Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Soldier of Fortune Payback evolves the signature gameplay of its predecessors with refined controls, tension-packed warzones, and an enemy damage system that may be shocking to even experienced FPS players. Boasting more weapons options than any previous Soldier of Fortune installment,Soldier of Fortune Payback evolves the signature gameplay of its predecessors with refined controls, tension-packed warzones, and an enemy damage system that may be shocking to even experienced FPS players. Boasting more weapons options than any previous Soldier of Fortune installment, Soldier of Fortune Payback's impressive arsenal includes an array of more than 30 weapons including sub-machine guns, assault rifles, sniper rifles, projectile explosives, weapon attachments and cutting-edge tactical weapons. The game features many of players' favorite online multiplayer modes including Deathmatch, Team Deathmatch, Elimination, Team Elimination, Capture the Flag, and Demolition. Additional online options include maps tuned specifically for multiplayer action, persistent stat-tracking throughout the gamer’s online career, and many server settings for custom online play. The storyline reflects the practice of "outsourcing" wars. When a routine escort mission goes horribly wrong, freelance mercenary Thomas Mason finds himself battling an insidious enemy that knows no boundaries. Traditional armies can not handle these extremists – only underground guns for hire can fight a war this dirty and get results. [Activision] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 7 out of 13
  1. Sometimes gore just is not enough. [Feb 2008]
  2. 59
    Soldier of Fortune: Payback has one thing going for it: excessive dismemberment. Everything else is standard stuff for a shooter. Yet, I must admit, that I get a guilty pleasure playing Payback. Though it's not a good game, it's still fun to see body parts fly.
  3. Soldier of Fortune: Payback is a one-trick pony of blood and guts. And if that’s your thing, you might be able to overlook the generic shooting mechanic, enemy AI that’s cheap and stupid, and dull level design. But we just can’t.
  4. If senseless, over-the-top violence can keep you entertained, you'll be done with the single-player portion in several hours, after which you might want to get into the multiplayer. Yet, this is just another mundane aspect of the game, featuring nothing beyond the traditional deathmatch, CTF and so on.
  5. This shooter is a painful exercise in pattern memorization plus frustrating trial-and-error gameplay.
  6. Soldier of Fortune’s damage model is probably its major selling point and, lamentably, the only thing that makes its combat entertaining. [Feb 2008, p.96]
  7. An utterly atrocious mess. [Feb 2008, p.78]

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 32
  2. Negative: 24 out of 32
  1. JeffM.
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    I loved it! Last SOF was great but not as good as this one.
  2. Siggi06
    Jun 1, 2008
    8
    I think its quiet because online it rocks.But there are many mistakes like the horrible story or the stupid enemys.
  3. Jun 10, 2013
    4
    I actually thought this was going to be a good or at least OK game, boy was I wrong. I do know the graphics and the gore in the game were allI actually thought this was going to be a good or at least OK game, boy was I wrong. I do know the graphics and the gore in the game were all right but there were a number of things that made this game fall apart. One of course was the lack of manual saving, which irritated me since both previous SOF titles had this. Another would be the irritating voiceovers for the player that would repeat if it was the beginning of a mission. I believe there were bugs and other issues that also made me facepalm, including crashes if I recalled.

    This game is an atrocity to the SOF series and essentially killed it thanks to this budget knock off with the SOF titled slapped on it.
    Expand
  4. UnhappyPanda
    Nov 16, 2007
    1
    This is not soldier of fortune it is a joke.
  5. AlexiK
    Dec 23, 2009
    1
    Even though im pritty sick and love to watch body parts fly EVERYWHERE, this game got so boring after the 4th or so mission i decided to quit Even though im pritty sick and love to watch body parts fly EVERYWHERE, this game got so boring after the 4th or so mission i decided to quit and do something better and more entertaining, such as stubb my toe against my desk. Expand
  6. Michael
    Dec 16, 2007
    1
    Absolutely agree with everyone before me. this a pile of garbage, value game, but i dont blame the Developer Cauldron, the guildty one is Absolutely agree with everyone before me. this a pile of garbage, value game, but i dont blame the Developer Cauldron, the guildty one is AcTiVision for being cheap and greedy not to pay more the developers to make a better game. They just butchered the freanchise that Rven soft so carefully and built upon the loyal base of PC gamers, the pc version of Payback is just a cheap Console port. Ok by yall. I gave 1 for a good graphics, weapons models, reload animations which is not emoch to save this game. very sad. Expand
  7. RajeshR.
    Nov 23, 2007
    0
    SoF, one of the most sucessful FPS series has been severely let down by this awful pile of crap that is Payback, the third in the series. SoF, one of the most sucessful FPS series has been severely let down by this awful pile of crap that is Payback, the third in the series. Whoever at Activision decided to hand it down to their red headed step children budget company and let Cauldron LLC develop it is a total moron. Everything about the game is crap and there is not one single feature that redeems it. A HUGE disappointment for SoF fans and even FPS fans. It plays and feels like a console shooter. In fact, as soon as you get to the menu screens, it feels like a direct port and I think it is. There aren't even any graphics options, except to change the resolution and you can't even chat in multiplayer. The gameplay is awful, you just fun and shoot and your enemies barely even move out of the way unless you throw a grenade at them. The storyline is pathetic and has very little if any relationship to the previous games. DO NOT but this game whatever you do. This game deserves to die and rot in hell, it is a total embarrassment to the series and should not even be counted as part of it. Activision, you should be ashamed of yourselves. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews