Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Feb 17, 2012
    80
    It's a superlative amount of content and refinement compared to many so-called "triple-A" productions that sell for six times that amount. Anyone looking for a good space dogfight should feel obliged to give it a try.
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    80
    A solid, if bite-sized, space combat game that revitalizes a defunct genre with excellent flight combat and only a few missteps.
  3. PC Master (Greece)
    Mar 12, 2012
    70
    Nitpicking aside, the fact remains: SOL Exodus is a first decent try from a new developer, especially if we consider the complete lack of titles in the story-driven, space combat sim genre. The game is entertaining, holds our interest until the ending of the campaign and the developers seem determined to support their game for a long time, given its initial commercial success. [April 2012]
  4. Jan 27, 2012
    70
    As an affordable, accessible leap back into the shoes of a space fighter ace, Sol: Exodus is a success.
  5. CD-Action
    Jul 31, 2012
    65
    Despite its very low price SOL: Exodus is a surprisingly good proof that even today a solid space combat sim might find its place on the market. [September 2012, p.63]
  6. May 11, 2012
    60
    The uninspired mission design is not the only problem that Exodus is confronted with. After the short campaign you hardly find any reasons to blast into space. But not everything is bad: Controls are spot on, the upgrade system works well and the plot delivers some well executed cynicism.
  7. 60
    It's doubtful that SOL: Exodus will be a deciding factor in reviving the space-opera-genre, but it is still good to see that there are people out there who also love to dust off their joysticks and head out for a space fight.
  8. Jan 27, 2012
    60
    I didn't expect this little indie game to replace Starlancer or TIE Fighter in my heart, but I'm disappointed that it struggled to strike a single chord with my cherished memories of those classics.
  9. Jul 9, 2012
    55
    We don't see to many space shooters anymore these days. Unfortunately, SOL: Exodus is a bit of a disappointment. The AI isn't great and there aren't many challenging moments. It's a cheap little game though that will keep you entertained for a little while.
  10. Feb 7, 2012
    55
    Quotation forthcoming.
  11. Jan 27, 2012
    55
    Sol: Exodus may be a step in the right direction to bring back space combat games, but it certainly won't be the title that inspires a generation to demand more. Any gamer, and especially PC gamer, over 25 probably wants the genre to flourish like it used to, but a game like Sol, with all its bugs, repetitive levels and lackluster narrative, won't be what brings it back.
  12. PC Gamer
    Mar 21, 2012
    52
    While not broken, ugly or terrible, SOL: Exodus settles into a mediocre rut, making it impossible to recommend when games like X3 and Evochron Mercenary offer a bigger, better spacefaring experience for a bit more money. [May 2012, p.81]
  13. Jul 5, 2012
    50
    Those going into SOL: Exodus should be warned that it's a thoroughly average space shooter that doesn't innovate and is going to deliver a boilerplate experience.
  14. PC PowerPlay
    Mar 1, 2012
    50
    A decent indie effort, but the sims from ten years ago still show how it should be done. Pick up FreeSpace 2 instead. [March 2012, p.65]
  15. Feb 7, 2012
    50
    SOL: Exodus tries its best to bring back good old space shooters but it's too simple and poor to reach the objective.
  16. Jan 31, 2012
    40
    It's encouraging, though, that in just the week since SOL's been out the developers at Seamless have done a great job patching issues, with three released so far. It's a damn shame there are so many issues that are likely beyond the power of mere patches, because the space shooter genre badly needs a new classic to really get it going again.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Jan 27, 2012
    7
    So far I think the game is pretty good, the level design is a wee bit repetitive but thankfully I've been having a lot of fun with the ship toSo far I think the game is pretty good, the level design is a wee bit repetitive but thankfully I've been having a lot of fun with the ship to ship combat, controls great even with a mouse. I think the story is fun and very BSG-esq though I wish it were fleshed out a little more and explained for instance why my friendly capital ship is always outmatched. There are a few bugs however, they don't break the game by any means but they are noticeable, mostly collision issues (I've found I can't actually crash my ship and enemy ships can fly into stations and ships with impunity). On the whole however I'd say that SOL: Exodus is worth the 10 bucks. Full Review »
  2. Jan 26, 2012
    6
    Not having much fun with this as of yet. For a game that was made by an indie developer wanting to stress the "fun", I have to say that it'sNot having much fun with this as of yet. For a game that was made by an indie developer wanting to stress the "fun", I have to say that it's not what I was looking or hoping for. Playing the game doesn't feel like a spiritual successor to any of the previous titles in the genre that I loved... XWing, Tie Fighter, Wing Commander, Freelancer, Star Lancer, et al. It feels more like a spiritual successor to descent in the controls and I haven't quite put my finger on why it's not "fun" yet.

    I think it's two fold, and have been said on forums on steam already... missions that you fail, albeit only a few, and having to restart without a checkpoint option is one... the text box interface for communication, and lack of a **** or third person view is another.

    The thing I do have to say positively is kudos to Seamless, you 6 guys trying to resurrect a dead genre, I applaud you for the effort. You made a great looking product, and controls are simplistic enough to not scare away those that do not want to get into a full fledged simulation.

    I'll write more up later as I get a chance to play more, and I'm hoping I have a Eureka moment that will either immerse me or "click" as to why I'm not feeling the fun factor.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 4, 2012
    4
    Could not play longer than 15 minutes. Arcade shooter yes, going to hold my attention, no. I think I am done supporting indie developers. NoCould not play longer than 15 minutes. Arcade shooter yes, going to hold my attention, no. I think I am done supporting indie developers. No reason to pay a dime for this. Many free online arcade games rival this. The graphics were ok though. Full Review »