SolForge PC

SolForge Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 56 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 40
  2. Negative: 12 out of 40
  1. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    This game is a lot of fun. It is quite easy to pick up but requires more strategy than you would think. It's nice that the game is completelyThis game is a lot of fun. It is quite easy to pick up but requires more strategy than you would think. It's nice that the game is completely free. Competitive play requires some investment of money but daily reward to casual players are quite generous.

    The daily rewards also mean that strategic deck building continually evolves as new cards are gained. For a game still in open beta, they have achieved a fun game with a very vibrant community.
    Expand
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    Great game overall, lots of potential and believe its headed in the right direction. With some added features this will be one of the best TCGGreat game overall, lots of potential and believe its headed in the right direction. With some added features this will be one of the best TCG 's out there. I have recommended it to my friends! Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    Solforge is an excellent online tcg. The game is very fast paced and easy to pick up like checkers but has the depth of chess. You always haveSolforge is an excellent online tcg. The game is very fast paced and easy to pick up like checkers but has the depth of chess. You always have to weigh the what benefits you this turn and now vs later.

    The people complaining about pay to win just arent very good in general and need something to blame besides their own poor deck building and strategy. So far using the starter cards and maybe 10 packs (most of them won from daily rewards which allow you to get about 20 cards a day) I am 28-2 online avainst real players. Again you get free packs every 22 hours so over time even while spending no money you can get a solid collection.

    While it is true there are some cards just plain better than others usually there is a trade off. For example a poor level 1 card may be an amazing level 3 card or vice versa.

    The game is very fast paced and is lacking in alot of features right now such as 2 v 2 a campaign etc but for an early release free to play card game it is very addictive easy to learn fun to play and has many layers of strategy.

    Give this game a try get some friends on board and check out the steam community for fun matches.

    As a side note customer service has been absolutely amazing.

    Sorry for any typos writing this from droid.
    Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2013
    9
    Reviews of zero may be missing the "Beta" status. Current game is still ruff on presentation, but the core game mechanics are in place.
    The
    Reviews of zero may be missing the "Beta" status. Current game is still ruff on presentation, but the core game mechanics are in place.
    The Developers have recently implemented a matchmaking system that has resulted in more balanced matches. I was tempted to quite before matchmaking because it is very apparent that some players have spent a few pennies on there decks. You can earn a random number of free card packs each day so this advantage will wear off over time until new card packs are released. I have not found a way to trade cards yet.
    The current card pool is pretty small. There are 4 factions with about 50 cards each. You can only use 2 factions and 3 copies of a card in your set limit 30 card deck. Each faction has a theme and are fairly balanced. Some faction combos work better then others. Alloyin Tempys is a hard deck to run without multiple rare cards. My preferred combo is Alloyin Uterra currently.
    The level up mechanics on the cards are the key to victory. Ensuring you have cards that will be viable in more then one level and the ability to anticipate your opponents cards is important. The game feels a bit like YuGiOh, but with out facedown card stalling. There are no trap cards as of yet but magic cards are strong.
    Now is a great time to give the game a try.
    Expand
  5. Jan 21, 2014
    6
    My first day was plenty fun, with me getting enough booster packs to keep it interesting. One can make a very effective deck from the starterMy first day was plenty fun, with me getting enough booster packs to keep it interesting. One can make a very effective deck from the starter cards they give you.

    Without meaning to stroke my e-peen to fervently, I basically won the vast majority of matches I played, so I went to bed full of confidence, with an overall positive impression of the game, which I thought of as a more simplistic version of MMDoC, but still enjoyable.

    The next day left me more pessimistic. One problem is that you quickly run into a wall as with a good winning record you start to get matched against people with vastly superior decks, i.e. those with multiple red star cards in them; the fact I call them "red stars" indicates that I don't have any to know what their actual designation is. It is here where the P2W factor is greatest felt.

    To buy a faction starter deck is over $14 and anyone who plays TCG's realizes that buying a deck is no assurance you will get cards to build a competitive hand against non-starter deck players.

    Moreover there are no rewards for losses so when you enter into a bracket where decks are significantly red star enriched you are going to lose frequently and can spend a fair amount of time trying to approach the 900 silver necessary to buy a 3 card booster deck at the rate of ~30 silver per win, with matches timing out at 20 minutes per side.

    Another problem is how the community and timed matches negatively synergize. Firstly, don't do untimed matches as people seem to start one and then stop playing, waiting for one to get frustrated and concede.

    As far as their timed matches go, they have an odd set up where individual rounds aren't timed, but you are given 20 minutes per side per match. Why is this a bad idea? Again because of the notoriously **** communities around TCG's.

    As an example I recently finished a match where I played my 2 initial turns in under 30 seconds, and pretty much wiped the player’s units off of the board; this in and of itself can be easily overcome, but instead the jackass walked away from the match, waiting 15 minutes to play their next move, and subsequently letting the timer run down to zero. I think when people feel that they are going to lose they think, **** that guy I will make him pay for that win, and who knows maybe he'll either concede or have to stop playing for some reason. This unsportsmanlike behavior increases the later it gets into the evening.

    As if this wasn’t bad enough, they also allow players to play multiple simultaneous matches, which means that even without overt griefing, many matches take far longer than they should as players pop in and out of matches, leaving their opponents waiting on their return; this in turn encourages one to do the same, grossly increasing the time spent in a given match. While this may be fun for others, it is too fragmented a way for me to enjoy playing.

    So the bad community, exploitable timer mechanics, and the rapid hard wall threshold for getting new cards without buying decks in $14 increments makes SolForge unlikely to persist on my hard drive. If the decks were priced at $5 then I would throw in some money, but in this case, no way, as I anticipate by the time I put together a competitive red star enriched deck I will have spent more money than I want for this relatively light diversion of a TCG.
    Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2013
    2
    If you are a fan of the brilliance in MTG and the deep strategy that spawns countless hours of playing with friends, then keep looking. ThisIf you are a fan of the brilliance in MTG and the deep strategy that spawns countless hours of playing with friends, then keep looking. This game is to that what "Mary had a little lamb" is to an orchestra playing Beethoven's 5th. In short, it uses childish simplicity in place of strategy. Having played it for hours in an attempt to give it a chance, I've found you can reliably predict the outcome of any single game (barring stupid mistakes) within a minute or two.

    The reason for this is simple there's no ingenuity or real complexity. Mechanics they clout, such as "card leveling" are actually done in such a way as to ruin the long run of a game. Even if that weren't there, it's exclusively a game of creatures advantage and/or pay-to-play advantage cards. The dynamic they tried to build simply does not work, and I'm shocked this game has anything to do with the people behind the good TCGs.

    So, if you want to spent a lot of money to get the "good" cards, and if you find strategy and thinking more than a single turn in advance to be scary, then get this game.
    If you want depth, amazing table turning moves of ingenuity with a card you've held onto for just that type of moment, then move on. There's nothing to see here. This game manages to make even winning boring, and that's saying something!
    Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2015
    0
    As Online Trading Card Games go, SolForge is unimpressive. It is Pay2Win, no doubt about it. Not as bad as other games I've played, but stillAs Online Trading Card Games go, SolForge is unimpressive. It is Pay2Win, no doubt about it. Not as bad as other games I've played, but still pay2win if less overt.
    It is a "little" different from other MtG clones. But it still has the staples of what makes MtG clones boring with the exception of useless mana, that is a plus.

    ~Starting Out~
    You start off with a mixed bag of common card from each of the 4 factions, lets just call it what they are, Black, Green, Red, and White; or Death, Life, Fire, and Machine respectively.
    The Tutorial gives you the idea of game play fairly well.
    There is a bit of bait and switch from when you first start playing and what happens later. After you play the tutorial you get silver (non cash in-game money) and a booster pack, after that you get a pack and ton more silver up until your 10th win agaisnt the AI or real oppent. After that, wins only get you 25 silver. No more booster packs, just silver. The booster packs for new cards cost 2000 silver.

    ~The Factions~
    Anyone that has played MtG will have a good idea about the different styles of "Black, Green, Red, White" No surprises, No new ideas.
    You can only use 2 different factions in your deck (30 cards Total)
    You can only play 2 cards from your hand per turn, after which your hand and deck is reshuffled together. An interesting gimmick of the game play is that it is possible to redraw the same card(s) you just played on the field and replay the clone if you like.
    The creature and spell cards level-up during the game as you play becoming slightly more powerful on a 1-3 (or 4 if you paid money) scale.
    Creatures have "summoning sickness" so they cannot attack the turn you play it. (Unless they have the MtG verison ability that lets them)
    There is a 5 spaces on each side of the field, your row and your opponent's row. Each of the 5 opposing spaces are lanes. Creatures in will only attack the creautre in the lane or lifepoints directly if no opposing creature fills it.
    There is an attack/Life score on each creature. So gameplay is basically a delyed verison of beatstick.
    Again, creature abilities are pretty much copy/pasted from there MtG alter egos.

    ~The Community~
    Ah yes, the unknown factor that can either make a subpar game bearable or an okay game unplayable. Spoiler its the worse of both worlds.
    The community has its head throughtly up its own rear-end. And a common play style is to queue in the unlimited time limit games and just sit there until the other player forfeits the match. As of now 9:40pm February 14th 2015; My first and only unlimited timer game has been going on for over 24 hours.

    So yeah don't waste your time. This game is one of those fly-by-night coiner games that won't be around by this time next year.
    Expand

See all 40 User Reviews