and so was the story. I could not stop playing until i was 100% done completion and even after that I was determined to beat all of my friends scores. There was not one irritating thing i can think of except there is no multi player. I think if they made multi player for this game such as free roaming and completing the story together than i would have been able to spend more time on the game and do it with friends. Expand
  56. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    I love this game! The story isn't too original, but I still really liked it. The fighting is awesome and United Front Games did an amazing job to create a game that lasts a very long time by having for example a lot of collectibles, side missions (favors, finding cars for Tran etc.) and a lot more.
    Also, I didn't find or experience one single bug, glitch or crash.
    The only thing I didn't
    like too much were the chasing parts of missions: in my opinion they were too easy, but that could be me too...

    All in all, the game isn't too original, but still really really enjoyable! I have spent a lot of time in this game, and I still really enjoy it and will spend a lot more time in Hong Kong.
    Expand
  57. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    Sleeping Dogs was a great game that centered around realistic gun play, high-speed chases and races, and hands down amazing combat. On PC, Hong Kong looks very realistic and nice. Cars handle very nicely and slow-motion 18K fights are great. There are many combat moves to unlock and are unlocked by collecting statues. You will learn from the martial arts master there. Fight clubs are fun and rewarding, and races are usually pretty good. Hijacking the trucks takes lots of luck and skill to evade the convoy of police that will chase you, and the player/people interaction is well done. Favors and chasing thieves are great time wasters. Buying food and drinks are rewarding, and the buildings you can go into are detailed and cool. The story is amazing, one of the best I've ever played. You feel like you really are part of the gang or police, and I felt very connected with the characters. If you can pick this up for a good price, get it. Expand
  58. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    Shenmue Grand Theft Auto? YES PLEASE!
    Fans of either genre of games will be pleasantly surprised by this title. The combination of third person beat-em-up/martial arts games and the open world fun and randomness of a Grand Theft Auto type game is a sure winner here! And for an added bonus the story is well-crafted, involved and interesting. Voice acting is superb and the attention to
    detail culture-wise is nothing less than impressive! Can't lose with Sleeping Dogs. Expand
  59. Oct 12, 2012
    9
    I decided to go with this after enjoying saints row 3. this game is fantastic, story is ok, the gameplay is good, fighting is like batman AC and its extremely violent. The graphics are also great especially the city landscape.
    control wise, i played on a Xbox controller which i think its best suited to
  60. Jan 8, 2013
    9
    GTA with style. This is how I would sum up Sleeping Dogs. I didn't care much for the story and characters in GTA, with all the stupidity and macho **** Of course you have part of that in Sleeping Dogs too, it IS about gangsters after all. Still there is a quite a bit of honor infused in the story instead of primitivity. Also, both story and characters seem deeper as a result of it.
    Besides that, it also features better gameplay than GTA. Virtually all the minigames, the shoot outs AND the hand to hand combat feel great. Alright, the hand to hand combat isn't as good as in the Batman games and there is one minigame that is damn tedious and you have to do a lot (picking locks on MANY lockboxes lying around town) but other than that, it's all great. Graphics look a bit dated, yet it still requires a fairly powerful system to run smoothly maxed out, so it doesn't seem like they optimized it very well. And those minor gripes about gameplay and graphics are really everything that keeps me from giving this game a perfect score. Oh, it also has quite a bit to discover. Maybe not as much as GTA4 but if you are a completionist, my guess is that it'll take you 20-25 hours to get everything.
    Expand
  61. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    There is a lot to like about this game. MECHANICS: There is a lot of similarity to GTA but you need to think of this game as trying to combine GTA driving and shooting with Batman Arkham Asylum style fighting. i.e. there is brawling. STORY: The story is ok so far. I haven't finished yet. So I'll reserve my overall impression. I can tell you that as the main character you switch back and forth betweren doing missions for the cops and doing missions for the triad. This is believable considering you are undercover. ENVIRONMENT: The environment is great. If you are like me, you are sick of games set in the US. It is nice to explore something a bit different. It is also great that the game is mostly bilingual, meaning it switches back and forth between English and Cantonese. It definitely helps the immersion. SOUND: The soundtrack for this game is absolutely amazing. I keep looking to buy the soundtrack but I haven't found it anywhere yet. CONTROLS: The controls are ok. I think they could tweak the responsiveness during brawling...or maybe I'm just terrible. OVERALL: The developers, producers, and everybody who worked on this should be proud of themselves. I am having a blast playing this game. Good Job! Keep making games like this and I"ll keep buying. (9/10) Expand
  62. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    Came out of nowhere to become my favorite game of 2012. Sleeping Dogs draws inspiration from The Departed, Infernal Affairs, classic Hong Kong action films, and martial arts films. It has a good story and runs great (after some driver updates). It's refreshing to see a game not try to do too much for once. Sleeping Dogs mixes the open world of GTA with the combat of the Batman Arkham games. Would love to see a sequel or prequel. Expand
  63. Oct 10, 2012
    9
    It may not be quite as sophisticated as GTA IV, but the unique setting, solid gun play, and exceptional melee combat make this a worthwhile experience for anyone who enjoys modern day sandbox games.
  64. May 27, 2013
    9
    A good open world game, probably the best I've played since the Sabateur. The story was good, though it took me about 1/2 way through the game to really start getting into it.

    As others have said, the melee combat is great, though it gets a bit repetitive by the end of the game. It's quite gory, which was fun at the beginning, and then started to get a bit gratuitous towards the end.


    I didn't particularly think the game was too short. There is some additional DLC, but I have not gotten any of it, and don't particularly plan on getting any of it.

    I have a fairly high end machine, and was unable to play this with all the graphics options maxed out.
    Expand
  65. May 23, 2013
    9
    Great story, outstanding atmosphere (living city, realistic weather), great graphics, easy-to-learn combat system, and "OK" driving mechanics. The open world of Sleeping Dogs is easily worth 50-60 hours of fun, if not more. Having waited until April 2013 to purchase the game, not only are all (or at least, MOST) of the bugs worked out, but the DLC packs are out, some of which are even free! Honestly there is far too much "Bling" DLC and too little content DLC. Overall a very enjoyable release from Square Enix, hopefully they stick with this franchise but make it meatier in the future, instead of relying on so much fluff dlc packs. Expand
  66. Xon
    Mar 17, 2013
    9
    THE SLEEPING DOGS HAVE AWAKEN!
    I love open-word sandbox games. This game is a great addition to the genre.

    Pros
    -Detailed, immersive city
    -Engrossing characters
    -Satisfying combat -Very good story
    -Voice acting is mostly top-notch

    Cons
    -Cityscape somewhat repetitive
    -Some grinding required (by-passable through DLC)
    -Initially character is is rather weak.

    All in all a great romp!
  67. Oct 19, 2012
    10
    Very nice game. Good feel and cool design. Love the environment and side quests. Ton of options and gotta give it to the free running. Only reason holding me back from giving it a perfect 10 is because of some control flaws that I have experienced, minor glitches, and short story line ( WANTED MORE imo). Overall Solid game! Good thing it went to SQ ENIX instead of True Crime. Hell, Imma give it a ten Expand
  68. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    Fantastic game! Downloaded the free hi-res texture pack and wow the game looks amazing. My only complaint is the movement during fights and clutch moments is really clunky sometimes and can cause some frustration due to you being penalized for hitting things and causing unwanted damage. Beyond that the story line is pretty decent and overall game play is in the ball park of Saints Row and GTA. This is definitely a title worth checking out! Expand
  69. Sep 5, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It isn't too often a game has me wan't to play from start to finish in one sitting. This game was a huge surprise considering it's fast-paced release. The overall atmosphere, Triad 80's flick-style fighting, mixed with a "The Departed" twist has me loving EVERY single thing about this game. Yes, a few bugs need to be ironed out, but Square really made a masterpiece. Expand
  70. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    Bear in mind I go this for £4.99 in the Steam sale community choice: 4hrs in and thus far (assuming it lasts as long as it suggests) I'd have happily paid £40 for this. Take Stranglehold and add a dynamic fight (much like the Batman Arkham series) and environment use system (rather then that games linear one), add an open world, throw in some GTA elements, character and car visual customisation and level-up system (and a lot more, only 4hrs in) and you have Sleeping Dogs, (Oh, and this vision of Hong Kong is immersive and alive as well as gorgeous), absolutely ninja! Expand
  71. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    This is a great game, all in all amazing, first lets start with the graphics. This game has nice visuals, but the best part is how it handles hong kong at night, its a vibrant and neon city, and it looks amazing when your driving through the city at lightning speeds. The combat is also nice, and its focused on melee, which is a nice change. You use counters and enviroment kills to take out your opponents, and the enviorment kills are especially brutal. You can throw a enemy into a giant oven and watch him burn, toss him into a phone booth and beat him with the phone until his face is all bloody, stick his head into a rooftop AC fan for a bloody explosion, or anything else. The story was also suprisingly good. Your boss and his wife are gunned down at their wedding, and you actually feel sad. Expand
  72. Aug 27, 2012
    9
    The game's story is excellent. Everything about the game is good. The only thing lacking in Sleeping Dogs compared to GTA or Saints Row, is there isn't really much car customization, which I always liked. One of the reasons I'm not giving it a 10 is that when aiming with a gun, or with your phone camera, I found it hard to actually aim and shoot/take the picture. It wouldn't be smooth movement, very jumpy and it would take a while to get a picture. Through the game I was able to get used to it, if you learn to know where your gun/camera WILL be aiming then you can just do that. Overall, an excellent game, I enjoyed this more than Saints Row and GTA, just wished it had more customization. Expand
  73. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    i am so happy i got this game finally, first i was sceptic but it turned out that i like it more than any gta this game just flows so good the combat and driving is just fun. The Setting is different and i liked it a lot. story was pretty good but not perfect. soundtrack is amazing. Get this game guys
  74. Sep 7, 2012
    9
    Compelling story and good open world action with a very nice and unique setting. Above average graphics too. No control problems and game breaking bugs whatsoever. Definitely worth your money.
  75. Sep 10, 2012
    9
    This is an excellent example of how great this genre of gaming truly is; Having only two other 'quality' titles which this can be compared against, does restrict (and sort-of bias) my review, but I will try my best.

    Many have complained of the sluggish camera and controls; I agree with these comments, to some extent and this is the only mark I have knocked off a perfect 10. The camera
    seems as though it is just a little too slow and 'sluggish' for a pc game of this genre; you want to be taking in your environment as you speed down the highway or slice through the waters of the surrounding seas... and, sadly, with the current means of camera-control, you cannot thoroughly enjoy these things. The controls, however, are almost impeccable - combat is extremely responsive and diverse, even without the use of melee weapons or firearms, and I believe the combat is one of the best I've seen in this genre.

    The storyline is so good; no, really....it is so so sooooo much better than both GTA IV and Saints Row 3, albeit, a little short. You feel attached to many of the main characters; feeling what Wei feels. You hate who he hates, you care for his friends, you feel almost happy when you see an enemy get what they deserve. The only downside is that the story ends, leaving me wanting more!

    The side missions are pretty diverse, allowing for racing, kidnapping, killing, stealing, and the occasional hacking. These give great rewards and really help to extend the play-time of the game. Overall, I highly recommend this game and to anyone "on the fence" as to whether this game is worth picking up (lack of advertising and hype really made this game fly under the radar), I say; buy it! It's incredible!

    -Pretteh
    Expand
  76. Oct 3, 2012
    9
    Sleeping Dogs is a great game with lots of action. The game has a great story, combat high level kung fu, giant chases, fights with a lot of shots, karaoke, huge and beautiful city, very good graphics and a lot of cool stuff . But the game also has its drawbacks, not all people look good and they look like dolls and control is not good in the beginning. Eventually the game is great and is recommended for all those who love the GTA series and open world games Expand
  77. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Sleeping dogs takes a tried and tested formula to the next level. The gameplay is slick and polished, combining arcade style driving with addictive KungFu combos and explosive action gunfight sequences (which are not EVERYWHERE, as guns pop up only occasionally, and with robust melee game play, you will never miss them).

    Square Enix has done an outstanding job on the scripting, voice
    acting and story. This game will grab your attention with its polished gameplay, and keep you riveted to your seat with its story. The voice acting is sublime, with genuine Cantonese where appropriate - not once will you wince at cliche voice overs. The player character Wei Shen is not a paper cutout protagonist, and you will feel the emotional pressure of being an narc in the Triad. The game does this not with obvious game play elements such as dialogue choices, but with subtle and excellent story telling, and conversation cues, and literary foreshadowing. The gentle push and pull between avenging your past, doing your duty, being the general good-guy, and your new found loyalty to your likable Triad family is present the whole way - the story constantly upping the ante.

    The flavor of Hong Kong is sloshed all over the game world, everything from the pedestrians casual jabs at mainland Chinese, to the blinking traffic light sounds. The world is incredibly realistic, and very diverse. Square Enix has done a terrific job of capturing Hong Kong's urban landscape in digital form. Everything from roadside basketball courts, to city centre green spaces, the game looks and feels like you are actually wandering around as a tourist in one of the most interesting cities in the world.

    All of this serves to keep you hooked until the games intense and satisfying conclusion, and you will immediately ask yourself 'when is the first DLC coming out?!'
    Expand
  78. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    sleeping dogs is amazing.its batter from gta iv from my opinion.hong kong is actully a great place to play in,there are a lot of side missions the story is very good and i am very impressed.i was afraid i whouldnt play it a lot becuase there is just single player.but i was wrong.also the gameplay is awsome(almost like the gameplay in arkham series)so what are you waiting for.maybe i bought it on 50 bucks but now its only 12 dollars on steam and if you are seeing this in the day i am posting it so you batter to hurry becuase the sale is going to over in 7 pm. Expand
  79. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    Born from a sullied and worthless lineage: the completely forgettable True Crime series, Sleeping dogs is yet another Sandbox GTA clone. But with clever writing, a memorable locale of Hong Kong, vibrant and terrifying characters and a soundtrack that may be the best in the GTA style games since the very first 3d GTA... Sleeping Dogs is greater than the sum of all it's parts.

    Be wary of
    the DLC, but most of the mission packs are worth it, especially the brief but awesome 'Zodiac Island'.

    While it is a little buggy, lacks the depth of some of the other sandbox games (when it's over, it's over), I still give it my Highest Possible Recommendation.
    Expand
  80. Nov 6, 2012
    9
    sleeping dogs is said to clone of gta.........part of it yes but it had something that lacks in gta for me...fighting is a top notch resembles batman series but good with martial arts and brutal finishers...gun fights are pretty amazing for me with cinematic sequences....on a whole this is a pretty good sand box game that you might wanna try
  81. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    I find this to be one of my favorite games in quite some time. Theres something about it that keeps me coming back for more, whether its the vibrant living city, the engaging story, the fun side missions, graphics, everything just keeps me coming back. Would have to be one of the greatest open world games ive played in a very long time, the only problem i have with the game is a few bugs here and there, but everything else is just about spot on. Expand
  82. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    This game truly lets you experience Hong Kong. The voice acting is excellent, and the environments breathtakingly beautiful to the detail. The missions are pretty fun with not bad variety, and again I have to bring up how this is like virtual tourism. The combat is more centered on melee, martial arts movements are slick and fun to do, and the parkour style actions are nice to watch. On PC sometimes the camera annoys me, but the merits of the game makes me want to give it 10 despite that! Expand
  83. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    The model of the open world games.There are some points:the skill trees(ok maybe not tress),suitable fighting system and much more.If it has an awesome worldview i think it's status can be viewed with TES series.
  84. Sep 15, 2013
    9
    Forget GTA: Sleeping Dogs has better graphics, better controls, better story and awesome fighting mechanisms. Just got glued for 50 hours, playing nothing else. I'm now considering travelling to Hong Kong to discover this crazy but amazing city!
  85. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    Great sandbox police TPS. Great climate of Hong Kong, combat system, characters & story, make this game a really great. Complete all parts of side quests and storyline enough for many hours of fun.
  86. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    Sleeping Dogs is a 2012 open world action-adventure video game developed by United Front Games in conjunction with Square Enix London Studios and published by Square Enix. I usually don’t buy AAA title the year they are released because the price is usually too high. But when Steam accidentally offered Sleeping Dogs at a 91% discount during their Christmas sale, I decided to go for it.

    The game takes place in a fictional modern day Hong Kong with players assuming control of Wei Shen, an officer of the San Francisco Police Department, who had been seconded to the Hong Kong Police Force. Wei has been assigned by the Organized Crime and Triad Bureau to go undercover and infiltrate the Triad society called Sun On Yee and take them down. There are two subplots contained within the main storyline: the first is Wei’s personal struggle between completing his mission as a police officer, and having to commit crimes to prove his worth to the triad. The other subplot consists of completing missions set out by a triad lieutenant, such as killing triad members who are loyal to competing lieutenants. The island is divided into four fictional districts which are named after real areas.

    Hong Kong is a fantastic backdrop for this game. It’s huge, but not too huge and you’ll soon start to recognize parts of the city and find your way around without using the GPS too much. The GPS works brilliantly, by the way. The city looks beautiful in the sunset, and if you’ve never been to Hong Kong yourself, I recommend that you drive to Victoria Peak in the game and have a look at the city in all its glory. The developers have made sure to build a digital version of Hong Kong that resembles the real thing. I’ve been there twice in real life, and recognize the Soho area and the escalators from Central. There is attention to detail everywhere; Soho is flooded with Gweilo; foreign devils.

    While similar titles, like Grand Theft Auto and Saint’s Row, are focused on gun combat, Sleeping Dogs is mostly about personal melee and boot-in-face combat. You do get access to firearms now and then, but only to a single weapon at the time and you’ll usually not use the gun outside of a mission. When levelling up, you’ll get access to new marshal arts actions that can be used to take out your enemies in all kinds of imaginative ways. Trying to perform these new actions with the keyboard, however, feels really awkward. You should definitely play this game with a Xbox 360 controller or some other game pad. With a game pad, controlling Wei, both in combat and in a vehicle, feels so much smoother than with the keyboard. I’m guessing the analogue sticks help a lot.

    There are very few things wrong with Sleeping Dogs. There are the occasional bug, though, like the heads of people sticking out of cars roofs and the camera some times have a hard time following Wei. Every now and then he disappears off screen completely, which can be a tad annoying in the middle of combat. At one point I also managed to crash Wei’s so that he was thrown out of the vehicle and got stuck inside a large cage there was no way he could get out of. The only solution was to cancel the current mission and start again.

    But all in all, Sleeping Dogs is a great open world game. It plays great, it looks great (even on my three year old system on medium settings) and it sounds great (there’s a wide range of radio stations and some of the cars sound and handle absolutely beautifully). With the release of GTA V this year, it’s quite possible that Sleeping Dogs will be quickly forgotten, but that’s a faith it doesn’t deserve. It’s one of the best games of its genre.
    Expand
  87. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    Some little bugs, but besides that a pretty good game. Feels more realistic than GTA4. The driving is kind of bad imo but combat is really fun. Story wise I'd say its way better than GTA. All in all I got this game for like 4 bucks on steam and absolutely worth it. Great game.
  88. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    wow what a great new refreshing experience this game offers the amazing story fun and great gameplay and outstanding soundtrack this game is just masterpiece
  89. Oct 26, 2013
    10
    this game is basically what the new gta games will NEVER archive ON PC, a open world/city game wich is OPTIMIZED through and through AND looks better(60 fps on mid-high end system) while the crappy looking gta4 still runs horribly. I dont even want a gta 5 on pc because they gonna eff it up again like they did with gta4, id rather wait for triad wars.. And the game itself is ingenius, the fights and racing gets me pumped up every time, the cutscenes and story is great! Go buy! Expand
  90. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    One of the best sandbox games I have ever played, GTA is nothing compared to this. This game actually has a good story, good action, good vehicle play and loads of content! Highly recommended! 9/10!
  91. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    The game-play is great. The environment is beautiful. Wei is a BOSS. Has a mixture of lots game types; Hand to Hand combat, gunfights, racing, gambling, hacking etc. But unfortunately a very sad face for the dodgy console port, it is basically impossible to play with keyboard and mouse.
  92. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    Great game!
    Streets and voices in it are well designed.
    Most of the action/fight part is great in control,while most of the QTE reaction timings are very limited and must be remembered inflexibly to avoid attack/damage in routined arrangement by repeatedly pushing keys.
    Very good work for people to see the dark side of Chinese/Hongkong society in a exaggerated way.
    Biggest
    falure:vehicle maneuver.Seems that the driving part was not tested sufficiently.When we want to just shift slightly for a better forward direction and are holding the backward button,the camera changes into a strange and useless side view,with the most important sraight forward or backward view blocked.
    Too much collectables.
    最大的缺点,车辆操控,即便不动鼠标,视角总是自动换成一个无用的方向,而最重要的正前和正后方却不能看到。
    补充:triad一词在西方世界的现代英语中仅仅指代主要由来自广东及其周边地区的华人组成的黑帮,至于其原意“三合”已经属于历史词汇了,所以游戏里的triad简单的翻译成黑帮就行了,而不是所谓“三合会”。
    Expand
  93. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    Świetna gra. Czuć klimat Hong Kongu, gra wciągnęła mnie jak cholera i chyba przez bardzo długi czas nie będę grał w nic innego niż tylko w tą produkcje. Świetna jakość jak i cena. Polecam i życzę miłej gry przy tej wspaniałej produkcji.
  94. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    I put off buying this game for a long time because a few reviews mentioned a dodgy physics engine and a buggy release. I could not believe the consistent quality throughout the game. The engine is smooth and physics modelling seemed fine. The story is far more believable than the "trying hard to be wacky and outrageous" GTA plots and the voice acting consistently excellent. There are lots of side missions and a couple of stories run alongside the main thread.

    Combat is mainly hand to hand, but there are many times that guns are used.

    I was impressed by every aspect of the game and recommend it unreservedly.
    Expand
  95. May 22, 2013
    10
    Sleeping Dogs is easily one of the best open world gams I've ever played. The game feels like the Batman Arkham Games, Wheelman and Max Payne morphed into one. The city is detailed and feels alive. The customization is pretty good, no body features. There are lots of side missions and cars. Most of all, this game feels like it came right out of a hollywood blockbuster. Slow motion shooting, jumping from car to car, fast paced and brutal fighting etc. The story isn't the best but certainly is entertaining. There is lots of replay value in the game. I have 34 hours in the game and I am nowhere near bored. Definitely buy this game or at least try the demo. Expand
  96. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    After years of development, the name change and the publisher, and even the final closure of the project, the very birth of Sleeping Dogs is surprising. No one had hitherto been able to mix the open world of GTA, bright parkour Assassin's Creed, the combat system the new "Batman" and subtle Asian feel Yakuza. In United Front Games, despite the ticky-tacky shooting and individual problems and the camera control is still out. Expand
  97. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    The graphic of the game is incredible and brings out a nice gameplay of a sandbox game. The story itself took my attention for hours. The story is very traditional and good. United front games did a great job of creating a true potential games for such genre. The story is well written and analyse everything about it interesting. A beautiful living city based on Hong Kong. The soundtrack's of the game is also unique and very original. Expand
  98. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    Sleeping Dogs for 2013 is an old game that i shouldn't be playing, but i caught it on steam summer sales and i couldn't resist to buy it. The First moment i play it was amazingly surprising, the graphics are very good for a game like this one that challenges Grand Theft Auto (Which I Don't Think It's Superior) The Story is really terrific, i thought this would be a cheap Grand Theft Auto IV Game that has nothing special in it but punching people in the street and stealing cars, NO! this game is MUCH MUCH better then that, this is a game that's mind blowing on my opinion, The Story is better then any GTA games, and it really makes me into the game, The way that the story moves is FANTASTIC and the way things change in the end with the police against you is pretty good, BUT, as always, a game can't be all good things, there are negative statements in this game, the most perturbing one is how repetitive the missions are, second of all the game is REALLY but really really EASY. Probably the easiest game i ever played which is really bad. The Third and last bad thing for me is the glitches and the bugs... i got to restart the game once, because i got stuck in a tree and i couldn't get out... I had to begin 3 missions behind. Anyhow im not done with the good things on this game, THE OPEN WORLD IS AMAZINGLY AWESOME, The Number of how many things you can do in the open world is HUGE, It's really hard to get everything in the game and explore all the world in my opinion, The Game has NOTHING stupid and not realistic in it, The Backstory is Amazing, the Mini Games on this game are the Mind Blowing and There is no game on earth of this type that is that good and realistic as this one, Grand Theft Auto was never that realistic the gameplay was NEVER that good, Saints row was always worse because of the huge number of non realistic things in saints row, and now the saints row IV RUINED everything... Anyways this game is awesome i also loved the gameplay and i recommend buying it! Expand
  99. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As we know there are two types of games in the world. Ones that you stop playing because they are complete and then there are the ones that we should have stopped playing 4 hours ago because you have work in two hours. Sleeping dogs falls into the later category.

    The game has issues for sure, but I wouldn't go so far as to call it a "gta clone" though. There are a lot of similarities like if you crash into something you come flying out of the windshield. What they shouldn't have copied are the crappy police.

    Lets look at the mechanics behind the game.
    In game I had to re learn the typical control structure. Space Bar to run rather than shift, Backspace in place of escape. These are little things but they are so damn annoying. Even in the pause menu you can use escape so why not in-game?
    Driving can be a terrible idea, If you have a car I would suggest that over any vehicle. Motorbikes are....****. With a map that size at least make the driving appealing. Its cool you can press spacebar and w with a direction key to spin your car around but the driving, taking corners is very shonky.
    Combat feels rather lazy. So far I have only played 3.9 hours but I have found I can counter anything. The only time I have died is when I walked in front of a bus while kicking some dudes ass.

    The story
    I like the idea or concept, the story feels better than GTA IV's. Again I have only played 3.9 hours so I haven't gone to far into the story. But being a character that's obviously grown up with the people that are now running the city and the ways of how things are being done. Then mixing in that you are an under cover cop kinda leaves two option. You get found out or you betray the law. This is a small field to work with.

    What I like about Sleeping Dogs are the possibilities, the missions, how the first few hours aren't clunky tutorials and I like how I can alt tab and come back in without it getting choppy, there is not fps problems like there are with GTA IV.

    Best game of 2012?
    No, one of the good one but not the best

    My recommendation
    Get it on the steam summer sale, It's worth a play through
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 90
    Unlike the previous ‘True Crime’ games, where there was a strict depiction of the city maps, Sleeping Dogs does not portray Hong Kong, inch by inch. United Front Games has implemented GTA’s novelties in way that winks slyly at Rockstar. In essence, what the GTA series has accomplished, Sleeping Dogs has carried out better and more elegantly. [October 2012]
  2. Oct 11, 2012
    60
    A solid GTA clone that ticks all the boxes but forgets to add the magic ingredient of improvisation. [Oct 2012, p.77]
  3. 80
    City action in an Asian style casts a fresh wind to the sandbox game genre, with attractive worlds full of details, great battle mechanics and cool free-run sections. [Sept 2012]