Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 607 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players choose from a selection of mythical gods, join session-based arena combat, and use custom powers and team tactics against other player-controlled gods and non-player controlled minions.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 26, 2014
    95
    Hi Rez studios has a game changer on their hands here. SMITE is an incredibly fun and addicting MOBA that is perfect for those who are looking from a change of pace from your typical MOBA.
  2. Mar 25, 2014
    90
    Smite is an excellent addition to an expanding genre, and one that distinguishes itself from the rest of the pack with decidedly different gameplay, a quirky and lighthearted take on classic mythology, and a variety of interesting modes.
  3. Apr 10, 2014
    86
    Smite makes the MOBA more approachable with smart tweaks to the formula and action RPG-inspired combat.
  4. Aug 8, 2014
    83
    Smite is alternative to Dota and LoL suited to beginners as well as veterans of the genre.
  5. May 19, 2014
    80
    The product of Hi Rez Studios is well made, and offers different feelings from those of its competitors, thanks to the different camera angle and a fast paced gameplay.
  6. Apr 24, 2014
    80
    Smite is invigorating. It’s not another MOBA. It takes one aspect of a MOBA’s structure and builds on it until it's something else entirely. Smite has developed into an action game. One with lanes, creeps and towers, all the things you’d expect from a MOBA, but even the familiar looks different when viewed from Smite’s refreshing perspective.
  7. 60
    A different camera angle along with great e-sport support can't hide the fact that this has been done before, with better result.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 172
  1. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    You can play Cupid! 10/10You can play Cupid! 10/10 . Expand
  2. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    SMITE takes a new approach on MOBAS, taking it down from Top view to 3rd person. As the first MOBA game I have played SMITE made theSMITE takes a new approach on MOBAS, taking it down from Top view to 3rd person. As the first MOBA game I have played SMITE made the transition from shooter games (Both first and thrid) to MOBAs an easy thing. SMITE will really help you as a catalyst to learning the MOBA style without starting where skillcaps are very high and new players are very poorly treated. SMITE offers great cost effectiveness with its pack for all gods (heroes/champs) for only 30$ Expand
  3. Sep 25, 2014
    10
    I played LoL until lvl 28.. and then i found Smite and stopped playing LoL. Smite is way better, it has some problems when you're playingI played LoL until lvl 28.. and then i found Smite and stopped playing LoL. Smite is way better, it has some problems when you're playing alone because of the people you team up with... some of them are bad players and you some times cant find a good team. But that happens in LoL too soo, that is not a good comparison. Still, Smite has better graphics, strategy and gods are awesome! You just need to find a Clan like en WoW or any other game and play with your clan mates. Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    This game is overall well designed. It's an original MOBA, the graphics are quite great at maximum settings, the performance is above averageThis game is overall well designed. It's an original MOBA, the graphics are quite great at maximum settings, the performance is above average for me atleast and the gameplay is really fun. It's an easy MOBA to learn compared to others like League of Legends and DOTA 2. As a MOBA, it is very original, since all these new aspects/tweaks are brought to the genre. Overall, great game and amazingly designed. The developers, Hi-Rez Studios, listen to the community incredibly well and better than any other devs I've seen, you can trust me on this since I've been apart of the community since the closed beta. Hi-Rez is always trying to give us new content, upgraded content, and overall a better game quality, which i enjoy greatly from developers. 10/10, this game has been the best I've ever played for this last year and a half. Expand
  5. Apr 7, 2014
    9
    This was the game that got me to register for a metacritic account. Smite is a small-time game that deserves my voice, and other players'This was the game that got me to register for a metacritic account. Smite is a small-time game that deserves my voice, and other players' voices, to vouch for it on its behalf. It has to compete with huge powerhouse players in the MOBA market.

    Smite is a great game, that for me, raises the bar for the MOBA genre. Personally, the combat and perspective just feels so right. Its fluid, allows for insanely skillful plays, and responsive. Every time I die, I can tell why I died and the balancing seems fair. When you're having a good game, you really feel like a badass versus a traditional moba, due to the enhanced action combat. I think the movements do seem SLIGHTLY floaty, and would love to see a more powerful physics engine if they were ever to make a sequel. Overall it feels very kickass to play though and when you're having a great game you feel like a GOD.

    There are several competitive game modes offered. My favorite alternate game mode is the Arena, where Hi-Rez absolutely nailed the gladiator coliseum experience. The roaring crowds after plays are made....the aesthetic....the straight up 5v5 brawling from the beginning of the game....It's all there.

    Also the Ultimate God Pack is such a great value for your dollar. I recommend purchasing it if the game grabs you.

    Please give smite a try, especially if you're looking for something "new".
    Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2014
    8
    third person, skill shots, and more game modes than I know what to do with give a fresh look on MOBAS.
    the game overall is great. There are
    third person, skill shots, and more game modes than I know what to do with give a fresh look on MOBAS.
    the game overall is great. There are only really 2 major drawbacks for me optimization, and servers (reasons posted below)

    Drawback one: is that the game isn't that well optimized, but they have been doing their best to optimize their lower end settings for lower end pc's, personally doesn't effect me, but then again no matter what I set my settings too I get the same frame rate.

    Drawback two: is that the servers are kind of messy for the time being, the US servers are based out of Atlanta and I live on the west coast, they do have a few servers out here, but it is very rare to get them so ping can be a huge issue with the game, and even beyond this I have friends who live near Atlanta who still have some crazy lag and ping issues.

    overall I give it an 8/10 the game is great, so much that I have spent more money on this free to play than I have on any other Free to play or standard $60 game + whatever DLC it may have. (im looking at you call of duty world at war and black ops and your damn nazi zombies)
    Expand
  7. yum
    Aug 24, 2014
    0
    Atrocious ban system! HiRez makes money off permabanning people. And they dont care about checking reasons at all.A lot of things are veryAtrocious ban system! HiRez makes money off permabanning people. And they dont care about checking reasons at all.A lot of things are very very wrong with this system!

    The smite servers arent often times not as stable as they should be and it happens that you will be kicked from the lobby for no reason. Thats a deserter debuff for you. (and if you get deserter too often you get banned!)

    People report too much in this game. If you have a bad game.. you will get reported for feeding. If you are annoyed because some dude feeds the enemy team and you simply spam the ingame emotes a few times whenever he dies, you will get reported for harass.

    Even if you play a decent game but your team loses anyway.. yup thats a report for you! It's really really bad. Especially as a support you can eat your heart out with CC and helping others and your team will still insult and report you in hopes of getting you banned if you lose (solution dont play support ever!).

    The worst thing by far is that smite checks for other programs running while you run smite (e.g. detecting cheat engine). But not only does smite not care wether or not you actually USE the program to modify the game and instant permaban it also missdetects some programs like a few graphic card addons and performance trackers.

    The ban count is never reset so earlier or later you WILL get the 1 year ban.

    The only thing i can recommend is to not spend any real money on cosmetics or god unlocks simply because it will be gone earlier or later
    Expand

See all 172 User Reviews