SMITE PC

Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 669 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players choose from a selection of mythical gods, join session-based arena combat, and use custom powers and team tactics against other player-controlled gods and non-player controlled minions.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 26, 2014
    95
    Hi Rez studios has a game changer on their hands here. SMITE is an incredibly fun and addicting MOBA that is perfect for those who are looking from a change of pace from your typical MOBA.
  2. Mar 25, 2014
    90
    Smite is an excellent addition to an expanding genre, and one that distinguishes itself from the rest of the pack with decidedly different gameplay, a quirky and lighthearted take on classic mythology, and a variety of interesting modes.
  3. Apr 10, 2014
    86
    Smite makes the MOBA more approachable with smart tweaks to the formula and action RPG-inspired combat.
  4. Aug 8, 2014
    83
    Smite is alternative to Dota and LoL suited to beginners as well as veterans of the genre.
  5. May 19, 2014
    80
    The product of Hi Rez Studios is well made, and offers different feelings from those of its competitors, thanks to the different camera angle and a fast paced gameplay.
  6. Apr 24, 2014
    80
    Smite is invigorating. It’s not another MOBA. It takes one aspect of a MOBA’s structure and builds on it until it's something else entirely. Smite has developed into an action game. One with lanes, creeps and towers, all the things you’d expect from a MOBA, but even the familiar looks different when viewed from Smite’s refreshing perspective.
  7. 60
    A different camera angle along with great e-sport support can't hide the fact that this has been done before, with better result.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 195
  1. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    You can play Cupid! 10/10You can play Cupid! 10/10 . Collapse
  2. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    I've been playing since early 2013! Really fun game. Very fair, and a good historical backdrop. An awesome take on the MOBA genre, that it needed!!
  3. Sep 3, 2014
    10
    Alot of your favorite gods and demons you already know from many mythology tales... Also it does not lag, crash and loads extremely fast forAlot of your favorite gods and demons you already know from many mythology tales... Also it does not lag, crash and loads extremely fast for having better graphics and smoother gameplay then any other moba ive played to date. Especially league of legends... I give this a 10/10 MUST play for all gamer types. Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    Smite is, hands down, the best MOBA game of all MOBA games.

    1) They combine Third-Person Shooters with MOBA games. This gives a
    Smite is, hands down, the best MOBA game of all MOBA games.

    1) They combine Third-Person Shooters with MOBA games. This gives a Third-Person MOBA game. You don't see many MOBA games like this. Personal preference, not everybody likes this. But give it a try.
    2) Skill shots only. Unlike other MOBA games, you will not find an ability that is auto-fired. You need to follow a running target, shoot it like it's a Third-Person Shooter. It takes real skills to hit that target. Even passive attacks are skill shots.
    3) Hi-Rez Studios (developers) care about their customers. Rarely to no server downtimes, good updates, balanced gods, ...
    4) Good community. League of Legends is known for the worst community in gaming. Smite is not like that.
    5) No masteries and runes. Means it takes skills to kill somebody.
    6) MANY more reasons, but these are the most importent.

    These reasons make SMITE the best MOBA game out there.
    Expand
  5. Apr 30, 2014
    9
    A new moba which bring a great change of pace into the genre and is much faster than his counterparts, mainly for the change of playerviewA new moba which bring a great change of pace into the genre and is much faster than his counterparts, mainly for the change of playerview (3rd person instead of the usual hovering cam). For now there are several different game modes (with the Arena one reminding MMORPG fights) which changes from the usual 3-laned map and are a welcome addition. There is currently enough gods to play to not get bored after a few games.

    Right now however, the game still suffer a few imbalances (which will probably be fixed) and suffer from the usual Moba community (Leavers and Ragers) but to a lesser extent than the other current Mobas. The matchmaking is also weirdly designed.

    Let's just hope this game will not suffer from his popularity like it happened for LoL.
    Expand
  6. Aug 9, 2014
    8
    Having almost 2000 hours of time played in Dota 2, I decided to finally give this game a try, since some of my friends have played it off andHaving almost 2000 hours of time played in Dota 2, I decided to finally give this game a try, since some of my friends have played it off and on for the last couple of years. I am still quite new to the game, and have only tired a handful of the heroes, but so far I am really enjoying myself. The multiple game-modes is quite refreshing, and I like the tempo of the game. I also really like that they have distinguished themselves from other Mobas (at least Dota), not only in the 3rd-person-perspective, but in terms of how the matches play out. I feel that there is a higher possibility of a comeback, and the matches end a lot quicker, which is a welcome change of pace, since some Dota-games can really drag on. The skill-cap is high, but the game is more forgiving than other similar games, at least in my experience. So far, the community also seem a bit better than Dota 2. The biggest complaint I have, is that most (sadly) of the skins for the heroes are just awful. Some of them just don't look good, which is fine, I can just stay away from them, but some of the skins are just childish and ridiculous, which really bugs me out. Expand
  7. yum
    Aug 24, 2014
    0
    Atrocious ban system! HiRez makes money off permabanning people. And they dont care about checking reasons at all.A lot of things are veryAtrocious ban system! HiRez makes money off permabanning people. And they dont care about checking reasons at all.A lot of things are very very wrong with this system!

    The smite servers arent often times not as stable as they should be and it happens that you will be kicked from the lobby for no reason. Thats a deserter debuff for you. (and if you get deserter too often you get banned!)

    People report too much in this game. If you have a bad game.. you will get reported for feeding. If you are annoyed because some dude feeds the enemy team and you simply spam the ingame emotes a few times whenever he dies, you will get reported for harass.

    Even if you play a decent game but your team loses anyway.. yup thats a report for you! It's really really bad. Especially as a support you can eat your heart out with CC and helping others and your team will still insult and report you in hopes of getting you banned if you lose (solution dont play support ever!).

    The worst thing by far is that smite checks for other programs running while you run smite (e.g. detecting cheat engine). But not only does smite not care wether or not you actually USE the program to modify the game and instant permaban it also missdetects some programs like a few graphic card addons and performance trackers.

    The ban count is never reset so earlier or later you WILL get the 1 year ban.

    The only thing i can recommend is to not spend any real money on cosmetics or god unlocks simply because it will be gone earlier or later
    Expand

See all 195 User Reviews