Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Nov 7, 2011
    85
    It feels refreshing to be able to say that Sonic is good again. His upward trajectory over the last year continues and he's only gaining momentum. Sonic Generations is largely a game for the most hardcore of Sonic fans, but for the millions who have fond memories of narrowly dodging spikes, grinding on rails, or even that time he was a pinball, Sonic Generations is a game made for you.
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    83
    Sonic is back again with a successful combination of classic and modern gameplay. One of the best Sonic games in the last few years.
  3. 80
    Overall, Sonic Generations is a well-designed, welcome exception to the massive circulation of violent games in the market, a 'game' that represents perfectly the pure meaning of the word. [February 2012]
  4. Dec 1, 2011
    80
    Sonic Generations is the simplest solution to give new vitality to an almost dead franchise.
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Nov 7, 2011
    80
    Despite the audiovisual grandeur of the rest of Generations, the shortcomings make it feel like little more than a "popcorn game" -- exhilarating, not very serious, and over before you get a chance to take it all in.
  7. Nov 7, 2011
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  8. Dec 24, 2011
    75
    A real festival of a game, charging you with good spirits – but only if your fingers touch the joypad, not a keyboard. [January 2012, p.77]
  9. 70
    Nicely connected 2D past with 3D future Sonic is a remarkable return of the once popular console hero. The hedgehog is in very good shape regardless of his 2D or 3D dimension. [Christmas 2011]
  10. Dec 24, 2011
    70
    This is a great game that not only explores the history of Sonic, but takes the best of the series and puts it into a single game. It's really disappointing then that the final third of the game is extraordinarily frustrating and poorly designed, especially when compared with how excellent the rest of the game really is.
  11. Jan 29, 2012
    64
    If you know what it expects of you, there's a thrill to some of Generations' showier moments. If not, prepare to hit a series of brick walls at high speed. [Feb 2012, p.93]
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 244 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 92
  2. Negative: 9 out of 92
  1. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    Seriously, best sonic game since Sonic Adventure 2 for me. I've played Sonic games my whole life, and after their new direction with the secret rings, and shadow the hedgehog's own game, I sadly had to stop wasting money on sonic teams garbage. But I'm happy to say this game rocks! And this version on steam is so much cheaper. Currently you can purchase this game for $30, which is quite a bargain for so much fun. I'd also like to chime in that the modern sonic portions are strangely more fun than I would have thought. The boost mechanic really takes some skill in order to master. If you don't believe me, just youtube modern sonic green hill speed run. Oh, and screw Joystiq! Full Review »
  2. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    Impressed! The PC version is fantastic. A lot of options and great performance even on my laptop. Oh and the game is fantastic also, really the best of classic and modern together in one game. Full Review »
  3. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Simply wonderful. After a long time Sega finally hit on the formula and created a Sonic game as good as in its golden age. The controls work very well. The story is simple but functional. Nostalgia and fun are guaranteed. Full Review »