User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 211 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 64 out of 211

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 4, 2013
    8
    Slender: the Arrival is the scariest game ever made. It's not really a full game. 5 small levels is too short. For $10 you are paying to get the sh*t scared out of you. How often can you say that about a video game? The answer is never, with an exception of Shadow Man for n64.

    Blue Isle Studios is a company to watch out for. Seen a similar game called Daylight, might be good, but it has
    Slender: the Arrival is the scariest game ever made. It's not really a full game. 5 small levels is too short. For $10 you are paying to get the sh*t scared out of you. How often can you say that about a video game? The answer is never, with an exception of Shadow Man for n64.

    Blue Isle Studios is a company to watch out for. Seen a similar game called Daylight, might be good, but it has command prompts that tell you how to fight off the monsters. I think it will take years to replicate what this game offers. It might take another 15 years for another game to be scary. People will tell you that Amnesia is scary, but the truth is, those people probably think Saw movies are supposed to be frighting.

    Slender shows no mercy with it's hard difficulty. You will get completely randomized task locations every time you replay a level. Even non horror games need to mimic this idea. I like the part where you are trapped in a house and have to close certain windows and open doors before Slender came. It was very realistic. Reminded me of a being in a Haunted house, trying to hide from a demon or ghost.

    This game will be considered original for awhile until companies copy it. Make sure you know where the roots came from.
    Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2013
    8
    I didn't thnk it would be possible for Slender to get "more scarey" but somehow they did it. The idea that you have a story behind everything, and exploring an abandoned house in the daytime turning into nighttime just creeps me out so much!. Definitely play this if your looking for a scare!
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    0
    Stopped playing this game about 10 minutes in, because it was impossible to get playable frame rates out of it on a laptop that can run Far Cry 3 and Witcher 2 on medium smoothly. It's so messed up that I began to wonder if the powerpoint presentation performance is an intended part of the horror element. If it is, it's incredibly stupid. If it isn't, then oh my god. When you dropStopped playing this game about 10 minutes in, because it was impossible to get playable frame rates out of it on a laptop that can run Far Cry 3 and Witcher 2 on medium smoothly. It's so messed up that I began to wonder if the powerpoint presentation performance is an intended part of the horror element. If it is, it's incredibly stupid. If it isn't, then oh my god. When you drop everything to low, it looks worse than Pandora Directive did 15 years ago, and it's still unplayable. GG. Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2013
    6
    First let me start with saying I completely loath the original "Slender," it was a sad excuse of a game that relied on cheap jump scares (and not even scary ones at that) of some terribly modelled 3D render of what looks to be a potato in a business suit. I've followed Slenderman stories for a few years now, and let me say when Slender came along, it completely ruined it. It made it notFirst let me start with saying I completely loath the original "Slender," it was a sad excuse of a game that relied on cheap jump scares (and not even scary ones at that) of some terribly modelled 3D render of what looks to be a potato in a business suit. I've followed Slenderman stories for a few years now, and let me say when Slender came along, it completely ruined it. It made it not scary, turned it into a crappy meme, and made it some preteen fad. Complaints out of the way, Slender: The Arrival is much more respectable. They make it actually scary, give it a good atmosphere, and some actual objectives and scenery. The original was dreadful, and I almost fell asleep playing it, not even kidding. But this one feels more like an actual game. Personally, I'm still not convinced it's worth $10.00 when compared to other titles of the same price. But if you want a few cheap jump scares, and a decent atmosphere (I recommend shutting the blinds and turning all lights off), then go for it. Have a blast. If you want a quality game, steer clear of any Slender related game for a few more years, until a company gets a real budget and a creative mind to put a twist in it and make it more exciting. Want a quality game? Look into Cryostasis, Dead Space, Penumbra, or Amnesia. Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    Just got through this. Totally amazing! Freaky environments that are totally unnerving and almost bad for your mental health. You start getting edgy and nervous just walking around. Gorgeous graphics and I loved the music. Overall, great atmosphere put together by a small indie team at Parsec and Blue Isle. A bit short but for ten bucks good value. You get a sense of the thought they putJust got through this. Totally amazing! Freaky environments that are totally unnerving and almost bad for your mental health. You start getting edgy and nervous just walking around. Gorgeous graphics and I loved the music. Overall, great atmosphere put together by a small indie team at Parsec and Blue Isle. A bit short but for ten bucks good value. You get a sense of the thought they put into this with the opening prologue eerie music and then you begin on a beautiful fall day in the woods. But the sun is setting and as the day comes to an end, the foreboding darkness envelops you. That was a really nice touch! If ever there is room for a sequel, this is it!! Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2013
    1
    As usual, Mr. Big 'n' Motionless goes to the top of charts for one reason, and one reason alone, because of his name. He makes an interesting fictional myth to tell stories to children and even art work., but as a game, he doesn't deliver. While I do like the bigger areas with more exploration and the back story, it is just ruined by the same boring jump scares that have been done sinceAs usual, Mr. Big 'n' Motionless goes to the top of charts for one reason, and one reason alone, because of his name. He makes an interesting fictional myth to tell stories to children and even art work., but as a game, he doesn't deliver. While I do like the bigger areas with more exploration and the back story, it is just ruined by the same boring jump scares that have been done since the mid 70's, along with the usual "let's suddenly turn the volume up 600% for reason." Then the, placing things that were not there before thing. The house would be fantastic if set up in another type of game. The time change from day to night is liked but through all the flaws, the stupidity of page locations let alone the need to do it is pointless and holes in the story, it's not worth it. Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    The original game made a revolution in the indie horror-game production and really got everyone who played it. About a year after Slender: The Arrival comes out and brings a lot new to the game play. It is really intense, horrifying, atmospheric and breath-taking from start to the end. A well represented and a lot more complete plot makes it more scary than ever. The game itself howeverThe original game made a revolution in the indie horror-game production and really got everyone who played it. About a year after Slender: The Arrival comes out and brings a lot new to the game play. It is really intense, horrifying, atmospheric and breath-taking from start to the end. A well represented and a lot more complete plot makes it more scary than ever. The game itself however is very short, but the ending is very well done. There are some controlling difficulties at some parts, but they might be fixed in the future updates (if any). Over-all the game really shows a good result of expansion and some game play modifications. Slender becomes a more bigger title, which might have a very anticipated future. Expand
  8. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    Este game honra tudo que o seu primeiro jogo trouxe medo do inesperado. traz ótimos momentos de sustos, coisa que muita empresa grande de games de 'terror' nao estão fazendo ultimamente
  9. Apr 7, 2013
    0
    This game is boring, easy and ugly. What is the most important that this game isn't scary at all. It's just a BAD GAME. Everyone knows what is going to happen next so how can slender be scary. If you are looking for nice gameplay with some really scary elements i suggest waiting for new amnesia. Horror for kids this is how it looks for me.
  10. Apr 14, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's Slender: The Eight Pages with better visuals, graphics, and a different setting. You are to collect 8 pages at first then somehow activate 6 generators while being chased by both Slenderman and a hooded ghost which apparently seems off Slenderman's 'lore'. It left me questioning whether this game meant to leave mysteries untold or the developers are just plain lazy and decided to make a poorly explained story. Scares in this game were at first terrifying but then it just got annoying as the hooded ghost will just keep stalking you. Overall, this is simply another mediocre jumpscare galore from cheap scary 'ghosts'. *I am not against Indie games* Expand
  11. Jul 29, 2013
    4
    Good art, somewhat scary atmosphere, but gets boring due to very primitive gameplay. First, I thought the guy in the suit will attack me with something and walked straight at him boom, dead. Ok, then I thought that maybe I should not look at him, and on a second attempt, when 8 notes out of 10 were gathered, i wanted to collect the 9th, but the guy was there, and walked with my back atGood art, somewhat scary atmosphere, but gets boring due to very primitive gameplay. First, I thought the guy in the suit will attack me with something and walked straight at him boom, dead. Ok, then I thought that maybe I should not look at him, and on a second attempt, when 8 notes out of 10 were gathered, i wanted to collect the 9th, but the guy was there, and walked with my back at him boom dead. Now I had to restart the level again and collect the 10 notes from the beginning while avoiding the guy completely (i presume). He seems to be just teleporting randomly. If you take the scary sounds and the art away, what remains is a pointless and utterly stupid game where you randomly and slowly walk around and collect pieces of paper while occasionally avoiding a randomly teleporting object. Expand
  12. Apr 7, 2013
    6
    This is a cool game :D A negative thing about this is the price-length ratio of the game its quiet short, that much that even if you are quiet lucky you can beat in in an hour or two. The game contains few stages where the story-driven and survivor gameplay are divided into. Story chapters arent really last longing and there are not much of depth in the story, of corz its fun to read allThis is a cool game :D A negative thing about this is the price-length ratio of the game its quiet short, that much that even if you are quiet lucky you can beat in in an hour or two. The game contains few stages where the story-driven and survivor gameplay are divided into. Story chapters arent really last longing and there are not much of depth in the story, of corz its fun to read all the Scarpbook collections but still I was expecting a little bit more of a depth in it. The gameplay is divided into two levels unfortunately. one is the traditional level of collecting the 8 pages and another one takes place in a abandoned mine where you are tasked to tun of 6 generators while a creepy girl is running around the place and slenderman jumps in as well :D The 8 pages section is fun since the area is much varied and bigger but the Mine one is unfair, you dont know how to runaway from that creepy girl, you arent aware how much you will last after getting stabbed by her even, in this part the game have some serious lack of instruction and its even quiet unfair beside that its hard. I hope they improve selnderman more, after all they said they had chances to put more depth in the game, add a better story and so on. Good that this short game terrifies you like hell so you dont wanna miss it really if you missed the time you used to scream while playing 8 pages. Expand
  13. Jun 6, 2013
    1
    Not that very amusing.. Nothing fancy and most certainly nothing popular, in fact its a surprise to see that its got so many great reviews but theres just one small problem i see. You only have one mission to do! thats going around in the dark and collecting peaces of paper and getting scarred and start getting paranoid. But thats all this game does mainly is make you get paranoid andNot that very amusing.. Nothing fancy and most certainly nothing popular, in fact its a surprise to see that its got so many great reviews but theres just one small problem i see. You only have one mission to do! thats going around in the dark and collecting peaces of paper and getting scarred and start getting paranoid. But thats all this game does mainly is make you get paranoid and thats the number one thing this game mainly takes over and nothing else. Its such a small simple little game that could be beat in some minutes or so. 1/10 Expand
  14. Apr 3, 2013
    5
    Slender The Arrival was a pleasant surprise once it was released. It may be short but once you lock yourself inside a nice dark room and play the game you'll understand why Slender is a feared creature.

    As I said before the game is short, really short but for a price of $10 it's what you would expect. It may be short but the work put into the game truly shines with different places like
    Slender The Arrival was a pleasant surprise once it was released. It may be short but once you lock yourself inside a nice dark room and play the game you'll understand why Slender is a feared creature.

    As I said before the game is short, really short but for a price of $10 it's what you would expect. It may be short but the work put into the game truly shines with different places like the mines, empty homes, the forest and so on. The game play is sort of the same tho, collecting pages in the second chapter or turning on generators in the forth but each level always has something different.

    The only level to stay the same is the forest where you would collect the 8 pages, after that you will go to different places and discover something more then just Slender man awaiting for you.

    For the price of $10, it's great to see horror coming back in the hands of indie developers and I personally hope to see more of slender man in future projects, maybe in something even bigger I hope.
    Expand
  15. Mar 27, 2013
    5
    This had me from start to finish like no other game has. I've played many scary and horrifying indie games and none of them will compare to this one. I wont say too much but when it starts to hit nightfall at the start, then tension grows rapidly. The environments, lighting, fog, everything that goes into making the atmosphere, captures the horror spot on. The slenderman looks better thenThis had me from start to finish like no other game has. I've played many scary and horrifying indie games and none of them will compare to this one. I wont say too much but when it starts to hit nightfall at the start, then tension grows rapidly. The environments, lighting, fog, everything that goes into making the atmosphere, captures the horror spot on. The slenderman looks better then ever, and the way he appears and disappear's will make you jump out of your seat and even sweat at times it gets that intense. If your looking for a game with a lot, and I mean a lot of jump scares and freaky atmosphere, check this one out for sure. Note, don't go into the game looking for a lengthy well detailed story, just go in on the edge of your seat and be prepared to have a ride like no other. Expand
  16. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have made a review on this product, but i forgot to say some important things. Everytime you play the game, levels look different. Pages, generators or even places change every time you play. For example once you have a toilet near the beach, but next time you play its not here. Second thing is the Hardcore mode. It makes the game harder, and, what follows that feature, longer. You will be scared, but also will rage much. Really recommended. Expand
  17. Dec 23, 2013
    7
    I picked this up while this metascore is quite low. Still I enjoyed it. Some people say it's short. I enjoyed this for a fair amount of hours. But I guess this game is more enjoyable with company of some friends. We hooked up our pc on the tv and played this with a controller. We had many laughters and scary moments. I agree this isn't an in depth story and the concept is a bit overrated.I picked this up while this metascore is quite low. Still I enjoyed it. Some people say it's short. I enjoyed this for a fair amount of hours. But I guess this game is more enjoyable with company of some friends. We hooked up our pc on the tv and played this with a controller. We had many laughters and scary moments. I agree this isn't an in depth story and the concept is a bit overrated. But still it desevers a slightly higher meta score imo. Expand
  18. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    This is seriously the scariest, most intense horror game EVER! right from the beginning, it fills you with that fear that makes you so paranoid and edgy that the slightest noise from any direction could send you into a heart attach. The graphics are beautiful and filled with detail. The overall sound is some of the best, as that is one of the main things that make the game scary. When youThis is seriously the scariest, most intense horror game EVER! right from the beginning, it fills you with that fear that makes you so paranoid and edgy that the slightest noise from any direction could send you into a heart attach. The graphics are beautiful and filled with detail. The overall sound is some of the best, as that is one of the main things that make the game scary. When you hear footsteps coming up to you from behind, it will send chills down your spine! The game play is really immersive and from the beginning it is sending you scares around every corner, and It puts you in girls place from the start. I love this game and will for quite some time to come. Expand
  19. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    Seriously immersive. This game stands out from any other horror game.
    The first slender game I played was 'Haunt', and LOVED it. I played that game about 30 times a day. After I heard about this game, I thought it wouldn't stand up to its original game. But oh, how I was Wrong.
    The feeling that someone, (Or someTHING) is following me in the game really makes it scary. All of the ambient,
    Seriously immersive. This game stands out from any other horror game.
    The first slender game I played was 'Haunt', and LOVED it. I played that game about 30 times a day. After I heard about this game, I thought it wouldn't stand up to its original game. But oh, how I was Wrong.
    The feeling that someone, (Or someTHING) is following me in the game really makes it scary. All of the ambient, and artistic locations around the place make you want to stay as far away from them as possible. But of course, you HAVE to go in them to get the notes.

    While there are many good things about this, this is DEFINITELY not a perfect game. A few shorthands seem to mess up your game. Repetitive gameplay really frustrates me. The same danger, the same difficulty, ect. Also, Ive ran into graphic glitches. I was playing, I looked behind me, slender was frozen, not moving. He was like that for 5 minutes. This is just the first glitch out of many.

    Even still, Slender The arrival will make you love the amazing series even more.
    Expand
  20. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Absolutely Scariest!!! Amazing Game, Gorgeous graphics, incredibly immersive, most intense horror game EVER! right from the beginning, The detailed environments, spooky music, vague but interesting narrative,
  21. May 19, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. O.K., this game had some scary elements. Things would pop up on walls that weren't there, the music was well made, little common horror elements were used well. However, the game was just a misfit. In the first Slender the Slenderman was actually a jump out kind of horror that was O.K. for a free game. However in this addition he appears so often it becomes so routine it is like killing grunts to avoid him. He doesn't kill on sight all the time. There are two other enemies in the game, neither of which pose any threat or are scary at all. There is a tiny outline of a story in the game, but it is boring. and is too secretive. Also, the game tried some Amnesia-esque mechanics (click dragging doors, collecting notes to put in a journal, etc.) that really just didn't fit. Expand
  22. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    Its the first try of Blu Isle Studios and i really like this game Its way too short but way too scary too If liked slender their first and free game then you should buy this too Just wait to reach steam
  23. Apr 30, 2013
    3
    From a once great free-to-play indy horror game to a paid survival horror wanna-be. It's a shame to see good things go to waste, but somehow, they even managed to make Slender dull and unenjoyable.
  24. Apr 21, 2013
    2
    I bought "Slender: The Arrival" because I needed a good health and fitness game. Sadly this is disappointing. I don't think I've lost any weight since I've started playing this game. And for some reason, the fitness instructor only shows up for a second before disappearing every time. How am I supposed to learn good health habits from someone I can't even talk to. All and all, for a gameI bought "Slender: The Arrival" because I needed a good health and fitness game. Sadly this is disappointing. I don't think I've lost any weight since I've started playing this game. And for some reason, the fitness instructor only shows up for a second before disappearing every time. How am I supposed to learn good health habits from someone I can't even talk to. All and all, for a game with "Slender" in the title, it doesn't do its job. Expand
  25. May 21, 2013
    5
    A great expansion on the original game. I enjoyed it very much as the atmosphere sets up a very scary experience. But the one thing that will either make or break this game for you is if you can forgive the fact that 90% of the scares in this game are jump scares. I for one can. That is why i like this game. I like waiting for something to get me, and the idea of bieng hunted by somethingA great expansion on the original game. I enjoyed it very much as the atmosphere sets up a very scary experience. But the one thing that will either make or break this game for you is if you can forgive the fact that 90% of the scares in this game are jump scares. I for one can. That is why i like this game. I like waiting for something to get me, and the idea of bieng hunted by something that cant be killed is a great idea for a horror game. Its why Amnesia works so well. But although i do like it, its nothing exceptional. A great comparison is Surgeon Simulator 2013. This game was a mod that got enough of a fallowing that they decided to make a full release. Its slightly expanded on as it has a little bit more of a story and makes the game a little more personal and the graphics have been updated. I can see why people hate this game, but i for one enjoy it even if there are many better horror games. Expand
  26. Mar 29, 2013
    0
    Slender The Arrival is too short for the price of the experience. Still the same concept of Slenderman from the game Slender. He needs to appear more "living" and not some stationary, statue.

    I prefer Faceless take on Slenderman.
  27. Mar 27, 2013
    8
    I simply enjoyed playing this game from start to finish. There are a lot of things that this game does right, & you can tell Blue Isle & Parsec dedicated much work & time to it. Despite that, I expected a bit more game-play/closure in this game than given, but the engaging atmosphere & terror really drew me in. The game is VERY short, probably longer on hard core, at least for me. I'mI simply enjoyed playing this game from start to finish. There are a lot of things that this game does right, & you can tell Blue Isle & Parsec dedicated much work & time to it. Despite that, I expected a bit more game-play/closure in this game than given, but the engaging atmosphere & terror really drew me in. The game is VERY short, probably longer on hard core, at least for me. I'm hoping this isn't the end of slender man & maybe one day they can continue to a series. Blue Isle & Parsec has revolutionized Slender Man into a terrorizing nightmare & a new born horror legacy aroused from this. I hope to see more in the future & great job on this wonderful game. Expand
  28. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    Slender: The Arrival is a compelling, nerve-wrecking and seriously freaky game that may be a bit on the short side, but there’s no doubt that it’s top quality throughout the time that it lasts. It’s a powerful experience, a great achievement, and definitely among the best of the horror games I’ve played. It felt absolutely worth the wait once I finished it, and it really was the experienceSlender: The Arrival is a compelling, nerve-wrecking and seriously freaky game that may be a bit on the short side, but there’s no doubt that it’s top quality throughout the time that it lasts. It’s a powerful experience, a great achievement, and definitely among the best of the horror games I’ve played. It felt absolutely worth the wait once I finished it, and it really was the experience I was hoping for. I’m definitely going to remember this one for a while, and not necessarily because it made me wet my pants, but because the experience was just awesome, and one I appreciated greatly as a lover of horror. It’s definitely worth buying if you’re a horror nut or Slender fan of any kind. It’s a must-play. Full review here: http://egamer.co.za/2013/03/review-slender-the-arrival/ Expand
  29. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A wonderful successor to the original Slender game. Gorgeous graphics, incredibly immersive, interesting plot (though explanation of it is somewhat scant), and, surprise surprise, utterly terrifying. What I really liked is that this game provides some context for why the pages exist. However, it still doesn't explain why exactly you're collecting them. The plot that is there is certainly intriguing, but there is still a lot that has yet to be explained and the ending definitely left me wanting more. This isn't necessarily a bad thing though because some of the best storytelling simply doesn't tell you everything you want to know and leaves readers/viewers/gamers with something left to discuss and speculate. That said, there were parts of this game that truly terrified me, and I absolutely loved it because I enjoy getting scared (call me an emotional sadist if you will). The detailed environments, spooky music, vague but interesting narrative, and Mr. Slenderman himself all culminate into one hell of an experience. Sadly but understandably due to budget constraints and a relatively small development team, the experience is very short (though definitely worth the price of admission). But this frustration is merely owed to the fact that I enjoyed this game so much and did not want it to end.

    If you have the expendable cash, throw a little extra when you purchase this to support the developer so we can see an even bigger and better third installment. I know I can't wait for it.
    Expand
  30. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    Game may be short, but the quality of graphics, gameplay, and the story make up for it. This game wasn't made by some huge game company, but an independent one. They did what they could. And here's a quote to all the people out there are being crybabies about how short it is... “Everybody is a genius. But, if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it’ll spend its whole lifeGame may be short, but the quality of graphics, gameplay, and the story make up for it. This game wasn't made by some huge game company, but an independent one. They did what they could. And here's a quote to all the people out there are being crybabies about how short it is... “Everybody is a genius. But, if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it’ll spend its whole life believing that it is stupid.” Albert Einstein Expand
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Nov 18, 2013
    50
    Sadly, it devolves into a tedious, irritating scavenger hunt that fails to keep up the momentum and burdens the player with repetitious busy work that makes the short playtime seem merciful rather than miserly.
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    The overall experience may be familiar, but hasn’t grown tiresome yet to affect its scare-factor. Grab some headphones, turn off the lights, and try not to wake up anyone living in the same household with your screams of terror.
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    40
    Slender: The Arrival wants to be seen as a serious entry into the horror genre, but it fails to put the effort into the gameplay mechanics and artificial intelligence that would merit the honor.