Solar 2 PC

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 69
  2. Negative: 6 out of 69

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 18, 2012
    6
    Quite nice game. Very short and after a while there isn't much to do but you can kill time with this one amazingly easy. Just fly around as hunk of rock. There is always room for getting achievements done too if you are that type of the person. Just don't expect any revolution.
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    5
    The concept seems fine - you start as a rock, grow and become a planet, later star. Finally you "own" other planets and develop a star system etc. Throw in an atmospheric music and some task or missions to perform in-game... and it should work. Sadly, it's not. I have to admit, this game is original, but in the other hand it's also pretty boring. It could be punishing and challenging, butThe concept seems fine - you start as a rock, grow and become a planet, later star. Finally you "own" other planets and develop a star system etc. Throw in an atmospheric music and some task or missions to perform in-game... and it should work. Sadly, it's not. I have to admit, this game is original, but in the other hand it's also pretty boring. It could be punishing and challenging, but instead of this - you can save your progress anytime and respawn instantly with any system you saved previously. It means you don't have to build up every time you get owned. Which is fine, overall casual feel of Solar2 makes it a good game for a relaxing 15 minutes at work. Nevertheless, this game fails at engaging the player. You don't really care about it and when game reaches it's conclusion (and it does it very very quickly), there's nothing to come back for. You just won't play it again. It's too shallow, too repetitive, too easy. Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2012
    5
    Alot more work and ideas would have to be put in this game to make it something more than just a novelty. Its maybe fun for first few minutes but you will get bored sooner than you expect.
  4. Dec 29, 2011
    5
    Decent game but it's not entirely apparent what they want you to do. Sure you float around and that's pretty neat but all the missions in the game are very vague with how to go complete them. Floating around is fun for awhile but it gets boring pretty quickly. Of course, if you bought it anytime recently, you only paid 2-3 dollars for it. I'd say that the very quick thrill is worth thatDecent game but it's not entirely apparent what they want you to do. Sure you float around and that's pretty neat but all the missions in the game are very vague with how to go complete them. Floating around is fun for awhile but it gets boring pretty quickly. Of course, if you bought it anytime recently, you only paid 2-3 dollars for it. I'd say that the very quick thrill is worth that amount but it's certainly not worth much more than that. Expand
  5. Dec 15, 2011
    6
    As others have mentioned, this is a VERY short game with very little variation. Is it fun? Yes, for a while. After that, you feel that you've done it all before. There are different "missions" that you can try to accomplish, but they're your basic Fedex variety quest. After a couple of these, you just want to tell god to buzz off and let you run this universe as you please. Which, ofAs others have mentioned, this is a VERY short game with very little variation. Is it fun? Yes, for a while. After that, you feel that you've done it all before. There are different "missions" that you can try to accomplish, but they're your basic Fedex variety quest. After a couple of these, you just want to tell god to buzz off and let you run this universe as you please. Which, of course, you can't because by the time you have a bit of power, the game is over. If I had to compare this game to another, it would be to Spore's cell phase: you start small, you grow, you eat things that previously ate you, lather, rince, repeat until you're too big, and then bye, bye! Expand
  6. Nov 7, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a quite unique game, it's a sandbox game with a few "quest" lines, the exciting thing about it is what you play as, an example of gameplay would go like this, "Uh im a rock. what can i do? *Fly around a little smash into other rock*, WOW did i just get bigger? *Smash all the rocks!!!!!* now im a planet, rocks hurt me. :-S nooooooo" The game has a nice progression, its wonderfull to explore all the way till becoming a universe consuming black hole. Hope this helps. :) Happy gaming Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2011
    5
    Solar 2 is a physics sandbox game where you control an asteroid that feeds on other asteroids by slamming into them, then grows into a planet after which it will feed on asteroids that are caught in its orbit in order to evolve into a planet that can contain life. Once your planet contains life, it will come with a shield to protect it from impacts, a few cannons to fight offSolar 2 is a physics sandbox game where you control an asteroid that feeds on other asteroids by slamming into them, then grows into a planet after which it will feed on asteroids that are caught in its orbit in order to evolve into a planet that can contain life. Once your planet contains life, it will come with a shield to protect it from impacts, a few cannons to fight off alien-invaders and space-ships that engage hostile objects coming near you. Once you feed off enough asteroids, you turn into a star. Now you have to gather planets that are caught in your wake and either nurture them into planets that can sustain life or eat them in order to grow into an even larger star. You can also grow more stars, allowing you to carry around more planets but this is a tedious process that involves trying to capture a lot of asteroids. Several levels of stardom proceed after which you will turn into a black hole. Once you turn into a black hole, you become like a giant vacuum-cleaner sucking up everything you run into unless it's a black hole that's bigger than you. When you have gained enough mass as a black hole (That's about 2 minutes of end-game there.), the game ends. This pretty much describes the entire game as you will experience it. The developer threw about 12 missions per type of celestial body that you currently occupy but they are more or less mini-games using some aspects of the sandbox universe without offering much of a reward. While the sandbox-aspect of the game could hardly be called difficult, the mini-games range from incredibly hard to trichotillomania inducing and do not add anything to the game besides a back-story that's completely inane and out of place in a game that's about the universe. The outcome of these mini-games also felt rather random and I got tired of constantly having to retry them until I got the sequence of events right. I was amused by this game at first, fighting other solar systems and stealing their planets but then it turned into a grind when I just wanted to get it over with after having seen it all. Once I did that, the game smacked me in the face and told me I didn't truly finish it until I'd completed all the side-missions. Whatever. Would only recommend to people having enjoyed Osmos Expand
  8. Sep 26, 2013
    7
    More a simulation than a game. AI is bit too easy to win even without physic/god options like you win as a fully advance planet against 10 powerful planets in a star-system. Very simple idea for a indie title. There should be at least more complex stuff like moons, gas giants even "galaxies" with their own properties earning a 10/10. On the plus side there is the soundtrack and freedom toMore a simulation than a game. AI is bit too easy to win even without physic/god options like you win as a fully advance planet against 10 powerful planets in a star-system. Very simple idea for a indie title. There should be at least more complex stuff like moons, gas giants even "galaxies" with their own properties earning a 10/10. On the plus side there is the soundtrack and freedom to do whatever you want, the question is "Do you want to it again more than ten times" Expand
  9. Mar 25, 2013
    6
    This game is a whole new concept that has never been seen before, at least not since I have memory. Solar 2 is a whole new kind of game concept as you start out as a simple rock and end up swallowing the entire universe due to how much you grew. It is fun, and the fun lasts for a decent while, the problem is, the game is quite disorganized and all over the place. What to do is not clear atThis game is a whole new concept that has never been seen before, at least not since I have memory. Solar 2 is a whole new kind of game concept as you start out as a simple rock and end up swallowing the entire universe due to how much you grew. It is fun, and the fun lasts for a decent while, the problem is, the game is quite disorganized and all over the place. What to do is not clear at all, you just start taking quests and progress becoming larger and larger and the game eventually becomes brutally difficult when you evolve to a star. There are quests to do depending on what type of mass you are, and those quests do not necessarily make sense, they are just there to give you something to do. The concept is great, however a lacking presentation and a fun that wears out as you progress does not please in the end. Also, what to do is never clear, you are just thrown in a never-ending universe (which at least is a good thing) to just "play" around. It does have a good soundtrack though, really nice feel to it but lacking visuals to come along with it. This game could definitely be more, and I want it to be more. However it still needs to deliver fun, because that is what ultimately matters in a game. Expand
  10. Feb 14, 2013
    7
    It's hard for me to accurately describe how I feel about Solar 2. Part of me loves how simple and addictive the gameplay is. Another part dislikes the lack of narrative and limited progression options Full Review Here http://alloyseven.com/articles/game/item/66-solar2review
  11. Mar 22, 2013
    7
    I really like this game, but I give 7 because developers could give more stages of advancing, and make Planet Civilizationing bigger. Great graphics and sound too, good move from Humble Bundle makers!
  12. Feb 27, 2015
    6
    I put neutral. Minus: the Game is not very interesting, 5 minutes to sweat and you're a black hole. Plus: I liked this game what planet people can grow and become invincible, and there are trophies, which is interesting to do. Score - 6.
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Feb 13, 2012
    75
    Interesting for one life cycle, but after the second Big Bang the universe offers nothing new. [Feb 2012]
  2. Aug 13, 2011
    82
    7 quid is a good price for a universe. [Sept 2011, p.89]
  3. Aug 11, 2011
    45
    As it exists now, however, Solar 2 is a simple space physics simulation with just a hint of a game, and building disposable arrangements of revolving circles quickly loses its novelty. [Oct 2011, p.79]