User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 446 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 73 out of 446

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 8, 2012
    3
    Straight up: this is not a tactical game about sniping, and definitely not realistic. If you want a very arcade-like shooter then maybe go for it based on its one big draw: slow-mo bullet cam. I have played the game for hours just for this feature, but once it wears off you are left with flawed and rough game mechanics and plot. Plot is bad, but not critically so, I've seen worse. The gameplay features firefights mainly at under 200m with very unrealistic features (such as shooting through corners due to bullet tracing form the crosshair rather than the gun, and using 3rd person to peek and scout the area). The actual situations it places you in as a sniper are also poorly chosen, as most snipers excel in situations of patience, strategy and long-range targets. Forget all of that; it is very linear and confined, and you have will be just as good firing quick snapshots between sprints as you would if you crawled to a good spot, steadied your heartbeat, controlled your breathing and took a good shot. Additionally you just shrug off bullets call of duty style. Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2012
    2
    Yes - sniping is fun.... Yes good bullet physics, but otherwise
    Repetitive, and dull gameplay.
    stupid and unrealistic ai.
    Started the game and never finished it.
    Dont waste money
  3. May 3, 2012
    4
    Let's keep this short and sweet. The historical accuracy is pretty much not even there, the gun handling is a joke, the game runs like a obese cow even though it doesn't look particularly fancy, and it has nothing to do with sniping. You can breeze through the game with out even firing your sniper rifle except for scripted hand-holdey bits. The levels are so linear and filled with so many enemies that you have no options but to mow them all down - which is really easy since you can take 5 sniper shots to the face and regen your health back in under 3 seconds. Which you will have to do often because the enemy can spot your exact position from a mile away - and can track you behind walls. The story is completely cheese - it's another America Saves The Day type of story. Pathetic. Expand
  4. May 7, 2012
    4
    Your run of the mill shooter with a poorly coordinated AI that tries to dip into some strange Idea of implementing an "X-ray bullet killcam" without including the realism and extremely limiting It's use which is trying to bake cupcake without flours.

    It doesn't work.

    Combine that with some other serious design flaws and you got Sniper Elite V2.
  5. May 2, 2012
    1
    Three words for this "game" - oh my god. When Rebellion said to me "Ha, ha, now you must kill russians in winter(sic!) uniform" I said "Just no". If you, Rebellion don't know nothing about history and facts and don't know about Elbe Day it is your problem. AI is idiotic, graphics is very poor for CryEngine 3. And it is a spit to my face and spit to the grave of my and your grandparents, who won this war together. Shame on you, Rebellion. Collapse
  6. May 2, 2012
    4
    Cool game with great graphics and engine. However, it really lacks this nervetickling feeling. Mostly feels like GameSpot described it: a glorified shooting gallery. Biggest problem is level design along with Call of Duty-style HP-regen and enough health to handle 4-5 bullets.
  7. May 4, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My god this game is terrible. Besides the whole "sniper" theme premise being thrown out the window with all the full out shootouts instead of appropriate missions , the oh so stupid AI, bullet drop equivalent to 5 times the gravity of Earth, you also get to (and this is the really annoying part) scripted enemy soldiers spawning 15 meters ahead of you or magically appearing snipers in building windows that weren't there half a minute ago. Really? i mean i get nearby patrols instantly joining the battle but troops that just come out of thin air is beyond ridiculous. Then you have the extremely linear maps that make you wonder why there is a stealth mechanic even in the game, frustrating checkpoint system that makes you do a segment 100 times because of some enemy appearing out of nowhere right next to you thus a lame unavoidable death (which ultimately renders stealth useless). I didn't honestly expect that it could be so bad because i liked the first one. It had much more going for it at the time and a lot of it's nice features like camouflage, sneaking past enemy troops, finding alternate sniping nests is either gone or just dumbed down to the extreme. To conclude: It's hard to enjoy the sniping part of the game when it is basically a run and gun shooter most of the time. Expand
  8. Dec 8, 2012
    2
    Such a disappointment! I was expecting a sniper game and this is a run and gun: as soon as you fire once, everybody runs around and at you shooting, so you end up running around and shooting as well. I'm so frustrated I bought this and wouldn't recommend it. Yes, the bullet cam is cool but you get used to it so the fun doesn't sustain long. Also, tagging is useless because even if you take your time, observing and tagging all enemies, after you fired once, new enemies spawn at random places. That's a SHAME! The worse part has been a mission that starts by securing the ground before searching for your contact. Once it's done, you get a message: "The place is secured. Go meet your contact". You go down and new snipers spawn and start shooting at you! This is simply preposterous.
    To me, the only game so far that delivered the real sniping thrill is Sniper Ghost Warrior. I don't understand why critics destroyed it and acclaimed Sniper Elite V2. I guess people just go with the hype instead of searching by themselves what truly works. This is screwed up.
    Expand
  9. May 21, 2013
    0
    was not impressed with the gameplay one dimensional AI, tedious and boring missions, at times the missions were ridiculously easy at the other times ridiculously hard, navigating the map was frustrating, unrealistic. This was one of the most boring games i've played
  10. May 4, 2012
    3
    I give Sniper Elite 1 point for effects, the various bullet time impacts are impressive. 1 point for Sound. 1 Point for having an original concept for this game based on the weapons and the focus on sniping which not may games do this day. Unfortunate all of this is overshadowed by the dumbed down nature of the game, a console port in the extreme much like a lot of games these days which caters to people that don't expect much. The game is pretty linear, move from point a to point be without much variety or exploration. They could have done allot more with this game but instead they settled just like the rest of the game companies these days. Expand
  11. Jun 5, 2014
    0
    So, the game started pretty much like the Nazi Zombie Army mod but without the zombies and with some stealth elements. Seemed decent enough. First missions went like a charm a bit boring and repetetive altogether but still somewhat fun, so I kept playing. And then I got to the mission Museum something.
    Started reading the mission briefing (description) and stumbled. Right there white on
    black it said: "The Krauts were making a stand at Museum Island, I was happy to let them rot, but helping them slow the Reds was my best chance of buying some time". WTF?!
    Is that what the allies were doing during the war? Help nazis against Russians? Is that what the imagination of the devs told them one fine morning when they tried to come up with a mission concept?
    Well I started the mission anyway and what I found there just absolutely shocked me. As an american sniper you need to kill soviet troops to get to your goal? Seriously, biТch? Go fu.сk urselves a$$hole$! Allies, my ar$e! I just got out from around the conrner and let the first Russian man waste my sorry yankee ar$e for aiding the enemy and uninstalled this ridiculous joke of a game.

    To the devs I'd like to say I hope you burn in the same pit of hell where the devs of Company of Heroes 2 shall certainly wait for you for the same type of "creativity" dishonoring the valor and sacrifice of brave Russian people who protected their Motherland to the last breath and rid the world of nazi menace. Damn you, damn you to hell, you ba$tard$!
    Expand
  12. May 31, 2012
    2
    Okay first of all, I decided to try the Sniper Elite V2 because the first one had some nice ballistics and such. There where many flaws and I hoped that they could have fixed some of those. But no, they haven't really done a thing to fix things. AI is one of the worst I have ever seen... For exemple I throw a grenade and the very moment it doesn't touch characters had ALL the enemy's even behind walls start to run and yell.. I have seen some enemies through some doors and they couldn't come through. I decided to play the game through once just not yet there. Whole game is a complete ripoff. Expand
  13. Aug 16, 2012
    4
    The gameplay is enjoyable enough, but overall I found this game quite lacking. The killcams are a lot of fun at first, but quickly they become a played-out novelty. The sniping has a good feel to it overall, but that's not saying much when you're dealing with a horrible AI system. The game is very linear, the story is nothing memorable, and the replay value is almost non-existent. If you can find it for a low price, the 5-6 hours you'll get out of the game are probably worth it, but at full price I'd say it's best to avoid it. Expand
  14. Nov 23, 2012
    4
    I thought this game was OK at best. Pros for me were; the awesome kill cams, easy controls and i found the game to be very user friendly. Negatives; the game is soooo linear. I noticed too with some levels that enemies would randomly spawn based on my position on the map. This was really frustrating especially when i played a level for the first time. Id position on top of an arch somewere spend 5 mins tagging enemies making sure i had them all. Strategically killing them all, coming down off my ledge to a bottom of a set of stairs or whatever and then out of no where there are 3 more who spot me. When i KNOW they were not there before i advanced. Kind of ruins the "Stealth" aspect in certain parts. I got the game on sale on steam for 14.99 and for that price its alright but i wouldnt pay a dime more. Expand
  15. Jul 18, 2013
    2
    Poor console port to PC. It deserves a 2 because it has a story at least, but is let down by the poor controls, especially moving around... Keep console games to consoles. Nice to be able to set trip bombs etc...

    With improved controls (more common to a FPS) this could be a great game... Shame it fails on so many levels.
  16. Jul 15, 2014
    2
    +decent killcam

    -terrible AI
    -terrible stealth
    -very repetitive
    -regenerating health
    -checkpoints every 5 steps
    -objective markers everywhere
    -boring shooting mechanics for non-sniper weapons
    -very linear
    -killcam is really the only decent thing about the game
  17. Aug 13, 2014
    4
    >BAD<
    This game has a good idea and solid foundation - shooting mechanic is really well done.
    It indeed has some epic moments with the sniper-bullet cam which doesn't really get boring.
    The problem is that this game screams low budget at every corner. Nothing in this game is really polished, nothing is top-notch, everything is of average quality of below, from stealth through story to
    level design and physics.
    It's just a good idea with crappy execution and doesn't deserve more than 4/10.
    Expand
  18. Nov 24, 2013
    4
    Get's boring VERY quickly. I had high expectations since a sniper game sounds very good. I played the first chapter...and it got already very boring and I don't feel like continuing. If you shot your first 5 guys well you know the rest. Seriously. I also found the "kill cam" a turn-off, it makes the game less realistic.
  19. Jan 27, 2014
    3
    Barely recognizable as a sniper elite game. While the first required you to plan ahead, think and take shots carefully around any enemy in case you alerted most of the third Reich, this second installment is completely lacking.

    There is no atmosphere at all, and it is most definitely not tactical. After BREEZING through 5-6 missions on the hardest possible settings because of casualised
    mechanics like regenerating health, enemies that can hear all of 5 feet, and being able to literally complete all the missions like it was any other generic TPS, I stopped playing. The bullet physics are completely off (to the developer's own admission) and rather than the first game where you actually felt cut off, alone and vulnerable, this installment makes it easy to be a superhuman with a kevlar coated face. Expand
  20. Jun 8, 2014
    2
    I just do not know what to say about this game, everything is bad here, The only well made thing here is killcam. Stay out of it, one of the worst games I've played in a long time.
  21. May 2, 2012
    0
    Three words for this "game" - oh my god. When Rebellion said to me "Ha, ha, now you must kill russians in winter(sic!) uniform" I said "Just no". If you, Rebellion don't know nothing about history and facts and don't know about Elbe Day it is your problem. AI is idiotic, graphics is very poor for CryEngine 3. And it is a spit to my face and spit to the grave of my and your grandparents, who won this war together. Shame on you, Rebellion. Collapse
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jan 8, 2013
    79
    Sniper Elite V2 is a good and solid action sniper game. The story about the V2 scientists is nice, well narrated and motivates to keep playing. The graphics are not good, but ok and if you can manage that, you can give it a try.
  2. Aug 31, 2012
    68
    Many better shooters out there, where you can assume a sniper's role as well. What does V2 have to counter-offer? Had it followed another path, with more emphasis on stealth and the preparation of the shot, it could have made a difference, as a game of another subgenre. [July 2012]
  3. Aug 13, 2012
    59
    Behind the flashy graphics and the brutal depiction of gore, the game is surprisingly mundane, eschewing what made the original work while including no new features of its own.