Snapshot PC

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 4 out of 20

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    A remarkably well-created, imaginative and unique game - it combines the arcade feel of an early platformer with artistic elements and smooth physics engines. The snapshot system that provides the crux for the puzzles could have gone disastrously wrong, but superb execution made sure this wasn't the case. What I especially like is how all the puzzles have a friendly nature andA remarkably well-created, imaginative and unique game - it combines the arcade feel of an early platformer with artistic elements and smooth physics engines. The snapshot system that provides the crux for the puzzles could have gone disastrously wrong, but superb execution made sure this wasn't the case. What I especially like is how all the puzzles have a friendly nature and first-appearance easiness in difficulty to appeal to casual gamers, while those seeking a challenge can aim to complete time trials and find the hidden items of each level. All in all, it's worth every penny - it'll have you hooked and beaming at its own ingenuity. Expand
  2. Dec 21, 2012
    6
    Edited REview: This game is amazing, intuitive, and entertaining. I'd give it a higher score, but there are a few annoying flaws.. When you taking pictures and want to flip through them, it's not very intuitive. When you want to take pictures of the landscape, it's more trial and error than precision. Additionally, when you walk close to ledges, the game seems to want to throw you off atEdited REview: This game is amazing, intuitive, and entertaining. I'd give it a higher score, but there are a few annoying flaws.. When you taking pictures and want to flip through them, it's not very intuitive. When you want to take pictures of the landscape, it's more trial and error than precision. Additionally, when you walk close to ledges, the game seems to want to throw you off at times for unknown reasons. This is only the beginning. There's all sorts of glitches where you have to restart the level if you do 1 thing wrong and you if you jump towards the top of the screen, it actually knocks you down in a dumb way that i thought Mario taught us not to design games in that way. This game, if tweaked, could have easily gotten a 9 or a 10, but i think an 6 is a reasonable score, as it stands. Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2012
    10
    This game was totally amazing. Not only did the puzzles really get me to scratch my head (and gave me great delight when I solved them) - the beautiful graphics and flawless soundtrack made it a complete pleasure to play. It has a great deal of replay value and at the price I bought it ($12.99 which included the soundtrack) it was worth every bit of my money. The soundtrack came with extraThis game was totally amazing. Not only did the puzzles really get me to scratch my head (and gave me great delight when I solved them) - the beautiful graphics and flawless soundtrack made it a complete pleasure to play. It has a great deal of replay value and at the price I bought it ($12.99 which included the soundtrack) it was worth every bit of my money. The soundtrack came with extra songs on it that were not included in the game and is very high quality. Overall, this game is wickedly fun and stunningly crafted. Expand
  4. Sep 4, 2012
    9
    Snapshot, from developers at Retro Affect, really impressed me. I have spent over 11 hours on the game and still feel like I have not seen anywhere near all this game has to offer. The visuals are crisp, and fill the screen with a nice 2-D colorful environment. At a $9.99 price tag ($8.99 if you purchase it on steam this week!) its really hard to go wrong here. The music is phenomenalSnapshot, from developers at Retro Affect, really impressed me. I have spent over 11 hours on the game and still feel like I have not seen anywhere near all this game has to offer. The visuals are crisp, and fill the screen with a nice 2-D colorful environment. At a $9.99 price tag ($8.99 if you purchase it on steam this week!) its really hard to go wrong here. The music is phenomenal (beware of how catchy and addictive the main theme song is). The sound is also great. The game, like many puzzle-based games, continues to challenge the gamer. Snapshot really, really does this well. Starting off feels very easy, but just you wait. It demands open-minded thinking from the gamer and it really wants you to use every resource at your disposal to beat the more advanced levels. Simply put, Snapshot is a great game. One that deserves both your time and money. Hearing that this game offers 20+ hours of gameplay makes it all the better. Go get this game. You will not regret it! Collapse
  5. Sep 4, 2012
    9
    Snapshot, from developers at Retro Affect, really impressed me. I have spent over 11 hours on the game and still feel like I have not seen anywhere near all this game has to offer. The visuals are crisp, and fill the screen with a nice 2-D colorful environment. At a $9.99 price tag ($8.99 if you purchase it on steam this week!) its really hard to go wrong here. The music is phenomenalSnapshot, from developers at Retro Affect, really impressed me. I have spent over 11 hours on the game and still feel like I have not seen anywhere near all this game has to offer. The visuals are crisp, and fill the screen with a nice 2-D colorful environment. At a $9.99 price tag ($8.99 if you purchase it on steam this week!) its really hard to go wrong here. The music is phenomenal (beware of how catchy and addictive the main theme song is). The sound is also great. The game, like many puzzle-based games, continues to challenge the gamer. Snapshot really, really does this well. Starting off feels very easy, but just you wait. It demands open-minded thinking from the gamer and it really wants you to use every resource at your disposal to beat the more advanced levels. Simply put, Snapshot is a great game. One that deserves both your time and money. Hearing that this game offers 20+ hours of gameplay makes it all the better. Go get this game. You will not regret it! Collapse

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. PC Gamer
    Nov 6, 2012
    80
    Snapshot is a charming, challenging platformer with innovative puzzles and a generous helping of good ideas. [Holiday 2012, p.72]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 29, 2012
    80
    Ingenious and surprisingly original platformer shows that there are still ways to improve and refresh this genre. [Oct 2012]
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    50
    Snapshot is not a title where you can sit down and expect to strap yourself in for an instant gratifying haul.