Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 272 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 takes the precision of its notorious predecessor to new heights. Powered by the CryENGINE 3 engine, the missions of Ghost Warrior 2 are graphically innovative and more challenging as you once again step into the ghillie suit of a special ops sniper to throw hot lead at the enemy. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 24
  2. Negative: 7 out of 24
  1. Apr 5, 2013
    73
    The game play is satisfying and does keep up with an entertaining ride as a Sniper. While there is multiplayer, it did not seem to be part of the primary design of the game. It’s almost an afterthought to the blast of a single player experience.
  2. Apr 8, 2013
    63
    With its visuals, the shallow storyline, its limited size and gameplay failures, Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 proves that games being delayed several times often show deficiencies in quality, which results in an unexpectedly low fun factor. The chance to surpass its predecessor unfortunately hasn't been taken.
  3. Mar 25, 2013
    60
    The short campaign is best played in small doses, since its action otherwise rings a bit repetitive. Most frustrating, though, is the broken multiplayer mode, which only features two maps and one mode anyway, severely diminishing the title’s replay value.
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    53
    Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 is like a bargain at the dodgy used car dealer around the corner.
  5. Mar 18, 2013
    50
    Sniper 2 is a big disappointment. It's hard to hide mixed (at best!) feelings, after all these grand and confident announcements, after the tales of a big budget and promises of a new quality based on CryEngine 3. Still - there is fun in there somewhere. You can enjoy being thrown into exotic places, completing some of the tougher challenges and taking some really spectacular shots. Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 can appeal to enthusiasts of the sniper profession, but they have to accept all the flaws and the fact that last year's Sniper Elite V2 is a much better game.
  6. 45
    The technical aspects are all below medium. When will the sniper shooter sub-genre catch a break? [May 2013]
  7. Mar 21, 2013
    30
    Ghost Warrior 2 is just a series of corridors and the same typical shooting levels we've seen millions of times, only with no inspiration whatsoever.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 74
  2. Negative: 26 out of 74
  1. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    It seems to me, as if all of those '0' opinion givers were Sniper V2 fanboys. Sure, SGW2 has it's flaws but it's nowhere close to '0'. They say that haters gonna hate. I just want everyone interested to know that this game is worth its price. There are minor bugs, graphics could be better, and campaign is quite linear, but usually there is more than 1 path to choose. Besides, imho linear is not bad if provides sufficient amount of fun. Movies are linear and yet everyone watches them. Anyway, the game is worth a shot if you're looking for some solid sniping experience. Anything left to hope for is some DLC to expand the multiplayer part (which is still not bad atm). I'd give the game 7,5-8/10 but I'm giving 10 to counter those '0' haters. Cheers~! Expand
  2. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    I like it, compared to first Sniper Ghost Warrior this latest version using Cryengine 3 craps all over it. Graphics, sound, voice acting and gameplay are all really good. Expand
  3. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    Great game! Don't understand a low ratings, I played Far Cry 1 and 3, Crysis 1,2,3 but this game was he best fun out of all of them. Very nice graphics, different locations, it's about being a sniper so you have to kill people on long distances but you also have a pistol with silencer or a knife for a close range. Now starting to play SGW 2: Siberian Strike... Expand
  4. May 8, 2013
    7
    Good game IMO, but it need more singleplayer time, Multiplayer was good but not really fun to me, so i give it 7 for the good gameplay. But the downside of the game that the campaign is kind of bad. Expand
  5. May 26, 2013
    5
    Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 was a huge improvement of the prequel, but is still missing several things.
    The singleplayer mode was entertaining,
    but very linear, scripted and overall short. It barely offered any space for choices, and if so, then only "If you fail A, then do B"-styled choices. Overall, the game got very repetitive over time, but this is probably the case with every sniper-themed game.

    What I did not like was your lack of choice when it comes to rifles. I personally love the SVD Dragunow (and own one myself) and would have done every mission with it, but I start with my default army rifle every time. It's slightly frustrating.

    I have played through singleplayer twice and encountered several minor bugs (mission markers not disappearing, white flashes of distant textures, etc.), but nothing gamebreaking. These should not keep you from buying it.

    What bothered me was the lacking stealth aspect. Explosions and dead people everywhere and the AI doesn't notice. Your partner gets shot in the head while talking on the phone to him? No reason to alarm the others.

    Compared to Sniper Elite V2, it is an actual sniper game this time, even though I personally preferred SEV2's bullet physics.
    Expand
  6. Mar 23, 2013
    2
    The game seems to treat players like idiot. Consider the whole game as a long tutorial, as NPC will keep on yelling on what you should do. You want some creativity? NO, it's a tutorial! You will get punishment in the form of bug in scripted event, or even game crash! The game is just a linear move following a tutor until the end of game, and there are so many graphical glitches. Just too bad! Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2013
    0
    This game is hugely buggy but even with the bugs amazingly easy. One of the easiest games (not in a good way) I have ever played. Much worse than the first and the first isn't good. Expand

See all 74 User Reviews