User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 226 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 226

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 13, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'll start with I like.
    I like the concept. I was really engaged with the beginning part, of heading to the house to meet up with someone and finding out that something isn't quite right.
    The visuals are good enough to let you forget about them and focus on the experience.
    The sounds really add to the experience.

    Here is what I didn't like.
    The narrative is really disjointed. Why set up meeting someone in a house and then throw that away to have me look for pages? The pages (which seems to borrow heavily from the game of Hide) make little sense in the overall experience of the game. Why am I running around looking for them? I get that Slenderman gets more "aggressive" as you pick up more pages, but what is compelling me to pick them up in the first place?
    Opening doors is awkward and the scream at the end of the prologue is really cheesy.
    It is a nice looking experience but ultimately the game play is very simplistic (not in a good way). If this were an arcade game or something along those lines, I wouldn't mind it so much. However, it seems like there was some attempt at providing a narrative or overall context for the game and it lost me. In the end, it felt like I was just walking around to end the game...not like I had a goal like escape or discovery.

    Overall, not terrible but fell short of the potential it had.
    Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2013
    6
    First let me start with saying I completely loath the original "Slender," it was a sad excuse of a game that relied on cheap jump scares (and not even scary ones at that) of some terribly modelled 3D render of what looks to be a potato in a business suit. I've followed Slenderman stories for a few years now, and let me say when Slender came along, it completely ruined it. It made it notFirst let me start with saying I completely loath the original "Slender," it was a sad excuse of a game that relied on cheap jump scares (and not even scary ones at that) of some terribly modelled 3D render of what looks to be a potato in a business suit. I've followed Slenderman stories for a few years now, and let me say when Slender came along, it completely ruined it. It made it not scary, turned it into a crappy meme, and made it some preteen fad. Complaints out of the way, Slender: The Arrival is much more respectable. They make it actually scary, give it a good atmosphere, and some actual objectives and scenery. The original was dreadful, and I almost fell asleep playing it, not even kidding. But this one feels more like an actual game. Personally, I'm still not convinced it's worth $10.00 when compared to other titles of the same price. But if you want a few cheap jump scares, and a decent atmosphere (I recommend shutting the blinds and turning all lights off), then go for it. Have a blast. If you want a quality game, steer clear of any Slender related game for a few more years, until a company gets a real budget and a creative mind to put a twist in it and make it more exciting. Want a quality game? Look into Cryostasis, Dead Space, Penumbra, or Amnesia. Expand
  3. Apr 7, 2013
    6
    This is a cool game :D A negative thing about this is the price-length ratio of the game its quiet short, that much that even if you are quiet lucky you can beat in in an hour or two. The game contains few stages where the story-driven and survivor gameplay are divided into. Story chapters arent really last longing and there are not much of depth in the story, of corz its fun to read allThis is a cool game :D A negative thing about this is the price-length ratio of the game its quiet short, that much that even if you are quiet lucky you can beat in in an hour or two. The game contains few stages where the story-driven and survivor gameplay are divided into. Story chapters arent really last longing and there are not much of depth in the story, of corz its fun to read all the Scarpbook collections but still I was expecting a little bit more of a depth in it. The gameplay is divided into two levels unfortunately. one is the traditional level of collecting the 8 pages and another one takes place in a abandoned mine where you are tasked to tun of 6 generators while a creepy girl is running around the place and slenderman jumps in as well :D The 8 pages section is fun since the area is much varied and bigger but the Mine one is unfair, you dont know how to runaway from that creepy girl, you arent aware how much you will last after getting stabbed by her even, in this part the game have some serious lack of instruction and its even quiet unfair beside that its hard. I hope they improve selnderman more, after all they said they had chances to put more depth in the game, add a better story and so on. Good that this short game terrifies you like hell so you dont wanna miss it really if you missed the time you used to scream while playing 8 pages. Expand
  4. Apr 3, 2013
    5
    Slender The Arrival was a pleasant surprise once it was released. It may be short but once you lock yourself inside a nice dark room and play the game you'll understand why Slender is a feared creature.

    As I said before the game is short, really short but for a price of $10 it's what you would expect. It may be short but the work put into the game truly shines with different places like
    Slender The Arrival was a pleasant surprise once it was released. It may be short but once you lock yourself inside a nice dark room and play the game you'll understand why Slender is a feared creature.

    As I said before the game is short, really short but for a price of $10 it's what you would expect. It may be short but the work put into the game truly shines with different places like the mines, empty homes, the forest and so on. The game play is sort of the same tho, collecting pages in the second chapter or turning on generators in the forth but each level always has something different.

    The only level to stay the same is the forest where you would collect the 8 pages, after that you will go to different places and discover something more then just Slender man awaiting for you.

    For the price of $10, it's great to see horror coming back in the hands of indie developers and I personally hope to see more of slender man in future projects, maybe in something even bigger I hope.
    Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2013
    5
    This had me from start to finish like no other game has. I've played many scary and horrifying indie games and none of them will compare to this one. I wont say too much but when it starts to hit nightfall at the start, then tension grows rapidly. The environments, lighting, fog, everything that goes into making the atmosphere, captures the horror spot on. The slenderman looks better thenThis had me from start to finish like no other game has. I've played many scary and horrifying indie games and none of them will compare to this one. I wont say too much but when it starts to hit nightfall at the start, then tension grows rapidly. The environments, lighting, fog, everything that goes into making the atmosphere, captures the horror spot on. The slenderman looks better then ever, and the way he appears and disappear's will make you jump out of your seat and even sweat at times it gets that intense. If your looking for a game with a lot, and I mean a lot of jump scares and freaky atmosphere, check this one out for sure. Note, don't go into the game looking for a lengthy well detailed story, just go in on the edge of your seat and be prepared to have a ride like no other. Expand
  6. Dec 23, 2013
    7
    I picked this up while this metascore is quite low. Still I enjoyed it. Some people say it's short. I enjoyed this for a fair amount of hours. But I guess this game is more enjoyable with company of some friends. We hooked up our pc on the tv and played this with a controller. We had many laughters and scary moments. I agree this isn't an in depth story and the concept is a bit overrated.I picked this up while this metascore is quite low. Still I enjoyed it. Some people say it's short. I enjoyed this for a fair amount of hours. But I guess this game is more enjoyable with company of some friends. We hooked up our pc on the tv and played this with a controller. We had many laughters and scary moments. I agree this isn't an in depth story and the concept is a bit overrated. But still it desevers a slightly higher meta score imo. Expand
  7. Oct 31, 2013
    7
    its great and improved game but they overdeveloped it...The gameplay is repetitive, so is the campaign...Graphics is great, especially atmosphere and its settings but its repetitious and simple gameplay ruins the game...Overal its great game. 7/10
  8. May 21, 2013
    5
    A great expansion on the original game. I enjoyed it very much as the atmosphere sets up a very scary experience. But the one thing that will either make or break this game for you is if you can forgive the fact that 90% of the scares in this game are jump scares. I for one can. That is why i like this game. I like waiting for something to get me, and the idea of bieng hunted by somethingA great expansion on the original game. I enjoyed it very much as the atmosphere sets up a very scary experience. But the one thing that will either make or break this game for you is if you can forgive the fact that 90% of the scares in this game are jump scares. I for one can. That is why i like this game. I like waiting for something to get me, and the idea of bieng hunted by something that cant be killed is a great idea for a horror game. Its why Amnesia works so well. But although i do like it, its nothing exceptional. A great comparison is Surgeon Simulator 2013. This game was a mod that got enough of a fallowing that they decided to make a full release. Its slightly expanded on as it has a little bit more of a story and makes the game a little more personal and the graphics have been updated. I can see why people hate this game, but i for one enjoy it even if there are many better horror games. Expand
  9. Apr 16, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Much like the original Slender, Slender: The Arrival has a bone chilling atmosphere, a believable sense of loneliness, and the rare appearance of the Slender Man that keeps the player tense until it’s released in the most horrifying of ways. However, even though The Arrival hits all of those original points, it stretches them out too thin, and ends up falling flat.
    The first thing that you’ll notice about The Arrival is the new look. The game is much improved over its predecessor and the environments are much more detailed. The trees look more like trees, as opposed to the sticks with leaves that were found in the original title, and the Slender Man looks more terrifying and real then he previously did not that that’s a reason to stare of course; he’ll kill you if you do.
    Expand
  10. May 16, 2013
    5
    This game does have its scary moments. Definitely not you most graphically detailed game but its core general First person view leaves you with anticipation at every corner. Story line is basically straight forward. The sound quality is decent although can very loud and annoying at times. Controls can be a little shaky too. Over all a decent game. I would recommend this to someone who hasThis game does have its scary moments. Definitely not you most graphically detailed game but its core general First person view leaves you with anticipation at every corner. Story line is basically straight forward. The sound quality is decent although can very loud and annoying at times. Controls can be a little shaky too. Over all a decent game. I would recommend this to someone who has no clue of the history of Slender man nor experience to horror games. Expand
  11. Oct 22, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Slender: The Arrival is a very creepy survival horror game with beautiful graphics and soundtrack.
    although a very short game, it will be a favorite for fans of the survival horror genre.

    Lauren, A girl trying to visit her childhood friend, Kate walks into her home to see strange drawings and evidence of some kind of struggle. concerned, Lauren tries to locate her best friend in her locked room, only to find terrifying images scattered all over the walls and floor, suggesting that she is being stalked by someone, or something. she soon hears a scream come from the backyard and picks up a flashlight to go search for her friend.

    Slender: The Arrival is a MUST BUY game for Slender fans and horror fanatics alike.

    $10 dollars, rated T.
    Expand
  12. Oct 28, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Slender: The Arrival is the long-awaited re-imagining to the now world-famous Slender: The Eight Pages. In this remake, you star a Lauren, who, after going to see her friend Kate, crashes off the road and into a fallen tree. As the car is stuck, she decides to walk the rest of the way to get help. When she arrives to Kate's house, the whole house is a wreck, and Lauren is soon entangled in a complex mystery where she is being stalked by two mysterious entities (Slenderman of the title and The Chaser, a new entity that can be attacked with using your flashlight). The story is amazing, but it falls into a massive pitfall that snags many brilliant stories. The game needs for you to collect pieces for your scrapbook, some being totally useless, and others showing you the Slenderman's mysterious background story. If you enjoy this kind of game play, you're in for a treat, as the rest is repetitive, from page-collecting to turning on generators, the game stays to the original games roots of running round the place for several minutes, sometimes becoming lost. As well, the games new entity, The Chaser, appears only in one level, and on the same level, Slendy can insta-kill you just to scare the player. Thankfully, a steam release has saved the game from me giving it a two. The new version gives players more accessibility to the game, as well as The Chaser appearing in level one, with his creepy whispering appearing with the Slenderman's terrifying appearance, the steam version also extended the levels, so the game can actually last long enough to not count as an interactive movie. All in all, if you're going to buy this jump-fest, get the steam version as it majorly improves the whole game. Expand
  13. Dec 3, 2013
    7
    Pro of this game.
    -Nice graphic
    -Nice levels

    Cons of this game.
    -Slender seems less scarier than in Slender:The Eight Page
    -Storyline is not very good but not bad nor good.
  14. Dec 7, 2013
    6
    If you've played the free version of Slender, you will notice that this game does not add much to the slenderman experience. The scare factor in this game is a solid 8/10 in the early levels but it quickly degrades to being a frustrating experience in the later levels as you will find yourself dying more often than you should. Check out this game if you're:

    1. A big fan of the
    If you've played the free version of Slender, you will notice that this game does not add much to the slenderman experience. The scare factor in this game is a solid 8/10 in the early levels but it quickly degrades to being a frustrating experience in the later levels as you will find yourself dying more often than you should. Check out this game if you're:

    1. A big fan of the slenderman myth
    2. Have run out of horror games to play
    Expand
  15. Jan 5, 2014
    5
    Slender: The Arrival is not a good game. The 2D visuals are good, the sound and screen effects are top notch; However, the 3D visuals are bad, the story is confusing at best, and the game play and level design is repetitive. Most of the game didn't even involve Slender Man himself. This feels more like a work-in-progress than a complete game.

    I'll specially mention the insanely low
    Slender: The Arrival is not a good game. The 2D visuals are good, the sound and screen effects are top notch; However, the 3D visuals are bad, the story is confusing at best, and the game play and level design is repetitive. Most of the game didn't even involve Slender Man himself. This feels more like a work-in-progress than a complete game.

    I'll specially mention the insanely low frame rates on my $1400 computer. Even on the lowest settings, I was probably barely in the 20-30 range at best. Some optimization is sorely needed.

    Play Outlast or Amnesia instead.
    Expand
  16. Jan 4, 2015
    5
    This game is still creepy, but doesn't work in the same creepy way "the 8 pages" did. It has the main getting slowly chased mechanic as the first game and comes with new graphics (which look alright), an actual story (kind of) and more locations to explore. The story eas written by the guys who dis marblehornets (which is ace by the way) but is given mainly in the form of the notes andThis game is still creepy, but doesn't work in the same creepy way "the 8 pages" did. It has the main getting slowly chased mechanic as the first game and comes with new graphics (which look alright), an actual story (kind of) and more locations to explore. The story eas written by the guys who dis marblehornets (which is ace by the way) but is given mainly in the form of the notes and ends up being a pretty dull story. You go to find out what happened to a girl in this house (whom i think you are related to) and find out she was being stalked by Slender. You go to find her. Ending is very unsatisfying. Game is still pretty fun but i still find the original has most reply value. Still go grav this game and give it a whirl as it is cheap. Expand
  17. May 18, 2015
    5
    I'ts ok I guess. It scared the hell out of me :)............................................................................................................................................................................................................
  18. Jul 23, 2014
    5
    I blamed the dog for the mess made, even though I do not own a dog...

    Okay, Slender... It's just one of them games where you keep telling yourself "Don't turn around" but what do you go and do? You turn around very slowly then... Bam! There's a turd in my pants and Slender Man is also standing behind you! You will always be on edge throughout the majority of the game, like the
    I blamed the dog for the mess made, even though I do not own a dog...

    Okay, Slender... It's just one of them games where you keep telling yourself "Don't turn around" but what do you go and do? You turn around very slowly then... Bam! There's a turd in my pants and Slender Man is also standing behind you!

    You will always be on edge throughout the majority of the game, like the feeling of someone or something is constantly watching you. If you like a good jump scare then this is a decent game for you to do so!

    The graphics are beautifully well done, very well updated from the previous slender man.

    Just a quick brief review, the game isn't nothing special, just something to play when you're bored or to pass the time or if you purposely want to make yourself jump. (Some people are into that sort of stuff).

    5/10
    Expand
  19. Nov 28, 2014
    7
    This game is really short but scary as hell. I wanted to give 6 points but because of the free DLC released recently I increased my score with 1. The Slendy's AI is great but the other enemies are not that smart and you can't do stealth in this game because enemy's AI is bad.
  20. Apr 21, 2013
    0
    I bought "Slender: The Arrival" because I needed a good health and fitness game. Sadly this is disappointing. I don't think I've lost any weight since I've started playing this game. And for some reason, the fitness instructor only shows up for a second before disappearing every time. How am I supposed to learn good health habits from someone I can't even talk to. All and all, for a gameI bought "Slender: The Arrival" because I needed a good health and fitness game. Sadly this is disappointing. I don't think I've lost any weight since I've started playing this game. And for some reason, the fitness instructor only shows up for a second before disappearing every time. How am I supposed to learn good health habits from someone I can't even talk to. All and all, for a game with "Slender" in the title, it doesn't do its job. Collapse
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Nov 18, 2013
    50
    Sadly, it devolves into a tedious, irritating scavenger hunt that fails to keep up the momentum and burdens the player with repetitious busy work that makes the short playtime seem merciful rather than miserly.
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    The overall experience may be familiar, but hasn’t grown tiresome yet to affect its scare-factor. Grab some headphones, turn off the lights, and try not to wake up anyone living in the same household with your screams of terror.
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    40
    Slender: The Arrival wants to be seen as a serious entry into the horror genre, but it fails to put the effort into the gameplay mechanics and artificial intelligence that would merit the honor.