Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 113 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Sniper Elite, players assume the role of an American sniper, disguised as a German soldier and dropped into war torn 1945 Berlin by the American OSS to gather intelligence on the top-secret German Atomic research. If his mission fails, control of the world's Atomic technology will fall into the hands of Stalin and the Soviet Army, throwing the world's political climate into chaos. In the undercover mission, players utilize their sniper training to gain access to key positions by taking out machine guns, armored vehicles, guard posts and sentries through stealth and pinpoint accuracy. Like a true sniper, players must follow their wits and instincts and utilize both first and third-person perspectives to negotiate through 28 open-ended levels in war-torn Berlin. In taking aim at enemy soldiers, players need to consider gravity, wind speed, heart rate, breathing and posture to successfully hit their target in one of the most authentic sniping mechanics ever devised. Players can even take up the fight or go head-to-head with a friend in the cooperative or competitive offline play modes, or even engage in a game of worldwide cat-and-mouse with up to eight players online. [Namco] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Only the best of the best will see the final missions in Sniper Elite mode, but for the rest of us, Rebellion has created a remarkable, beautifully brutal WWII game that’s smarter than the usual fodder lining game store shelves.
  2. Headshot heaven for FPS addicts. [Dec 2005, p.92]
  3. Its setting and antagonists are among the most frequently-used in the genre today, and frankly, neither of them add so much to the game that they couldn't've been removed. This could've easily been set in Baghdad or Somalia or some future city without compromising its gameplay.
  4. The realism may turn off some run and gun gamers, but even those fans will have a hard time not appreciating what Sniper Elite brings to the table in terms of great and entertaining game play.
  5. 75
    Though Sniper Elite doesn't do anything revolutionary, it’s still a fun game. But what happened to the cooperative mode?
  6. A tense, sweaty-palmed experience that will appeal to your inner sniper. [Feb 2006, p.39]
  7. As it stands it's just a good game with a few very awkward parts.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 36
  2. Negative: 3 out of 36
  1. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    This is a great game. Or more, it was a superb game back then.
    The graphics are mediocre and the story basic... very basic.
    the rest of the
    game is pure fun and can become one of your best game experience. As it was for me.
    for this game i can say that it pased the test of time.
    Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Very good game! I play long time and this is very hard game for novice users, I think that my assessment is good:) Graphic like these days is not bad. Good job rebellion :) Expand
  3. Aug 3, 2012
    10
    This is the game that set the standards for what we enjoy today.

    Don't let the low system requirements fool you. This game has a very
    realistic play and is perfect for the household with a computer that can't play anything "because it's too old". The missions, interplay with environment and cinematics are great and give that little extra with the bullet cam provide an unexpected thrill of the kill.

    Don't pass this game... It would be a crime. Add it to your Theatre of War or Concert of Pain today!
    Expand
  4. Jun 2, 2012
    8
    This is game you need to give a chance. First time I started this game was big disapointment. I thought nothing is good about this game and expectaions was big.

    After I gave it a chance for some time figured game is oposite then my previous opinion. Absolutely everything is made right here. Sneaking and sniping ratio is just right. levels are made good. Only bad thing happend in coop where enemies spawn from nothing on places you checked 10 seconds ago. If they remove that would be 10!
    Expand
  5. Aug 5, 2013
    8
    After having so much fun playing V2, I thought I would give this a try. I downloaded it for $9.99 on Steam, and downloaded xpadder 5-3 so I could map my xbox 360 controller. I have a decent PC with AMD 7950 3GB graphics card. I max it all out and it is very playable. I have only played a few levels so far.It does have a more open feel from what I have seen so far.
    I like to be able to save when you want, although it is limited before it affects your score (Which I do not care about). I heard on the harder levels it may only let you 7 saves or something. I believe there are 4 levels of difficulty and I started with easiest to learn the controls and moved up one level. I assume it can get pretty darn hard as even on the 2nd level, you have to manage your ammo and bad guys sometimes do not appear until you have been shot. They will sneak around behind you and nail you or pop up on building roofs you already walked by. Some good sound effects of people screaming etc. All versions of this game need to have a scarier feel. I have seen some big rats and birds, etc. These games need civilians, injured and wanting of help. Would be good side mission stuff. I do get killed a fair amount, I need to learn to play slower. You do not just gain health in 3 secs like V2, you have a gauge that you can fill back up using med kits (which I like). Tanks are there with there caps (some of them). It still is sometimes confusing on exactly what it is the game wants you to do. I found the pistal not very usable at a distance I did find usable in V2. Sniping is still very fun, and has the slow mo bullet and pretty good reactions of baddie being hit. Over all, I would think if you liked V2, you would like this one. It is fun.
    Expand
  6. Dec 25, 2012
    7
    The best sniper game which i ever played. This game is not perfect, has a lot of errors, but gives a climat of WWII years. You can only imagine, what they felt at the time of WWII. Expand
  7. Mar 9, 2013
    4
    This is a pretty bad game. The sniping is awful; Bullets dropping off at 30 meters totally ruins any attempt at realistic sniping. The environments are bland and repetitive, you'll be seeing the same buildings over and over again throughout the entire game. AI is weak and the sound effects are anything but accurate. It's a game based in WWII, yet you play as an American and go around disguised as a German shooting at Russians. The story is basically non-existent along with anything else that could make the game fun. Stay away. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews