User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 251 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 89 out of 251

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 12, 2013
    7
    This game is actually surprisingly good after the first. Please ignore GhostsofWar he is obviously a SEV2 fanboy.

    Pros--
    -Great Visuals (CryEngine 3 baby)
    -Fixed AI (Ignore GhostsofWar he must just really suck... They are smarter with their attacks, they dont see you after you shoot from 500m away with a silenced rifle, They dont detect you when you are hiding pretty close with a
    ghillie suit, they dont have aimbots, etc.)
    -Plays a lot smoother than 1st/less clunky gameplay
    -Smooth and clean menu
    -Way more sniping knowledge needed. aka less hand holding

    Cons--
    -Minor bugs, but it is only 10 hours from launch at time of writing. Patches will come.
    -Multiplayer is very fun, but that is the most bugged. Very rarely connects to lobbies, 1 game mode, 2 maps. But when you do get in -and that's what I'm judging on- its awesome. And like I said before 10 hours in... Patches will come...

    Would give 85/100 so rounded to 9/10. Giving 10/10 to counter GhostsofWar's clearly uninformed review.
    Expand
  2. Mar 12, 2013
    7
    For me really entertaining game. Nice graphic (CryEngine 3), but textures and shadows are overdate, good optimization and gameplay. Game is a lot of better than Sniper Ghost Warrior 1. Developers doesn't have budget like Call of Duty or Battlefield, but game is cheaper. Easy, linear, but entertaining. For me 7+/10.
  3. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    It seems to me, as if all of those '0' opinion givers were Sniper V2 fanboys. Sure, SGW2 has it's flaws but it's nowhere close to '0'. They say that haters gonna hate. I just want everyone interested to know that this game is worth its price. There are minor bugs, graphics could be better, and campaign is quite linear, but usually there is more than 1 path to choose. Besides, imho linear is not bad if provides sufficient amount of fun. Movies are linear and yet everyone watches them. Anyway, the game is worth a shot if you're looking for some solid sniping experience. Anything left to hope for is some DLC to expand the multiplayer part (which is still not bad atm). I'd give the game 7,5-8/10 but I'm giving 10 to counter those '0' haters. Cheers~! Expand
  4. Mar 12, 2013
    0
    Buggiest, over hyped game of 2013. Only 2 small MP maps, and single player is a joke. Avoid at all costs. Steam forums are ripe with angry disappointed buyers. Has nothing to do with sniping, just another COD clone.
  5. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    A significant improvement over the previous installment. There is still much left to be desired; City Interactive fails to take full advantage of Cryengine 3, and is still trying too hard to be like the modern Call of Duty games (Something I think we all can agree is a poor idea for what should be a more tactical game), but they've generally succeeded in shaping a sniper experience that is solid in both graphics and gameplay. Collapse
  6. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    The game is great. Noticed a few glitches but nothing game breaking (approximately the same amount of glitches as in sniper elite v2),the SP is linear but it's great I would prefer more of spotter-sniper moments they are really well done, AI is nothing special (FB242 has some nice lines about AI in his review) but i can't remember a fps with a good AI (yet it's much better than sniper elite v2 AI if that game had an AI), the game is fluid,sound is excellent (voice acting is a bit cheesy),and the most important part sniping is excellent. Don't know why you are comparing this game with sniper elite v2 but let me join in: SGW2 has by mails a better SP campaign,sniping in both games is excellent,I did not try the MP so i won't judge it yet. don't see the point in comparing SGW2 and SE2.This game is definitely a major improvement from the first game which i cannot say for SE2 (except the bullet-cam +the mp was nice and the epic SENZA expansion).The game is 8/10 but it's getting a straight 10 to counter those '0' haters. Can someone explain the COD comparison (perhaps I don't get it because I only played 1. COD but how in the name of your god is this a COD clone?). Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2013
    0
    The game has major bugs, your ai partner gets stuck on edges where he is suppose to hop down he cant find his way around a boat, that dies before it gets to the point where it needs to be, then when you get to a stage after doing a stealth kill, that boat that you need to move on is not around. Game is bugged, the AI is not improved at all. Save your money, get Sniper Elite V2 instead.
  8. Mar 15, 2013
    9
    I think the official reviewer has lost his mind, didn't really play the game, or has a bias of thinking it would suck because of the first game. The new sniper 2 game is fantastic fun. Is it extremely innovative? No, but that's not how games should be judged, but only on quality of gaming experience. The graphics of the lush foliage environments are splendidly accomplished and the gameplay is super fun taking out russian, filipinos, and ukranians from long range. This game is meant to be played on hard if you want a true sniping experience without all the help. I really enjoyed protecting the seal teams from afar. I actually hated the first sniper game but very much have enjoyed my experience with this game. If there is one thing we've learned, don't trust reviewers (ahem Diablo 3 and Mass Effect 3, etc.). They are biased, paid off, or way too enamored with innovation. Expand
  9. Mar 15, 2013
    9
    Τhe game has nothing to do with the previous one. Obviously the graphics and AI have improved tremendously. Playing sniper is harder than playing a simple soldier. Sure there are some cons such as in multiplayer, there are few maps. But it's so nice that the advantages outweigh.
  10. Mar 13, 2013
    0
    This game is a joke. I really expected something different from the abomination of the first chapter but city interactive proved me wrong. The "campaign" lasts no longer than 5 hours and it's full of bugs, extremely easy and boring. Another spike in the arse are phisics and graphics, both awful they were supposed to develop on cryengine 3, not on cryengine 0.1 beta. AI is bad and multiplayer has only 2 maps, so this ain't nothing more than a poor cod clone.
    Save your money or buy a real sniper game like Elite V2.
    Expand
  11. Mar 12, 2013
    8
    With only a few glitches where the game hung up until I alt-tabbed this is a beautiful looking shooter. The story is pretty basic in the campaign but the play is a lot of fun. I know some will complain A LOT about having to follow your spotter's directions but that is what they are there for. In a couple of places I took the shots in a different order and all the spotter said was "I see you have your own plan. Good luck" and I would get out of it okay. The campaign is SHORT, only about 7 hours and unlike the original it only has the single mission at launch. I am very appreciative of the fact that they have kept it pure to intel functions and removed the odd run and gun moments of the first. Considering I got the first game and this for $30 you can't really go wrong. I have yet to play the multi-player but will try that next so as to avoid the influx of hackers that will most likely take away the fun of that. Not a fantastic game but worth your time if you like sniper games. Expand
  12. Mar 13, 2013
    0
    Oooooooooooomyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy, what a waste of time and money!
    Perfect example that engine is not what makes the game matter. I wonder was that the goal for developers?
    Bad textures, bad story,bad environment, glitches, bad, bad, bad...Graphics in crysis one look better than this, if you are into candy stuff? I can not recall anything that would at least make the
    score one or two for me.The game is cheaper than other new titles but steel hurts to find out that you just financed someones bailout in this year worst attempt in making games. Someone said that this one looksbetter than the first one, i wonder how bad that is because i didnt play it. Simply said if you are desperate for some sniper shooting, didn't play any shooter in past ten years and you are willing to throw 30$, you are on the right path and should enjoy this title.
    I was attracted by the engine and ended with the short stick, so if that title "cry engine" make you doubt don't!
    Expand
  13. Mar 17, 2013
    7
    This games does exactly what it says on the tin. If you enjoy playing the noob tube you will like this game. It does what a sequel should do and improves on the 1st game in all departments. Graphically nice, good sound through a headset and can be quite immersive if you let it. Of course if you want to race through it you can but you will miss some of the atmosphere. Not the best game in the world but far from the worst, likewise not the cheapest but not a premium release either. I was niether blown away nor disapointed, sometimes you just get exactly what you pay for. Take it for what it is, deep breath and squeeze the trigger. I prefer this to V2 (which I also like) so goes to show it takes all sorts. Expand
  14. Mar 15, 2013
    2
    i waited for this game looong time and played Sniper Elite 2..i though Sniper Elite 2 is bad and Sniper Ghost Warrior gonna kick its boring ass..but NO..this game is POOOR not Boaring..why Poor? -AI is Doll and stupid and even dosnt do anything..they just has eyes everywhere in there head -Story is terrible..i dont take it seriously on stories -nothing new..just shoot this and shoot that..thats it..no thriller no some good moments ..NOTHING
    -Graphics r Poor for CRY ENGIN 3..its SHAME

    +SNIPING is perfect..thats it
    Expand
  15. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    I've just beat the campaign minutes ago. It seems to me that this is a good game anyway. It does have some bugs but the well-programmed engine, the well-written story and the improved shooting experience have already covered all the cons. Compared to I, Ghost Warrior II is totally batter in every aspects. So i give this game a 9 out of 10.
  16. Mar 16, 2013
    0
    Poor, fateful, boring, repetitive, static.
    Misuse of the graphics engine.
    Do you have a guide that tells you where you have to defecate.
    Textures appalling.
    Stereotyped History (Russian ill always and a classic bad movie Sunday afternoon.

    -10
  17. Mar 15, 2013
    7
    S:GW2 is a nice-looking, fun, fast paced game with a quick but satisfying single-player experience. I don't know what's up with all the '0' reviews it looks like a Sniper V2 message board started a campaign to discredit this game. The problems with it aren't nearly as hyperbolic as the haters allege. There are bugs, and it is more action-packed than V2, but only one of those two items is a negative. I wish it was slightly less action oriented and a bit more tactical, but it's nice to have a spotter in the campaign (I don't recall if V2 has a spotter, but it's a must irl). Expand
  18. Mar 23, 2013
    2
    The game seems to treat players like idiot. Consider the whole game as a long tutorial, as NPC will keep on yelling on what you should do. You want some creativity? NO, it's a tutorial! You will get punishment in the form of bug in scripted event, or even game crash! The game is just a linear move following a tutor until the end of game, and there are so many graphical glitches. Just too bad!
  19. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    This game isn't so bad. For me it's 7/10. The 0's are unjustified and that's why I'm giving 10. A free DLC is coming out soon and we will get 2 more multiplayer maps and a new mode. The DX 11 support will also be included and the graphics will be completely enhanced.

    The game itself is enjoyable. I recommend playing on the highest difficulty- then you can feel like a real sniper. I like
    the bullet cam and sniping from the distance. The plot isn't important for me in games like this, but I must admit it is a run of the mill. The sound also isn't impressing. Nevertheless Sniper 2 is much better than the first one and it isn't so buggy. For me, it's a great value for money. Expand
  20. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very, very nice game. 3 version of the inbox. We love all the games are very successful. I believe that the only game in the area. Was really good, with a new CryEngine 3 game engine Expand
  21. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    I like this game. I haven't noticed any glitches or play problems. I think you need very good hardware to play this with no problems. I don't like having to follow that spotter and have him call all the shots, but after playing through that mission you get away from that some at least.
    The new add-on for this game (Siberian whatever) is very good. I like it better than than the main game.
    It will cost you $9 and change for this add-on is the only drawback, but really that's not too bad because the main game was $29 and change. So, if you think about all the 50-60 dollar games coming out, you have only spent about $40 on this one. I really don't see why people want to trash this game with negative reviews, because this game isn't for everyone anyway. It's a good game if you like stealth and have patience. This game "Is Not" as bad as all these "0" reviews say. It looks like some kind of conspiracy to rag out this game. Expand
  22. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    Awesome but short game. I think this is the best sniping game I have played and even though it was short I still give it a 8/10 (Going give a it a score of 10 because of all the 0 it has been getting). The graphics can sometimes be a little outdated with some bad textureing in some places but overall there are many stunning things to look at, especially the mission in Tibet at a monastery was really stunning. This being ported to PC does result in the developer having used the same fake shadows around most edges as we saw in Far Cry 3 but that does result in some pretty good performance and I was able get about 60+ fps completely maxed out on my gtx 580 and i5 2500k. It took me about 4+ hours to complete the game on medium difficulty and when you think about it call of duty cost 60 dollars and has a 8 hour campaign so this even if its only half the lenght of the cod campaign it also costs half (And frankly the this is a much better game to with a lot better graphics than cod so you cant really compare the time it takes to complete them). Expand
  23. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    The game is underrated. If you like play a common shooter with close quarters combat, go play COD. This game is not for you, is for players that like more realistic combat. Wind, gravity, "heartbeat", everything affect you shoot. The damage resistance is to realistic, a single headshoot can kill you.
    .
    Pros The physics is too good and the game is too realistic.
    .
    Cons There are only
    2 maps in multiplayer, the campaign is short and the graphics is not good as expected for a game using cry engine 3. I know that the render distance can justify the graphics. Expand
  24. Mar 30, 2013
    0
    Don't buy it. Don't play it even if it's free. It only take my 6 hours to complete. Multi player is stupid. Way too linear shooting game. And they released new DLC for 10$. It's a disaster.
  25. Mar 27, 2013
    7
    NOW we got us a Sniper game with the additon of Siberian Strike DLC!! “IF” only CI waited the extra month and released all this together at 39.99 they would have scored much higher on reviews.. some may have reached 80/100!! I am quite content with the performance and their ability to listen to the community with the additon of hardcore and a few more Multiplayer maps! The new Campaign now makes the game feel complete and a very well done campaign mission! So for the 40 bucks, which is under the cost of most triple A titles you get two missions in single player, 4 multiplayer maps and easy and hardcore modes… that is a game worth playing.. although dedicated servers would also be a big PLUS!! Obviously “Management” failed with the early release.. this team is “very” capable of making a good game and great looking scenarios! Now if they would only offer the “dismemberment” as DLC to areas capable of using it… sigh.. Thanks for the continued support CI… hope to see it continue! Expand
  26. Apr 15, 2013
    4
    The game is more or less OK. Not good but not bad or at least not too bad either. Graphics are OK but well under expectations after the use of the Cry engine.Textures are mediocre too but the game is looking well enough. The main problem with this game is not graphics but that the game was designed by devs as a COD clone from the very beginning instead of being something new or different and as a clone it lacks in many fields. It is a very bad COD clone that even if released 10 years ago would have scored mediocre reviews. The game is so heavily scripted and linear that if you do something slightly different from what the devs programmed the result is usually always a CTD. At least in my case It CTD about 10 times during the whole SP not to mention many Graphical glitches and far too many bugs that even in one case forced me to repeat a whole chapter. The game looks like a beta and is not sufficiently debugged even after being released with one year delay. The story is completely COD- esque and void of any sense, characters are bad with low resolution textures and poor polygons and their rogdoll movements very poor, stiff and unnatural even for a 10 years old game. I liked very much the shooting physics that feel realistic enough and obviously the game is much better than the first one but not enough. what I hate the most is that the game is telling you not to be creative, not to think by your own, only do whatever the devs wanted you to do in the first place. Now figure what that was... Expand
  27. Mar 22, 2013
    5
    bad lip syncing and voice acting, overall graphics were ok but not good. I encountered a lot of bugs while playing and it's still very scripted and linear. The sniper mechanic works great, but i expected a lot more
  28. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    Great game! Don't understand a low ratings, I played Far Cry 1 and 3, Crysis 1,2,3 but this game was he best fun out of all of them. Very nice graphics, different locations, it's about being a sniper so you have to kill people on long distances but you also have a pistol with silencer or a knife for a close range. Now starting to play SGW 2: Siberian Strike...
  29. May 29, 2013
    2
    I bet you've read the reviews but I have to put this into perspective. This game is terrible.

    This stealth thing... Am I really stealthed or are the AIs just retardedly insane. I really don't understand this part.

    The graphics are great, but you can't use graphics as an excuse to cover up all the... well, crap. Stand here, shoot this, go here. It's literally making life so easy.
    This doesn't deserve to be a game, I think they should go back to the drawing board. if only such a thing exists nowadays. Expand
  30. Jul 27, 2013
    3
    While the idea is great and the need to bring a more realistic less arcade like sniper game is also a very blessed things
    Sniper doesn't do any of that well game-play is linear ,voice over isn't very good and the feel is just not there
    not to mention the fact that it is a very unstable game even loading a check point might sometimes end as a crash
    this game is a good idea with good
    graphics and nothing else

    don't waste your money on it I sure wont buy the next one
    Expand
  31. Mar 18, 2013
    3
    This game is appalling, even worse than the first one how did they manage that? It's so linear that boredom really does set in immediately following the first mission. The "story" is a joke. How the hell did they make the Cry Engine 3 look so crappy? the environments are dull, lifeless the AI are so dumb it's almost pointless shooting them! Unfortunately this game is about as Linear as it gets Go Here, this way knife that guy sneak past that guy (i swear, the AI are blind...) Get to to this point CUTSCENE now your stuck in a scope view with the camera forcing you to look only in direction of dialogue, awful.. I want my £29.00 back! Expand
  32. Mar 31, 2013
    2
    Awful use of Cry Engine 3. On max difficulty the game lasted less than 5 hours, and multiplayer contains only 2 maps. Ballistics and gameplay are mediocre, AI behaviour is terrible and unrealistic. Bullet cam is nice, but you will see it very rarely. Death animations are the most terrible I have ever seen. Missions are straightforward and linear. Ghost Warrior looks like a bad joke.
  33. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    I really did not expect to see such a low rating for this one. The game is looking great, feels great and you have to understand that you cannot go loose trigger. You must obey your spotter and follow the eye in the sky. Yes, after a reload you can go ahead of the voice on the radio and make it look bad, but this is not live feedback from a real comand center, this is a scripted game. What i really dont like and has to be patched is the slow motion effect you get between bullets firing. It slows down and when its almost ready it speeds back up. Such change of sensitivity affects aim and causes frustration at start, but you get used to it after a while. The campaign is absolutely delightful to play, being undetected, crawling past enemies, finishing the missions with flawless performace. If you make one mistake, you are dead. The multiplayer is absolutely worth playing. Compared to awp maps in Counter Strike, this is 50 times better. You can hide well, you can try going across, and it feels good once you spot the hidden enemy. In time you learn how to look into the impossible angles and its more and more enjoyable. Compared to sniping experience in Battlefield 3, this is by far better. (one shot, one kill) Unlike other shooters, in this one there are moments that are testing your patience. You cannot just hug a corner and kill 1000 incoming enemies. In my opinion this game deserves 90 points, but i will give it 100 to make up for those that did not understand this genre and were probably expecting a game where they can bunnyhop with a caliber50 and quickscope fast the enemies and maybe get a killstreak bonus. This is definately the best sniper game i have played so far. Cry Engine 3 is doing a perfect job for it. It is like a modern Delta Force game.
    I suggest ignoring all the zero ratings. That is just gamer's rage that has nothing to do with the game but with their own problem of not being able to feel satisfaction anymore, no matter what.
    Expand
  34. Mar 17, 2013
    7
    Okay, I´m going to compare it to Sniper Elite V2. SEV2 was a very good game in my opinion, it deserves 9/10 points.
    But let´s focus on Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2. Personally, I think this game is a bit underrated. People claiming it´s COD etc. But it´s not that bad. Sure, there are some minor bugs, which aren´t game breaking, but annoying. The gameplay however feels kinda linear. On the one
    hand, they made the levels like tunnels and the game tells you EXACTLY what to do...like a babysitter. On the other hand, you are allowed to do what you want to. You can play it like Metal Gear Solid and be super silent or you can make it COD style, running and shooting everything you see.
    Generally, it offers realistic elements of sniping, like bullet drop, the time the bullet takes to reach the target, wind and VERY bad visibility. It´s really hard to spot enemies that are far away, unless you use the heat-vision, which makes it a little bit too easy in my opinion. The AI isn´t bad either.
    Nonetheless, this game delivers some solid sniping experience, a storyline and, if you like the game, fun.

    Seriously, I´m speaking to the developers right now: Please give us bigger levels, these feel so cramped...and more options, without telling us every second what to do.
    Expand
  35. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    I like it, compared to first Sniper Ghost Warrior this latest version using Cryengine 3 craps all over it. Graphics, sound, voice acting and gameplay are all really good.
  36. Mar 23, 2013
    0
    Very bad Graphic: Statik Shadows, Ugly animations, "fuzzy" Textures and that´is called "Very High Graphic"!?

    Gameplay: Boring and linearly Levels...
  37. Apr 2, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was looking forward to get this game, i liked the first one and the second sequel is great. I enjoy the headshots. The graphic is decent and the gameplay engaging as well. The DLC Siberian Strike give you more freedom in terms of making your own decision how to kill or where to go. Overall a stunning experience and the next DLC is higly aprreciated! Expand
  38. May 3, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Game style is pretty good, the only problem is the multiplayer mode, which is too flat, the game makes you feel in action as a real sniper. Developed using Cry engine 3 I'd say it could have more action, multiplayer mode is too flat... Always the same!! good to play in campaign mode Expand
  39. May 23, 2013
    10
    It is a good game, but the animations are not so good.

    The game was short, but the MP maps are well made. There were a few glitches and bugs throughout the campaign but I liked the game.
  40. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hello I wanted to ask you a question or rather ask a favor for the Ghost sniper game Warrior 2 Spanish spoken in say I should make a multiply profile, it would be much to ask tell me the steps to follow to do this? thanks and regards Expand
  41. Aug 28, 2013
    9
    this game is the best sniper shooter from the year 2013 bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla
  42. Sep 24, 2013
    0
    Utter. Garbage.

    Corridor shooter, with sniper rifle. What is the point? Sniper game should have sandbox style missions. But no, you are forced to walk in a corridor handheld, and take out idiot AI enemies. Avoid at all costs. Sniper Elite 2 is better.
  43. Jul 13, 2013
    0
    Game is ultra buggy. There were no human characters in the game, only floating guns! Shadows and lighting effects were really buggy as well. It didn't work with my PC at all...
  44. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    This game stole 3 hours of my life, not saying I managed to play it that long, that would be impossible. Couldnt stand it for 10 minutes until my stomach felt sick and my brain was so bored that I actually got headache from that painly boreness I never experienced before.
  45. Jun 18, 2013
    2
    Not really better than 1st part. EXTREMELY short game. There is probably about 3 hours campaign, but you actually play about 45 minutes. Rest of time you must listen commands.... "Do not engage". "Wait for them to pass"... "Do not engage" "Kill the right guy"... "Wait for them to pass" ."Listen 5 minutes conversation until they pass" That is actual gameplay!
  46. May 26, 2013
    5
    Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 was a huge improvement of the prequel, but is still missing several things.
    The singleplayer mode was entertaining, but very linear, scripted and overall short. It barely offered any space for choices, and if so, then only "If you fail A, then do B"-styled choices. Overall, the game got very repetitive over time, but this is probably the case with every
    sniper-themed game.

    What I did not like was your lack of choice when it comes to rifles. I personally love the SVD Dragunow (and own one myself) and would have done every mission with it, but I start with my default army rifle every time. It's slightly frustrating.

    I have played through singleplayer twice and encountered several minor bugs (mission markers not disappearing, white flashes of distant textures, etc.), but nothing gamebreaking. These should not keep you from buying it.

    What bothered me was the lacking stealth aspect. Explosions and dead people everywhere and the AI doesn't notice. Your partner gets shot in the head while talking on the phone to him? No reason to alarm the others.

    Compared to Sniper Elite V2, it is an actual sniper game this time, even though I personally preferred SEV2's bullet physics.
    Expand
  47. Jul 29, 2013
    4
    A sniper simulation game which gets boring after a few missions. It's fully scripts-driven, meaning there is no areas to explore and no tactics you would have to come up with. Instead, your AI teammate will tell you "go there, no go there, now kill this one" and mark the target. Then you aim, hold breath and put the circle (which shows the expected bullet's destination) at the target's head. Bang, repeat, repeat. Now go there. Bang, repeat. Go there, go there. I dropped the game at some place where an invisible sniper kills you no matter what you do. At least that's what I thought, and I had no motivation to continue at that point. There is a gun-shooting range in the game's main menu it's as fun as the rest of the game.
    Nice art, good scenery, but all this is just scenery and nothing else.
    Expand
  48. Apr 20, 2013
    2
    Good graphics with bad gameplay and heavily scripted AI. They dont even notice you when you're walking at their backs. The most unrealistic sniper gameplay, I mean, I'm not an official sniper but these guys don't sneak up and kill with their knives. This is like playing a stealthy mission of CoD franchise which I always disliked!
  49. Mar 23, 2013
    0
    This game is hugely buggy but even with the bugs amazingly easy. One of the easiest games (not in a good way) I have ever played. Much worse than the first and the first isn't good.
  50. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    Listen up people. I beg of you, don't listen to most of these other reviews (Especially those who are giving this game 0s and 1s). I have played through the single player campaign twice now on two separate difficulties and I ran into ONE problem. Yes, through both playthroughs I ran into one single bug and it hardly affected my gameplay experience. I re-spawned underwater and for some reason I could not move so I drowned. That was the only negative issue I faced; moreover, the visuals and sniper gameplay mechanics are absolutely fantastic. Don't pass up on this game. Expand
  51. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    This is a good game. It's not necessarily as polished as the top tier franchise FPS games, but it's fun and it does have some very nice flourishes. If you like sniping action, you really can't go wrong with this excellent title.

    By the way, I also liked the original Sniper Ghost Warrior game. And this game, built on CryEngine3, is a big step up. The developers are to be congratulated
    and encouraged to keep on what is turning into a terrific franchise in its own right at a price point just half of what the big name FPS games command. Expand
  52. May 8, 2013
    7
    Good game IMO, but it need more singleplayer time, Multiplayer was good but not really fun to me, so i give it 7 for the good gameplay. But the downside of the game that the campaign is kind of bad.
  53. May 10, 2013
    0
    I liked the graphics. I got this because I like sniping role games. It was a joke in this regard. The 'meters' are more likely feet. Long distance shooting is extremely difficult. Even on high difficulty it is a joke. Far cry 3 is a better sniping game. If they could make a Far Cry game with Arma ballistics it would be great. If you are looking for a real shooting experience avoid this cartoon of a simulation. Expand
  54. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    I thought this game was great mechanically and visually. The story was decent. It was nothing amazing, but good enough to keep my interest. The major problem I have with this game is its checkpoint system. Some checkpoints are so far apart, it almost feels like you have to re play a whole level if you die.
  55. Dec 7, 2013
    9
    I guess I can't really see why people are hating on this game. It fit my expectations perfectly fine and well. I also don't believe my expectations to be too low. This game took in great use of the new Cry Engine 3, it was a beautiful game. It really challenged the player at various points. Of course I had it on the hardest difficulty but, I found it fun, and well irritating when i got stuck but, whats a game without that. You dont get that feel of success without any work. Sure there were bugs around but, please tell me a game that has no bugs. I'm not sure I really noticed anything "oh so severe" throughout the whole game. I loved the game and hope to play through it again. I really have not been challenged like this since Deus Ex on the hardest difficulty. Expand
  56. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    I Don't Know Why This Game Rating So Small, But My Rating This Game Perfect. For Gameplay And Ghrapic...............................................................
  57. Jul 18, 2013
    7
    Not a bad game a bit short, very linear. But the story is OK and game play smooth and intuitive.

    Would have been better if lean/peak was available and ability to pick up weapons from dead guys. Yes, this would potentially turn this into an FPS, but would also enhance the game. What is the point on facing hordes of enemy charging at you and not being able to pick up the Tavor next to
    you and level them down?!!!

    Maybe there is scope (no pun intended) for a sniper-oriented CoD clone...

    Good effort!
    Expand
  58. Jul 21, 2013
    7
    Sniper Ghost Warrior 2 plays over 3 acts with approximately 4 scenes per act. Graphically, it's good, having played it on the Very High setting. Textures are crisp. A number of movie clips tell the story between the acts and scenes but the video quality is somewhere between poor and passable. At the end of each scene is a summary of your headshots and accuracy. It's linear and in many instances you face invisible walls, although this doesn't detract from the overall experience too much.

    I got this one on a Steam special and played the single player through in 7 hours (according to Steam) but that includes an hour or two of it being paused, so it's quite short. I didn't try the multi-player.

    On the whole, I enjoyed this game. There were moments of frustration because some checkpoints are quite far apart and dying means replaying up to 15 minutes, often several times.

    Combat is mostly through sniping, but you have a silenced pistol and knife for performing stealth kills. Controls are standard for FPS games. Missing a shot will often change your objective from not being detected to fight your way through, although you usually end up dead when this happens. There were one or two instances where the story forces you to fight your way through by blowing your cover deliberately.

    Act III was particularly fun to play, the best part of the game. Enemy AI varies between stupid and good, a mixed bag.

    If you're looking for a casual (but short) distraction and can live with the checkpoint frustration, I recommend this game to FPS fans. Grab it when it's on special.
    Expand
  59. Dec 10, 2013
    4
    The problem with this title is all about challenging... every time there's someone at the radio or by your side telling exactly what to do. Where to shot, when to walk, where do hide. The BIG problem is simple: it becomes a child game. Producers might think that players are completely stupid, unable to make decisions or afraid of taking any risk. Disappointing...
  60. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    this game is nice but a bit short. the sniping is great. the killcam is also pretty cool. the biggest problem in the game is that its too short. another problem is the story. the story is boring and only serves to move the action, another little complaint is the pistols which arent so fun to use. my last problem with the game is the graphics, theyre just not concictent. there are levels were the graphics are god but there are levels were the graphics are mediocore. the graphics problem is also disapointing because the game runs on the cryengine, and they could have used it much better.
    if you want a sniping game, you should definetly take this, just dont expect a long and ingaging experience!
    Expand
  61. Apr 1, 2013
    7
    Piece of good work made by CI. This is just a good game! Good quality visuals (thou textures could be made in better quality). Great sounds!
    AI is on good level, not too stupid, but also not too smart :D
    Game is a little bit short, but we have a DLC, that adds next hours of gameplay. :D In the Siberia! This one is really great!
    Worth to buy, worth to play
  62. Apr 4, 2013
    6
    I loved the first game in the series. One of the best stealth based game I've played actually, and it really had a unique online experience. Not like Call of Duty, not like Battlefield. Just snipers. This game tries to hold up what the first game did but in my opinion, it failed. I actually thought this game was much worse than the first game. (Which I gave an 8) Pros: I'ts a great sniper game. No doubt.
    It still have a great multiplayer mode.
    If you liked the first game, then you might want to try this out.
    Great graphics.

    Cons:
    Nothing really new.
    Does not feel as good as the first game in someway.
    Feels more linear than the first game.
    Idiot AI

    Conclusion:
    I see no reason why you should buy this game when the previous was much better.
    6/10
    Expand
  63. Jun 2, 2013
    6
    This is the first game in the sniper series that I have played and I have to say, I wasn't disappointed. Although the graphics were a little less than I was expecting, the game play and story did make up for it. The campaign took little over 5 hours to finish but it had a good story with believable characters and a plot twist that I genuinely didn't see coming.

    I think Anderson was a
    character that could have had a lot more depth to him, but as I said before this is the first game in the sniper series I've played and more could have been revealed in earlier installments. When going through the stealth parts of the game, I did get a bit of a rush when an enemy would walk past me and stop to check if he was being watched.

    The HUD was nicely laid out and had a lot of detail on it, although I didn't seem to get a tutorial in how to read the wind direction and distance. This meant that much to my shame, I did rely fairly heavily on the aim assist red dot. However there was the odd occasion when the red dot hadn't come up yet and I had to take a shot myself, which was extremely satisfying.

    This game mixes stealth with action and patience and is pretty well balance, I think it is a good game considering it has a short story and I couldn't get the multiplayer to work!

    Overall I give this game 6/10
    Expand
  64. May 14, 2013
    4
    Linear, predictable and boring plot. Poor game mechanics. Too much sneaking around with no freedom to approach levels in different ways. I bought Sniper Elite V2 at the same time and this was a much better (if still flawed) experience mainly because you could approach levels in many different ways.

    Ultimately, a very on the rails game with too many cut scenes and not enough of anything
    else. I paid £5 for it in special and that is probably the right price. Expand
  65. May 19, 2013
    4
    Spillet er af dårlig kvalitet, både lyd og billed hakker gennem spillet og man kommer ingen vejne. Man kan ikke komme op af vandhullet, men drukner hele tiden. Ved start af nyt spil, starter ny tekst, men spillet fortsætter i vandhullet??????
  66. Nov 14, 2013
    7
    I rate this 7.5/10, and am happy because I bought it cheap in this Steam summer sale. - Good use of CryEngine 3. Some great sets; even Mt. Everest was visible in part of the game. - A little short - Checkpoint system rather than F5+F9. I had one place that took me about fifty goes to get to the next checkpoint. I expected more struggling, but it went smooth. - I liked the story, and the immersion. I will most likely play it again, and aim to get Siberian Strike DLC, when it's on Steam sale. I like this and the first SGW. It felt modern and relevant: good fun. Expand
  67. Jul 20, 2013
    5
    There's nothing original but the mechanics aren't too bad ultimately though you won't feel at all "connected" to this game at any point, the story is best described as "meh" and there's no freedom. The pace is completely off okay, okay it's a sniper game... but it is just really boring the whole way though.
  68. Aug 2, 2013
    6
    Osobiście liczyłem że nowy polski Sniper pokaże konkurencji jak powinna wyglądać prawdziwa gra o snajperach. Przeliczyłem się, to co wyszło to gra która została zrobiona na szybko bez przemyślenia. CI Games ponownie zasmucił nas nie wykorzystaniem swoich pomysłów. Kiepskie tekstury, wiele nudnawych misji i ciągnięcie gracza za rączkę(dlaczego??!! ja się pytam dlaczego) to rzeczy które totalnie niszczą tą grę. Myślałem że twórcy nauczą się po wydaniu pierwszej części jak powinny wyglądać gry, jednak niczego się nie nauczyli, wręcz uznali chyba że tworzenie gier to sztuka łatwa i nie trzeba wkładać w nią całego serca. Oczywiście w nowego Sniper da się jakos grać. Pomimo kiepskich tekstur, graficznie da się to nawet na to patrzeć, misje w których działamy na własną rękę są nawet przyjemne, a samo strzelanie jest bardziej realistyczne niż chociażby w ostatnim Sniper Elite. City Interactive musi się jeszcze wiele nauczyć. Moja ocena 6/10 Expand
  69. Oct 9, 2013
    8
    I don't understand why all the hate on this game. It's not perfect, but it's not bad either. The campaign is good, even though it's small and has some bugs, and the multiplayer is awesome! Sniping someone 300 yds away always makes me feel so good.
  70. Dec 20, 2013
    8
    Granted, it's got its flaws, but all things considered, it's not half bad. PROS: - You get a fairly wide variety of rifles - Stealth is paramount in most missions, as in real life - Visuals are good to great (if you've got the hardware) CONS: - Gameplay is pretty much linear - Even the situations where you're supposed to "think your way through" are somewhat too easy - AI is pretty dumb, only rarely, even if you blow your cover, do you receive directed fire

    Fun to play through once on MEDIUM difficulty, not sure if I'd do it again. Haven't tried multiplayer though.
    Expand
  71. Feb 5, 2014
    2
    Boring game. Its like playing a fifa game, minus everything except penalty shootouts. Also, how much of a **** can the protagonist be? Sure, it is a sniper game (duh). But being unable to pick up or use assault rifles? Why allow stealth kills then?

    The most infuriating moment has to be the mission in the swamp area, where anderson follows some guy on a stealth mission a la cpt price in
    cod. He will ask you to plant a c4 on a wooden house for distraction, then follow him for a short while and he will ask you to detonate the c4. I follow everything he says, and die. because the genius lead us into a bunch of enemies, and the blast somehow reveal our location. Tried about 10 times again, still die. After that, I did it by going against his orders (if he says don't kill, just shoot anyways), and basically eliminate everyone b4 detonating the c4. Expand
  72. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    If you have the problem of waiting for the boat in act 1 mission 1 just download a save game for act 2 then you can skip act 1 and continue......hope this helps

    if you are having trouble of downloading the save game just register to this website then download it :-

    1.)http://sniperwarriorghost2.blogspot.in/

    2.)http://forums.techdiscussion.in/showthread.php/1301-Sniper-Ghost-Warrior-2-Save-Game-Download-Free-for-PC (for this just scroll down and download the save game attachment)
    :))) really hope this helps
    Expand
  73. Mar 12, 2013
    0
    A significant improvement over the previous installment. There is still much left to be desired; City Interactive fails to take full advantage of Cryengine 3, and is still trying too hard to be like the modern Call of Duty games (Something I think we all can agree is a poor idea for what should be a more tactical game), but they've generally succeeded in shaping a sniper experience that is solid in both graphics and gameplay. Collapse
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 24
  2. Negative: 7 out of 24
  1. 45
    The technical aspects are all below medium. When will the sniper shooter sub-genre catch a break? [May 2013]
  2. May 7, 2013
    55
    It’s roughly the first Sniper with all its shortcomings, including strong linearity, repetitiveness, shallow story and inept multiplayer. [CD-Action 05/2013, p.52]
  3. Apr 9, 2013
    49
    A dumb shooter that feels like a rubbish stealth section dragged out across the length of an entire game.