Sniper Elite III PC

Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 279 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sniper Elite 3 continues the story of elite OSS sniper Karl Fairburne during World War II. The title takes players to the unforgiving yet exotic terrain of WWII’s North Africa conflict in a battle against a deadly new foe.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jul 16, 2014
    82
    Sniper Elite III is clearly the best game in the series. Rebellion managed to correct some of the previous games' glaring mistakes and improve on its already compelling game mechanics. The only thing keeping it from achieving a higher score is a lack of focus in the story department and a couple of relatively minor flaws. Otherwise, highly recommended to both fans of the series and newcomers alike.
  2. Jun 26, 2014
    80
    Anyone who enjoys a good tactical shooter, especially those with an affinity for the long-range kill, would do well to check it out.
  3. Jun 30, 2014
    80
    Sniper Elite III has some flaws - the AI works in mysterious ways and the storyline is silly. These minor issues don't cloud the complete image - the game is a well thought-out package with a good single-player campaign (full of semi-open missions), satisfying co-op and a solid, original multiplayer mode. You should definitely give Sniper Elite III a Chance.
  4. Jul 1, 2014
    70
    Fun sniping and great mission design just barely eclipse bugs, exploitable AI, and other issues that would make a lesser game impossible to recommend.
  5. Jul 30, 2014
    70
    Fun enough for some dedicated campers, with some truly tense multiplayer action. [Aug 2014, p.50]
  6. Jul 6, 2014
    70
    Sniper Elite III is like working from home for me. Although I enjoy the tasks and executing them, I feel like there are ways to make doing them more rewarding and engaging.
  7. 60
    Good atmosphere, lovelly weapons but the many bugs and the idiotic enemies makes for a pretty big let down.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 54
  2. Negative: 14 out of 54
  1. Jul 16, 2014
    10
    this is best game ever created...i want thic key because i love sniper elite,i complite sniper elite V2 and i have good thinks about sniperthis is best game ever created...i want thic key because i love sniper elite,i complite sniper elite V2 and i have good thinks about sniper elitte and i want to complete this part Expand
  2. Jul 6, 2014
    9
    Sniper Elite III is a thinking man's shooter. In this game, you can't run in guns blazing, because even though you can equip machine guns andSniper Elite III is a thinking man's shooter. In this game, you can't run in guns blazing, because even though you can equip machine guns and pistols, you'll be dead in an instant. Instead, you have to be slow and careful. You have to snipe while loud noises are happening to avoid detection, or take enemies out up close with stealth takedowns or a silenced pistol.

    The stealthy approach is what makes this game stand out among other shooters on the market. Even with a sniper rifle in your hands, a good vantage point, and loud noises to mask your shots, you still have to steady your breathing and take wind and gravity into account when firing, so you're never firing off shots like crazy. Pressing the E key makes your character hold his breath and steady his aim, which causes a little red diamond to show you where the bullet will fall. Using this feature, you can make extremely accurate shots even from the greatest of distances. Kills are extremely satisfying too, thanks to the game's slow-motion X-ray kill cams, which let you see your bullets burst through skulls, lungs and other organs in a shower of gore.

    The single-player presents you with wide-open levels to explore, complete with optional objectives and collectibles. How you tackle these levels is completely up to you, and thanks to the great level design, being spotted doesn't mean you always have to restart from an older save. It's entirely possible to become hidden again, and resume your silent kill spree. The game's levels also strike a smart balance between quiet, stealthy operations, and loud, bombastic scenes wherein waves of enemies rush in just begging to be popped off.

    The game's multiplayer mode incorporates all the elements of the single-player mode, and the leveling system works across both modes, so whether you're playing alone or online, you're constantly unlocking new weapons and equipment. There are also plenty of customization options for online games, so you can choose to make the sniping more or less realistic depending on your preference.

    The game includes standard game modes like Deathmatch, but the best modes are the ones that encourage long distance sniping. No Cross is easily the game's best mode, as there is a barrier in the center of the map, leaving players with no choice but to find a vantage point and snipe from across the level. The game's deliberate pace works well online, making for some really tense moments as you and a rival sniper try to line each other up in your sights. And although there is some occasional slowdown and lag, the multiplayer runs well most of the time.

    The story is hardly worth mentioning, as it's clearly just an excuse to get you into levels and killing people. The voice acting is decent, but the characters and the plot are both extremely barebones. Graphically, however, Sniper Elite III is beautiful. The African landscapes you'll find yourself battling in are all wonderfully realized, and they're helped by great lighting, detailed textures, and good character models. The sound design is wonderful as well, with great battlefield noises in the louder portions and subtle ambient sounds in the quieter parts. Guns are satisfying to fire, and the squishy sound of heads getting blasted is always a macabre delight.

    I can't recommend this game enough. It's got a few issues here and there, such as texture pop-in, slowdown, and its weak story, but the core gameplay should be insanely fun and satisfying to anyone who's a fan of stealth. Even at full price it's absolutely worth the money, which isn't something I often say about games these days.
    Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2014
    8
    Complaints on V2: Being too much of a corridor-shooter, no way to go stealth, bullet-cam excess.

    They've all been fixed in Sniper Elite 3.
    Complaints on V2: Being too much of a corridor-shooter, no way to go stealth, bullet-cam excess.

    They've all been fixed in Sniper Elite 3. The areas are vast, the gameplay is still similar, but you can actually mask your shots now. You can decide if you want to see the bullet-cam at all or just let it show on every shot. The gore-detail is excellent and highly satisfying. Still not a perfect game, but miles above of what V2 was. Well worth the full price.
    Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2014
    7
    So I have been playing Sniper Elite III for a few days now, and I have a few things to say about it: Overall, it's very fun, the stealthSo I have been playing Sniper Elite III for a few days now, and I have a few things to say about it: Overall, it's very fun, the stealth mechanics make the game more interesting, it gives you a challenge. You're constantly having to manage where is and where isn't a safe place to shoot from. I recommend you play this game on Elite enemy difficulty and limited ballistics, it's only on elite that the enemies would function like a real soldier would when a sniper is around, when they know your location, they will actively sweep the area around you in a sequence, making it much more enjoyable to pick them off one by one while relocating around the map. The reason I only recommend limited ballistics is because it adds that extra level of immersion and it's still easy to use. Playing on the highest ballistic level makes it a bit too difficult, the wind seems to be blowing at 100 mph 24/7 on that difficulty, and it's near impossible to pull off a successful hit without steadying your aim. The game also only has 8 missions, they're all about an hour long and have plenty of different ways to go about them. Oh, and I have noticed a few bugs here and there, most of which are not game breaking in any way except one. Every now and then, there's a bug where your weapons won't damage enemies, it's very annoying, but easily fixable, just reload your last save, luckily it only occurs right after you save, so you won't have to work your way back to where you were. If it happens, just quicksave and reload, problem solved(I have only noticed this bug in story mode). The game does have some replablility for the completionist gamers. There are many collectibles scattered around every map containing various things like important information, letters from soldiers, etc. As well as the story, there's also a multiplayer and a survival mode. I played a bit of both and they both seem very fun. Survival mode is the traditional horde mode, where you defend against wave after wave of enemies, and I will say, it's pretty tricky. It takes some serious skill to complete survival mode, so it can keep you busy for awhile if that's your thing. The multiplayer seemed very fun as well. The maps are well designed for sniping and there can be some pretty intense counter-sniping battles to be had. I think this game deserves at least a 7. It is very fun and I do recommend it, but the fact that there are still a few bugs present, and there's only eight missions, makes it fall lower on my ranking as a whole. Expand
  5. Apr 17, 2015
    6
    The game's pretty interesting with how the developer's tried to refine bullet physics, which I don't think any other game series has doneThe game's pretty interesting with how the developer's tried to refine bullet physics, which I don't think any other game series has done before. However, the game's entire appeal is a sense of realism. And all that goes out the **** window when the enemies aren't hindered by getting shot anywhere there isn't a vital organ. I swear to god, I shot somebody in their foot, and when they gave up looking for me, he was walking around like all the other AI. It would make the game so much better if when you were using your rifle, all the AI would either die or become incapacitated in one shot. You might say that's unfair, or too easy, but I also think the player should die in one to two shots. Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2014
    5
    Can't quickscope, but the fish AI is incredibly well augmented and excecuted.
    Basically sniper v2 in africa, in a sense nothing mush has
    Can't quickscope, but the fish AI is incredibly well augmented and excecuted.
    Basically sniper v2 in africa, in a sense nothing mush has changed, hopefully the franchise will not become the next call of duty.
    Overall 5/10 decent gameplay.
    Expand
  7. Jul 8, 2014
    0
    Garbage, bug filled, lack of content crap . The Day 1 DLC is absolutely disgusting considering how little content is there for the askingGarbage, bug filled, lack of content crap . The Day 1 DLC is absolutely disgusting considering how little content is there for the asking price. Bugs! Bugs! and more Bugs! The game is a bug filled mess! Only the truly stupid would ever support this developer after this release. It spits in the pc gamers face and shows just how little respect this company has for it's customers. Expand

See all 54 User Reviews