Sleeping Dogs PC

Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1123 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sleeping Dogs is an open world cop drama set in the vibrant city of Hong Kong. Taking the role of undercover cop Wei Shen, players must take down one of the world's most lethal criminal organizations from the inside. Featuring imaginative combat systems, Sleeping Dogs empowers enablesSleeping Dogs is an open world cop drama set in the vibrant city of Hong Kong. Taking the role of undercover cop Wei Shen, players must take down one of the world's most lethal criminal organizations from the inside. Featuring imaginative combat systems, Sleeping Dogs empowers enables players to perform an array of martial arts moves, singlehandedly taking on numerous opponents. Players perform visceral kicks and combos, vicious counters and a cinematic set of environmental takedowns making use of real-world items from circular saws to phone booths, incinerators to refrigerator doors. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Aug 23, 2012
    95
    Sleeping Dogs provides players with an engrossing narrative set to the atmospheric and richly-detailed backdrop of Hong Kong. An extensive array of additional missions and activities ensure there are always opportunities for further adventure and action to discover while roaming the streets. Along with an impressive presentation for both the visuals and music, Sleeping Dogs is without doubt the sleeper hit of this year for open world action games.
  2. Aug 17, 2012
    90
    Square Enix and United Front Games pulled Sleeping Dogs from the brink of death, and what surprised me is just how good it turned out to be.
  3. 90
    Unlike the previous ‘True Crime’ games, where there was a strict depiction of the city maps, Sleeping Dogs does not portray Hong Kong, inch by inch. United Front Games has implemented GTA’s novelties in way that winks slyly at Rockstar. In essence, what the GTA series has accomplished, Sleeping Dogs has carried out better and more elegantly. [October 2012]
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    The finished game--which only made it to release thanks to a last-minute rescue from Square Enix--won't be remembered as one of the world's great open-world crime games. But it will be thought of as a good, solid one that did enough right to be mostly fun from start to finish. And I don't think there's anything wrong with that.
  5. 80
    City action in an Asian style casts a fresh wind to the sandbox game genre, with attractive worlds full of details, great battle mechanics and cool free-run sections. [Sept 2012]
  6. Aug 24, 2012
    80
    This game is a very pleasant surprise that's throwing down the gauntlet to GTA V with its Cantonese oral insult. The game's story along with plenty of gaming mechanics' innovation make Sleeping Dogs a truly remarkable and never-ending joyride with no intention to imitate the original at all costs. I'm so sorry Niko, you've been great, but at the end of the day Wei Shen takes it all.
  7. Sep 25, 2012
    60
    The title Sleeping Dogs is a reference to "let sleeping dogs lie". Well, the developers should have heeded this ancient wisdom and let True Crime: Hong Kong die.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 250
  1. Mar 28, 2015
    10
    GTA with style. This is how I would sum up Sleeping Dogs. I didn't care much for the story and characters in GTA, with all the stupidity andGTA with style. This is how I would sum up Sleeping Dogs. I didn't care much for the story and characters in GTA, with all the stupidity and macho **** Of course you have part of that in Sleeping Dogs too, it IS about gangsters after all. Still there is a quite a bit of honor infused in the story instead of primitivity. Also, both story and characters seem deeper as a result of it.
    Besides that, it also features better gameplay than GTA. Virtually all the minigames, the shoot outs AND the hand to hand combat feel great. Alright, the hand to hand combat isn't as good as in the Batman games and there is one minigame that is damn tedious and you have to do a lot (picking locks on MANY lockboxes lying around town) but other than that, it's all great. Graphics look a bit dated, yet it still requires a fairly powerful system to run smoothly maxed out, so it doesn't seem like they optimized it very well. And those minor gripes about gameplay and graphics are really everything that keeps me from giving this game a perfect score. Oh, it also has quite a bit to discover. Maybe not as much as GTA4 but if you are a completionist, my guess is that it'll take you 20-25 hours to get everything.
    [edit]I originally rated this "only" 9/10. But I played through it twice already and am still listening to the Soundtrack on a regular basis, wondering about when a sequel will finally be released. And when I think back to the last couple of years and what great games I've played, aside from various indie games, only "Sleeping Dogs" comes to mind. It's a shame that the leaderboards are so screwed up, otherwise I'd probably compete with others every weekend but it doesn't change the fact that this strong urge of still wanting to play it means that it is essentially a perfect game.[/edit]
    Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Having not run into any of the bugs or issues with controls that most users are citing, I'm giving Sleeping Dogs a 10 simply because itHaving not run into any of the bugs or issues with controls that most users are citing, I'm giving Sleeping Dogs a 10 simply because it doesn't suffer from sequelitis. United Front Games did an amazing job of creating a true spiritual successor to the True Crime series that Luxoflux created so masterfully. For once, developers are not selling out to appeal to the Call of Duty audience. The on-rails drive by missions felt so familiar to their TC:NYC counterparts. While the police gameplay is noticeably different due to the nature of you being undercover, the gunplay feels incredibly similar with bullet time, dual wielding, and the purposeful lack of emphasis on shooting. You don't have some absurd amount of ammunition, and United Front did an excellent job of keeping True Crime true to its roots. The driving feels incredibly similar, especially with ramming replacing manual PIT maneuvers. The hand to hand combat feels just as in-depth as in previous games, with training locations and new moves to learn. I am just so amazed with how they kept all the things that made True Crime unique. You can still store weapons in car trunks, purchase and store vehicles in the garage, customize your player character, and so on. I am beyond ecstatic that United Front made sure Sleeping Dogs would always be remember as the third True Crime game. This consistency is a massive step forward for the industry: Call of Duty cannot ruin every game with a gun in it anymore. We can finally expect more unique, good games again. Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    I'm enjoying Sleeping dogs immensely. The story in most part stays on a high note and the gameplay feels solid.

    I haven't run into any
    I'm enjoying Sleeping dogs immensely. The story in most part stays on a high note and the gameplay feels solid.

    I haven't run into any issues with the controls, however on some occasions the camera wasn't following correctly.

    The engine is extremely well done on PC, this is where I stood surprised. They clearly had people on the dev team who were familiar with the PC plaform. After a few days of playing non stop I never ran into any bugs. Even with HD3D, the experience was seamless. ( although the newbs at gamespot seem to have experienced two crashes under 24hrs of play)

    Overall great times to be had in Sleeping Dogs and I would most definitely recommend it your feeling like some GTA/Kung-fu fighting.
    Expand
  4. May 29, 2014
    8
    My big black rappity hippity hop friend got stuck in a door so i had to kung Fu kick his ass out of the way and then beat the **** out of aMy big black rappity hippity hop friend got stuck in a door so i had to kung Fu kick his ass out of the way and then beat the **** out of a bunch of Asian hookers and celebrated by a round of Karaoke.

    8/10, i don't know how to drivez
    Expand
  5. Jul 25, 2015
    7
    qqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqq Expand
  6. Jun 29, 2014
    0
    I can't play this game thanks to the hkship.exe error. I think this is a fine open world game like GTA, so I would love to play it, but theI can't play this game thanks to the hkship.exe error. I think this is a fine open world game like GTA, so I would love to play it, but the people at Square Enix should address this situation. Expand

See all 250 User Reviews