User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 206 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 206

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    Este game honra tudo que o seu primeiro jogo trouxe medo do inesperado. traz ótimos momentos de sustos, coisa que muita empresa grande de games de 'terror' nao estão fazendo ultimamente
  2. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have made a review on this product, but i forgot to say some important things. Everytime you play the game, levels look different. Pages, generators or even places change every time you play. For example once you have a toilet near the beach, but next time you play its not here. Second thing is the Hardcore mode. It makes the game harder, and, what follows that feature, longer. You will be scared, but also will rage much. Really recommended. Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    This is seriously the scariest, most intense horror game EVER! right from the beginning, it fills you with that fear that makes you so paranoid and edgy that the slightest noise from any direction could send you into a heart attach. The graphics are beautiful and filled with detail. The overall sound is some of the best, as that is one of the main things that make the game scary. When you hear footsteps coming up to you from behind, it will send chills down your spine! The game play is really immersive and from the beginning it is sending you scares around every corner, and It puts you in girls place from the start. I love this game and will for quite some time to come. Expand
  4. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Absolutely Scariest!!! Amazing Game, Gorgeous graphics, incredibly immersive, most intense horror game EVER! right from the beginning, The detailed environments, spooky music, vague but interesting narrative,
  5. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    Its the first try of Blu Isle Studios and i really like this game Its way too short but way too scary too If liked slender their first and free game then you should buy this too Just wait to reach steam
  6. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    this is the most fun ive had in a horror game the game is short but FULL of items to collect and achievements to get very very fun and very very scary. well worth the 10$ must own
  7. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    I should say I've got a lot of impressions from this game.Especially at dark night with loud sound.Slender runs great without shadows.But anyway,the only weak point may be either optimization or plot.Anyway game is nice.
  8. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    one of the best horror games ever!one of the best horror games ever!one of the best horror games ever!one of the best horror games ever!one of the best horror games ever!one of the best horror games ever!one of the best horror games ever!
  9. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    after playing this game i was speechless. being in the forest alone with just a flashlight with a horrifying creature hunting you down REALLY brings out the scary atmonsphere.the graphics are crazy awesome while not making it TOO scary.
  10. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    Just got through this. Totally amazing! Freaky environments that are totally unnerving and almost bad for your mental health. You start getting edgy and nervous just walking around. Gorgeous graphics and I loved the music. Overall, great atmosphere put together by a small indie team at Parsec and Blue Isle. A bit short but for ten bucks good value. You get a sense of the thought they put into this with the opening prologue eerie music and then you begin on a beautiful fall day in the woods. But the sun is setting and as the day comes to an end, the foreboding darkness envelops you. That was a really nice touch! If ever there is room for a sequel, this is it!! Expand
  11. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    The original game made a revolution in the indie horror-game production and really got everyone who played it. About a year after Slender: The Arrival comes out and brings a lot new to the game play. It is really intense, horrifying, atmospheric and breath-taking from start to the end. A well represented and a lot more complete plot makes it more scary than ever. The game itself however is very short, but the ending is very well done. There are some controlling difficulties at some parts, but they might be fixed in the future updates (if any). Over-all the game really shows a good result of expansion and some game play modifications. Slender becomes a more bigger title, which might have a very anticipated future. Expand
  12. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    Seriously immersive. This game stands out from any other horror game.
    The first slender game I played was 'Haunt', and LOVED it. I played that game about 30 times a day. After I heard about this game, I thought it wouldn't stand up to its original game. But oh, how I was Wrong.
    The feeling that someone, (Or someTHING) is following me in the game really makes it scary. All of the ambient,
    and artistic locations around the place make you want to stay as far away from them as possible. But of course, you HAVE to go in them to get the notes.

    While there are many good things about this, this is DEFINITELY not a perfect game. A few shorthands seem to mess up your game. Repetitive gameplay really frustrates me. The same danger, the same difficulty, ect. Also, Ive ran into graphic glitches. I was playing, I looked behind me, slender was frozen, not moving. He was like that for 5 minutes. This is just the first glitch out of many.

    Even still, Slender The arrival will make you love the amazing series even more.
    Expand
  13. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    Slender: The Arrival is a compelling, nerve-wrecking and seriously freaky game that may be a bit on the short side, but there’s no doubt that it’s top quality throughout the time that it lasts. It’s a powerful experience, a great achievement, and definitely among the best of the horror games I’ve played. It felt absolutely worth the wait once I finished it, and it really was the experience I was hoping for. I’m definitely going to remember this one for a while, and not necessarily because it made me wet my pants, but because the experience was just awesome, and one I appreciated greatly as a lover of horror. It’s definitely worth buying if you’re a horror nut or Slender fan of any kind. It’s a must-play. Full review here: http://egamer.co.za/2013/03/review-slender-the-arrival/ Expand
  14. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A wonderful successor to the original Slender game. Gorgeous graphics, incredibly immersive, interesting plot (though explanation of it is somewhat scant), and, surprise surprise, utterly terrifying. What I really liked is that this game provides some context for why the pages exist. However, it still doesn't explain why exactly you're collecting them. The plot that is there is certainly intriguing, but there is still a lot that has yet to be explained and the ending definitely left me wanting more. This isn't necessarily a bad thing though because some of the best storytelling simply doesn't tell you everything you want to know and leaves readers/viewers/gamers with something left to discuss and speculate. That said, there were parts of this game that truly terrified me, and I absolutely loved it because I enjoy getting scared (call me an emotional sadist if you will). The detailed environments, spooky music, vague but interesting narrative, and Mr. Slenderman himself all culminate into one hell of an experience. Sadly but understandably due to budget constraints and a relatively small development team, the experience is very short (though definitely worth the price of admission). But this frustration is merely owed to the fact that I enjoyed this game so much and did not want it to end.

    If you have the expendable cash, throw a little extra when you purchase this to support the developer so we can see an even bigger and better third installment. I know I can't wait for it.
    Expand
  15. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    Game may be short, but the quality of graphics, gameplay, and the story make up for it. This game wasn't made by some huge game company, but an independent one. They did what they could. And here's a quote to all the people out there are being crybabies about how short it is... “Everybody is a genius. But, if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it’ll spend its whole life believing that it is stupid.” Albert Einstein Expand
  16. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I didn't quite think that Blue Isle could make Slender: The Arrival scarier, yet more accessible at the same time, but they did. The Atmosphere is brilliant and engaging, with a nice mysterious story written by the wonderful team behind Marble Hornets. The game is "easier" (or at least seems so) due to the new addition of a story. But make no mistake, it's more terrifying than the original. Our good friend the Operator has been learning new tricks to find his way closer and closer to you, making you panic even more than you did in the original, especially now that he can walk. Plus, I won't say what, but there's more to be afraid of than our dear friend Slendy out in the darkness... Expand
  17. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    If I wanted to judge this objectively, I might want to complain about the game's length (about 2-3 hours, depending on difficulty), or the limited variation of gameplay mechanics. But damnit, I won't, for the simple fact that this is the scariest game I've ever played. No game has ever conveyed a sense of vulnerability, paranoia and scream-out-loud moments quite like this. This is horror done right. Amnesia: Dark Descent is the only one that comes close, but this is just raw, condensed fear. It's not easy (though easier than the previous iteration), you probably will die, but after each restart the levels rearrange themselves, keeping each new attempt fresh. Plus, Slenderman isn't the only thing to fear in this game...

    So for the price of a cinema ticket, you will buy yourself the scariest experience you will ever have. If you're a horror fan, don't miss out.
    Expand
  18. Sep 25, 2013
    9
    A really scary and interesting game! It makes you not want to continue playing but want to at the same time just like the original Slender. It takes you inside the story and origin of Slender so it is no longer just a random "creature in the woods" game. It even makes you understand the notes, why they are there, and who drew them. It has an interesting storyline and neat locations. The graphics are pretty nice as well. The only reason I gave it a 9 instead of a 10 was because it does have a few minor glitches at times but it's no reason to not play this game. It's worth the small amount of money to buy it. After watching a "Let's Play" of it, I went and bought it ASAP. Expand
  19. Oct 22, 2013
    9
    Slender: The Arrival proves that even more pants is never enough. After the first game, Indie Games have never been the same. Slender TA is a very well-made indie horror game, with AAA elements, but with simple mechanics that turns the game easy to understand, to play and interact with. Inviting the creators of Marble Hornets to write the plot of the game was a genius idea and proves that the Blue Isle Studios and Parsec that they understand what Slender means to us, fans.

    Yeah, the game is very short and this just can´t explain the expensive price for the game, but I am very sure that the game worthies a try, specially if you gets scared easy like me. Once again... Loved the game! Congratulations for the team who made this.
    Expand
  20. Oct 22, 2013
    9
    This is an epic horror done right. It takes the classic Slender concept and combines it with a fantastic narrative, awesome game play, and a beautiful upgrade to the graphics! The pacing of this game is some of the best I've ever seen, however the latest update makes the player find all 8 pages (which is nearly impossible) and destroys the clear purpose of the game...
  21. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    Amazing redo of the original game, great graphics, and it is expanded on much more. The story is revealed more as you go along and there are new terrifying enemies. A little short, but that is to be expected from an independent, but growing company. A great game, and a must have for all gamers into horror games.
  22. Mar 1, 2014
    9
    It's not only a horror masterpiece game; It's the 4th game on my personal best games list: under Portal 2> Half life 2 > AVP2 > F.E.A.2! It's like being inside a Hitchcock's movie. Absolutely awesome! Each cent it's worth!
  23. Apr 4, 2013
    8
    Slender: the Arrival is the scariest game ever made. It's not really a full game. 5 small levels is too short. For $10 you are paying to get the sh*t scared out of you. How often can you say that about a video game? The answer is never, with an exception of Shadow Man for n64.

    Blue Isle Studios is a company to watch out for. Seen a similar game called Daylight, might be good, but it has
    command prompts that tell you how to fight off the monsters. I think it will take years to replicate what this game offers. It might take another 15 years for another game to be scary. People will tell you that Amnesia is scary, but the truth is, those people probably think Saw movies are supposed to be frighting.

    Slender shows no mercy with it's hard difficulty. You will get completely randomized task locations every time you replay a level. Even non horror games need to mimic this idea. I like the part where you are trapped in a house and have to close certain windows and open doors before Slender came. It was very realistic. Reminded me of a being in a Haunted house, trying to hide from a demon or ghost.

    This game will be considered original for awhile until companies copy it. Make sure you know where the roots came from.
    Expand
  24. Mar 26, 2013
    8
    I didn't thnk it would be possible for Slender to get "more scarey" but somehow they did it. The idea that you have a story behind everything, and exploring an abandoned house in the daytime turning into nighttime just creeps me out so much!. Definitely play this if your looking for a scare!
  25. Mar 27, 2013
    8
    I simply enjoyed playing this game from start to finish. There are a lot of things that this game does right, & you can tell Blue Isle & Parsec dedicated much work & time to it. Despite that, I expected a bit more game-play/closure in this game than given, but the engaging atmosphere & terror really drew me in. The game is VERY short, probably longer on hard core, at least for me. I'm hoping this isn't the end of slender man & maybe one day they can continue to a series. Blue Isle & Parsec has revolutionized Slender Man into a terrorizing nightmare & a new born horror legacy aroused from this. I hope to see more in the future & great job on this wonderful game. Expand
  26. Apr 4, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After the surprising hit last in the summer of 2012 that was Slender: The Eight Pages, Blue Isle Studios and Parsec Productions decided to take the basic, experimental game design that the original was and expand upon it. Now we have Slender: The Arrival, a sequel re-imagining of the original that now has better graphics and an underlying story. So how does Slender: The Arrival hold up in an expanded upon package?

    The Story:
    The story of Slender: The Arrival has you play as Lauren, a girl who goes into the woods to see her friend Kate. When she arrives, she finds the house trashed and finds out that Kate is missing. After that, the story takes a backseat and is only occassionaly brought up. There are little collectibles that further expand upon the story, including Kate becoming a proxy, and even hinting that Kate was the original protagonist from Slender: The Eight Pages. While these collectables are interesting, the way that the events unfold is somewhat sloppy and contrived. Why again, did we have to go in the mines in the first place? Oh yeah. To meet the new enemy type, the proxy (Kate). The ending, however intense it may be, is a huge letdown. It feels unfinished, rushed, and left me dissapointed. Also, the game is extremely short. It took me roughly 2 hours to complete.

    Gameplay:
    Slender: The Arrival is what you would expect from a Slender game. Intense, atmospheric horror in a first person view with a soundtrack that will continue to haunt you even after the game is complete. However, where this does fall slightly flat is Chapter 3. In this chapter, you journey into an abandoned mine for no good reason and find the new enemy. The Proxy. The proxy is a hooded figure that, unlike Slenderman, will seek out the player and continuously follow you until you escape the mines. The first time you're attacked by the proxy is certainly intense, but begins to become less intense when you are constantly jumped and killed just as you're about to finish the level. The chapter begins very well and certainly had me screaming the first time I heard the proxy running behind me as I ran into a dead end. However, this is where the Slenderman takes a back seat and is rarely seen. After this, the gameplay returns to normal and goes back to being a Slender game.

    Sound Design:
    The sound is arguably the most important part of the Slender games. Everything from the subtle cricket chirps to the iconic drum bangs is spot on and really elevates the atmosphere to; at times, pure and absolute terror. My personal favorite sound design is ironically, in my least favorite part of the game. In the mines, the echoing footsteps and the cackling of the Proxy is absolutely terrifying.

    Conclusion:
    While Slender: The Eight Pages was an experiment in survival horror, Slender: The Arrival is an evolution of horror. While I had some problems with the story and the mine section, Slender: The Arrival managed to do something that very few games can do. This game terrified me, and had me looking around my room creeping myself out. If you're alone at night, and feel the need to be scared, Slender: The Arrival is one of the best horror experiences currently available on PC and I highly recommend that you check this one out.

    Short Consensus:
    With a great atmosphere, and sequences of pure terror, Slender: The Arrival is a great horror experience that suffers from a less than stellar 3rd chapter and repetitive gameplay.
    8/10
    Expand
  27. Oct 22, 2013
    8
    It's a really scary game like the eight pages but it has some problems there were some difficultly spikes and some glitches and you have the same objective's just like the eight pages and the good thing about is its scary and its got a little good back-story to this game and i hope that they improve more in the next game if there is going to be a sequel
  28. Nov 8, 2013
    8
    This game has great gameplay and graphics! Yet, the story could have been longer, $10.00 is a pretty good price for what it has. This game says its scary, and it is! I hope they make a sequel or DLC to this amazing game. It may be a bit laggy on slow computers though
  29. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    I haven't finished the campaign yet. Only few chapters but it's getting scarier with progress. I've play so many "horror" games and mods recently.Huge fan of the genre and wasn't expecting much. So I find it noteworthy that in Slender:The Arrival you cannot really hide, so you run run run and you don't get to feel safe very often. The sound is obviously something gamer's mention because dang it's creepy. The voices are difficult to understand gibberish so sounds different all the time. The static noise will make your ears exploded. Really this game is challenging and fun as well so please look around and loot those notes, but don't take too long... Expand
  30. Dec 23, 2013
    7
    I picked this up while this metascore is quite low. Still I enjoyed it. Some people say it's short. I enjoyed this for a fair amount of hours. But I guess this game is more enjoyable with company of some friends. We hooked up our pc on the tv and played this with a controller. We had many laughters and scary moments. I agree this isn't an in depth story and the concept is a bit overrated. But still it desevers a slightly higher meta score imo. Expand
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Nov 18, 2013
    50
    Sadly, it devolves into a tedious, irritating scavenger hunt that fails to keep up the momentum and burdens the player with repetitious busy work that makes the short playtime seem merciful rather than miserly.
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    The overall experience may be familiar, but hasn’t grown tiresome yet to affect its scare-factor. Grab some headphones, turn off the lights, and try not to wake up anyone living in the same household with your screams of terror.
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    40
    Slender: The Arrival wants to be seen as a serious entry into the horror genre, but it fails to put the effort into the gameplay mechanics and artificial intelligence that would merit the honor.