Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 PC

Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 314 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 takes the precision of its notorious predecessor to new heights. Powered by the CryENGINE 3 engine, the missions of Ghost Warrior 2 are graphically innovative and more challenging as you once again step into the ghillie suit of a special ops sniper to throw hot leadSniper: Ghost Warrior 2 takes the precision of its notorious predecessor to new heights. Powered by the CryENGINE 3 engine, the missions of Ghost Warrior 2 are graphically innovative and more challenging as you once again step into the ghillie suit of a special ops sniper to throw hot lead at the enemy. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 24
  2. Negative: 7 out of 24
  1. Apr 5, 2013
    73
    The game play is satisfying and does keep up with an entertaining ride as a Sniper. While there is multiplayer, it did not seem to be part of the primary design of the game. It’s almost an afterthought to the blast of a single player experience.
  2. Apr 8, 2013
    63
    With its visuals, the shallow storyline, its limited size and gameplay failures, Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 proves that games being delayed several times often show deficiencies in quality, which results in an unexpectedly low fun factor. The chance to surpass its predecessor unfortunately hasn't been taken.
  3. Mar 25, 2013
    60
    The short campaign is best played in small doses, since its action otherwise rings a bit repetitive. Most frustrating, though, is the broken multiplayer mode, which only features two maps and one mode anyway, severely diminishing the title’s replay value.
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    53
    Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 is like a bargain at the dodgy used car dealer around the corner.
  5. Mar 18, 2013
    50
    Sniper 2 is a big disappointment. It's hard to hide mixed (at best!) feelings, after all these grand and confident announcements, after the tales of a big budget and promises of a new quality based on CryEngine 3. Still - there is fun in there somewhere. You can enjoy being thrown into exotic places, completing some of the tougher challenges and taking some really spectacular shots. Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 can appeal to enthusiasts of the sniper profession, but they have to accept all the flaws and the fact that last year's Sniper Elite V2 is a much better game.
  6. PC Master (Greece)
    Jun 5, 2013
    45
    The technical aspects are all below medium. When will the sniper shooter sub-genre catch a break? [May 2013]
  7. Mar 21, 2013
    30
    Ghost Warrior 2 is just a series of corridors and the same typical shooting levels we've seen millions of times, only with no inspiration whatsoever.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 87
  2. Negative: 26 out of 87
  1. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    It seems to me, as if all of those '0' opinion givers were Sniper V2 fanboys. Sure, SGW2 has it's flaws but it's nowhere close to '0'. TheyIt seems to me, as if all of those '0' opinion givers were Sniper V2 fanboys. Sure, SGW2 has it's flaws but it's nowhere close to '0'. They say that haters gonna hate. I just want everyone interested to know that this game is worth its price. There are minor bugs, graphics could be better, and campaign is quite linear, but usually there is more than 1 path to choose. Besides, imho linear is not bad if provides sufficient amount of fun. Movies are linear and yet everyone watches them. Anyway, the game is worth a shot if you're looking for some solid sniping experience. Anything left to hope for is some DLC to expand the multiplayer part (which is still not bad atm). I'd give the game 7,5-8/10 but I'm giving 10 to counter those '0' haters. Cheers~! Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2016
    10
    Most underrated game I've ever played. sure it's a budget title reviewers.....get over it, and yourselves. So many times a plucky game likeMost underrated game I've ever played. sure it's a budget title reviewers.....get over it, and yourselves. So many times a plucky game like this gets crapped on for all the wrong reasons. yes its linear, yes it's a little rough in places but damn is it engrossing, cinematic and downright enjoyable to play. The Siberian strike DLC is superb and solves some of the critics issues with the main game, more open and tactical being the most obvious. Seriously for once just say f&%k you to the critics and give this fine game a go, a true rough diamond if ever there was one. Expand
  3. Dec 7, 2013
    9
    I guess I can't really see why people are hating on this game. It fit my expectations perfectly fine and well. I also don't believe myI guess I can't really see why people are hating on this game. It fit my expectations perfectly fine and well. I also don't believe my expectations to be too low. This game took in great use of the new Cry Engine 3, it was a beautiful game. It really challenged the player at various points. Of course I had it on the hardest difficulty but, I found it fun, and well irritating when i got stuck but, whats a game without that. You dont get that feel of success without any work. Sure there were bugs around but, please tell me a game that has no bugs. I'm not sure I really noticed anything "oh so severe" throughout the whole game. I loved the game and hope to play through it again. I really have not been challenged like this since Deus Ex on the hardest difficulty. Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2014
    7
    I'll give this game a solid 7/10. The first few missions in which the player is mostly directed by an AI target spotter companion mostly work,I'll give this game a solid 7/10. The first few missions in which the player is mostly directed by an AI target spotter companion mostly work, though the mechanic produces tense moments along side frustration on the odd occasion when the stupid spotter gets you detected by the enemy. That being said, the spotter mechanic provides an easy introduction in to the best method of approaching the various situations the game presents.

    Though it uses the Crye engine the graphics aren't exactly the best that the engine can produce, a fault that I would imagine is caused by the fact that in addition to being developed for the PC the dev team had to accommodate the vastly lower technical abilities of previous-generation consoles. This also produces my main complaint about the main game - it's incredibly linear, almost to the point of being an on-rails shooter.

    The Siberian Strike DLC freed things up considerably and while it's no FarCry 3, the DLC gives the player a much more diverse number of approaches to any given situation and far less hand-holding than the vanilla game and is a much more enjoyable experience for it.

    Overall Ghost Warrior is one of the better portrayals of a military special ops sniper role for the PC and for that reason alone is an interesting game to play. Finally, I can't really comment on the multi-player aspects of the game as the few servers that I could get the game to connect to were empty. By now the game is entirely forgotten on line.
    Expand
  5. Apr 4, 2013
    6
    I loved the first game in the series. One of the best stealth based game I've played actually, and it really had a unique online experience.I loved the first game in the series. One of the best stealth based game I've played actually, and it really had a unique online experience. Not like Call of Duty, not like Battlefield. Just snipers.

    This game tries to hold up what the first game did but in my opinion, it failed. I actually thought this game was much worse than the first game. (Which I gave an 8)

    Pros:
    I'ts a great sniper game. No doubt.
    It still have a great multiplayer mode.
    If you liked the first game, then you might want to try this out.
    Great graphics.

    Cons:
    Nothing really new.
    Does not feel as good as the first game in someway.
    Feels more linear than the first game.
    Idiot AI

    Conclusion:
    I see no reason why you should buy this game when the previous was much better.
    6/10
    Expand
  6. Dec 10, 2013
    4
    The problem with this title is all about challenging... every time there's someone at the radio or by your side telling exactly what to do.The problem with this title is all about challenging... every time there's someone at the radio or by your side telling exactly what to do. Where to shot, when to walk, where do hide. The BIG problem is simple: it becomes a child game. Producers might think that players are completely stupid, unable to make decisions or afraid of taking any risk. Disappointing... Expand
  7. Sep 24, 2013
    0
    Utter. Garbage.

    Corridor shooter, with sniper rifle. What is the point? Sniper game should have sandbox style missions. But no, you are
    Utter. Garbage.

    Corridor shooter, with sniper rifle. What is the point? Sniper game should have sandbox style missions. But no, you are forced to walk in a corridor handheld, and take out idiot AI enemies. Avoid at all costs. Sniper Elite 2 is better.
    Expand

See all 87 User Reviews