Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 433 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sniper Elite V2 will be a modern take on the critically and publically acclaimed classic Sniper Elite for the current generation of consoles – revitalising a genre all of its own when it is released in 2012.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. May 6, 2012
    80
    In closing, Sniper Elite V2 does a lot of things right. The tactical components have been well thought out, despite predictable enemy AI upsetting the balance somewhat. Minor issues aside, headshot enthusiasts and stealth fans will find much to love here.
  2. May 23, 2012
    70
    I have to admit that my expectations were much lower, but it's fun to cower in the shadows and work out the perfect way to the target and then get the timing just right.
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    70
    A ballsy take on the WWII shooter formula. [July 2012, p.65]
  4. May 10, 2012
    65
    Your level of enjoyment will be almost directly mapped to how entertaining you find the visual spectacle to be, and - for me at least - it was perfectly good fun in short bursts.
  5. Jun 5, 2012
    65
    Tactical systems and satisfying ballistics marred by irritating levels and punishing sight-detection by the enemy.
  6. May 7, 2012
    60
    It's too bad that everything outside of the sniping is so mediocre.
  7. Jun 28, 2012
    57
    Advanced ballistics system, Sniper Elite's saving grace, does not hide the game's flaws, but rather puts them out for all to see.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 124
  2. Negative: 23 out of 124
  1. May 2, 2012
    10
    The graphics are great, shooting mechanics is solid, pretty good sound. The game will intermittently send you in shooting where your shooting prowess will determine your victory. This is the kind of game where you need lots of patience, but the game is stealth shooter. Collapse
  2. May 12, 2012
    10
    I don't know why so much negatives about this game because this is very realistic sniper simulator despite sometimes levels too linear for stealth but anyway it's one of the best games of this year so far Expand
  3. May 24, 2014
    9
    Sniper Elite V2 is a very well built war fantasy game. It is a fantasy, because even on higher settings your character regenerates health after being shot, and often will be shot 10-20 times but still complete a mission. The graphics are GREAT. This really feels like 1945 Germany. The game mechanics are GOOD. Shooting is fun, and scoping and moving are fluid. Voice work and sound are GOOD as well. The missions are also fairly good, but we can feel all over the constraints of the consoles in the design. The levels are smallish. There are not enough missions and certainly not enough open maps. A good game but finally it is too small and too short. The missions are great but there is not enough open material to let the player roam about and explore. Future games will need MORE content. Especially more and bigger levels to let the players gain a feeling of excitement in sneaking around and discovering things. It also wouldn't hurt to have a bigger range of interactions with the environment. People have criticized the AI but IMHO it is GREAT. The enemy units have amazing animations, they move realistically, and relocate and flank very effectively. It's impossible to shoot easily at range when the enemy will close in and take you down with SMGs from short range. This makes for very exciting gameplay, forcing the player into constant vigilance and motion to avoid the enemy counterattacks.

    orctowngrot
    Expand
  4. Jun 11, 2014
    7
    Some aspects of this rather unrealistic game were so enjoyable, I bought the zombie sniper elite games as well. I'll probably wait and buy V3 as well. Now the grrrrr. I have to wonder if any of the developers actually consulted ballistics tables, much less ever fired a scoped rifle. Here's my beef. The weapons have ridiculously large bullet drops (hold over distance) from 70 meters and becomes little more than guesswork at 200 meters plus. I guess the concept of rifle zeroing escaped the developers. It amazes me why the hell they would also give ridiculously long wait times between you breath holds (pulse rate drops) while the enemy sniper can accurately snap shoot you at 2 second intervals. Haven't any of these people ever fired a rifle at all? I've never measured it but don't believe my pulse rate goes up 5 or 6 beats following a shot. I'd be amazed if this happened to a trained sniper. My final word: an enjoyable but sometimes frustrating game. Expand
  5. Jul 17, 2014
    6
    $30 for this game is ridiculous. By now it is at most worth $10. It took me about 15 hours to beat the single player campaign, which is definitely fun. The missions are exciting and the story is decent, but once I beat the main story I felt literally zero desire to go back through the missions and replay them for fun or to collect gold bars/bottles.

    The challenges are fun to experiment with, but I only played about 2 because more than that just seemed repetitive.

    Great graphics. Play on cadet mode because the other 2 difficulties completely flaw your bullet trajectories. I felt as though I could play on the harder difficulty, but it would just take more time, so what's the point? (it wasn't fun to "challenge" myself)

    I recommend if it's on sale for $10 or less but there are wiser things to spend $30 on.
    Expand
  6. May 19, 2012
    5
    I tried to like it because i'm a huge fan of WW2 games but it gets boring very fast! The Kill cam is cool but the rest is just bold with clunky controls and bad AI! If you want a good WW2 game then play Red Orchestra 2! Expand
  7. Jun 5, 2014
    0
    So, the game started pretty much like the Nazi Zombie Army mod but without the zombies and with some stealth elements. Seemed decent enough. First missions went like a charm a bit boring and repetetive altogether but still somewhat fun, so I kept playing. And then I got to the mission Museum something.
    Started reading the mission briefing (description) and stumbled. Right there white on black it said: "The Krauts were making a stand at Museum Island, I was happy to let them rot, but helping them slow the Reds was my best chance of buying some time". WTF?!
    Is that what the allies were doing during the war? Help nazis against Russians? Is that what the imagination of the devs told them one fine morning when they tried to come up with a mission concept?
    Well I started the mission anyway and what I found there just absolutely shocked me. As an american sniper you need to kill soviet troops to get to your goal? Seriously, biТch? Go fu.сk urselves a$$hole$! Allies, my ar$e! I just got out from around the conrner and let the first Russian man waste my sorry yankee ar$e for aiding the enemy and uninstalled this ridiculous joke of a game.

    To the devs I'd like to say I hope you burn in the same pit of hell where the devs of Company of Heroes 2 shall certainly wait for you for the same type of "creativity" dishonoring the valor and sacrifice of brave Russian people who protected their Motherland to the last breath and rid the world of nazi menace. Damn you, damn you to hell, you ba$tard$!
    Expand

See all 124 User Reviews