Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 211 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Slender: The Arrival is the official continuation of Slender: The Eight Pages. A combined effort from the writers behind the Marble Hornets series and the development team at Blue Isle Studios, Slender: The Arrival features a brand new storyline and improved visuals.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Apr 2, 2013
    90
    A significant improvement over Parsec Production's original game, featuring a much more robust narrative, and a darker, more foreboding atmosphere. You may have mixed feelings about its brevity and the repetitive mechanics, but it's certainly a well-built game that, above all, is scary to play.
  2. May 13, 2013
    83
    Slender: The Arrival Arrival continues on the road paved by its predecessor The Eight Pages, offering same horrors, featuring slender man with a hooded sidekick. If you like scaring yourself, you'll love Slender: The Arrival. [May 2013]
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    75
    It’s a deeper, much more beautiful take on what remains a brilliant and simple concept. The additions are good, but there could stand to be more of them.
  4. Apr 3, 2013
    65
    Slender: The Arrival manages to deliver some truly impressive scares, but you’ll have to wade through the muck of repetitive tasks and unfair enemies in order to experience them. I found more enjoyment in playing the free original installment, which delivers a powerful horror experience without the annoyances and filler.
  5. May 6, 2013
    60
    Slender: The Arrival confirms the many doubts emerged during the preview, showing obvious limitations dictated by the lacks of a gameplay structure that deviates from what we saw in "Slender: The Eight Pages", its predecessor.
  6. 60
    The scares are still there but in gameplay terms the experience is far too… slender to justify the repetition and frustration of this sequel.
  7. May 13, 2013
    25
    People who gave us the excellent Slender: The Eight Pages suddenly ceased to understand what makes a good horror. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.69]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 66
  2. Negative: 18 out of 66
  1. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    This is seriously the scariest, most intense horror game EVER! right from the beginning, it fills you with that fear that makes you soThis is seriously the scariest, most intense horror game EVER! right from the beginning, it fills you with that fear that makes you so paranoid and edgy that the slightest noise from any direction could send you into a heart attach. The graphics are beautiful and filled with detail. The overall sound is some of the best, as that is one of the main things that make the game scary. When you hear footsteps coming up to you from behind, it will send chills down your spine! The game play is really immersive and from the beginning it is sending you scares around every corner, and It puts you in girls place from the start. I love this game and will for quite some time to come. Expand
  2. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    Its the first try of Blu Isle Studios and i really like this game Its way too short but way too scary too If liked slender their first andIts the first try of Blu Isle Studios and i really like this game Its way too short but way too scary too If liked slender their first and free game then you should buy this too Just wait to reach steam Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    Amazing redo of the original game, great graphics, and it is expanded on much more. The story is revealed more as you go along and there areAmazing redo of the original game, great graphics, and it is expanded on much more. The story is revealed more as you go along and there are new terrifying enemies. A little short, but that is to be expected from an independent, but growing company. A great game, and a must have for all gamers into horror games. Expand
  4. Dec 23, 2013
    7
    I picked this up while this metascore is quite low. Still I enjoyed it. Some people say it's short. I enjoyed this for a fair amount of hours.I picked this up while this metascore is quite low. Still I enjoyed it. Some people say it's short. I enjoyed this for a fair amount of hours. But I guess this game is more enjoyable with company of some friends. We hooked up our pc on the tv and played this with a controller. We had many laughters and scary moments. I agree this isn't an in depth story and the concept is a bit overrated. But still it desevers a slightly higher meta score imo. Expand
  5. Apr 7, 2013
    6
    This is a cool game :D A negative thing about this is the price-length ratio of the game its quiet short, that much that even if you areThis is a cool game :D A negative thing about this is the price-length ratio of the game its quiet short, that much that even if you are quiet lucky you can beat in in an hour or two. The game contains few stages where the story-driven and survivor gameplay are divided into. Story chapters arent really last longing and there are not much of depth in the story, of corz its fun to read all the Scarpbook collections but still I was expecting a little bit more of a depth in it. The gameplay is divided into two levels unfortunately. one is the traditional level of collecting the 8 pages and another one takes place in a abandoned mine where you are tasked to tun of 6 generators while a creepy girl is running around the place and slenderman jumps in as well :D The 8 pages section is fun since the area is much varied and bigger but the Mine one is unfair, you dont know how to runaway from that creepy girl, you arent aware how much you will last after getting stabbed by her even, in this part the game have some serious lack of instruction and its even quiet unfair beside that its hard. I hope they improve selnderman more, after all they said they had chances to put more depth in the game, add a better story and so on. Good that this short game terrifies you like hell so you dont wanna miss it really if you missed the time you used to scream while playing 8 pages. Expand
  6. Apr 14, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's Slender: The Eight Pages with better visuals, graphics, and a different setting. You are to collect 8 pages at first then somehow activate 6 generators while being chased by both Slenderman and a hooded ghost which apparently seems off Slenderman's 'lore'. It left me questioning whether this game meant to leave mysteries untold or the developers are just plain lazy and decided to make a poorly explained story. Scares in this game were at first terrifying but then it just got annoying as the hooded ghost will just keep stalking you. Overall, this is simply another mediocre jumpscare galore from cheap scary 'ghosts'. *I am not against Indie games* Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2014
    0
    iy amm too yeers olde an dis aint scaary its a pile of de warrm browwn stuff in my nappy now i need pee pee ooops wats dat yellow stuff :)iy amm too yeers olde an dis aint scaary its a pile of de warrm browwn stuff in my nappy now i need pee pee ooops wats dat yellow stuff :) happee face!!! Expand

See all 66 User Reviews