Sniper Elite PC

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 146 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 146
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SamA.
    Jul 7, 2006
    9
    Not many games can compare with Sniper Elite, and I personaly cant wait for Sniper Elite 2 to come out on my new 360. Nothing in this game is as pricless as the sespense in waiting for the one perfict shot. The one that no one hears, but still hits the mark. The one that you shake your fist and yell "YES!" the secont you know you made it. The one that you know your friends cant make. The Not many games can compare with Sniper Elite, and I personaly cant wait for Sniper Elite 2 to come out on my new 360. Nothing in this game is as pricless as the sespense in waiting for the one perfict shot. The one that no one hears, but still hits the mark. The one that you shake your fist and yell "YES!" the secont you know you made it. The one that you know your friends cant make. The only reason this is not a 10 is because some things could have had more time spent on them. A little more ragdall, not to much, but just enough to make you chuckle when you pick that guy off at 250 yards at a dead sprint, and you watch as his body slams into the earth with all his momentum and weight behind him. Some more sniping locations would be nice, and the lines in the crosshairs of the snipers are helpfull...but they are too helpfull. Every shot should be a challeng. Either you can make the shot of you cant, you dont get two guesses at different notches, you have one shot, and where you place it is depends of your instinct. Cant wait for #2, its going to be breathtaking. Expand
  2. WillC
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    It is so realistic, I was a sniper in the Vietnam war and this game is pretty close to the real deal with a few minor things. Must get for all shoot 'em up lovers
  3. SarelG.
    Aug 11, 2006
    9
    Ok i've just got the demo version and trying to get the game but this is South Africe and here it is a year behind, so i will to buy it when it come. It's very real and I think the graphics is very good. The slowmotion replay is excellent. I enjoy it very much. Thanks for everyones effort. Cheers
  4. Sane
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    Amazing game. Only little better grapics and all time best game is arrived.
  5. PistolpeteM.
    Mar 7, 2007
    9
    The run and gun crew will hate this game - its an intelligent game of strategy, tactics and waiting. I can honestly say I never found it boring - the gameplay is far too tough for that. I played this game a year ago, got thru the campaign a couple of times and then eventually uninstalled it to make way for other offerings. Recently I bought Call of Duty 2 in the expectation that it would The run and gun crew will hate this game - its an intelligent game of strategy, tactics and waiting. I can honestly say I never found it boring - the gameplay is far too tough for that. I played this game a year ago, got thru the campaign a couple of times and then eventually uninstalled it to make way for other offerings. Recently I bought Call of Duty 2 in the expectation that it would be great. I have played about 3 levels but think I will take it back to the store. Its a typical corridor shooter that involves moving down one path with little or no discretion and killing the ever lasting hordes of enemy popping up before your eyes. After a couple of hours of gameplay I am bored in a way that sniper eleite never bored me in its entire campaign. Hope that a later version is turned out - there will always be niche markets for this kind of game. The only game I haev found close for tension is Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter another game that allows you wide discretion in how to approach an objective. Expand
  6. MikeC.
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    I have waited years for a great sniper game to come out and its this one, i hope to see a second one. This game is great and it dilivers. Its alot of fun and its not all point shoot and run it actualy takes some thinking.
  7. Delta5-1
    Oct 15, 2005
    9
    Easily the sleeper of the year...bullet physics are very well done, tension is a definite must-feel....sniper work has never been done as clean as this one...at times you'll be wondering what hit you...when you know deep inside you should've done more reconnaissance around the block to clear the area....For those who never expected the first Tenchu on PS1 this is the sniper game Easily the sleeper of the year...bullet physics are very well done, tension is a definite must-feel....sniper work has never been done as clean as this one...at times you'll be wondering what hit you...when you know deep inside you should've done more reconnaissance around the block to clear the area....For those who never expected the first Tenchu on PS1 this is the sniper game that replaces that sword with a high powered rifle with a scope...lots of freedom... Expand
  8. JeffP.
    Nov 9, 2005
    8
    Interesting, challenging and super fun. The graphics are very good, play movement is great, and always a challenge at every level. Enemies are smart not just blank targets (single player).Play seems like what a real sniper during WWII would do. I need at least two hours a day of Sniper Elite for my gaming fix.
  9. NickK.
    Sep 19, 2005
    10
    Brilliant, I'm glad I have to think before I fire. I'm really looking forward to this!!
  10. AdamY.
    Oct 14, 2007
    9
    I found the game very 'capturing'.Any Sniper fan will get immersed quickly and deeply in this game.I hav the PC version and i loved it.Although many room for still making it more realistic like concealment in interactive shelters and realistic dmage AI improvement. But all in all, a sniper fan WOULD hav the patience to wait and snipe, so other quick-paced gamers may not like it I found the game very 'capturing'.Any Sniper fan will get immersed quickly and deeply in this game.I hav the PC version and i loved it.Although many room for still making it more realistic like concealment in interactive shelters and realistic dmage AI improvement. But all in all, a sniper fan WOULD hav the patience to wait and snipe, so other quick-paced gamers may not like it that much, but if one needs the close sniping experienc, this is it..as far as i know..as yet. Cant wait for other improved Sniper games. Thanks.Great Sniping simulation game. Expand
  11. EarlybirdB.
    Feb 27, 2007
    9
    This is a terrific game. It's as much about stalking, finding cover and concealment, observation of the enemy, patience and intelligent shot selection than all-out shooting. In other words, it incorporates "real" sniper skills. The graphics are outstanding and the ruins of April 1945 Berlin were obviously well researched. There are some minor complaints like some quirks about This is a terrific game. It's as much about stalking, finding cover and concealment, observation of the enemy, patience and intelligent shot selection than all-out shooting. In other words, it incorporates "real" sniper skills. The graphics are outstanding and the ruins of April 1945 Berlin were obviously well researched. There are some minor complaints like some quirks about character movement, and some times it's very hard to figure out where to go/what to do in a mission, but those are minor indeed. I just finished the game (in "Rookie" mode) last night and can't wait until Sniper Elite 2 comes out. Simply awesome! Expand
  12. NoxnXon
    Jul 21, 2009
    10
    When i played it... i sucked pretty hard at it... It was fun tho and made me a better sniper in other games. Except the graphics, everything in this game is AWESOME. Even the cheats.
  13. Lolo
    Oct 19, 2005
    9
    YYea , at last a good sniper game, yes the balistics its good , like all the situation around the shot. it is a game for sniper, that mean "stealth" machineguns are somehow more hard to handle, but silent pistol works well. Only one item i have to mark the distances appear to be more , than in real life. I.E. at 61 Mts long th head of soldierds appear more small that can be with a cheapYYea , at last a good sniper game, yes the balistics its good , like all the situation around the shot. it is a game for sniper, that mean "stealth" machineguns are somehow more hard to handle, but silent pistol works well. Only one item i have to mark the distances appear to be more , than in real life. I.E. at 61 Mts long th head of soldierds appear more small that can be with a cheap short range scope(if i was the sniper i would complained ; ) But GREAT GAME Expand
  14. JoshK.
    Nov 24, 2006
    10
    I've beat the game and nothing compares. The only thing that comes close is the other Game Rebellion Created in Black Hawk Down. No experience is like it when you play online. Where's the second one? I can't wait. This is Awesome!
  15. TomY.
    Oct 12, 2005
    8
    All round a good shot at a sniper game - excuse the pun The bullet physics are definitely very well done but the use of other weapons is quite poor. The handling of the non-scoped weapons is quite difficult barring the grenade throwing which is marvellous. It's amazing just how much the addition of right clicking to throw as opposed to left releasing to throw improves the action. All All round a good shot at a sniper game - excuse the pun The bullet physics are definitely very well done but the use of other weapons is quite poor. The handling of the non-scoped weapons is quite difficult barring the grenade throwing which is marvellous. It's amazing just how much the addition of right clicking to throw as opposed to left releasing to throw improves the action. All in all, despite it's minor flaws/limitations - which all games have - this is one of my favourite games which is providing me with some very memorable moments. Let's hope Sniper Elite 2 extends the appeal! Expand
  16. HARSHALK.
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    The game is superb the headshots are priceless . reblion studios had done a great job keep up.i hope the sniper elite 2 will be mor fun and serious and kickass too.
  17. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Very good game! I play long time and this is very hard game for novice users, I think that my assessment is good:) Graphic like these days is not bad. Good job rebellion :)
  18. JorgeN.
    May 4, 2006
    10
    This is the only game that i have been realy addicted to, is great and those head shots are priceless and can't get enough of them. and im expecting more from sniper elite 2 great job "REBELLION' keep making them and i will keep buying them.
  19. GabrielM
    Sep 24, 2008
    9
    This game is really good, is all about patience and wait the right moment to shoot, but not only that because you have to look the best place to hide yourself of the enemy, watch the movements of the enemy and then finally fire considering the wind and posture of your sniper. So yes is very realistic and you have to think everything. The only reason because this game isn't perfect is This game is really good, is all about patience and wait the right moment to shoot, but not only that because you have to look the best place to hide yourself of the enemy, watch the movements of the enemy and then finally fire considering the wind and posture of your sniper. So yes is very realistic and you have to think everything. The only reason because this game isn't perfect is the artificial intelligence of the enemy. They simply fire at you at very long range with highly accuracy with machine guns and not only that, they aware about you even when they didn't see you coming. But overall its a excellent game. Expand
  20. EndiT.
    Oct 25, 2005
    9
    Can't remember the days i have been playing a game 6 hours in a row with headphones on! this game would get a 10 if grafix, sounds and some minor issues would be standard 2005, but as a hardcore sniper with a fable on hunting snipers i can`t vote it lower then a 9 because its challenging fun and its no mass market product, i like to know whom i kill...in this game you know it!
  21. nianyut
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    i had finished play it.. i like, as if i was a real sniper.. the graphic is outstanding, especially the slow motion effect, it;s kind a realistic plot, so it make you can wait to move to next mission..
  22. FirstPerson
    Mar 25, 2010
    10
    Highly underrated game. This is a first class shooter and probably the most realistic one ever. Tired of walking godlike through though other games with all your armor/shields/suits providing you with all but immunity while your single shots take out legions of super cool but super weak opponents? Well in Sniper Elite a bullet will kill you and opponents won't just stand there Highly underrated game. This is a first class shooter and probably the most realistic one ever. Tired of walking godlike through though other games with all your armor/shields/suits providing you with all but immunity while your single shots take out legions of super cool but super weak opponents? Well in Sniper Elite a bullet will kill you and opponents won't just stand there waiting to be fragged. In this game you better keep your head down, move carefully, and make sure that your shots are carefully aimed, or you're toast and quickly so. Most of the bad reviews here are from kids who are used to blasting there way through hordes of 100 foot aliens without getting scratched. For them it is very frustrating when an enemy who you can see perfectly can also see you and who can fire their weapon just as accurately as you. And yes, if you fire a rifle, it can actually be heard from a mile away. And yes, you will be hunted down and killed if they can find you. The idea that a single soldier should easily be able to wade through a few dozen enemy soldiers every time is just a joke. Snipers in war have some of the highest casualty rates and so will you when you play this game, which I think is a good thing. The situation with some of the complainers here reminds me of paintball, where all the kiddies come out thinking they will be Rambo and then get pissy when they get taken out quickly over and over again. Anyway, this is a great game, I rank it right up there with Crysis as one of the best FPS sniper games ever. Highly recommended for those willing to face the realistically bad odds of a war zone. Expand
  23. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    I bought this game, thinking that it would be as good as Sniper: Ghost Warrior. I wasn't disappointed. In fact, the story was much better in Sniper Elite. My only problem was that changing weapons was sort of cumbersome, especially when trying to move from the Sniper mode to close combat with machine guns. Also, the age of the game showed. Things have come a long way in the last twoI bought this game, thinking that it would be as good as Sniper: Ghost Warrior. I wasn't disappointed. In fact, the story was much better in Sniper Elite. My only problem was that changing weapons was sort of cumbersome, especially when trying to move from the Sniper mode to close combat with machine guns. Also, the age of the game showed. Things have come a long way in the last two years (not always for the better). Expand
  24. Aug 3, 2012
    10
    This is the game that set the standards for what we enjoy today.

    Don't let the low system requirements fool you. This game has a very realistic play and is perfect for the household with a computer that can't play anything "because it's too old". The missions, interplay with environment and cinematics are great and give that little extra with the bullet cam provide an unexpected thrill
    This is the game that set the standards for what we enjoy today.

    Don't let the low system requirements fool you. This game has a very realistic play and is perfect for the household with a computer that can't play anything "because it's too old". The missions, interplay with environment and cinematics are great and give that little extra with the bullet cam provide an unexpected thrill of the kill.

    Don't pass this game... It would be a crime. Add it to your Theatre of War or Concert of Pain today!
    Expand
  25. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    This is a great game. Or more, it was a superb game back then.
    The graphics are mediocre and the story basic... very basic.
    the rest of the game is pure fun and can become one of your best game experience. As it was for me.
    for this game i can say that it pased the test of time.
  26. Aug 5, 2013
    8
    After having so much fun playing V2, I thought I would give this a try. I downloaded it for $9.99 on Steam, and downloaded xpadder 5-3 so I could map my xbox 360 controller. I have a decent PC with AMD 7950 3GB graphics card. I max it all out and it is very playable. I have only played a few levels so far.It does have a more open feel from what I have seen so far.
    I like to be able to
    After having so much fun playing V2, I thought I would give this a try. I downloaded it for $9.99 on Steam, and downloaded xpadder 5-3 so I could map my xbox 360 controller. I have a decent PC with AMD 7950 3GB graphics card. I max it all out and it is very playable. I have only played a few levels so far.It does have a more open feel from what I have seen so far.
    I like to be able to save when you want, although it is limited before it affects your score (Which I do not care about). I heard on the harder levels it may only let you 7 saves or something. I believe there are 4 levels of difficulty and I started with easiest to learn the controls and moved up one level. I assume it can get pretty darn hard as even on the 2nd level, you have to manage your ammo and bad guys sometimes do not appear until you have been shot. They will sneak around behind you and nail you or pop up on building roofs you already walked by. Some good sound effects of people screaming etc. All versions of this game need to have a scarier feel. I have seen some big rats and birds, etc. These games need civilians, injured and wanting of help. Would be good side mission stuff. I do get killed a fair amount, I need to learn to play slower. You do not just gain health in 3 secs like V2, you have a gauge that you can fill back up using med kits (which I like). Tanks are there with there caps (some of them). It still is sometimes confusing on exactly what it is the game wants you to do. I found the pistal not very usable at a distance I did find usable in V2. Sniping is still very fun, and has the slow mo bullet and pretty good reactions of baddie being hit. Over all, I would think if you liked V2, you would like this one. It is fun.
    Expand
  27. Jun 2, 2012
    8
    This is game you need to give a chance. First time I started this game was big disapointment. I thought nothing is good about this game and expectaions was big.

    After I gave it a chance for some time figured game is oposite then my previous opinion. Absolutely everything is made right here. Sneaking and sniping ratio is just right. levels are made good. Only bad thing happend in coop
    This is game you need to give a chance. First time I started this game was big disapointment. I thought nothing is good about this game and expectaions was big.

    After I gave it a chance for some time figured game is oposite then my previous opinion. Absolutely everything is made right here. Sneaking and sniping ratio is just right. levels are made good. Only bad thing happend in coop where enemies spawn from nothing on places you checked 10 seconds ago. If they remove that would be 10!
    Expand
  28. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    This is an amazing sniper game. I played it back on ps2, and I loved every minute of it. I played it a bit single player (which, by the way, I felt was a fairly high challenge), then I played some of the co-op (which is a bit easier). The games bullet physics work very well, as you have to calculate the gravity, wind, and heart rate into consideration. The levels have good variation,This is an amazing sniper game. I played it back on ps2, and I loved every minute of it. I played it a bit single player (which, by the way, I felt was a fairly high challenge), then I played some of the co-op (which is a bit easier). The games bullet physics work very well, as you have to calculate the gravity, wind, and heart rate into consideration. The levels have good variation, whether it is mainly indoors, in the city, or around large buildings, you will feel like you are usually in different areas. The stealth on here works pretty well, with a moment occasionally that makes you feel that you got spotted for no reason. Usually, however, you will find there is someone who could have spotted you, which makes these alerts seem valid. The stealth bar is not perfect, but that is because it has 25% intervals. The sounds of the game are okay. The objectives of the game are of good variety, whether it is something like escort, assassinate, etc. The one major downside I have found was that the enemies feel a bit too accurate. They can hit you with their PPSH from about 200 yards, which is a bit crazy. All in all, this is a very fun game that should not be overlooked. (Note: PC version has no co-op features. This would drop my rating to an 8.) Expand
  29. Mar 22, 2016
    8
    This game deserves 8 rating.Because ,this game should have better graphics like FEAR which was also released in same year.The length of game is also satisfying.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Sniper Elite could well have been a terrifically good simulation of being a wartime sneaky fella had there been a greater sense of ambition displayed in the design process. As it is, you're left with a game that doesn't really offer a great deal more in terms of ammo delivery that we haven't seen done equally well in more popular, less subject-specific shooters. [PC Zone]
  2. games(TM)
    80
    Sniper Elite makes headshots a grizzly reward that becomes addictive and, because the battle is always weighted against you, filled with air-punching satisfaction every time you make a connection. Bravo. [Nov 2005, p.96]
  3. Play Magazine
    70
    Elite excels at creating an atmosphere of paranoia and alienation... [Nov p.93]