User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 201 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 60 out of 201

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 13, 2013
    3
    Undoubtedly the scariest part of this game is the optimisation but if you're into bland atmosphere and shaky AI jump-scares then boy, you're in for a treat. It's a shame because the game starts out well, then descends into the same tedium of the original. To it's credit, this is better than the original by a reasonable margin if only for the slightly improved graphics.

    But you can only
    polish an awful game so much, and the underlying mechanics are still rubbish. Expand
  2. Mar 30, 2013
    1
    As usual, Mr. Big 'n' Motionless goes to the top of charts for one reason, and one reason alone, because of his name. He makes an interesting fictional myth to tell stories to children and even art work., but as a game, he doesn't deliver. While I do like the bigger areas with more exploration and the back story, it is just ruined by the same boring jump scares that have been done since the mid 70's, along with the usual "let's suddenly turn the volume up 600% for reason." Then the, placing things that were not there before thing. The house would be fantastic if set up in another type of game. The time change from day to night is liked but through all the flaws, the stupidity of page locations let alone the need to do it is pointless and holes in the story, it's not worth it. Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    0
    Stopped playing this game about 10 minutes in, because it was impossible to get playable frame rates out of it on a laptop that can run Far Cry 3 and Witcher 2 on medium smoothly. It's so messed up that I began to wonder if the powerpoint presentation performance is an intended part of the horror element. If it is, it's incredibly stupid. If it isn't, then oh my god. When you drop everything to low, it looks worse than Pandora Directive did 15 years ago, and it's still unplayable. GG. Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2013
    3
    The game was scary through the first 2 minutes, after that it got pretty lame. The jumpscares didn't make me jump anymore, all slenderman does is teleporting, and he isn't really scary at all. I ended up letting him take me after finding 6 notes because it got so boring. The game is way too intense on the jumpscares, so you end up not jumping from them at all.
  5. Apr 7, 2013
    0
    This game is boring, easy and ugly. What is the most important that this game isn't scary at all. It's just a BAD GAME. Everyone knows what is going to happen next so how can slender be scary. If you are looking for nice gameplay with some really scary elements i suggest waiting for new amnesia. Horror for kids this is how it looks for me.
  6. Mar 29, 2013
    0
    Slender The Arrival is too short for the price of the experience. Still the same concept of Slenderman from the game Slender. He needs to appear more "living" and not some stationary, statue.

    I prefer Faceless take on Slenderman.
  7. Apr 14, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's Slender: The Eight Pages with better visuals, graphics, and a different setting. You are to collect 8 pages at first then somehow activate 6 generators while being chased by both Slenderman and a hooded ghost which apparently seems off Slenderman's 'lore'. It left me questioning whether this game meant to leave mysteries untold or the developers are just plain lazy and decided to make a poorly explained story. Scares in this game were at first terrifying but then it just got annoying as the hooded ghost will just keep stalking you. Overall, this is simply another mediocre jumpscare galore from cheap scary 'ghosts'. *I am not against Indie games* Expand
  8. Jul 29, 2013
    4
    Good art, somewhat scary atmosphere, but gets boring due to very primitive gameplay. First, I thought the guy in the suit will attack me with something and walked straight at him boom, dead. Ok, then I thought that maybe I should not look at him, and on a second attempt, when 8 notes out of 10 were gathered, i wanted to collect the 9th, but the guy was there, and walked with my back at him boom dead. Now I had to restart the level again and collect the 10 notes from the beginning while avoiding the guy completely (i presume). He seems to be just teleporting randomly. If you take the scary sounds and the art away, what remains is a pointless and utterly stupid game where you randomly and slowly walk around and collect pieces of paper while occasionally avoiding a randomly teleporting object. Expand
  9. Jun 6, 2013
    1
    Not that very amusing.. Nothing fancy and most certainly nothing popular, in fact its a surprise to see that its got so many great reviews but theres just one small problem i see. You only have one mission to do! thats going around in the dark and collecting peaces of paper and getting scarred and start getting paranoid. But thats all this game does mainly is make you get paranoid and thats the number one thing this game mainly takes over and nothing else. Its such a small simple little game that could be beat in some minutes or so. 1/10 Expand
  10. May 19, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. O.K., this game had some scary elements. Things would pop up on walls that weren't there, the music was well made, little common horror elements were used well. However, the game was just a misfit. In the first Slender the Slenderman was actually a jump out kind of horror that was O.K. for a free game. However in this addition he appears so often it becomes so routine it is like killing grunts to avoid him. He doesn't kill on sight all the time. There are two other enemies in the game, neither of which pose any threat or are scary at all. There is a tiny outline of a story in the game, but it is boring. and is too secretive. Also, the game tried some Amnesia-esque mechanics (click dragging doors, collecting notes to put in a journal, etc.) that really just didn't fit. Expand
  11. Apr 30, 2013
    3
    From a once great free-to-play indy horror game to a paid survival horror wanna-be. It's a shame to see good things go to waste, but somehow, they even managed to make Slender dull and unenjoyable.
  12. Apr 21, 2013
    2
    I bought "Slender: The Arrival" because I needed a good health and fitness game. Sadly this is disappointing. I don't think I've lost any weight since I've started playing this game. And for some reason, the fitness instructor only shows up for a second before disappearing every time. How am I supposed to learn good health habits from someone I can't even talk to. All and all, for a game with "Slender" in the title, it doesn't do its job. Expand
  13. Apr 18, 2013
    4
    While the game does seem to expand on the original 8 Pages, the repetitive nature of the "missions" soon becomes jarring. The 8 Pages mission is actually included in this game, a game that is supposed to be new and bring more depth to the Slender mythos. It's the first mission you are tasked with in fact. Each mission seems to be about going to an area and finding something and then you are done. The price point for the game is ludicrous for what it is, $10 for something that is essentially the same mission over and over and ends with an obvious "To Be Continued" feel. The most enjoyment you can derive from the game is finding someone who is new to the genre entirely and is easily scared, then making them play it. The game is less terrifying than the original because the music has a tendency to give away upcoming moments of terror, That being said the actual sound effects are spot on, from the labored breathing to the very grating sound of the generators on the mine level powering up. In all the game is just slightly below average for me due to the price point and the lack of innovation. Expand
  14. Apr 19, 2013
    1
    The game does a good job of creating a creepy atmosphere, but fails when it comes to game play. The first level seems to come down to luck, as either the pages spawn in easy to find locations, or they don't; the slender man decides to kill you or leaves you alone, and after eight tries I still cannot finish it. I don't know if the rest of them game gets better but the mere fact that I can only play for 20 minutes before quitting ruins the entire experience for me. I would not recommend this game to any one I know. Expand
  15. Dec 28, 2013
    1
    Relies on jump scares the whole way through. The scariest part of this game was the slenderman getting in your way and aggravating you because you half to alter your path. It's not scary and the gameplay is the same thing multiple times.
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Nov 18, 2013
    50
    Sadly, it devolves into a tedious, irritating scavenger hunt that fails to keep up the momentum and burdens the player with repetitious busy work that makes the short playtime seem merciful rather than miserly.
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    The overall experience may be familiar, but hasn’t grown tiresome yet to affect its scare-factor. Grab some headphones, turn off the lights, and try not to wake up anyone living in the same household with your screams of terror.
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    40
    Slender: The Arrival wants to be seen as a serious entry into the horror genre, but it fails to put the effort into the gameplay mechanics and artificial intelligence that would merit the honor.