User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 74
  2. Negative: 7 out of 74

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RogerE.
    Jun 8, 2002
    3
    This game is nowhere near the original game. dont waste your $50 on this game, get JK2:Jedi Outcast.
  2. JakeM.
    Jun 9, 2002
    10
    This game is sweet. NOLF, Medal of Honor, and RCW is no where near this game. The story rocks, gore kicks, and the sound is awesome. If you like FPS and gore, this is the game to get. Trust me, your money will be well spent!
  3. ShawnHubbar.d
    May 24, 2008
    7
    A decent game but very frustrating due to the decidedly unfair AI. An enemy soldier should not be able to hear you crawling stealthily along the ground while he is standing on the other side of a stone wall. Worse yet, he shouldn't be able to throw a grenade over the wall and have it land right at your feet...and grenades should bounce, not stick where they land. And if you are A decent game but very frustrating due to the decidedly unfair AI. An enemy soldier should not be able to hear you crawling stealthily along the ground while he is standing on the other side of a stone wall. Worse yet, he shouldn't be able to throw a grenade over the wall and have it land right at your feet...and grenades should bounce, not stick where they land. And if you are crawling along in dense blizzard conditions with poor visiblity, the enemy soldier shouldn't be able to see you when you can't see him. And he shouldn't be able to shoot you from long distances with the accuracy of a sniper with his machine gun. And the 3-saves that you are given for each level seem like an artificial way to prolong the game because you never quite know when to save. If you use your saves too early, you have to repeat difficult parts of the level over and over again. And if you wait too long and get killed, then you have to repeat difficult parts over and over again. Either way, the player is the loser. It seems the developer did everything they could to make this game overly difficult, but not in a fair way. Expand
  4. JohnM.
    Oct 4, 2007
    9
    Great game, better than the first one. Accurate wound modeling is much more detailed than the first game, though could be even better today (2007). As with the first game, John Mullins, a real-life soldier of fortune, collaborated with the designers on this aspect. It's a fairly close approximation of what real weapons do to real people (though some things do seem to be overdone). Great game, better than the first one. Accurate wound modeling is much more detailed than the first game, though could be even better today (2007). As with the first game, John Mullins, a real-life soldier of fortune, collaborated with the designers on this aspect. It's a fairly close approximation of what real weapons do to real people (though some things do seem to be overdone). That's really what makes it so appealing. On a personal note, it's somewhat cool that the in-game conversations seem to be actually directed toward me :) Aside from that, it's fun and quite challenging. I'm hoping for a third. I can see the PS2 version getting low scores. I'm sure it ran like crap and looked even worse, just like nearly every FPS for the PS2. No surprises there. Plus the whole gamepad nonsense. Expand
  5. BitBurn
    Jun 1, 2002
    5
    Graphically, it's those kind of games that give me headhaches!...Try Medal of Honor:Allied Assault for a real blast!
  6. ThePriest
    Jun 3, 2002
    2
    This game sucks! Awful graphics and unfair AI. Jedi Outcast and NOLF are much better!
  7. SimonB.
    Jan 10, 2007
    8
    I've hardly ever gone across games like Soldier of Fortune in my life. Of course, you're in the presence of a normal, cold-blood shooter. Where you basically run around levels to kill guys that are in your way. However, contrary to most FPS out right now, you have justifications, you know what you're doing. The scenario is solid. Just like its predecessor, even if it did I've hardly ever gone across games like Soldier of Fortune in my life. Of course, you're in the presence of a normal, cold-blood shooter. Where you basically run around levels to kill guys that are in your way. However, contrary to most FPS out right now, you have justifications, you know what you're doing. The scenario is solid. Just like its predecessor, even if it did punch you in rather violently. However, the game becomes a bluff when it goes to infiltrating missions. Sometimes too linear, sometimes too wide extended. Often enough, little details are what are missed. Not to mention the enemies that are often swarming and constantly throwing annoying grenades. The game makes a painful progression from the first, but in the end, it's all worthwhile. Those that played the first game should enjoy the second with its enhanced Ghoul Expand
  8. [Anonymous]
    Aug 25, 2009
    0
    It's just like the first game but worse in every aspect. I was extremely let down by this game when it was released, it's uninspired, weapons feel and sound worse, the revolutionary gore system was downgraded and have never been seen again in a FPS since the first game... The entire game that used to be fast action just slows down and you even have to go to meetings (yes It's just like the first game but worse in every aspect. I was extremely let down by this game when it was released, it's uninspired, weapons feel and sound worse, the revolutionary gore system was downgraded and have never been seen again in a FPS since the first game... The entire game that used to be fast action just slows down and you even have to go to meetings (yes really!) in boring buildings. Expand
  9. Ed
    Jul 10, 2002
    5
    Funny how the ps2 sites had approx. (91.08%) negative reviews, and the pc site for the same game have mostly (roughly 87.663%) positive things to say. if not for the gore and the trick weapons...
  10. YuchenZ.
    Feb 28, 2003
    10
    Dam*-Screw the negative reviews-SOF II RULES.RMG new technology okay?DOES NOLF OR MOHAA HAVE IT AND KICK A** MP?
  11. TheVoice
    Jun 17, 2003
    6
    The gameplay is fun and the weapons are cool, but the graphics are not that good. Also, the game is too bloody and gory.
  12. TheTwo
    Aug 6, 2003
    8
    I gave the game an 8 because the single player portion deserves a 6 but the multiplayer deserves a perfect 10. Yes, the MP is that good, better than CS, MOHAA and others. It's more newbie-friendly and at the same time is more competitive, cause you must rely much more in your team than in CS, individuality is not an option in most cases. This is because weapon balance is great, there I gave the game an 8 because the single player portion deserves a 6 but the multiplayer deserves a perfect 10. Yes, the MP is that good, better than CS, MOHAA and others. It's more newbie-friendly and at the same time is more competitive, cause you must rely much more in your team than in CS, individuality is not an option in most cases. This is because weapon balance is great, there are no AWP whores or such, and damage is not that realistic but not that arcade either, just a well-though balance to improve playability. Plus, since patch 1.02 the anti-cheat protection PunkBuster is included, and it works pretty well. The single player is ruined by the awful level design and the badly done "stealth", but I liked things like when you shoot a baddie in an arm, he'll drop his rifle in pain and draw his handgun (in latter levels only). Finally, graphics are very good for a Q3A-powered game, and in the sound department the music is nothing special but all the SFX rock! Expand
  13. BenH.
    Oct 9, 2004
    10
    SP.. is very hard.. try play it on soldier of fortune dificulty.. ouch. Id give single player about 8. Multiplayer... this game deserves 10. Many many gamers have now crossed over from CS to soldier of fortune becoz they realize cs is really really bad compared to this game. My advice: try this game multiplayer for 1 day and your hooked.. you will almost never play another game ever SP.. is very hard.. try play it on soldier of fortune dificulty.. ouch. Id give single player about 8. Multiplayer... this game deserves 10. Many many gamers have now crossed over from CS to soldier of fortune becoz they realize cs is really really bad compared to this game. My advice: try this game multiplayer for 1 day and your hooked.. you will almost never play another game ever again. In fact i almost tell you not to do this now because you will no longer have a life you will pull sickys at work... miss important dates and times just to play soldier all day long!!! Anyone who plays the MP of this game will not be disappointed.. i just feel sorry for all the sorry diehard fans who still play cs.. cmon guys its outdated and pathetic now time to move on! Expand
  14. Mark
    Aug 16, 2004
    9
    This is a solid game. I don't care for the violence, so I'm glad that you have the option to customize it (I don't care to see what an exploding head looks like). Good graphics, sound and weapon modelling. The plot is fun.
  15. DanH.
    Feb 17, 2007
    9
    This game's single player was a great run. Graphics are great still today, and the story was awesome. Very interesting and well written. The action has you on your toes at all times. This was a game that when I finished, I sat back and went "damn, that was good." As for the violence and gore... grow up. It's an M rated game.
  16. DaMan
    Nov 16, 2003
    10
    I dont understand those lil peeps whining about gore :@ if u dont like it, simply turn it off. LOL @ priest with his unfair AI. only a cheap a$$ whines about an AI opponent that tries to avoid being killed. thumbs up for raven with this game.
  17. MafiaGuy
    Nov 3, 2003
    5
    You know it's fun to go round shooting people...... but not when their heads and limbs get disintegrated!
  18. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    The first FPS game to incorporate the "leaning" and "prone" tactic to the genre which over the years gave way to macros to perform a lean while strafing, commonly called "the electric slide" allowing the player model to be about 75% harder to hit due to being in a form not recognized by the original game code, thus spawning many mods to a game with an open source code. However, hiddenThe first FPS game to incorporate the "leaning" and "prone" tactic to the genre which over the years gave way to macros to perform a lean while strafing, commonly called "the electric slide" allowing the player model to be about 75% harder to hit due to being in a form not recognized by the original game code, thus spawning many mods to a game with an open source code. However, hidden Quake developer console commands ultimately ruined the multiplayer aspect allowing players to shut down servers and hack other players resulting in an extreme loss of interest in trying to keep servers up. These were earlier days when Punkbuster's system of detecting aimbots and hacks was in it's infancy. Expand
  19. Aug 14, 2011
    8
    The game is not perfect but for the time the graphics were state-of-the-art and the gameplay and realism were top notch and allthough it has been 6 years the game has aged but still feels fun and refresing compared to newer games like COD and MOH and also the weapons may not be new or as fun as you would have thought SOF2 Had spawned the realism of modern shooters and you have to hand it that.
  20. Oct 17, 2013
    4
    This game is boring. I played SoF 1 and that game had a great original atmosphere (Stop screaming!), very exciting to play. This one doesn't have atmosphere.
  21. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Why modern games can't provide this level of sophisticated gore anymore is a mystery especially with how advanced game engines are nowadays. Still arguably the most satisfying shooter ever created.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 90
    With solid action, great graphics and lots of replay value, SoF2 is easily one of the best action games of the year.
  2. It's a shame that the single player campaign is such a letdown - SoF 2 is an incredibly addictive multiplayer game, and if the polish shown to the online portion had transferred over to the single player game, we'd have a candidate of GOTY 2002 here.
  3. Anyone who gets off on the violence in this game is reveling in violence solely for violence's sake. [Sept 2002, p.78]