User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 62
  2. Negative: 6 out of 62

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    For an Indie game that cost a buck, definitely worth it.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  2. Sep 26, 2013
    7
    More a simulation than a game. AI is bit too easy to win even without physic/god options like you win as a fully advance planet against 10 powerful planets in a star-system. Very simple idea for a indie title. There should be at least more complex stuff like moons, gas giants even "galaxies" with their own properties earning a 10/10. On the plus side there is the soundtrack and freedom to do whatever you want, the question is "Do you want to it again more than ten times" Expand
  3. Mar 25, 2013
    6
    This game is a whole new concept that has never been seen before, at least not since I have memory. Solar 2 is a whole new kind of game concept as you start out as a simple rock and end up swallowing the entire universe due to how much you grew. It is fun, and the fun lasts for a decent while, the problem is, the game is quite disorganized and all over the place. What to do is not clear at all, you just start taking quests and progress becoming larger and larger and the game eventually becomes brutally difficult when you evolve to a star. There are quests to do depending on what type of mass you are, and those quests do not necessarily make sense, they are just there to give you something to do. The concept is great, however a lacking presentation and a fun that wears out as you progress does not please in the end. Also, what to do is never clear, you are just thrown in a never-ending universe (which at least is a good thing) to just "play" around. It does have a good soundtrack though, really nice feel to it but lacking visuals to come along with it. This game could definitely be more, and I want it to be more. However it still needs to deliver fun, because that is what ultimately matters in a game. Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2013
    7
    I really like this game, but I give 7 because developers could give more stages of advancing, and make Planet Civilizationing bigger. Great graphics and sound too, good move from Humble Bundle makers!
  5. Feb 14, 2013
    7
    It's hard for me to accurately describe how I feel about Solar 2. Part of me loves how simple and addictive the gameplay is. Another part dislikes the lack of narrative and limited progression options Full Review Here http://alloyseven.com/articles/game/item/66-solar2review
  6. Jan 13, 2013
    8
    Well made, good looking, calm game with realistic physics, but it does get a bit boring faster than I'd like, I think the steam price is slightly too much as after 20-30 minutes of playing you get bored, and after a total of maximum two hours you'll be bored and won't go back to it after a while, but a nice simple game to have especially to entertain young children for a while.
  7. Jan 8, 2013
    3
    This is a fun game- for the first 15 minutes. I completed the game and never played it again. NOT AT ALL worth $10. As of this review, it's on steam sale, so get it now if you're going to. It's only fun for one playthrough which lasts only a couple minutes. This should just be a free browser-based game and it would get much better reviews.
  8. Dec 23, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game is an example of a good idea badly executed
    the game claims to place you as a god like entity in the universe however it forces you to play Juvenile games
    which includes "Stealing" another planet or fighting off pirates trying to settle on you
    it forces you to fight off other planets by "Bumping" them until they explode (mostly only you explode)
    the only good thing i can say about this is game is the cool physics based engine and for that the creator deserves a thumbs up
    the only thing that would make this game a good game is take the physics engine and build on it maybe some sort of cim city style game where you build the galaxy ,create nations on planets ,black holes ,nebula's ,and just watch life grow , maybe allow the player to "Throw" a planet into the sun ,or force one nation to attack another
    that WOULD be a god game set in the universe
    this game?
    its a game for 3 year olds
    and those with the desire to replay annoying missions over and over just to get some actual Godlike options
    for me they are not worth it
    Expand
  9. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    This game is a very simple but also fun indie game that has lots of potential if they create DLC or make a sequel solar 3 and add on the ideas of a solar universe.
  10. Jul 18, 2012
    6
    Quite nice game. Very short and after a while there isn't much to do but you can kill time with this one amazingly easy. Just fly around as hunk of rock. There is always room for getting achievements done too if you are that type of the person. Just don't expect any revolution.
  11. Feb 21, 2012
    4
    I did not see the arrow things until much later, then I understood those were individual missions. i found the game very fun at first and the music great. But after 20 minutes I got bored, and the cost of the game became apparent to me. It seems the start of the game is fun and when you become a big Sun or a Black Hole....there is almost nothing left to do...and since I became good at becoming both of these stellar objects quickly...I quickly got bored. Its great for a 2D game, but honestly I can find these types of flash games for FREE all around the internet. Also what is with the attack system that attacks other solar systems at random? It felt so uncontrolled....the missions actually sound better than they actually play out since, you rely on things to just happen - you have no control over them. Expand
  12. Jan 19, 2012
    5
    Alot more work and ideas would have to be put in this game to make it something more than just a novelty. Its maybe fun for first few minutes but you will get bored sooner than you expect.
  13. Dec 29, 2011
    5
    Decent game but it's not entirely apparent what they want you to do. Sure you float around and that's pretty neat but all the missions in the game are very vague with how to go complete them. Floating around is fun for awhile but it gets boring pretty quickly. Of course, if you bought it anytime recently, you only paid 2-3 dollars for it. I'd say that the very quick thrill is worth that amount but it's certainly not worth much more than that. Expand
  14. Dec 29, 2011
    5
    Solar 2 is a physics sandbox game where you control an asteroid that feeds on other asteroids by slamming into them, then grows into a planet after which it will feed on asteroids that are caught in its orbit in order to evolve into a planet that can contain life. Once your planet contains life, it will come with a shield to protect it from impacts, a few cannons to fight off alien-invaders and space-ships that engage hostile objects coming near you. Once you feed off enough asteroids, you turn into a star. Now you have to gather planets that are caught in your wake and either nurture them into planets that can sustain life or eat them in order to grow into an even larger star. You can also grow more stars, allowing you to carry around more planets but this is a tedious process that involves trying to capture a lot of asteroids. Several levels of stardom proceed after which you will turn into a black hole. Once you turn into a black hole, you become like a giant vacuum-cleaner sucking up everything you run into unless it's a black hole that's bigger than you. When you have gained enough mass as a black hole (That's about 2 minutes of end-game there.), the game ends. This pretty much describes the entire game as you will experience it. The developer threw about 12 missions per type of celestial body that you currently occupy but they are more or less mini-games using some aspects of the sandbox universe without offering much of a reward. While the sandbox-aspect of the game could hardly be called difficult, the mini-games range from incredibly hard to trichotillomania inducing and do not add anything to the game besides a back-story that's completely inane and out of place in a game that's about the universe. The outcome of these mini-games also felt rather random and I got tired of constantly having to retry them until I got the sequence of events right. I was amused by this game at first, fighting other solar systems and stealing their planets but then it turned into a grind when I just wanted to get it over with after having seen it all. Once I did that, the game smacked me in the face and told me I didn't truly finish it until I'd completed all the side-missions. Whatever. Would only recommend to people having enjoyed Osmos Expand
  15. Dec 28, 2011
    5
    The concept seems fine - you start as a rock, grow and become a planet, later star. Finally you "own" other planets and develop a star system etc. Throw in an atmospheric music and some task or missions to perform in-game... and it should work. Sadly, it's not. I have to admit, this game is original, but in the other hand it's also pretty boring. It could be punishing and challenging, but instead of this - you can save your progress anytime and respawn instantly with any system you saved previously. It means you don't have to build up every time you get owned. Which is fine, overall casual feel of Solar2 makes it a good game for a relaxing 15 minutes at work. Nevertheless, this game fails at engaging the player. You don't really care about it and when game reaches it's conclusion (and it does it very very quickly), there's nothing to come back for. You just won't play it again. It's too shallow, too repetitive, too easy. Expand
  16. Dec 15, 2011
    6
    As others have mentioned, this is a VERY short game with very little variation. Is it fun? Yes, for a while. After that, you feel that you've done it all before. There are different "missions" that you can try to accomplish, but they're your basic Fedex variety quest. After a couple of these, you just want to tell god to buzz off and let you run this universe as you please. Which, of course, you can't because by the time you have a bit of power, the game is over. If I had to compare this game to another, it would be to Spore's cell phase: you start small, you grow, you eat things that previously ate you, lather, rince, repeat until you're too big, and then bye, bye! Collapse
  17. Nov 7, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a quite unique game, it's a sandbox game with a few "quest" lines, the exciting thing about it is what you play as, an example of gameplay would go like this, "Uh im a rock. what can i do? *Fly around a little smash into other rock*, WOW did i just get bigger? *Smash all the rocks!!!!!* now im a planet, rocks hurt me. :-S nooooooo" The game has a nice progression, its wonderfull to explore all the way till becoming a universe consuming black hole. Hope this helps. :) Happy gaming Expand
  18. Oct 5, 2011
    1
    Extremely short, extremely shallow. Fun for 10 minutes, but then you start to feel like they forgot to put in a lot more that could have, like much more stages of planet evolution before advancing. Because of these problems this is hardly even a game.
  19. Jul 1, 2011
    9
    This is a definite 9/10 it is entirely unique and deserves and is one of the best indie game innovations the game has great missions but it is very fun to fly around as a star collecting planets then attacking other life systems with those planets forces
  20. Jun 27, 2011
    9
    A beautiful game, with a very nice soundtrack. Though it may become boring after a while, it is a great time waster which you can pick up at any moment.
  21. Dec 15, 2011
    0
    As others have mentioned, this is a VERY short game with very little variation. Is it fun? Yes, for a while. After that, you feel that you've done it all before. There are different "missions" that you can try to accomplish, but they're your basic Fedex variety quest. After a couple of these, you just want to tell god to buzz off and let you run this universe as you please. Which, of course, you can't because by the time you have a bit of power, the game is over. If I had to compare this game to another, it would be to Spore's cell phase: you start small, you grow, you eat things that previously ate you, lather, rince, repeat until you're too big, and then bye, bye! Collapse
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Feb 13, 2012
    75
    Interesting for one life cycle, but after the second Big Bang the universe offers nothing new. [Feb 2012]
  2. Aug 13, 2011
    82
    7 quid is a good price for a universe. [Sept 2011, p.89]
  3. Aug 11, 2011
    45
    As it exists now, however, Solar 2 is a simple space physics simulation with just a hint of a game, and building disposable arrangements of revolving circles quickly loses its novelty. [Oct 2011, p.79]