Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    70
    It’s going to need to become more than a sum of its parts if it wants to compete in this modern gaming era though.
  2. Jul 28, 2012
    60
    "Just another Sonic game" is the best description of Episode 2. A colorful, but flavorless platformer.
  3. Jul 6, 2012
    60
    Apart from a couple of nuances it's a collage of elements as old as Sega itself. [August 2012, p.82]
  4. May 22, 2012
    60
    Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode II is a solid though unremarkable continuation of the long-running formula.
  5. Jul 12, 2012
    34
    Play never feels fluid, a problem compounded by the horrible, poorly ported PC controls. [Sept 2012, p.61]
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. May 18, 2012
    10
    This game is great and improves greatly on Episode 1. Better graphics, better physics, and multiplayer which can be very addicting. Only realThis game is great and improves greatly on Episode 1. Better graphics, better physics, and multiplayer which can be very addicting. Only real flaw in this game is the pointless collecting of red rings. At least in Sonic Generations we were awarded something like abilities or music. In this its just for an achievement. But this doesn't affect my over all view of the game since it isn't that big of a deal. The multiplayer as I said is really fun. The addition of the partner system makes going through the levels with a friend a different experience than playing solo. Granted this only proves true if you play with someone who knows how to play, but I am not gonna put the game down because of a bad teammate. In my opinion this is a game any sonic fan should buy. Full Review »
  2. May 15, 2012
    7
    It's certainly an improvement over the atrocious Episode 1, that's for sure. It's actually playable. But besides the jump physics andIt's certainly an improvement over the atrocious Episode 1, that's for sure. It's actually playable. But besides the jump physics and uncurling, as well as new graphics and a pretty cool tails coop gimmick, nothing has changed. Music still sucks, the level design is average, and overall it's just an average platformer. That's not to say I didn't have fun, though. Full Review »
  3. May 15, 2012
    8
    One thing that can be said about Sonic 4 Episode 2, is that it is a definite step in the right direction. Episode 2 tends to stray furtherOne thing that can be said about Sonic 4 Episode 2, is that it is a definite step in the right direction. Episode 2 tends to stray further from the formula of rehashing (while still lightly grasping it) with some new, original moves and new, creative stages. The games has an improved physics engine, along with a much better graphics engine and musical improvement. The only complaints would be some boss fights, as they can drag on a bit, but are still very fun; along with some songs in the soundtrack, sounds pretty bad. The music itself isn't terrible, but there are some nasty tracks and some amazing tracks that balance it out. I would recommend this game to Sonic Fans, Platformer enthusiasts and retro gamers. This is a solid addition for your library and you might have some minor disappointments. Full Review »