Sniper: Ghost Warrior PC

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 265 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 265
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 28, 2010
    7
    Yes, the game is flawed in many ways, but patient gamers who like sniper/stealth missions and don't mind longish stretches of slow crawling through the tall grass to line up a perfect head-shot will be well entertained despite all the (mainly AI based) annoyances. I cannot understand the outrage over the "unfairly hard" run-and-gun portions of the game. Firstly, they make no more that 5%Yes, the game is flawed in many ways, but patient gamers who like sniper/stealth missions and don't mind longish stretches of slow crawling through the tall grass to line up a perfect head-shot will be well entertained despite all the (mainly AI based) annoyances. I cannot understand the outrage over the "unfairly hard" run-and-gun portions of the game. Firstly, they make no more that 5% of the game, and secondly, the solution is very simple: don't play them as run-and-gun. Move slowly and cautiously, take cover and whenever possible stay behind your comrades who are essentially unkillable and help distribute the enemy fire. Expand
  2. JkG
    Aug 31, 2010
    7
    An underrated game here. There are some big AI problems and you need half decent hardware to fully enjoy the graphics but for the sheer satisfaction of hitting a target in hard mode with the perfect shot. It makes it different to the major FPS'. City Interactive... make it again only better
  3. Apr 16, 2012
    7
    A not of a hit and miss game. I myself enjoyed the single player campaign if not just a little frustrating in some places. The bullet time kill can was a great addition and the graphics still hold they're own to this date. If you like action FPS with a bit of sneakiness it is definitely one to pickup and play, even if its for one play though.
  4. Dec 11, 2010
    7
    This game requires a very good video card, if you can run Battle Filed Bad Company 2 Pc, you can run this game. My Geforce 6600 can run this game around 15-20 FPS. So if you have anything over that you should be ready to go. The Multiliplayer is very very limited, you cant edit your classes and there is only about 5 classes to choose from. I feel that people use the pistols and grenadesThis game requires a very good video card, if you can run Battle Filed Bad Company 2 Pc, you can run this game. My Geforce 6600 can run this game around 15-20 FPS. So if you have anything over that you should be ready to go. The Multiliplayer is very very limited, you cant edit your classes and there is only about 5 classes to choose from. I feel that people use the pistols and grenades more than the accusal rifle. The campaign is pretty good, better then the MP, but it has its bugs as in, lack off narration causing the player to get lost sometime. Over all I rate the campaign and 8 and the MP a 6 so over all a 7 Expand
  5. May 27, 2011
    7
    Decent FPS if you immerse yourself in the role of trying to be stealthy. If you just run and gun it can be quite disappointing. The enemy AI is really the weak point of the game. They can spot & shoot you from across the map and if you shoot one in a group, the others just seem clueless as to what is going on and just wait for you to shoot them too. Your rifle shots essentially go unheard;Decent FPS if you immerse yourself in the role of trying to be stealthy. If you just run and gun it can be quite disappointing. The enemy AI is really the weak point of the game. They can spot & shoot you from across the map and if you shoot one in a group, the others just seem clueless as to what is going on and just wait for you to shoot them too. Your rifle shots essentially go unheard; enemies don't enter a state of awareness after you shoot from distance. Your own squad immortally absorbs bullets and never die. The bullet-cam is pretty cool feature and the game has respectable graphics. Good bargain bin shooter. Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2012
    7
    I got this game about around the time it came out, and i have to say, it is a ok game. It does have it's up's and down's but what game doesn't? The AI problem of them being able to spot you is a big problem, and from what I experienced the only major problem, also the maps are some what small. one last thing, it's funny how people are saying CoD is better than this game, even though CoD isI got this game about around the time it came out, and i have to say, it is a ok game. It does have it's up's and down's but what game doesn't? The AI problem of them being able to spot you is a big problem, and from what I experienced the only major problem, also the maps are some what small. one last thing, it's funny how people are saying CoD is better than this game, even though CoD is even less realistic, and has a just as average run of the mill story line. Expand
  7. xcx
    Jan 10, 2012
    7
    Under rated game. One of the best sniper games I've played in a while but you will need a descent gaming system to enjoy the graphics. Multiplayer is pretty good although I'm thinking of getting the map pack. Enjoy
  8. Mar 13, 2013
    7
    This is not a bad game. It really isn't. Despite all it's bad reviews, and all the flaws the game has, I've yet to see another game offering the same kind of game-play. Being completely stealth in the jungle, slowly making your way forward, and taking out those who are in your way, without anyone every knowing who it was. Killing in this game is really satisfying, and the bullet kill-camsThis is not a bad game. It really isn't. Despite all it's bad reviews, and all the flaws the game has, I've yet to see another game offering the same kind of game-play. Being completely stealth in the jungle, slowly making your way forward, and taking out those who are in your way, without anyone every knowing who it was. Killing in this game is really satisfying, and the bullet kill-cams is awesome. Although this game have some serious issues regarding the AI. Sometimes they're just too stupid, and sometimes way too smart. It's really random how some can detect you hundreds of meters away, when you're barely moving and with full camouflage. Also really random how they sometimes don't see you when you're just in front of them. The one thing that ruined the game for me, was the missions where you had to use Assault rifles. When you aim down your sights with an Assault rifle, the aiming feels so rough, and clumsy, and not smooth at all, which, even in the hands of a pro FPS player, would make it hard. And a mixture between extremely random AI, and bad guns, are a REALLY bad mixture. But all in all, this game is good, and i like it, only on the sniper missions though. There is unfortunately a few missions where you do not use snipers. I thought it was a sniper game. If you see this game on sales somewhere, and you love sniper games, i must say i recommend this game. Because, as i said, despite all the flaws, it makes up a pretty good sniper game for those who like stealth sniping. Expand
  9. Jan 7, 2014
    7
    The pre-upshot:
    Sniper: Ghost Warrior still goes alongside the rumours and my own opinion and forecast;
    It's all show and no substance. Graphics: The game looks great and has superior light- and shadow-effects, no doubt about it. It's in my humble opinion on the same level like OF:DR², CoD4 a little bit more than BF². But it appears to be a bit delicately don't know how to
    The pre-upshot:
    Sniper: Ghost Warrior still goes alongside the rumours and my own opinion and forecast;

    It's all show and no substance.

    Graphics:
    The game looks great and has superior light- and shadow-effects, no doubt about it.

    It's in my humble opinion on the same level like OF:DR², CoD4 a little bit more than BF².
    But it appears to be a bit delicately don't know how to convey it.
    It doesn't seems to be robust and full-fledged like 'Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare'.
    There are often skippin' textures, flickering and stuff like that (which it's not driver/graphic-cards dependent).

    AI:
    One word; Measly.
    The AI is disastrous, it's simply in-existent.
    There are unbelievable scenes and things which aren't acceptable.

    Bugs/Gameplay:
    You care for an example?
    The situation:
    I tried several times to invade and cross a village while remaining undiscovered, so far the plan.
    Notwithstanding the grass is about 3 feet tall and i prone in my almost magical 'Special SpecOps Marksmen Sniper camouflage suit' which is pretty cool and a soldiers dream to look at it i got a head-shot from 800 meters for free.

    So i decide to make the Rambo.
    I went to engage the village with all the fire-power i got, and as obvious and loud as possible.
    In the end, you probably guess it;
    I watch in awe two enemies shootin' for whatever sake a freaking stone and foist the stones dead?
    I knifed both.
    Any questions ?

    In general the AI gets and hits you, wherever and behinds whatever cover you are mostly with a headshot.

    Stealth-Meter:
    It makes no difference if you're well covered in endless-tall grass or behind the thickest wall, or if you're roam freely on the highest exposed places.
    The Cover-Meter (witch is [at best] useless) indicates me on the first situation i was exposed and on the other hand i was nearly invisible.

    Freely exposed while hidin' hundreds of meters away in grass or behind walls.
    And virtual unseeable staying on-top of a HMMWV
    while shootin' at an enemy just a footstep away.

    No further questions, Your Honour.

    Performance:
    The performance is abysmal.
    The graphic is, let's say, 2008's measures adapted and meets barely todays standards.
    But the for this purpose needed performance and processing power, speechless.

    And no, i didn't forgot the multiplayer.
    It's just not worth mentioning.
    My conclusion: Sniper: Ghost Warrior joins seamlessly today's line-up of games which got nice graphics but crappy and buggy gameplay/AI/whatsoever. From this point of view, it's dure but true, S:GW puts itself on the same level as SC:C, CoD:BO, OF:DR² and so on. All that glimmers isn't gold.
    Expand
  10. Oct 5, 2010
    6
    I think the game is really good. Especially the single-player, its with nice weapons but the story is a classic with one hero, you. And when you kill someone they don't immediately sound the alarm. The on-line really ruins the game much bugs and the more you kill you don't unlock weapons or things like that.
  11. Oct 15, 2010
    6
    Ok, so i got this game because i love sniping. I love to calculate the bullet drop, humidity, etc, etc. It is truly an art to be a sniper. This game brings some elements of that into it, but only a few. The Good- It is a very realistic sniping game - Average story line - Average graphics. The Bad- Enemies will shoot you across the map with an automatic weapon - Enemy AI will spot you veryOk, so i got this game because i love sniping. I love to calculate the bullet drop, humidity, etc, etc. It is truly an art to be a sniper. This game brings some elements of that into it, but only a few. The Good- It is a very realistic sniping game - Average story line - Average graphics. The Bad- Enemies will shoot you across the map with an automatic weapon - Enemy AI will spot you very easily. Altough, i do love getting the slow-mo head shots 500 feet away. Multiplayer is somewhat fun, but repetitive. I am currently stuck on the mission where you have to sneak past a base, and im crawling in the dark, tall grass at midnight, and the enemies on the ground still spot me, about 70 feet away. So- Terrible AI and a somewhat fun multiplayer earn this game around a 6. I would only suggest this to die-hard fans of sniping. Expand
  12. Nov 21, 2010
    6
    An ok game, good graphics but some Ai issues always keep presenting through out the game.
    To start with positive the maps in this game are excellent and look amazing.
    on the bad side the Ai can see you from 300 m away and have unrealistic aim with an assault rifle that can make you a dead man real quick, this takes away the stealth of hiding in a bush or on a cliff. The only only thing
    An ok game, good graphics but some Ai issues always keep presenting through out the game.
    To start with positive the maps in this game are excellent and look amazing.
    on the bad side the Ai can see you from 300 m away and have unrealistic aim with an assault rifle that can make you a dead man real quick, this takes away the stealth of hiding in a bush or on a cliff.
    The only only thing that was extremely satisfying was the bullet cam, So this is why I rate it 6 out of 10.
    Expand
  13. Mar 29, 2013
    6
    Sniper: Ghost Warrior is not great, the story line is boring the game-play is not great, on the plus side the graphics are really good. If you like crappy story lines and great graphics then buy it, other than that this is not a game I would recommend.
  14. Jan 15, 2013
    5
    I know the game developers who made bad games like Code of Honor or Terrorist Takedown,but i found out this game are a bit inspiring,but sadly its kinda poor.The good thing is how this game needs to be focused in Sniping,well die-hard fans of Sniper will like this game for sure,and other thing is this game are much better than previous title made by City Interactive.Thats all for goodI know the game developers who made bad games like Code of Honor or Terrorist Takedown,but i found out this game are a bit inspiring,but sadly its kinda poor.The good thing is how this game needs to be focused in Sniping,well die-hard fans of Sniper will like this game for sure,and other thing is this game are much better than previous title made by City Interactive.Thats all for good stuff...now for the bad stuff.The Graphics,i don`t know but this company is famous of being Unpolished game and Unoptimized.I seen Call of Juarez are much playable that this game.AI on this game are kinda poor,they instantly know where do you hide.And the gameplay,much i said about Sniping,there are Close-Quarter gameplay,and its like Code of Honor but without sniping and the weapons are Non-Recoil...LOL!
    But anyway,this game is mixed-bag.
    Expand
  15. Nov 28, 2010
    5
    This game is..... Bad, the graphic is normal and: difficult- 10/100 bugs- 80/100 (at least) and it also got less selections. the pistol is so powerful.... the sniper is a bit weak,,,, over all its normal.... looks like they have been making less effort on the multi player but a lot more effort on the singleplayer...
  16. Mar 15, 2013
    5
    Do you want a sniper game with 100% linear corridor levels? With heavy handholding so you can't go where you want and there is a permanent white circle showing you where you must go? Where the enemies can jog and fire automatic weapons from the hip at you, and hit with every single bullet even though you're behind hard cover and you don't die, but also can't fire back because the screenDo you want a sniper game with 100% linear corridor levels? With heavy handholding so you can't go where you want and there is a permanent white circle showing you where you must go? Where the enemies can jog and fire automatic weapons from the hip at you, and hit with every single bullet even though you're behind hard cover and you don't die, but also can't fire back because the screen jumps every time you're hit? A sniping game with bullet drop and wind effect, but also an indicator which shows you exactly where the bullet will hit, and where you constantly find yourself running & gunning instead of sniping? A game full of invisible walls and impassable straws of grass?

    Man, do I have good news for you this is the game you want!

    Everyone else should stay the frack away.
    Expand
  17. Jul 11, 2011
    5
    Oh goodness -- the sniping in this game is fantastic. It is the best in any game I have ever seen. It is very beautiful -- one of the prettiest games I have seen. I think that this game is fantastic, save for one flaw. I can only think of one flaw with this game. The AI. It is the absolute worst thing I have ever seen. The AI instantaneously see (this is on hard mode by the way) you ifOh goodness -- the sniping in this game is fantastic. It is the best in any game I have ever seen. It is very beautiful -- one of the prettiest games I have seen. I think that this game is fantastic, save for one flaw. I can only think of one flaw with this game. The AI. It is the absolute worst thing I have ever seen. The AI instantaneously see (this is on hard mode by the way) you if there is a direct line of sight (as in no walls). Now, you may be thinking "Okay, not bad, so they see you." They also DON'T MISS! They instantly see you, even if you are in bushes. Meaning you cannot see them. They don't miss. If you poke your head out -- you die. That is it. Simple as that. The only reason this game is not a 10 is because they let a braindead monkey on crack program their AI. I tried the level where you stand on a hill with the machine gun and defend yourself for a few minutes 30 time before I gave up on the game. It is nigh on impossible, because once you finish (which is not that hard once you get on the machine gun) a guy randomly spawns in a bush behind you and instantly kills you. Every time.

    Great game save for the worst AI I have ever seen.
    Expand
  18. Jan 21, 2012
    5
    OK, so i got this game because i was going overseas for 2 years, and i scored a racer, an RPG, an FPS and a strategy. Got this as the FPS obviously. Firstly was greatful to see that the graphics ran high on my laptop. The scenery is stunning and love the ragdoll effect on dead enemies. Weapons are awesome and recoil and bullet drop add some fun. Only played through once and that'll be it.OK, so i got this game because i was going overseas for 2 years, and i scored a racer, an RPG, an FPS and a strategy. Got this as the FPS obviously. Firstly was greatful to see that the graphics ran high on my laptop. The scenery is stunning and love the ragdoll effect on dead enemies. Weapons are awesome and recoil and bullet drop add some fun. Only played through once and that'll be it. i couldnt wait to finish it, which is a shame! the AI is frickin retarded. stealth means knife kills. even if u shoot someone with a silencer on, you can be heard from 200m away, but not a knife kill and the body falling. hell a body can fall next to a dude and he doesnt know. second, even though you can barely see enemies, they can see you. acting normal, then all of a sudden from 100m away and from behind they spin around WTF? made some missions, esp when ur escaping very hard. i thought the vegetation would cover you enough but these enemies are superhuman, they can even hit you at 300m with a full auto ak 90% of the time. some things they do are ridiculous, others are just plain stupid. would be good to also see some map areas accessible - like i cant crawl under a 2ft gap if its not in main map but i can slide 50m down a hill and be fine??? if vegetation was fully effective and AI was smart (they just duck up and down after you shoot a guy next to them) this would be a mad game. sadly one i wont be playing again. Expand
  19. Aug 14, 2013
    5
    I like several others got this game because I enjoy sniping and stealth games. This game was a lot less stealthy than the title would lead you to believe. Much of the action felt like run and gun rather than sneaking into careful positions and taking a target out. While some missions were based on stealth you were punished in other ways. The story wasn't terrible but nothing special aboutI like several others got this game because I enjoy sniping and stealth games. This game was a lot less stealthy than the title would lead you to believe. Much of the action felt like run and gun rather than sneaking into careful positions and taking a target out. While some missions were based on stealth you were punished in other ways. The story wasn't terrible but nothing special about it. It comes out to about what you would expect from a military operation. Expand
  20. Dec 28, 2015
    5
    Sniper Ghost Warrior may be fun for gamers who won't mind to encounter some issues that could ruin the enjoyment from this game. But for me? I can spend a little time for it but the control, navigation and the environment of SGW are just too faulty and buggy to be enjoyed on its maximum potential. Additionally, the AI can be too stupid or too smart -- you can shoot anyone with a loudSniper Ghost Warrior may be fun for gamers who won't mind to encounter some issues that could ruin the enjoyment from this game. But for me? I can spend a little time for it but the control, navigation and the environment of SGW are just too faulty and buggy to be enjoyed on its maximum potential. Additionally, the AI can be too stupid or too smart -- you can shoot anyone with a loud sniper and their allies from 50 meters away wouldn't even react a finger, but they have accurate ass shooting skills where their assault rifles can literally kill me even if I'm in sniping distance.

    PS, I have a mid-tier unit that can run any games esp if it's several years old, but yeah my unit is still coughing blood just trying to run this 2010 game on medium graphics.
    Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
  1. Jul 12, 2011
    72
    It's one of the good sniper games out there, providing hours of fun. The low price suggests a good bargain, which it is, but just don't expect a premium title.
  2. Dec 20, 2010
    65
    It looks good and it feels good at points but I'm afraid its shortcomings are going to make it a forgotten title.
  3. PC PowerPlay
    60
    Budget purchase at best. [Sept 2010, p.58]