Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 489 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players choose from a selection of mythical gods, join session-based arena combat, and use custom powers and team tactics against other player-controlled gods and non-player controlled minions.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Mar 26, 2014
    95
    Hi Rez studios has a game changer on their hands here. SMITE is an incredibly fun and addicting MOBA that is perfect for those who are looking from a change of pace from your typical MOBA.
  2. Mar 25, 2014
    90
    Smite is an excellent addition to an expanding genre, and one that distinguishes itself from the rest of the pack with decidedly different gameplay, a quirky and lighthearted take on classic mythology, and a variety of interesting modes.
  3. Apr 10, 2014
    86
    Smite makes the MOBA more approachable with smart tweaks to the formula and action RPG-inspired combat.
  4. Apr 1, 2014
    85
    Each map is polished, every God looks and sounds great, and exceptional Match of the Day modes offer plenty of variety. Some late-game balance issues aside, Smite’s divine execution of innovative ideas make it a worthy contender.
  5. May 6, 2014
    80
    By adding just a third-person perspective, SMITE entirely changes the way we play MOBA. As a player you're feeling more in control over your character, which results in a more intense and better multiplayer experience.
  6. Mar 25, 2014
    80
    Smite is a godsend for the MOBA genre, with the heart of its gameplay proving that innovation to the war plan for tower siege games is possible. With just a few changes to what other games have delivered before, Smite manages to feel like a brand-new game.
  7. 60
    A different camera angle along with great e-sport support can't hide the fact that this has been done before, with better result.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 137
  1. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    You can play Cupid! 10/10 . Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    Insanely addicting, worth giving it at least a few hours and try a couple of different gods, most gods are viable, balance is great. Devs are constantly listening and updating new things every 2 weeks or so. Just an awesome mix of MOBA and somewhat FPS Expand
  3. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    I've been playing mobas for a few years now and smite has done a great job with champions. Skillful, distinct and exciting. The game is free to play - a plus - so you can try it. A bonus: the graphics and art of the game are much better than the usual for a moba.

    I was surprised by the different game modes available in the game. I bet other games will try to copy these game modes. They add a lot of new strategy to the game.

    Before playing smite, I didn't realize how much better first person is compared to overhead/top-down type view. First person allows you a faster play style and also more strategy (maneuvering behind others). I wonder if other mobas will try to create a first person view for their games.

    My new favorite moba and well worth a try.
    Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    I've played Smite since closed beta in Summer 2012 and I liked the gameplay already back then. But Smite has changed and improved so much over the last year. I've never seen any other game develop at such a rapid speed and only get better with each update. The team behind Smite cares for this game as much as the player does.
    The crazy thing is, that the game still feels refreshing and exciting to me. And that's coming from a guy who has played it for almost 2 years now. I never thought I'd get so hooked on a MOBA. But I did!
    Smite's gameplay is action-packed, engaging and most importantly just really fun. The art direction and theme on the game is also great - nothing beats playing gods and godesses of the ancient time.
    Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2014
    9
    good arena game play, very MMO like battleground with 50+ characters to choose from. worth the money to buy Ultimate God Pack..

    I played as
    a tank, yet I can still kill people without much dmg because of the CC. Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2014
    9
    Played a bit of LoL and DOTA 2, liked them but find them inaccessible. Then started playing IC and really enjoyed that due to the subject matter and really got into the game, not great at it but learning. Thought that would be it for me moving forward till I played Smite.

    Great game, very playable, nice character design and lots of good game options. Free to play with a few champions but you can buy all the gods for £20!

    The one downside of all the MOBAs I have played, the idiots who play them. So far only met a couple of really foul individuals but its the internet right! If you are looking for what feels like a more action orientated MOBA then this is it.
    Expand
  7. May 4, 2014
    0
    SMITE is among the many recent MOBA games that tries to piggy-back on the success of League of Legends and DOTA that falls horribly short of being a quality game. The characters and their abilities are completely unoriginal (some are even almost direct copies of League champions), the items are astonishingly derivative of LOL, the map is boring and what little innovation they bring to the table is mired in mediocre graphics and boring gameplay.

    League and DOTA are more original, more innovative, and honestly just a lot more fun than Smite. Don't believe the 300 people who for some reason think otherwise
    Expand

See all 137 User Reviews