Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. Mar 4, 2013
    60
    This stand-alone zombie expansion for Sniper Elite V2 can be a lot of fun in 4-player co-op, but the action gets monotonous over time.
  2. Mar 1, 2013
    80
    I expected this spinoff to be a quick cash-in of popular themes, but I found myself pleasantly surprised by just how exciting Nazi Zombie Army can be.
  3. Apr 13, 2013
    69
    Blammo-ing zombies in the face with slo-mo bullets and watching the gory results is a bit of a shambling one-trick pony, yes, but it's one that can entertain for hours. [May 2013, p.84]
  4. Mar 9, 2013
    70
    Sniper Elite: Nazi Xombie Army could be a fun challenge for everyone who played Sniper Elite V2, but only in co-op mode. In fact, the action becomes very repetitive very fast in single player mode.
  5. Mar 1, 2013
    79
    Not very original, but it brings loads of fun to the Sniper Elite V2 concept. It's more action-driven than the main series, but if you're looking for a game meant to be played with friends, this is one of the most interesting choices.
  6. Mar 11, 2013
    50
    Due to a heavier emphasis on all-out action, however, the gratifying bullet-cam pay-off becomes tiresome even sooner than it did in V2.
  7. Mar 11, 2013
    70
    Nazi Zombie Army is probably one of the blandest ideas in recent memory. I can hear groans at the simple mention of the name, but I had a ball when I managed to get into a game with three other people. It is like a third-person Left 4 Dead, with x-ray kill cams and fantastic shooting. Everything just feels solid, and for the price tag, it is hard not to recommend it to those still hungry for co-op zombie hunting.
  8. Mar 15, 2013
    70
    If you can, try not to play this game by yourself. As a single player game Nazi Zombie Army can become horribly monotonous. The crippling condition that makes the experience stale and repetitive is quickly remedied by the presence of buddies.
  9. Mar 6, 2013
    75
    Sniper Elite: Nazi Zombie Army is purely co-op experience and with such approach it doesn't fail to entertain a lot. The action is fast-paced, cooperative tactics are pretty solid, the atmosphere in scary and the Kill Cam is always exciting.
  10. Mar 23, 2013
    75
    With Sniper Elite: Nazi Zombie Army, Rebellion delivers a more-than-avarage shooter. The game lacks diversity, but thanks to the co-op it won't bother you too much. This and the great soundtrack make Rebellion's newest project a pleasant multiplayer game that fans of zombies should definitely buy.
  11. Mar 11, 2013
    70
    Sniper Elite: Nazi Zombie Army gets the job done for an interesting price, but it's clearly not the most innovative zombie game to date.
  12. Mar 24, 2013
    40
    Cheap, obvious, and unambitious but the zombie theme does at least help to circumvent the technical problems of the original, and offer up some novel co-op options.
  13. May 5, 2013
    75
    With V2's incredible mechanics being employed to take on a more morally acceptable foe, Sniper Elite: Nazi Zombie Army makes a worthy addition to the Sniper Elite franchise. With its extremely budget-friendly price and surprisingly large amount of content, NZA will please existing sniper fans, as well as anyone curious to check out what it might be like to shoot a few hundred zombies in the face from 70 yards away
  14. 65
    Whilst there’s little in the way of tactical depth to sustain the action beyond the initial rush, Rebellion’s sniping and killcam mechanics remain an interesting and satisfying prospect in the short-term.
  15. Apr 28, 2013
    50
    Four player co-op always stimulates a baseline level of fun, but this is bare bones stuff. [May 2003, p.111]
  16. Mar 9, 2013
    56
    While the game is not an utter failure, it certainly isn’t the title it could have been.
  17. Mar 8, 2013
    70
    Sure it has some shortcomings with its scripted AI design and linear levels, but at a cheap entry price of £9.99 and some solid cooperative gameplay, this is for gamers looking for some fun with friends.
  18. Mar 21, 2013
    70
    This spin-off removes all the filling to keep only what's important: the sniper rifle, the x-ray camera and lots of stupid enemies.
  19. May 7, 2013
    40
    Nazi Zombie Army is bland, not very original and unpleasant to play. The best thing about this game is the title. [CD-Action 05/2013, p.81]
  20. Mar 8, 2013
    70
    Sniper Elite: Nazi Zombie Army is a stand-alone expansion and as such should be treated. In short, do not expect a new installment in the Rebellion franchise with plot, characters, missions and stealth oriented gameplay. The final score is just an average of the single-player experience and cooperative multiplayer, where Sniper Elite: Nazi Zombie Army shows all its real value.
  21. Mar 15, 2013
    48
    Yet again, Rebellion surprised me. I mean, you have to have a very special talent to turn team-based zombie killing into a chore.
  22. Mar 17, 2013
    60
    Nazi Zombie Army is obviously meant to be played socially. The single-player experience gets boring and frustrating rather quickly.
  23. Mar 27, 2013
    40
    It is a shame that the direction that Rebellion have taken the series is an ill-advised one and a direction that is a puzzling as it is pointless.
  24. 78
    There’s a simple test that will easily let you know if you want to play this game. Read its title. Does it look interesting? If so, just buy it now- it’s tons of fun. [May 2013]
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 222 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 67
  2. Negative: 3 out of 67
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    Call of Duty wishes they could make a zombie mode as fantastic as this.
    The co-op play is intense and more than wild fun; it is insanity
    pure laughter and even some "AH!!!" type of laughing screams I had a buddy so tense a F'n lightbulb around a corner had him jump.
    The singleplayer campaign is extremely well built and executed; and the co-op which is perhaps the bread and butter is the entire single player campaign with up to 4 people adding more zombies and a higher difficulty.

    I would compare it more to L4D/L4D2 (regular mode) than to "CoD Zombies" as most people as if it is endless waves that you cannot live from. No it is not massive waves, each chapter is very long (in a good way) and have safe rooms which act as ammo and gun rooms along with an extra checkpoint along with the checkpoints spread around areas of the map.
    I made a video of a MP game I was in until the host left; It's not the best example but hopefully people will buy it!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vVZJgOQmOAQ
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 28, 2013
    8
    After an hour of play I can certainly say this is an awesome addition to the Sniper Elite series. Great set of arsenal at your disposal, kill-cam remains awesome as ever and never gets old and plenty of zombie thrills and spills. Two slight things let this otherwise great game down though 1) very little sniping can be done as you progress as the zombies are obviously attracted to your whereabouts by the gunfire. I ended up pulling out my various hand pistols and assortment of shotguns and machine guns too often. 2) Extremely linear and some level design makes you feel 'hey I could have just hopped over that hedge I saw half a mile back instead of going all the way round and been a bit more sneaky'. These issues aside I'm really having great fun with this game. I have to say I was huuuuge fan of the last Wolfenstein game and I would recommend this game to lovers of the CoD Zombies fans. Not yet had a chance to play co-op but I can see it being a good addition ^_^ Full Review »
  3. Mar 4, 2013
    9
    if you like this genre (either sniping or zombie, as this game incorporates both pretty decently) than you will absolutely love this game, i mean sure there are a few bugs, those most of these are visual and can either be fixed by turning down settings or will be fixed in future patches. that being said, this game is called Nazi zombie army...if you buy this game expecting some deep story with great graphics than you will be sorely disappointed, if you buy this game for a creepy atmosphere (which is very reminiscent of a Romero zombie flick) with decent mechanics and an awesome kill cam, than you will be getting your money's worth. This is an excellent game (which is surprising considering rebellion's past track record) and totally worth its low cost. Full Review »