Sniper: Ghost Warrior PC

Sniper: Ghost Warrior Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 277 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The democratic government of Isla Trueno has been overthrown and a military regime comes into power. The country becomes a theatre of influence war. You are sent as one of the covert commandos to support the rebels fighting their oppressor. [City Interactive]
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Sniper: Ghost Warrior PS3 Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
  1. Despite the lack of narration and poor shooter moments, Sniper: Ghost Warrior shines from other City Interactive products thanks to some really good sniping scenes and nice graphic.
  2. GameStar
    72
    A thrilling first person shooter with some flaws. If it wasn't for those unnecessary action interludes it would have been much better and probably even a great game.
  3. PC Gamer UK
    69
    Great sniping, great sneaking, and several grueling missions where you can do neither. [Sept 2010, p.104]
  4. If you really need the urge to play through a game as a sniper just pick up any other FPS game and only play it with a sniper rifle, or play Modern Warfare's sniper stage, or experience the sniper dual in Metal Gear Solid 3 Snake Eater.
  5. A flawed sniper game that mixes nice graphics with repetitive gameplay, poor AI and a technological mess. Sniper: Ghost Warrior is pretty average overall.
  6. Despite the interesting concept behind it, Sniper Ghost Warrior falls short on the expectations. Some of the missions are still funny, and being a sniper is surely one of the deepest dreams of every FPS fan, but a lack of overall quality, the complete absence of a decent storytelling and a lousy multiplayer don't make this game worth the while.
  7. Even at a commendable budget price and with the developer's commitment to support the game, I can't recommend Sniper: Ghost Warrior. Even as a cheap stopgap, the game is sure to disappoint all but the least discerning fans of the genre.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 72
  2. Negative: 30 out of 72
  1. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    This game is awesome! The single player is alot of fun but kind of short i think you could beat it in about 4-5 hours. The online part of theThis game is awesome! The single player is alot of fun but kind of short i think you could beat it in about 4-5 hours. The online part of the game is intense and you have to be a good sniper to survive and know were to be. I don't know why people are having problems with this game, because they are improving it all the time and adding to it to make it better. The bugs in the game aren't annoying and they will get fixed. This game is becoming one of my favorite to play. I love it!! If you have played sniper elite before then you should be right at home with this game, it follows the bullet to the target like in sniper elite but 10 times better. If you feel like your a sniper in real life and love to do it in games then you cant go wrong in getting this game. Get it if you love sniping!! Expand
  2. May 5, 2012
    9
    It´s a very interested and goodIt´s a very interested and good game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  3. Jul 16, 2013
    8
    Unbelievable how much I am liking this game. All the understandably previously described bugs and pro/user/review/complaints are fixed.Unbelievable how much I am liking this game. All the understandably previously described bugs and pro/user/review/complaints are fixed.

    First it was heavily criticised for checkpoint saving. Reviewers reported traversing long distances dying and having to do it all again. NOW it's F5+F9; it's been updated to quicksave and quickload. Perfect. Plus there is SAVE and LOAD when you press Esc for the in-game menu.
    Second the A.I. The complaint was that it was too lame, then too accurate at long distance even when you were camoflaged. FIXED. I estimate the A.I. is about the same as you would find in Crysis.
    Third, that the pistol was overpowered. I have to disagree with that. It's nice that two clean shots can kill, as it should be. Sometimes you have to make more shots anyway.

    Moving on though, the graphics are lovely. It's set in the Amazon jungle, and looks exactly like a blend of Far Cry and Crysis. Sadly there is no 'antialiasing' in the video options so you can expect a few jaggies. It should run fine on very modest graphics cards. A GT240 type graphics card should max it all.

    Just because it's a sniper title, doesn't mean slow gamplay: the game moves at a lively pace. It's moderately intense, involving, and exciting. There is an auto slow-mo replay of some of the headshots you make, and watching the physics is great. Overall the shooting has plenty of rewarding take-downs.

    If you look at it and think even vaguely "Maybe a sniping game would be good", you could love this.

    My score of 8/10 is really about 84%. I knocked a few points off for the following. 1 Mounted heavy guns are very loud and recoil on them is phenomenal, but luckily you use them rarely. 2 'No anti-aliasing' in video settings'. 3 There was a moment when I got stuck, and it took me about twently minutes to work out why. All I needed to do at that point was make two more kills, before I could descend from a ledge. 4 -'THE INTRO SCREEN HAS A BUG' so you can't watch the introductory video properly. The bug shows only the lower half of the video, while the upper half of the screen is blacked out. Fear not though because the game, and all the menus are complete.

    I paid £0.89 for it on Steam's current sale. At full Steam price of £6 it's still a generously priced buy. I will buy Sniper Ghost Warrior 2 before the 2013 Steam Summer Sale ends. Buy SGW quickly in case Steam up the price since it works now, and that word might spread. You will be buying a solid shooter, and the gun...seriously..!
    Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    5
    I like several others got this game because I enjoy sniping and stealth games. This game was a lot less stealthy than the title would lead youI like several others got this game because I enjoy sniping and stealth games. This game was a lot less stealthy than the title would lead you to believe. Much of the action felt like run and gun rather than sneaking into careful positions and taking a target out. While some missions were based on stealth you were punished in other ways. The story wasn't terrible but nothing special about it. It comes out to about what you would expect from a military operation. Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2010
    4
    The game is too unrealistic. Grenades shouldn't exist, pistols should be much weaker. Maps should be much bigger, with a lot more places toThe game is too unrealistic. Grenades shouldn't exist, pistols should be much weaker. Maps should be much bigger, with a lot more places to hide and better concealment, generally they should have just spent more than 1 day on their maps. Then the compass simply shouldn't exist. Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2013
    3
    This game is generally terrible.

    The controls manage to be stiff, even at 60 fps with mouse and keyboard controls. Animations are wooden,
    This game is generally terrible.

    The controls manage to be stiff, even at 60 fps with mouse and keyboard controls. Animations are wooden, and the AI is remarkably bad. I really have no idea how the AI can be just this terrible. Sometimes enemy guards will see you randomly and raise the alarm, even if you're half a mile away buried under bushes and dense grass. Other times, you can dash across a road right in front of them without alerting them. Broken AI is unforgivable in a game about stealth and sniping.

    Enemies themselves are pathetic in fights, and it should be simple for any gamer to simply kill everyone. It's easier than trying to sneak through, considering how bad the stealth mechanics are.

    The final nail in the coffin is that Ghost Warrior is heavily scripted. Your character will do things without your control in mini cutscenes, and usually it ends up landing you in trouble or setting you up for an especially broken mission where every enemy is automatically aware of your presence.

    I can't give this game more than 3.
    Expand
  7. Feb 4, 2014
    0
    PC FOV is unbearable, and there is no fix, not even by editing files. Developers on Steam not only refuse to acknowledge that it needs to bePC FOV is unbearable, and there is no fix, not even by editing files. Developers on Steam not only refuse to acknowledge that it needs to be fixed, but also make jokes (some sexual) about the people asking for a FOV fix. Expand

See all 72 User Reviews