Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 462 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sniper Elite V2 will be a modern take on the critically and publically acclaimed classic Sniper Elite for the current generation of consoles – revitalising a genre all of its own when it is released in 2012.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. May 6, 2012
    80
    In closing, Sniper Elite V2 does a lot of things right. The tactical components have been well thought out, despite predictable enemy AI upsetting the balance somewhat. Minor issues aside, headshot enthusiasts and stealth fans will find much to love here.
  2. May 23, 2012
    70
    I have to admit that my expectations were much lower, but it's fun to cower in the shadows and work out the perfect way to the target and then get the timing just right.
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    70
    A ballsy take on the WWII shooter formula. [July 2012, p.65]
  4. May 10, 2012
    65
    Your level of enjoyment will be almost directly mapped to how entertaining you find the visual spectacle to be, and - for me at least - it was perfectly good fun in short bursts.
  5. Jun 5, 2012
    65
    Tactical systems and satisfying ballistics marred by irritating levels and punishing sight-detection by the enemy.
  6. May 7, 2012
    60
    It's too bad that everything outside of the sniping is so mediocre.
  7. Jun 28, 2012
    57
    Advanced ballistics system, Sniper Elite's saving grace, does not hide the game's flaws, but rather puts them out for all to see.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 130
  2. Negative: 23 out of 130
  1. May 2, 2012
    10
    The graphics are great, shooting mechanics is solid, pretty good sound. The game will intermittently send you in shooting where your shootingThe graphics are great, shooting mechanics is solid, pretty good sound. The game will intermittently send you in shooting where your shooting prowess will determine your victory. This is the kind of game where you need lots of patience, but the game is stealth shooter. Expand
  2. May 12, 2012
    10
    I don't know why so much negatives about this game because this is very realistic sniper simulator despite sometimes levels too linear forI don't know why so much negatives about this game because this is very realistic sniper simulator despite sometimes levels too linear for stealth but anyway it's one of the best games of this year so far Expand
  3. May 16, 2012
    9
    You would think in sniper V2 the slowmo bullet penetration thing would get old.It doesn't.EVER.I took time off from Diablo 3 to get my fix ofYou would think in sniper V2 the slowmo bullet penetration thing would get old.It doesn't.EVER.I took time off from Diablo 3 to get my fix of the skull drilling.I played the old one and if it was anything like this one it would have been game of the year....back then.Only downside is it still felt too short and the lack of different weapons.Otherwise well done guys.I got trigger finger wood. x-) Expand
  4. Oct 9, 2012
    7
    Almost every aspect of this game is very polished (graphics, sound, ballistics, level design, etc). You can be hiding behind a vehicle andAlmost every aspect of this game is very polished (graphics, sound, ballistics, level design, etc). You can be hiding behind a vehicle and hear the german guards complaining about not being able to phone their wife in the midst of the Berlin invasion... that is the level of realism you get. The downside is that it becomes repetitive, and frustrating at some points. You cannot change the difficulty without starting the whole game all over again... Do not take the "elite" word in the title lightly. All in all it is a good game if you find a good price for it. Expand
  5. May 10, 2012
    6
    These are the four reasons why the game loses four points: 1) The music is just completely rubbish (sorry composer) - I even turned itThese are the four reasons why the game loses four points: 1) The music is just completely rubbish (sorry composer) - I even turned it completely off. 2) The AI seems like it belongs to a game made 10 years ago - these moronic nazi and soviet soldiers, just haven't got a clue. Killing them is no challenge at all, and ultimately not a lot of fun. Even when you have to escape from a bunch of snipers, they are pretty lame-ass. Why do they all have to just sit there and get shot? Can't they move around a bit and take up new positions when they are getting shot at? And, why is each cannon-fodder Nazi so poorly trained that they just constantly run into the line of fire, and show no signs of working together to take out a threat at all? 3) The missions themselves are really linear, and don't offer much in the way of variety or open-ness - like shooting ducks in a barrel. 4) Graphically things are ok, but still doesn't feel like you're playing a current shooter than costs £25.

    However, despite my gripes I did find myself playing away til the end (took about 6-7 hours on Medium difficulty). The kill-cam is brilliant fun, and sniping really is the name of the game as you do not last long, trying to take the baddies out with a pistol or machine-gun. One thing I will say though is if you pre-ordered, then the Assassinate the Fuhrer mission is a bit of a let down. If the game had cost less then I would actually recommend that 3PS shooter or sniper fans check it out.
    Expand
  6. Feb 3, 2013
    5
    I didn't mind the first and this is not a bad game as such, but once again it finds it self in the middle of what it wants to be. The sniperI didn't mind the first and this is not a bad game as such, but once again it finds it self in the middle of what it wants to be. The sniper game mechanics are quite good however the way maps and missions are designed make it very hard to play it without using other guns as you tend to be swarmed with enemies.

    Once again a lot of potential mostly not fulfilled.
    Expand
  7. May 21, 2013
    0
    was not impressed with the gameplay one dimensional AI, tedious and boring missions, at times the missions were ridiculously easy at thewas not impressed with the gameplay one dimensional AI, tedious and boring missions, at times the missions were ridiculously easy at the other times ridiculously hard, navigating the map was frustrating, unrealistic. This was one of the most boring games i've played Expand

See all 130 User Reviews