Slender: The Arrival Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 188 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Slender: The Arrival is the official continuation of Slender: The Eight Pages. A combined effort from the writers behind the Marble Hornets series and the development team at Blue Isle Studios, Slender: The Arrival features a brand new storyline and improved visuals.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Apr 2, 2013
    90
    A significant improvement over Parsec Production's original game, featuring a much more robust narrative, and a darker, more foreboding atmosphere. You may have mixed feelings about its brevity and the repetitive mechanics, but it's certainly a well-built game that, above all, is scary to play.
  2. May 13, 2013
    83
    Slender: The Arrival Arrival continues on the road paved by its predecessor The Eight Pages, offering same horrors, featuring slender man with a hooded sidekick. If you like scaring yourself, you'll love Slender: The Arrival. [May 2013]
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    75
    It’s a deeper, much more beautiful take on what remains a brilliant and simple concept. The additions are good, but there could stand to be more of them.
  4. Apr 3, 2013
    65
    Slender: The Arrival manages to deliver some truly impressive scares, but you’ll have to wade through the muck of repetitive tasks and unfair enemies in order to experience them. I found more enjoyment in playing the free original installment, which delivers a powerful horror experience without the annoyances and filler.
  5. May 6, 2013
    60
    Slender: The Arrival confirms the many doubts emerged during the preview, showing obvious limitations dictated by the lacks of a gameplay structure that deviates from what we saw in "Slender: The Eight Pages", its predecessor.
  6. 60
    The scares are still there but in gameplay terms the experience is far too… slender to justify the repetition and frustration of this sequel.
  7. May 13, 2013
    25
    People who gave us the excellent Slender: The Eight Pages suddenly ceased to understand what makes a good horror. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.69]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 61
  2. Negative: 17 out of 61
  1. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    This is seriously the scariest, most intense horror game EVER! right from the beginning, it fills you with that fear that makes you so paranoid and edgy that the slightest noise from any direction could send you into a heart attach. The graphics are beautiful and filled with detail. The overall sound is some of the best, as that is one of the main things that make the game scary. When you hear footsteps coming up to you from behind, it will send chills down your spine! The game play is really immersive and from the beginning it is sending you scares around every corner, and It puts you in girls place from the start. I love this game and will for quite some time to come. Expand
  2. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have made a review on this product, but i forgot to say some important things. Everytime you play the game, levels look different. Pages, generators or even places change every time you play. For example once you have a toilet near the beach, but next time you play its not here. Second thing is the Hardcore mode. It makes the game harder, and, what follows that feature, longer. You will be scared, but also will rage much. Really recommended. Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    Slender: The Arrival is a compelling, nerve-wrecking and seriously freaky game that may be a bit on the short side, but there’s no doubt that it’s top quality throughout the time that it lasts. It’s a powerful experience, a great achievement, and definitely among the best of the horror games I’ve played. It felt absolutely worth the wait once I finished it, and it really was the experience I was hoping for. I’m definitely going to remember this one for a while, and not necessarily because it made me wet my pants, but because the experience was just awesome, and one I appreciated greatly as a lover of horror. It’s definitely worth buying if you’re a horror nut or Slender fan of any kind. It’s a must-play. Full review here: http://egamer.co.za/2013/03/review-slender-the-arrival/ Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After the surprising hit last in the summer of 2012 that was Slender: The Eight Pages, Blue Isle Studios and Parsec Productions decided to take the basic, experimental game design that the original was and expand upon it. Now we have Slender: The Arrival, a sequel re-imagining of the original that now has better graphics and an underlying story. So how does Slender: The Arrival hold up in an expanded upon package?

    The Story:
    The story of Slender: The Arrival has you play as Lauren, a girl who goes into the woods to see her friend Kate. When she arrives, she finds the house trashed and finds out that Kate is missing. After that, the story takes a backseat and is only occassionaly brought up. There are little collectibles that further expand upon the story, including Kate becoming a proxy, and even hinting that Kate was the original protagonist from Slender: The Eight Pages. While these collectables are interesting, the way that the events unfold is somewhat sloppy and contrived. Why again, did we have to go in the mines in the first place? Oh yeah. To meet the new enemy type, the proxy (Kate). The ending, however intense it may be, is a huge letdown. It feels unfinished, rushed, and left me dissapointed. Also, the game is extremely short. It took me roughly 2 hours to complete.

    Gameplay:
    Slender: The Arrival is what you would expect from a Slender game. Intense, atmospheric horror in a first person view with a soundtrack that will continue to haunt you even after the game is complete. However, where this does fall slightly flat is Chapter 3. In this chapter, you journey into an abandoned mine for no good reason and find the new enemy. The Proxy. The proxy is a hooded figure that, unlike Slenderman, will seek out the player and continuously follow you until you escape the mines. The first time you're attacked by the proxy is certainly intense, but begins to become less intense when you are constantly jumped and killed just as you're about to finish the level. The chapter begins very well and certainly had me screaming the first time I heard the proxy running behind me as I ran into a dead end. However, this is where the Slenderman takes a back seat and is rarely seen. After this, the gameplay returns to normal and goes back to being a Slender game.

    Sound Design:
    The sound is arguably the most important part of the Slender games. Everything from the subtle cricket chirps to the iconic drum bangs is spot on and really elevates the atmosphere to; at times, pure and absolute terror. My personal favorite sound design is ironically, in my least favorite part of the game. In the mines, the echoing footsteps and the cackling of the Proxy is absolutely terrifying.

    Conclusion:
    While Slender: The Eight Pages was an experiment in survival horror, Slender: The Arrival is an evolution of horror. While I had some problems with the story and the mine section, Slender: The Arrival managed to do something that very few games can do. This game terrified me, and had me looking around my room creeping myself out. If you're alone at night, and feel the need to be scared, Slender: The Arrival is one of the best horror experiences currently available on PC and I highly recommend that you check this one out.

    Short Consensus:
    With a great atmosphere, and sequences of pure terror, Slender: The Arrival is a great horror experience that suffers from a less than stellar 3rd chapter and repetitive gameplay.
    8/10
    Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Slender: The Arrival is a very creepy survival horror game with beautiful graphics and soundtrack.
    although a very short game, it will be a favorite for fans of the survival horror genre.

    Lauren, A girl trying to visit her childhood friend, Kate walks into her home to see strange drawings and evidence of some kind of struggle. concerned, Lauren tries to locate her best friend in her locked room, only to find terrifying images scattered all over the walls and floor, suggesting that she is being stalked by someone, or something. she soon hears a scream come from the backyard and picks up a flashlight to go search for her friend.

    Slender: The Arrival is a MUST BUY game for Slender fans and horror fanatics alike.

    $10 dollars, rated T.
    Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2013
    5
    This had me from start to finish like no other game has. I've played many scary and horrifying indie games and none of them will compare to this one. I wont say too much but when it starts to hit nightfall at the start, then tension grows rapidly. The environments, lighting, fog, everything that goes into making the atmosphere, captures the horror spot on. The slenderman looks better then ever, and the way he appears and disappear's will make you jump out of your seat and even sweat at times it gets that intense. If your looking for a game with a lot, and I mean a lot of jump scares and freaky atmosphere, check this one out for sure. Note, don't go into the game looking for a lengthy well detailed story, just go in on the edge of your seat and be prepared to have a ride like no other. Expand
  7. Mar 29, 2013
    0
    Slender The Arrival is too short for the price of the experience. Still the same concept of Slenderman from the game Slender. He needs to appear more "living" and not some stationary, statue.

    I prefer Faceless take on Slenderman.
    Expand

See all 61 User Reviews