Sniper Elite V2 PC

Sniper Elite V2 Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 518 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sniper Elite V2 will be a modern take on the critically and publically acclaimed classic Sniper Elite for the current generation of consoles – revitalising a genre all of its own when it is released in 2012.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. May 6, 2012
    80
    In closing, Sniper Elite V2 does a lot of things right. The tactical components have been well thought out, despite predictable enemy AI upsetting the balance somewhat. Minor issues aside, headshot enthusiasts and stealth fans will find much to love here.
  2. May 23, 2012
    70
    I have to admit that my expectations were much lower, but it's fun to cower in the shadows and work out the perfect way to the target and then get the timing just right.
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    70
    A ballsy take on the WWII shooter formula. [July 2012, p.65]
  4. May 10, 2012
    65
    Your level of enjoyment will be almost directly mapped to how entertaining you find the visual spectacle to be, and - for me at least - it was perfectly good fun in short bursts.
  5. Jun 5, 2012
    65
    Tactical systems and satisfying ballistics marred by irritating levels and punishing sight-detection by the enemy.
  6. May 7, 2012
    60
    It's too bad that everything outside of the sniping is so mediocre.
  7. Jun 28, 2012
    57
    Advanced ballistics system, Sniper Elite's saving grace, does not hide the game's flaws, but rather puts them out for all to see.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 139
  2. Negative: 24 out of 139
  1. May 2, 2012
    10
    The graphics are great, shooting mechanics is solid, pretty good sound. The game will intermittently send you in shooting where your shootingThe graphics are great, shooting mechanics is solid, pretty good sound. The game will intermittently send you in shooting where your shooting prowess will determine your victory. This is the kind of game where you need lots of patience, but the game is stealth shooter. Expand
  2. Jan 2, 2015
    10
    Good graphics, excellent game mechanics, good AI, clear game rules. This game requires from the player to think and plan first and only thenGood graphics, excellent game mechanics, good AI, clear game rules. This game requires from the player to think and plan first and only then shoot. WW2 Expand
  3. May 24, 2014
    9
    Sniper Elite V2 is a very well built war fantasy game. It is a fantasy, because even on higher settings your character regenerates healthSniper Elite V2 is a very well built war fantasy game. It is a fantasy, because even on higher settings your character regenerates health after being shot, and often will be shot 10-20 times but still complete a mission. The graphics are GREAT. This really feels like 1945 Germany. The game mechanics are GOOD. Shooting is fun, and scoping and moving are fluid. Voice work and sound are GOOD as well. The missions are also fairly good, but we can feel all over the constraints of the consoles in the design. The levels are smallish. There are not enough missions and certainly not enough open maps. A good game but finally it is too small and too short. The missions are great but there is not enough open material to let the player roam about and explore. Future games will need MORE content. Especially more and bigger levels to let the players gain a feeling of excitement in sneaking around and discovering things. It also wouldn't hurt to have a bigger range of interactions with the environment. People have criticized the AI but IMHO it is GREAT. The enemy units have amazing animations, they move realistically, and relocate and flank very effectively. It's impossible to shoot easily at range when the enemy will close in and take you down with SMGs from short range. This makes for very exciting gameplay, forcing the player into constant vigilance and motion to avoid the enemy counterattacks.

    orctowngrot
    Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2012
    7
    I bought Sniper Elite V2 on Steam Sale as I wanted to play a recent WWII game and trailer looked interesting. The level of authenticity of theI bought Sniper Elite V2 on Steam Sale as I wanted to play a recent WWII game and trailer looked interesting. The level of authenticity of the sniping in the game is just right for me but the enemy AI is just horrible. The enemy soldiers hang sometimes when they try to run and often take the same route just like their comrades took just a second before and got shot. Not very smart. The music int he game is also annoying. The same part repeats far too often. What I like about the game is the graphics with the excellent lightning effects. I play the game in stereoscopic 3D via native AMD HD3D support that adds even more atmosphere. Also the bullet cam is pretty cool especially in stereoscopic 3D. Expand
  5. May 23, 2012
    6
    Enjoying FPS games as much as I do, I felt compelled enough to put together a fair, to the point review for this title. I like the graphics,Enjoying FPS games as much as I do, I felt compelled enough to put together a fair, to the point review for this title. I like the graphics, displayed at 1920 X 1080. The sound is great, and the storyline is pretty good also. Now the obvious downside to this title that makes it, oh so not worth the expensive horse leg roll of cash many companies are now asking to help retire themselves early. The controls are friggin' "atrocious". Now come on guy's! You as developers know when you push a keyboard button to snap off an opponents "head", and virtually nothing happens? WTF? Of all titles to NOT have complete, precise, control of an extraordinary toggle such as a "trigger" on your "sniper rifle"? This becomes a major FAIL ! Ouch....It's like pissing in a fan, it's just that frustrating. As you're getting your butt shot off in the interim. So, if you're smart? Like I'm SO very sure many of you ARE, because you're reading reviews before you shell out hard earned money to these companies for entertainment. WAIT until this goes on sale for about $9.99 from steam or other distributors. And for All of our sake, DO NOT spend more than that! You will be so very much happier if you heed my, and other honest reviewers warnings. Until then, look for other titles that won't anger you in the process! I pray I've saved other people some money in the process. Expand
  6. Jun 22, 2012
    5
    Fun, albeit generic, shooter thats as historically accurate as your gonna get in a game.
    thats where the good stuff ends though
    repetitive,
    Fun, albeit generic, shooter thats as historically accurate as your gonna get in a game.
    thats where the good stuff ends though
    repetitive, slow and at times extremely dull, overpriced and worst of all forgettable
    definately a buy if on sale, but otherwise stay clear
    Collapse
  7. May 21, 2013
    0
    was not impressed with the gameplay one dimensional AI, tedious and boring missions, at times the missions were ridiculously easy at thewas not impressed with the gameplay one dimensional AI, tedious and boring missions, at times the missions were ridiculously easy at the other times ridiculously hard, navigating the map was frustrating, unrealistic. This was one of the most boring games i've played Expand

See all 139 User Reviews