Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 254 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sniper Elite 3 continues the story of elite OSS sniper Karl Fairburne during World War II. The title takes players to the unforgiving yet exotic terrain of WWII’s North Africa conflict in a battle against a deadly new foe.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jul 16, 2014
    82
    Sniper Elite III is clearly the best game in the series. Rebellion managed to correct some of the previous games' glaring mistakes and improve on its already compelling game mechanics. The only thing keeping it from achieving a higher score is a lack of focus in the story department and a couple of relatively minor flaws. Otherwise, highly recommended to both fans of the series and newcomers alike.
  2. Jun 26, 2014
    80
    Anyone who enjoys a good tactical shooter, especially those with an affinity for the long-range kill, would do well to check it out.
  3. Jun 30, 2014
    80
    Sniper Elite III has some flaws - the AI works in mysterious ways and the storyline is silly. These minor issues don't cloud the complete image - the game is a well thought-out package with a good single-player campaign (full of semi-open missions), satisfying co-op and a solid, original multiplayer mode. You should definitely give Sniper Elite III a Chance.
  4. Jul 1, 2014
    70
    Fun sniping and great mission design just barely eclipse bugs, exploitable AI, and other issues that would make a lesser game impossible to recommend.
  5. Jul 30, 2014
    70
    Fun enough for some dedicated campers, with some truly tense multiplayer action. [Aug 2014, p.50]
  6. Jul 6, 2014
    70
    Sniper Elite III is like working from home for me. Although I enjoy the tasks and executing them, I feel like there are ways to make doing them more rewarding and engaging.
  7. 60
    Good atmosphere, lovelly weapons but the many bugs and the idiotic enemies makes for a pretty big let down.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 48
  2. Negative: 11 out of 48
  1. Jul 16, 2014
    10
    this is best game ever created...i want thic key because i love sniper elite,i complite sniper elite V2 and i have good thinks about sniperthis is best game ever created...i want thic key because i love sniper elite,i complite sniper elite V2 and i have good thinks about sniper elitte and i want to complete this part Collapse
  2. Jul 1, 2014
    9
    Wer den Vorgänger mochte wird mit dem 3. Hauptteil der Serie seine Freude haben.
    Die KI aka Deutschen sind zwar immer noch Strohdumm aber
    Wer den Vorgänger mochte wird mit dem 3. Hauptteil der Serie seine Freude haben.
    Die KI aka Deutschen sind zwar immer noch Strohdumm aber deutlich Authentischer als in V2.
    Optisch eine wirkliche Verbesserung zum Vorgänger auch die Atmosphäre der Landschaft wird gut eingefangen, und dabei hasse ich persönliche in der Wüste Region spielen.

    Die Story ist vorhanden und man kann ihr gut folgen auch wenn sie nicht sonderlich "Potig" aber von einem Sniper Spiel erwarte ich keine "Hitman: Absolution" Erzählung.

    Mein gesamt Einruck nach 20 Stunden ist "Sniper Elite V2 + Verbesserung"
    Wieso an allem etwas verändern wenn es doch schon ok war.
    Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2014
    8
    This was my first entry into the Sniper Elite franchise and I am not afraid to admit that I bought the game for the simple outlet of a powerThis was my first entry into the Sniper Elite franchise and I am not afraid to admit that I bought the game for the simple outlet of a power fantasy supported by a most satisfactory depiction of successful hits. As expected the X-Ray cam loses some of it's charm over time, but the timing is well chosen so it doesn't get drawn out unless one has to play the same passages over and over again.
    Speaking of the passages. I played the game solely on the authentic mode, because I tend to like a challenge, which is just nonexistent if one can save at any point in time. It took me a few tries to identify the games mechanics, especially when it comes to stealth. But in the end I liked it quite a lot. It is good when just by playing you start to understand how the rules of the game work and can immediately start to apply them and get feedback for your decisions.
    The AI is not very clever, predictable really, but I call that a plus for this kind of game. The view range in daylight is already quite a hassle if you try to go Ghost (never be seen at all). Especially in a game where you are supposed to be the lone incredibly skilled super soldier I want a certain predictability in order to plan out how to clear out an area and that satisfying feeling to have a plan work in the very end.
    Graphic is fine, the gory part (x-ray cam) has a lot of effort put into it, although I mostly only get to see the inside of the head, guess that is based on play style.
    Most enjoyable of all was the ability to play coop with one friend. Synchronized shots during noise to take out two people before either can react to the other's death, multi angle scouting of an area. Using one player as bait and having the other in a snipers nest pick of the baited enemies. If I was to judge just my coop experience so far I would give it a 9 out of 10 for the pure joy of it.
    Major flaw for me is the wobbly responsiveness in using items and aiming them, especially when it comes to placing stuff on the ground.
    My final rating is based on my enjoyment of the game so far, which would encompass fifteen hours of play, half of it being in coop.
    Expand
  4. Aug 31, 2014
    7
    The game is is filled with awesome moments you can create for yourself by either doing that hype x-ray **** which is friggin' awesome or youThe game is is filled with awesome moments you can create for yourself by either doing that hype x-ray **** which is friggin' awesome or you can have the "pro" feel by killing people while they don't even see you in multiplayer. This game does not frown upon camping... only using sprint (Lmao) Which brings me to the miltiplayer section of the review first (That's a new one). The multiplayer is just basically what you have in the game EXCEPT it has no x-ray kills which makes it like any other third person shooter (it still has the slow-motion bullet coming out of your rifle thing).
    Now for the singleplayer. The gameplay is fun, you got your stealth and stuff which is pretty simple, now for the story. To be honest I found the story really- well, boring. I just didn't care about the story at all. I was to busy in stealth and killing people that I forgot that it had a story (I just remembered when I was writing this review). I think this is the reason I rated it 7/10.

    Friendly Advice for reviewers: Don't rate a game zero just because it has day one DLC, if you can't help it then just stop writing reviews because it just wastes people's time.
    Expand
  5. Jul 9, 2014
    6
    Story:
    Sniper Elite III is set several years prior to the events of Sniper Elite V2, following the exploits of Office of Strategic Services
    Story:
    Sniper Elite III is set several years prior to the events of Sniper Elite V2, following the exploits of Office of Strategic Services officer Karl Fairburne as he participates in the North African conflict during World War II, in which he learns of a secret wonder weapon programmed by the Nazi forces. Just like in V2, the story here is boring and uninteresting, and our protagonist is the same generic American hero from the 1st. Honestly, I could just paste my V2 review of the story here and no one would notice because of how bad both game's narratives are. 2/10

    Gameplay:
    Everything returns from the 2nd game along with a few tweaks added. The awesome bullet-cam, smart A.I., hidden collectibles, good level design, and improved customization are here along with a weapon wheel, and a progressional system that applies to both single player and multiplayer. There are 8 missions in total, and each one will take around 20+ minutes if you take your time with each of them. Unfortunately, the bad combat also returns with the cross-hair still being a pain to use when spotted. In conclusion, the gameplay here is largely unchanged from the 2nd game. 6/10

    Graphics:
    The biggest change/improvement this game has is in its graphics department. The setting of Africa is a more interesting setting for the game than the generic Berlin setting in the 2nd game. Because of this, the colors and world design had to match the setting. There's more vibrant colors here than in the 2nd, the textures are better here, the particle effects are improved, and the facial models look more updated. So be happy you'll have a prettier game to look at when you're sniping some poor guy's testicles off. 9/10

    Sound:
    As with the 2nd game, the sound design is great with the sniper shots sounding excellent and realistic. The score also does a good job with sound ques when you get spotted. Everything else also sounds good. The sound here is essentially the same as with the 2nd. 8/10

    Multiplayer:
    The multiplayer is the same as in the 2nd game just with less buildings in some of the maps. Since you can use your single player loadouts in the multiplayer, that allows for more customization than in the 2nd. Everything else however, feels like the 2nd game all over again. 6/10

    Verdict:
    If you enjoyed V2, get this game. If you hated V2, skip this game. If you haven't played V2, I'll say get this at around $30 or lower. It's essentially Sniper Elite V2, but with more replay value. If you want more info on how this game is, just go to my profile, and look for my V2 review as this game feels a lot like the 2nd, just slightly improved.

    Rating: 6/10
    Expand
  6. Jan 13, 2015
    5
    To be honest it's quite a mess compared to the original and the second one. It just feels less polished and rushed. Some times you will sneakTo be honest it's quite a mess compared to the original and the second one. It just feels less polished and rushed. Some times you will sneak up on an enemy and the stealth kill won't pop up and you are forced to shoot them, some times the hit detection is off even though you have the cross hairs right over the enemy, some times you shoot them in the face and they recoil but don't die. Some of the missions are monotonous like the third one with the tank you have to shoot in the same spot 3 times... It has it's fun moments but it's just too buggy and the day one DLC is ridiculous. The visuals are nice and i like the controls but they really should have polished it up more. I hope the next one is better. Expand
  7. Jul 8, 2014
    0
    Garbage, bug filled, lack of content crap . The Day 1 DLC is absolutely disgusting considering how little content is there for the askingGarbage, bug filled, lack of content crap . The Day 1 DLC is absolutely disgusting considering how little content is there for the asking price. Bugs! Bugs! and more Bugs! The game is a bug filled mess! Only the truly stupid would ever support this developer after this release. It spits in the pc gamers face and shows just how little respect this company has for it's customers. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews