Soldiers: Heroes of World War II PC

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
Buy On
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    92
    One of the biggest surprises of 2004 became a whole lot better with the latest patch that included innovative and fun new multiplayer modes. We want more! [Jan. 05]
  2. 91
    The detail of the environments, the splendour of the graphics, the wonder of the physics engine, all these things combine with the dangerously entertaining gameplay to make SHOWW2 the best game of its kind, and one of the most refreshingly enjoyable games I have had the pleasure to review.
  3. Plenty of gloriously explosive action is complimented by depth and variety.
  4. AceGamez
    90
    Offers the arcade intensity of a first person shooter combined with the cunning challenges of a top-notch strategy game and it does so with aplomb.
  5. The complexity of the game is very natural, which is a side-effect of the producers desire to make the game as real as possible. But despite this, the complexity of the game doesn’t seem forced or overwhelming for a minute.
  6. If there is a hint of helplessness it's in those marvellous moments when Soldiers' fabulous physics, rich environments and imaginative AI produce such totally unpredictable results, you can only look on in amused dismay. [PC Gamer UK]
  7. Even the impossibly hard missions are horribly addictive. [Aug 2004, p.83]
  8. The multiplayer component is designed perfectly.
  9. While some RTS fans may not be happy that it does not follow the same Build & Overwhelm pattern of many other RTS titles, the depth and strategy it offers is a welcome change.
  10. Where Soldiers best succeeds, though, is in the visuals. This is one immensely detailed game. The various environments you’ll find in the game feature incredibly detailed structures and high-resolution textures, which will surely push your videocard.
  11. The graphics are gorgeous and the game engine has some excellent physics. With the excellent sound effects and music, the game drew me right into the atmosphere, and these days, all gamers should be demanding no less.
  12. 85
    There are still some stupid mistakes here -- like the lack of a quick save hotkey or the absence of a restart option when you fail a mission -- but all in all, this is an excellent and challenging title that's not content to reproduce what everyone else has already done.
  13. Tough, punishing and as unreliable as the timer on a second hand VCR, there’s an experience hidden beneath the lush foliage and 100 different types of weapons that’s hopefully the first of many to revolutionise the RTS.
  14. 85
    Definitely aimed at a different vein of gamers, but it gives the veteran gamer something different besides the typical twitch-fest.
  15. At times Soldiers plays more like a 3rd person action RPG, but that’s not a bad thing. I originally felt that Soldiers does both RTS and action RPG at the same time, only neither one very well. That would be unfair as the nuances of this game reflect the uncompromising nature of Codemasters’ philosophy on gaming and the creative ingenuity of 1C.
  16. PC Gamer
    83
    The only drawbacks to Soldiers are its murderous difficulty and speed. [Sept 2004, p.72]
  17. I was fascinated by the aforementioned RPG elements though and would like to have seen a more dynamic struggle, somewhere in-between the grandeur of "Total War" and the intimacy of "X-Com," where you could take your band of survivors to different areas of conflict with whatever equipment you can lay your hands on.
  18. A very good RTS, you get to play missions with only a few troops and struggle against overwhelming odds and normally under equipped. This adds something to the title and makes this a title you can really sink your teeth into and spend hours trying to get your troops through each mission alive.
  19. GMR Magazine
    80
    Brilliant graphics, incredibly detailed environments, smart controls, and 30 sinister standalone missions. [Oct 2004, p.120]
  20. Soldiers brings something new to both well-worn genres, and only its unforgiving difficulty keeps it from being a complete standout.
  21. Offers a refreshing and immersive experience, although personally we’d like to have seen a little more focus on the action side of things.
  22. It’s a satisfying strategic adventure if you have the persistence to overcome its quirks and nuances, but it’ll frustrate you senseless if you don’t want it bad enough.
  23. With the direct control system, insane level of detail and physics modeling, exciting and interesting missions, modding support, and incredibly fun gameplay, the game is hardly stale and makes it easy to recommend to players who are sick of playing "Command & Conquer" clones.
  24. The biggest problem in need of improvement would have to be in the soundtrack. Don’t get me wrong, the music is well composed and fitting for the game, but too often in the mission you get this repeat atmospheric type music that is about a five-second long (if that) affair that then repeats itself in total constancy.
  25. 80
    Not many games have walked the line between real-time strategy, stealth, and action this well, and fewer have done it with such variety and classy presentation.
  26. Computer Gaming World
    80
    A little rough around the edges, but if you like a challenge, you'll love it. [Nov 2004, p.76]
  27. The game's level of challenge often borders on being punishing, but fans of tactical strategy games will find that the effort is worth it.
  28. A solid RTS game, one that fans of the genre will probably enjoy. However, anyone who’s growing bored of playing the same WWII sim game in different forms wouldn’t find too much to write home about.
  29. A good, though somewhat flawed game. With the upcoming patch, I can only hope they fix the AI, pathing, framerate and difficulty issues.
  30. If you’re looking for a real challenge in a great looking strategy game, then Soldiers is for you. However, the game can be so difficult that it will be just too much for the patience of most gamers.
  31. It’s complexity will turn many gamers far, far away, but to those with the dedication to play a solid game that will last them hours, this one is for you.
  32. The game is almost too difficult at times, and will probably appeal only to the die-hard RTS fan. If you want a challenge in the WWII arena, this is just what the doctor ordered.
  33. If you’ve enjoyed other tactical strategy games, then you might want to take Soldiers for a spin -- its 28 mission should provide well over 50 hours of gameplay.
  34. 75
    Soldiers could have been a fantastic game, but in the end is brought down by technical issues, bugs, and a level of difficulty only a sadist would enjoy.
  35. Computer Games Magazine
    70
    Soldiers is Hitchcockian: the real payoff's the setup, making it a guilty, grueling pleasure in the time-honored vein of belovedly frustrating isometric classics. [Nov 2004, p.82]
  36. Cheat Code Central
    70
    Even if your not a big fan or RTS games, Soldiers offers a unique experience that you'll be hard pressed to find in any other game in this genre.
  37. We all know that war is hell, but this game often forgets that games need to be entertaining. At times the missions are just too frustratingly difficult, with your soldiers facing near-impossible odds.
  38. I had to ask the game's publisher for detailed instructions on navigating the game just to make it part of the way through the first mission, and I still lost half my men in a half-hour. Those who complain that video games have become too easy will welcome Soldiers, but the rest of us will flee in terror.
  39. 60
    If you’re willing work though the interface and aren’t opposed to saving and reloading over and over again, you’ll find that Soldiers has legs. What we’d like to see in a future release is a cleaner interface and a more clearly defined design.
  40. People looking for a fast-paced RTS should give this one a pass. Those who are interested in something that is a little different and like facing near-impossible odds should give Soldiers a run.
  41. When trying to sum up this game's single-player missions, the first phrases that come to mind are hopelessly outnumbered, completely surrounded, and best hide behind a big rock quick.
  42. The AI is very smart. Probably too smart for newbies. Even on easy mode, soldiers will react with gang reflexes in shooting you to a pulp.
  43. A perfect sister specimen of the German Nazis; though it has high ambitions and generally operates as a differentiated tactical game and employs a wealth of detail, beauty, and intricate depth, it’s ultimately defeated by its own shortcomings and underdeveloped foundations.
  44. The maddening difficulty level of this game destroys it. If you’re truly patient, then maybe, just maybe you might be able to get something out of it.., but if you’re like me who plays games to be entertained, I think you’re going to find yourself wanting to return this one.
  45. It's the sheer tedium of every moment that prevents any enjoyment of the cool features it offers. [Aug 2004, p.106]
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    This game and the Men of War series is in my opinion the best RTS WWII games. The thing that lets this game stand out is it's difficulty. IThis game and the Men of War series is in my opinion the best RTS WWII games. The thing that lets this game stand out is it's difficulty. I couldn't even make through the first levels in the easy difficulty at first. Afterwards I started to understand the tactics and finished the game. I must say, It was worth it. Full Review »
  2. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    This is an excellent game that is very... very difficult and should be played with others in cooperative mode for higher rate of success. YouThis is an excellent game that is very... very difficult and should be played with others in cooperative mode for higher rate of success. You will need to bring the best out in you and do thorough planning, learn how to use which guns, where and when. DON'T try to rush head on or you will be dominated and crushed, the AI in this game can and will counter attack you as well...
    Odds are you will never finish a single map in this game but good luck and don't give up, its one of the best games ever..... one last thing.... it isn't over until its over, you'll remember these words when you have played a few maps. GL
    Full Review »
  3. AdeyBaby
    Feb 21, 2005
    9
    The game rox! Great graphics, sound and, most importantly, gameplay. There are a few minor niggles, but to be fair, I think most of these are The game rox! Great graphics, sound and, most importantly, gameplay. There are a few minor niggles, but to be fair, I think most of these are judgement calls by the developers to do with balancing gameplay and making it as enjoyable as possible. I got my copy 2nd hand for £7.99 - must be the best £7.99 I've ever spent on a computer game! Full Review »