Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 500 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players choose from a selection of mythical gods, join session-based arena combat, and use custom powers and team tactics against other player-controlled gods and non-player controlled minions.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Mar 26, 2014
    95
    Hi Rez studios has a game changer on their hands here. SMITE is an incredibly fun and addicting MOBA that is perfect for those who are looking from a change of pace from your typical MOBA.
  2. Mar 25, 2014
    90
    Smite is an excellent addition to an expanding genre, and one that distinguishes itself from the rest of the pack with decidedly different gameplay, a quirky and lighthearted take on classic mythology, and a variety of interesting modes.
  3. Apr 10, 2014
    86
    Smite makes the MOBA more approachable with smart tweaks to the formula and action RPG-inspired combat.
  4. Apr 1, 2014
    85
    Each map is polished, every God looks and sounds great, and exceptional Match of the Day modes offer plenty of variety. Some late-game balance issues aside, Smite’s divine execution of innovative ideas make it a worthy contender.
  5. May 19, 2014
    80
    The product of Hi Rez Studios is well made, and offers different feelings from those of its competitors, thanks to the different camera angle and a fast paced gameplay.
  6. Apr 24, 2014
    80
    Smite is invigorating. It’s not another MOBA. It takes one aspect of a MOBA’s structure and builds on it until it's something else entirely. Smite has developed into an action game. One with lanes, creeps and towers, all the things you’d expect from a MOBA, but even the familiar looks different when viewed from Smite’s refreshing perspective.
  7. 60
    A different camera angle along with great e-sport support can't hide the fact that this has been done before, with better result.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 138
  1. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    You can play Cupid! 10/10 . Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    Insanely addicting, worth giving it at least a few hours and try a couple of different gods, most gods are viable, balance is great. Devs are constantly listening and updating new things every 2 weeks or so. Just an awesome mix of MOBA and somewhat FPS Expand
  3. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    I've been playing mobas for a few years now and smite has done a great job with champions. Skillful, distinct and exciting. The game is free to play - a plus - so you can try it. A bonus: the graphics and art of the game are much better than the usual for a moba.

    I was surprised by the different game modes available in the game. I bet other games will try to copy these game modes. They add a lot of new strategy to the game.

    Before playing smite, I didn't realize how much better first person is compared to overhead/top-down type view. First person allows you a faster play style and also more strategy (maneuvering behind others). I wonder if other mobas will try to create a first person view for their games.

    My new favorite moba and well worth a try.
    Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    I've played Smite since closed beta in Summer 2012 and I liked the gameplay already back then. But Smite has changed and improved so much over the last year. I've never seen any other game develop at such a rapid speed and only get better with each update. The team behind Smite cares for this game as much as the player does.
    The crazy thing is, that the game still feels refreshing and exciting to me. And that's coming from a guy who has played it for almost 2 years now. I never thought I'd get so hooked on a MOBA. But I did!
    Smite's gameplay is action-packed, engaging and most importantly just really fun. The art direction and theme on the game is also great - nothing beats playing gods and godesses of the ancient time.
    Expand
  5. Jul 6, 2014
    9
    When downloading this game, I looked on the internet at what people thought of it as opposed to other MOBAs. People generally said that DotA 2 and/or League of Legends are better, and thought about this as I started the game up. After playing over forty eight hours of the game, I can clarify that these statements are false. SMITE is by far the best MOBA that I have ever played. It takes the good aspects of all MOBAs and puts them into a more action-packed, friendly, and generally much more interesting game. It features the classic tri-lane gamemode while also adding several others to break up the monotony of one singular map. This was a problem that DotA 2 had, and SMITE has surpassed it in that respect.
    It also features a gigantic character roster of over 90 gods to play, each one purchasable either with an in-game currency or with real-world money. Each god is very unique, has their own way of hacking, slashing, and hitting B to warp back to base.
    Its graphics are very nice also, they're just as high-fidelity as DotA but are more realistic than both League and DotA, and so personal preference decides which you prefer. This game's community is far better than DotA 2's, and makes League's look like the final circle of hell. People are always happy to help players out, work together, listen to voice commands and so on.
    This game's biggest negative however is that it's held down by a ton of the classic MOBA rules that have League of Legends twitching on the floor covered in bees. It keeps the whole "purchasing gods" aspect, albeit bypassable by the Ultimate-God-Pack, but it also has unfair voting mechanics, unchangeable characters once locked in, and the last hitting rule. But if those are not bothersome to you, SMITE is an absolutely wonderful game with plenty of potential to keep growing and growing.
    Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2014
    9
    one of the best moba on the market right now, some balance issues but nothing that cant be fixed. the best thing about this game is that you really can experience it for free/ Expand
  7. May 4, 2014
    0
    SMITE is among the many recent MOBA games that tries to piggy-back on the success of League of Legends and DOTA that falls horribly short of being a quality game. The characters and their abilities are completely unoriginal (some are even almost direct copies of League champions), the items are astonishingly derivative of LOL, the map is boring and what little innovation they bring to the table is mired in mediocre graphics and boring gameplay.

    League and DOTA are more original, more innovative, and honestly just a lot more fun than Smite. Don't believe the 300 people who for some reason think otherwise
    Expand

See all 138 User Reviews